Owner

Advertiser since 2000
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Owner
Advertiser since 2000
Speaks english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

EVE'S COUNTRY RETREAT

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Overview

Overview

Ellington House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms + Den, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Retreat to this peaceful, spacious, country home nestled in rolling Connecticut Valley farmlands. Within walking distance of the green and library, this vacation home is also near the 18th and 19th century historic homes of the town of Ellington (1786).

Enjoy the serene interior of this sun flooded home, furnished with antiques. Delight in the magnificent view from the porch or patio that are surrounded by old, established trees and gardens.

This home is minutes from tennis, golfing, fishing, horseback riding, and swimming in a lovely lake. Visit Old Sturbridge Village (40 minutes), University of Connecticut ( 25 minutes), Foxwood Casino (25 minutes), Mystic Seaport (1 hour), Tanglewood Music Festival (1hour), and the Connecticut Shore (1.5 hours). It is ideally located 1.5 hours from Boston and 2 hours from New York.

Keywords: House

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Owner
Advertiser since 2000
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

Why HomeAway

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4
based on 4 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Eve's Country Retreat
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews
business
Eve's Country Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p4180vb
-(301) 704-3144 (Maryland, USA)
Ellington Central Connecticut
St. Augustine, FL 32086
5

Don't Miss this Unique Experience!

Don't Miss this Unique Experience!
  • 5 of 5
My husband and I are from East Windsor, CT. Last November we retired to Florida, knowing our daughter was to be married in South Windsor on September 6, 2014. With various friends and relatives coming for the wedding, we looked for a vacation rental that could accommodate not just us, but our other children, cousins and various friends on various nights. This property could not been more perfect. It is huge, with plenty of room to sleep a crowd! More than that though, it is a charming example of tasteful, high-end mid-century construction and decor which includes family photos that bring you back to to this family's life when the owners lived here years ago with their Mom and Dad. Little seems to have changed since the house was built in 1958, but that makes it all the more fantastic. I was immediately transported back to my childhood during the fifties and sixties. The kitchen is well equipped with retro yet fully functioning appliances including garbage disposal, double oven and dishwasher. There are four separate living spaces, some of which can double as sleeping quarters. Our family and our guests were enchanted by the beauty of this home, including the outdoor terrace, covered porch, stunning front entry, pastoral views and family treasures throughout. The dining room is nothing short of magnificent. The day after the wedding there were nine of us around the antique table having a family breakfast; and that beautiful table could have easily accommodated more. There are bikes and table games and a wonderful yard, all in a quiet country setting that also appears to be unchanged from years ago. I can't comment on the tv as we were all having too much fun to turn it on, but the wifi worked perfectly. My out-of-state company remarked repeatedly how awesome the house would be for a family reunion. We may follow up on that! As a last remark, the owner is pleasant and easy to work with. The day after we left she sent me an email stating she had already mailed us our security deposit. If you like humdrum hotel rooms that all look the same and provide the identical experience time after time, you probably should stick with that when visiting the Hartford area. However, if you want a truly memorable experience for you and your family, pass on hotel and go instead to Eve's Retreat! It is part comfy accommodation, part museum, and part nostalgic trip into the life of a family in an earlier time.
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Eve's Country Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p4180vb
-(301) 704-3144 (Maryland, USA)
Ellington Central Connecticut
Spartanburg, SC
1

A big let down

  • 1 of 5
I did not expect to have so many major quality issues with this house. The first big disappointment was learning that we couldn’t open the sliders (and see through the scratched screens) from the living room to get some fresh air into this musty house (we purchased and used significant amounts of Febreze and deodorizer). The second surprise was the musty smell of all the living room furniture. After looking at the yard further, I realized that a large yard exists beyond the overgrown hedges and plants off of the living room patio. Then an even bigger surprise occurred upon discovering that your thermostat doesn’t work right and the vents probably haven’t been cleaned in twenty years. It took 12 hours to get the downstairs temperature down to 72 degrees and I assume that the A/C unit needs servicing.

The Wi-Fi instructions do not exist as specified and because I am technically inclined, I figured out how to connect to the network which is just a little faster than an old dial up modem (400 kbs/second) and I waited for minutes to load up a web page. The next surprise was discovering that we couldn’t call out locally as specified in the lease. You shouldn’t advertise telephone or internet access, since both are severely restricted and/or inferior. Then I discovered your antique analog TV, with it’s digital converter box and no instructions. You also shouldn’t advertise that you have a TV, since it is very substandard as televisions go.

Overall cleanliness of ythis house was poor and some of the blankets and bed covers are stained. We have also found large carpenter ants in the bathrooms. If it weren’t for our need to have a family gathering spot for my mother-in-law’s funeral, I would have locked up and we would have stayed in a hotel.

We did not expect that we would have to wash sheets and towels at departure, or understand that we also were expected to be the cleaning service. No proper cleaning supplies were provided. At least do proper maintenance (Washer & Dryer, bathroom showers leak, Doors...) and provide the services that you advertise. This is the worst property I have stayed at since we began using VRBO.
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review was part of an email that I received from this renter two days after his arrival. However, he failed to mention that I immediately emailed back and offered a full refund for the remaining 5 days of the rental agreement, recommended an inn close by that might be more to his liking and offered use of the house without charge for the day of his family gathering. Strangely enough, this renter refused my offer and stayed. I have rented this property for 14 years and in all that time only received compliments (see reviews) about the beauty of this spacious, mid-century, custom built, sun flooded home, furnished with antiques and with more windows than walls. Only once did renters request to leave the property and that was after a severe winter storm which left the neighborhood and this home without heat and electricity for a week. I might add that most of my renters are repeaters and most seem to take delight in the country charm of the house rather than play building inspector and spend a vacation checking the interior of the heating vents, speculating when the air conditioning was last serviced, counting scratches on screens and measuring the height and width of the gorgeous rhododendrons, azaleas and rose bushes in the vast back yard. But there is one in every crowd!
business
Eve's Country Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p4180vb
-(301) 704-3144 (Maryland, USA)
Ellington Central Connecticut
5

Thank you from Wellington, FL

  • 5 of 5
My family of six recently visited CT to celebrate our parent's 60th Wedding Anniversary. Eve's Country Retreat was quite lovely and very spacious for all of us. As family members arrived on different days from Florida, we had to drive back to the airport for pickup twice. The house was located not far from the airport and the drive through the county roads was beautiful.
We want to Thank You for sharing your cozy home with our family. We have wonderful memories and photos to remind us of the great time we had in Ellington. It was nice to have our "home away from home" and was fortunate to find Eve's Country Retreat. The home appears exactly as it shows on the website, but is even cozier in person. You surely provide the comforts of home with the bedding, towels, kitchen and laundry facilities, and so much more. We greatly appreciate everything and will keep Eve's Country Retreat in mind for our next visit to CT.
Warm Regards and many Thanks from our family in Wellington, FL
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Eve's Country Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p4180vb
-(301) 704-3144 (Maryland, USA)
Ellington Central Connecticut
Phx, AZ
5

Depositing a Legacy

  • 5 of 5
We were there to have a family reunion back home in Enfield so it really worked out well because my brothers and sister were 10 to 15 minutes away.

We were able to visit friends in New Hampshire and then even a trip to the beach in Old Lime, CT

The location of the house was ideal and as for its conveniences I could haved golfed, gone to the lake and fished everyday or even if time had permitted just relaxed in the backyard with a good book to read.

The house was very spacious I had my four adult children plus my son’s wife and two grandchildren with me and there were times I still found myself sitting in the living room or even in the shaded back yard on patio furniture by myself.
Yet in that same living room we all played UNO with thirteen of us, what a great time!

If you are looking for a 21st century home with all the modern amenities like Cable TV or Internet you better bring your own, but it was so nice to not have it for six days and to actually interact with my children.

One last thing if you are looking for a place to relax and get away you wont be disappointed with the memories you will have of Eve's Elegant Retreat.
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Map

Map

"Pick your own" apple and peach orchard, Antique shopping

Photos

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Ellington House Rental Rates

Notes

  • $900/wk - $3000/mo
  • US Dollars
  • $900/week .. $3000/month.
  • Please inquire for weekend rates.

Amenities

Amenities

Ellington House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (1) master bedroom has a king sized bed, Double Beds (1) one bedroom has a double bed with canopy, Twin or Single Beds (1) two of the bedrooms have twin beds, Baby Cribs (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Charcoal BBQ, Lots of good books, Porch, Patio

Other Vacation Properties

  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote