Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

The Library Apartment -Historic building in Glasgow Merchant City-Best location

Ronnie Green

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Ronnie Green

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

The Library Apartment -Historic building in Glasgow Merchant City-Best location

Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights


Glasgow & Clyde Valley Apartment Rental Photos and Description

One bedroom apartment- sleeps 4 -with all home comforts- Very central location

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION - The apartment is not minutes from Glasgow City Centre -- IT IS Glasgow City centre!

Award winner 2011 and 2012 -this aprtment will not disappoint. Yards from Argyle St and Buchanan St with George Square next block up. Restaurants, shopping, transport, tourist sights - all at your doorstep. Its at the hub of public transport to take you to places such as Loch Lomond, Argyll. Ideal base to explore the city and further afield - even the Highlands.

The apartment is in a fabulous historic building with original features. There are high ceilings and large windows and hardwood floors. There is a large lounge with Bang & Olufsen entertainment system; a very well equipped separate kitchen; modern bathroom with bath and shower and a large double bedroom. The sofa bed in the lounge provides an extra double bed. A double air bed is also available. We can also provide a cot on request. The flat is centrally heated and despite being right in the heart of the city, location is deceptively quiet. Gated access for security

Location Location Location: This really is the best location in Glasgow City Centre. You are right in the heart of everything yet it is still quiet as the street has no through traffic. There are restaurants withing 50 metres, a traditional pub accross the street; all transport is nearby; tourist sites very close; shopping literally on your doorstep. Everything you could possibly want from a very comfortable home from home!

Luxury living - quiet city centre location: This is a new apartment in a historic building and will offer you all the comforts of home during your visit to Glasgow Scotland. The building was once home to the Stirlings Library. You can read all about the history of the building at our website (please, do not hesitate to contact us for website link).

There are hardwood floors and large double glazed full windows as well as high ceilings. We furnished it personally and are very proud of our home in Glasgow. We hope you will visit and also be pleased with our apartment - we are sure you will!

It is cheaper than staying in a hotel and you have all the freedom to cook for yourself if you want to - plus you have a superb entertainment system with free internet and comfortable bedroom. You can even book online by visiting the link to our own website. So go there now and Book a Place in History!

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Ronnie Green (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

About Ronnie Green

I am a Glaswegian living in West Sussex. I still love Glasgow and loe to share my apartment with liesure and business visitors. The property is personally managed by family.

Ronnie Green purchased this apartment in 2008

Why Ronnie Green chose Glasgow & Clyde Valley

Location Location Location! Simply the most central and convenient location you will find - but still quiet despite its city centre street cred.

What makes this apartment unique

Historic building with unique original features. When i saw the old Stirling Library was being transformed into luxury aprtments my property search in Glasgow was offer. Historic lovely apartment in a fantastic city centre location. What is there not too like! Going by the reviews the visitors endorse my decision!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We did enjoy our visit. Of the three apts we rented yours was our favourite. It was the cleanest and best equipped. In fact it was beyond our expectations. It felt very homey. I felt like I was in a Parisian apt. It was very elegant and my husband really appreciated the living room chair and footstool. If we ever get back to Scotland I would make your apt. the home base to travel from. I will also recommend it to friends that may travel to Glasgow.
Oct 2011
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 44 traveler reviews

Write a Review
The Library Apartment -Historic building in Glasgow Merchant City-Best location
average rating of 4.8636365 based on 45 reviews


  • 5 of 5

Perfect location, beautifully fitted and Ronnie was an absolute delight to deal with. We have told all our friends and family about this apartment. We'll absolutely be back. Just perfect - I cannot praise our experience enough!

  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks. Its great to know that our visitors share our views on the location and comfort of our apartment. This view is supported by a number of repeat bookings and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Library Apartment!.
Santa Ana , California

Do Not Miss This One!

  • 5 of 5

This apartment was by far, the most spacious and most well-appointed one out of four that we rented during our 3 week stay in Europe. The location was outstanding, within walking distance of train station, bus and underground. Food market at M&S was great to have around the corner with everything you need. The people in Glasgow were so friendly and engaging we wished we could have stayed longer. We took the train to Edinburgh for the day and had a terrific time touring the castle and a great lunch in a local pub.

Ronnie the owner was very helpful in answering our questions and takes pride in the apartment, as you can see. We would recommend staying here and hope to return one day.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for a wonderful review. It is indeed a great location with comfortable stylish accommodation. We hope to welcome you back soon. Ronnie

Location, Location, Location!

  • 4 of 5

This apartment is in such a great location right in the city centre in a really great courtyard area with great shops and restaurants right as you walk out your door. I got my hair done next door and had lunch across the street. Each day we'd walk a block to Argyle Street or two blocks to Buchanan Street for shopping and pub hopping or we'd head to Merchant City Area on CandleRiggs which is a few blocks the other direction. Literally in any direction a block or two from the apartment and you are in the middle of great shopping, amazing restaurants and the energy of the incredible city of Glasgow.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The location has again proved a winner. The aim of the planners for the courtyard area was for it to be a mini Covent Garden. Thankfully its not quite as busy as that but there are certainly some cosmopolitan eateries in there as well as an excellent ladies hairdresser. As the reviewer says it is a shopper's paradise - but it is also excellently located for the Merchant city attractions as well as theatres cinemas and lots and lots of restaurants. Great for transport links too. All in all a terrific location The apartment is non to shabby either by the way!

nice central location in Glasgow

  • 5 of 5

My college-age daughter and I recently came to Glasgow for a week-long Spring-break trip, and stayed at the Library Apartment. We found the apartment as-advertised -- clean, spacious, and with all the promised amenities waiting and in good order. The central location in Glasgow is a big plus -- it is only a short walk to the subway and the train station, and is situated in the middle of the main downtown shopping district. There are several stores nearby, so it was no problem shopping for food. We rented a car to drive to the Isle of Skye for a couple of days, and had the car with us for a few days after we returned. Parking at the Mercure hotel was fairly easy (cost = 6 pounds/night) and we never had a problem getting a spot there. There is a nice restaurant right on the same block called SoHo, which we enjoyed. Above all, it was a pleasure dealing with the owner, Ronnie, who was available and responded to all of my various questions promptly. We would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review. I am particularly pleased to learn that the car parking was so easy. The aprtment is right in the centre of the city so its great to here that even with a central location the car can be parked within a few minutes' walk! The area is indeed very handy for everything and now with the 2 restaurants in the courtyard you certainly never need travel far for refreshments. Skye is a beautiful place to visit so its good you found the time to do so with the car. Although of course Glasgow has so much to offer it can be difficult to find the time to visit anywhere else!

Library Apartment, Glasgow

  • 5 of 5

My daughter and I really enjoyed our stay at the apartment. It was perfectly located right in the city centre, which is what I needed as I have a bad back and can't walk far. It was also very reasonably priced - I looked at lots of other properties and they didn't look as nice on the photos, and were more expensive. The flat was clean and well maintained, and I loved the fact that it was in an old building and hadn't been 'modernised'. My only complaint is that the sofa bed, where I slept, was very uncomfortable. The springs could be felt through the mattress, and it was very saggy. That aside, we had a great time and I would definitely recommend to a friend - I would also come back here myself.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. The city centre location really is a bonus. As you say there is no need to walk very far for anything. Price wise we do try and remain competitive and feel that sometimes we may charge a little more but you are getting a great apartment in a great location so it really is great value for money. Sorry you did not find the sofa bed very comfortable. A sofa bed will never take the place of a proper bed of course and it is there as an added facility should the party be more than 2 or to provide sleeping flexibility. The mattress is a good one for a sofa bed standard as it is not a thin foam one - however I agree that sofa beds will rarely be as comfortable as a standard bed. Next time you come back make sure you bag the proper bed! Thanks for your feedback Ronnie

Liked it so much we stayed twice as long!

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely wonderful! Centrally located, easy to walk everywhere, but on a pretty quiet street. Very clean and neat, everything you could need away from home, very comfortable. A great tapas/bar right downstairs, very convenient to shopping, restaurants and multiple train stations.

Excellent service from Ronnie throughout! Prompt responses and very accommodating!

My mother and I (on a 2 week trip to the UK) liked it so much we extended our stay there and skipped a stop in another city (I don't want to hurt its feelings so I won't say which).

Already started saving up to go back! Can't wait!

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jessica. We do believe we have a very good quality apartment in probably the best central location. So it is very re-assuring to hear that our visitors agree. I also love it when Glasgow as a city gets such favourable comments from visiotrs. Edinburgh may be the capital but Glasgow is where it's at! We would love to see you back in Glasgow again sometime in the future - so keep saving! Regards Ronnie


Nearest Airport
15 Kilometres
Nearest Train
1 Kilometres
Queen street
Nearest Motorway
2 Kilometres
Car: not necessary

The location for the Library Apartment is second to none. It really is Glasgow city centre. You couldnt be better located which makes it very convenient to sample all that Glasgow has to offer. lt is also in the heart of the Merchant City with its cutting edge theatres, galleries, shops, cafes and restaurants . The exact location is Miller St- very close to all transport such as subway (metro) stations, train stations and buses. A car is not required but if you bring one parking is available close by. The main square, George Square is only yards away. Glasgow's famous shopping streets are literally on your doorstep and art galleries such as The Gallery of Modern art are less than a block away. The SECC exhibition centre is minutes away and also the Glasgow Art Gallery & Museum -home to Salvador Dali's famous painting of Christ. The location is quiet and has restaurants and bars and traditional pubs on the doorstep. It is only 1 hour away to Loch Lomond and to the Trossachs

Other Activities: Theatres, restaurants, shopping, supermarkets, museums - everything you could possibly want is nearby!


Rates & Availability

From £90 Per night

Glasgow & Clyde Valley Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
British Pound
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Jan 3 2015 - Dec 21 2015
3 night minimum stay
extra night: £90    


  • see also owners own website at for up to date prices and availability.

    price per night based on 1 or 2 persons. Additional supplement of £10 per night for 3 or 4 persons (children under 10 free) Supplement also applies for 2 persons if sofa bed is also being used.
    £595 per week reducing for longer stays- please ask for a quote

    Prices shown subject to change.
  • All rates based on 2 person occupancy. Apartment can sleep max 4 using sofa bed - additional charge of £10 per night for use of sofa bed.
    A cot is available - ask for details.
  • In July & August minimum stay normally 3 nights.


Glasgow & Clyde Valley Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment (terraced)
  • floor 1
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 70 m²
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Town
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Mobile Phone
  • PC
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Modern luxury bathroom
  • The bathroom is like a hotel bathroom - full mirror and a towel rail. There is a shower over the bath and a glass shower screen. There is also a heated towel rail.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double , 1 baby crib , Cot available on request.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Also a double airbed provides flexibility
  • The bedroom has a double wardrobe and large chest of drawers. There is a full length mirror on the wall. All bedding and towels etc are supplied as well as hair dryer, iron, ironing board. There is a cute little breakfast table in the room and also an IPOD dock. There is an LCD TV & DVD on the bedroom wall with satellite channels (free-sat) A double airbed is also available to provide flexibility with sleeping arrangements (max 4 persons). We can also provide a travel cot on request.
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gated Community
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
The building only has 5 apartments so is quite exclusive and quiet- no noisy neighbours!. Our apartment is on the 1st floor. The top floor has a communal area and is a magnificent space as it is flooded by light from the original cupolas. Internet access is free - use the laptop provided or bring your own laptop. The Entertainment system is Bang & Olufsen and there is a 32' flat screen TV with satellite channels; VHS recorder; DVD player; IPOD dock; wireless headphones and a radio/Cd player. There is even an LCD TV & DVD on the bedroom wall! The apartment retains original features with hardwood floors and high ceilings. The kitchen is fully equipped and there is dining area for 4 persons. You can also use this area as a work area with desk lamp. There is a little library with books and DVDs as well as a few games. Maps and guides are also available. We also privide free use of a UK mobile phone on pay as you go. UK rates for making reservations etc and accepting calls.

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$89 - $112 per night
4 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 2
$1,041 per week
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$893 per week
4 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 2

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote