PRISTINE AQUA 'SUGAR LAKE' WTIH PRIVATE SHORE AND FIREPIT

From
$250
Enter dates to see total
Email Owner Email

Barb

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

PRISTINE AQUA 'SUGAR LAKE' WTIH PRIVATE SHORE AND FIREPIT

Cohasset Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 4 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Relax on the Deck with a cold drink while enjoying spectacualr views of the aqua lake called Sissebakwet (It's Indian Name).

Boat or swim right off of the shore. Sandy bottom and crystal clear waters. At night, enjoy the firepit near the shore while viewing wildlife....even blue herons right on the shore if you're lucky.

Loons, ducks, many bird varieties including hummingbirds,bluejays, and Eagles flying over every morning.

Friendly neighbors will help you find the good fishing spots.

Bring your boat and keep it right on the boat launch at the dock.

We enjoy reading in the evenings, while sitting by the fire and watching the sun set.

Keywords: Four Bedrooms,2.5 Baths,Large, fully-stocked eat-in kitchen, living room, family room, laundry, and deck.... all fully furnished and overlooking pristine lake.

Great fishing, boating and swimming!!

Plenty to do in nearby Grand Rapids! Golf, tennis, biking, hiking trails.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only

Barb

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

I purchased this home on Sugar Lake because I grew up going to my grandfather's cabin on this lake every summer. My extended family continues to have it's family reunions there every two years.

My three children have grown up going to this lake for the reunions and meeting their hundreds of cousins.(yes...hundreds!).

I feel so at home at this cottage, and enjoy the views of the water and the birds we see everyday. I swim every day I am there, no matter what the weather.

Barb purchased this cottage in 2009

It is perfectly situated on the lot with room for games in the yard and beautiful birch trees in the view. It came with the little dock, which is all we need and the reeds out front are what attract the blue herons in the evenings. We see eagles flying over our heads every morning(early) and will see them circling around the lake in the afternoons. It can hold our large family and even though the dinette is relatively small, we manage to seat everyone inside and out.

It's not too close to the city, as, we want to 'get away from it all', but, it's close enough to run in for shopping or for dinner or museums and movies, mini-golf, etc.

You won't find a lake this clean or aqua blue.It's a perfect lake for any kind of boating. If you just enjoy a pontoon ride, you'll see several local boats touring at cocktail hour. It's a perfect water-skiing lake as it is very large and round. It is also fun for canoeing when it's not too windy and when it is windy, then, sailing is divine!!!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

Pristine Aqua 'Sugar Lake' Wtih Private Shore and Firepit
average rating of 4.6 based on 5 reviews
business
Pristine Aqua 'Sugar Lake' Wtih Private Shore and Firepit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p415212vb
608-575-3290
Cohasset Minnesota
United States
5

Great Lake, owner and Lake Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Owner Barb was very pleasant, flexible and easy to get a hold of with any questions and concerns. My 2 year old loved it. As soon as we got home, she kept asking to go back to the "cabin." The lake is amazing, sand beach that is shallow that is great for kids. Lots of space in the home, we didn't even use the downstairs, and barely used the upstairs. If you are looking to stay at Sugar Lake lodge (also on the lake) you will spend 3-4x as much for this type of space. My only concern would be that 2 of the upstairs bedrooms may not be suitable for kids due to the contemporary style of the home for safety reasons. If the kids are 8 and up, I'm sure it's fine. Thanks for sharing your lake home with us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Pristine Aqua 'Sugar Lake' Wtih Private Shore and Firepit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p415212vb
608-575-3290
Cohasset Minnesota
5

Best vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I rented this place for our anniversary over the 4h of july. It was so peaceful there. You didn't even know you had neighbors. The lake was by far the cleanest lake i have ever been on. The water clarity was remarkable. You could see the fish in 15 feet of water. There was very little boat traffic on the lake. For a holiday week that was amazing. It was so relaxing. The cottage worked out great for us. Half way thru the week we had our children and their friends come. We had plenty of room for everyone.
The pictures are exactly what you get when you go there. Barb was awesome with her timely responses to any questions. She has a great property there. I cant wait to do that again next year. Everything worked well.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Mike! We love having families who appreciate Sugar Lake as much as we do. Thanks for being our guests and taking care of our property! See you next year!
Barb
business
Pristine Aqua 'Sugar Lake' Wtih Private Shore and Firepit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p415212vb
608-575-3290
Cohasset Minnesota
Ohio
4

Family of 7 Get-together

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
A wonderful spot for a quiet vacation. The lake is a very quiet one, and we all loved seeing and hearing the loons and ducks throughout the day and night. My daughter even saw a fawn in the yard early one morning. The pre-schoolers loved the gentle slope into the water and the sandy bottom, but the rest of us found the reeds and the rocks past the dock difficult for walking in the water. We were delighted to find the Cohasset town beach only 15 minutes away and did our swimming there.

The house was O.K. for us, but we could not use the basement bedroom because of the musty smell and the lack of outlet covers - had to keep the door closed to protect the pre-schoolers. ( In Ohio this could not be called a bedroom because there is no closet.) That meant three people in the twin bedroom, which is small. The children and grandchildren did complain about the noise due to the cutouts of the bedrooms to the main floor - and of the lack of ceiling fans. The living room and family room were very comfortable and held us all easily, but the family room was also a bit musty smelling. The deck was a true delight; we had most of our meal there . S'mores at the fire pit was great fun for all of us!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your response! We didn't realize that the painter hadn't replaced the outlet covers. They are there now. We did realize that it didn't have a closet,so, we use the closet outside that door under the stairs.(I will mark it) There is a hanging rod there. (This is the most comfortable bedroom on hot days....my favorite).
The early spring deluge brought water right after we installed the new carpet. It was dried in the family room and the bedroom was replaced,but, it sounds like it may need replacing again. We have since added new seemless gutters and have had drain tile installed around that wall and the front wall. Hopefully, this solves any water problem. We've had no smell since we were there in September.
We are investigating ideas for the openings upstairs. .....Possibly shutters? The openings were there when we bought the house. I had the lattice installed for safety for the children, but, haven't known the best solution for light and noise.
We are being advised to leave the reeds in place for protecting the lake. (they also attract the blue herons at night). But, there is a pathway from the dock that the boats use. I do use water shoes when I think of it, and I do throw rocks out of the pathway when I can, but, every year the waves push some back at us. So, it's a work in progress..
We are trying to make our beach a little more "beach-like",but, again, the lakeshore specialists have asked all lake home owners to do as little as possible to change the lakefront.
Thank you so much for your comments. We'd never know if you didn't tell us. So glad you enjoyed our little paradise!
Barb
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Pristine Aqua 'Sugar Lake' Wtih Private Shore and Firepit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p415212vb
608-575-3290
Cohasset Minnesota
Hampton, VA
5

Family Vacation at the lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
I thought this property was amazing! My parents, brother & fiance, myself and my 18month son enjoyed our 3 days at the lake. We only wish we could have stayed longer. Meals on the deck were awesome and the water is beautiful! My little one especially enjoyed the slow slope in the water. Thank you so much for sharing your home!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you!! We love having guests who love our lake home as much as we do!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Pristine Aqua 'Sugar Lake' Wtih Private Shore and Firepit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p415212vb
608-575-3290
Cohasset Minnesota
Marion, IA
4

Family of 4

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The lake was BEAUTIFUL, the clearest lake I've ever seen. You can see everything, and its very shallow for quite awhile so its great for young children. The neighbors on either side of the house were very nice, and it was VERY quiet there. The firepit is great, located close to the shore for great ambiance. The house was nice, though if you aren't chummy with everyone in the house, it may be an issue. The upstairs has 2 bedrooms that are somewhat open to the main level, as there is an approximate 4'x4' cut out in each room so you can hear everything if people are still awake on the main level or coming in from being outside. The main level bedroom is nice, and is enclosed. In the basement there is another enclosed bedroom, though to be candid- it does smell a little musty. It sounds like the dehumidifier hadn't been turned on like it was supposed to, which could have been the culprit. If you have small children like we do (19 months and 3 1/2), the deck has large spaces in between each wood slat that kids can slip through so just be aware. I gave this 4 stars because the house was nice, the owner was very sweet and flexible (someone even mailed me my laptop computer cord I left plugged in- thank you!), the lake is gorgeous, the neighbors are very nice and its super quiet up there. There are a few drawbacks but not enough to not recommend this place to others. Enjoy your time up north!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review! Right after installing the new carpet and padding in the basement,
we had flooding rains early in the season and we were not sure what the results would be. We have now had drain tile and new seemless gutters and new carpet installed.No smell when we were there. The upstairs bedrooms will be getting shutters this year for light and sound. I guess it was supposed to be like a loft when built.
We added the lattice for safety for children. This could also easily be done on the deck for small children. No problem.
So glad you were able to experience Sugar Lake and our property.
Thanks!
Barb
Helpful votes: 2/2
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Hibbing Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Otis's
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Sugar Lodge Resort Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Otis's
Car: recommended

This lake home is ideally located 'off the beaten path' but close enough to enjoy lots of outside activities.

There is walking and hiking right out the door.

Nearby is Sugar Hills with some great hiking trails and views.

Enjoy Ruttger's Sugar Lake Lodge Golf Course and the fun atmosphere at the Bar ang Grill after your game.

Drive in to town for movies, pizza parlors, library, the YMCA with a daily fee and lots of activities. You won't want to miss the Judy Garland, Wizard of Oz Museum. Good restaurants and coffee shops and tons of shopping.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Cohasset Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Minimum Stay
 
Early Summer
Jun 10 - Jun 30
$250
$250
Thu,Fri,Sat
$1,550
2 nights
 
 
Summer
Jul 5 2014 - Sep 7 2014
$350
$2,100
3 nights
 
 
Autumn
Sep 8 - Oct 31
$350
Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,050
7 nights
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Sunday
$350
$350
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,100
3 nights
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $85.00
Property Damage Protection $49.00
Pet Fee $100.00
Notes CALL FOR SPECIAL RATING!!!!

Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Cohasset Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
  • 3 stories
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Internet ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Stove ...
  • Oven
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2.5
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , MAIN FLOOR
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , QUEEN BED UPSTAIRS ROOM
    Bedroom 4 - 3 queen , 2 twin/ single , 2 TWIN BEDS - UPSTAIRS ROOM
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , QUEEN BED IN LOWER LEVEL ROOM
  • Queen size Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • CD Player
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • live theater
  • museums
  • cinemas
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
  • boating
  • antiquing
  • miniature golf
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • wind-surfing
  • fishing
  • water skiing
  • mountain biking
  • cycling
  • golf
  • tennis
  • hiking
  • cross country skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf privileges optional
  • roller blading
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • jet skiing
  • swimming
Email Owner Email