SECLUDED LIGHT FILLED HOUSE, GARDENS,RIVER, 5 MIN TO PHOENICIA

Ralph (chip) Gallagher

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Ralph (chip) Gallagher

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SECLUDED LIGHT FILLED HOUSE, GARDENS,RIVER, 5 MIN TO PHOENICIA

Phoenicia House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

Charming and magical, this property sits on three acres w/ groomed flower gardens, it abuts state forest, a stream runs around it and it sits above the Esopus creek. It is in Woodland valley one of the best spots in the catskills on a dead end rd so there is no thru traffic. It is so private yet only 3 min to the quaint hamlet of Phoenicia. We have a 450 sq ft tree house in the back yard and a great swing.Miles and miles of hiking right behind the house.Huge trees surround the property yet there is plenty of sun.The house has two bedrooms with double beds both with fabulous views and sounds from the stream. House can sleep four and there is a day bed by the wood stove and a bed in the video room for kids. The great room(living , dinning, kitchen) opens to a large deck with bird feeders that get many guest and has four skylights that bring in the sun and moon light. The kitchen is fully equipped: refrigerator, stove,dishwasher and all the dishes, pot and pans silver ware etc. One beautiful bath room with a view of the flower garden. There is a washer and dryer for cloths as well.The tap water is spring fed and fantastic for drinking. Herdman rd is great for walking as are the old rail rd tracks along the river. Lots of art work and books.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered

Ralph (chip) Gallagher

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

I grew up in Chappaqua NY as did my wife Susie. After college in Iowa I moved to Hawaii for many years before returning to NYC to be with Susie and son Ryder. Preferring the country over the city I looked in the catskills for a country home and Phoenicia was the town I chose but the property was what sold me, it is in a absolutely magical spot.I am a builder and Susie is an artist. We love having NYC close by .

Ralph (chip) Gallagher purchased this house in 2001

We bought this property for it's magical setting in the Catskill Mts. It is close to Woodstock and only 2-1/2 hrs to NYC . It is for ever changing through the seasons. The special thing about this property is the dead end rd, the stream, the state forest behind the land and the Esopus river across the road yet only 3 min to town. Skiing is close hiking every where and many talented artists in the area.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.6
based on 10 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Secluded Light Filled House, Gardens,River, 5 Min to Phoenicia
average rating of 4.6 based on 10 reviews
business
Secluded Light Filled House, Gardens,River, 5 Min to Phoenicia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p414398vbi
845-688-2154
Phoenicia Catskills
5

FANTASTIC STAY!!

  • 5 of 5
Chip and Susie provided a wonderful setting in a fantastic location. My wife and I celebrated her 30th birthday in style. We stayed in this beutiful, clean, and very artistic home for two nights. The home is located in a very convenient location, just 5 min to phoenicia, 20 min to hunter and belair mountains, and 25 min to the famous bearsville theater in Woodstock. There are 5 fantastic restaurants within 5 min and the best woodfired pizza in NY at Brio's. There is also a full grocery store in phoenicia. My wife and I are avid outdoor people and love to hike, fish, birdwatch and camp. Although we stayed in the winter months we were still able to injoy the magical views from the " Tree pee", and all of chips yard art. This home is attached to a large expanse of state land, and for the avid hiker one could set out and walk out the back door and climb to the summits of garfield, panther, giant ledge, and slide. The home has water access to some of the best trout fishing in NY on the Ausable river, and one of the best tubling adventures you can find for the kids. Below you will find a review that couldn't be farther from the truth, I wont comment on how negative these individuals are, but I will say that sometimes people have terrible experiences because there life is full of negativity; and clearly these people are just that. When you come to the mountains part of the allure is the wildlife, so if you see a harmless mouse, it's part of the experience. We didn't see any animals inside the house, but what we did see were many birds, eagles, and mammals, including a black squirrel. The mountains are full of animals and the fact that Chip dosen't use any poisons to kill these animals that already have a tough time surviving entices me to stay here even more. Chip is one of the nicest men I've ever meant and gave my wife and I all the privacy we wanted, there was absolutly no problem with him staying in the art studio behind the house. In fact he gave us a tour of the studio; which added to the experience. Chip and Susie share a passion for art and the projects they were working on were trully one of a kind and unlike anything I've ever seen. This home makes you feel like your part of the mountains, with all the natural light, surrounding woods, and very comfortable living quarters. The relaxation we felt was like no other, and we contribute this to the setting Chip and Susie provided. Thank you Chip, we will be back!
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: You guys were so great and engaged in the property, wish Susie was here for more of your stay.Please do come back we'd love to see you again summer time is fantastic bring your fishing poles!
business
Secluded Light Filled House, Gardens,River, 5 Min to Phoenicia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p414398vbi
845-688-2154
Phoenicia Catskills
5

A LITTLE PLACE JUST SOUTH OF HEAVEN

  • 5 of 5
We stayed 2 nights , we had a fantastic time , perfect woods cabin , with everything you need out of the city
The local town was cool , chip and Susie were the perfect hosts, they helped make a bonfire and the kids make a snow man and even helped them make a wood sculptured hammer for my birthday
My 10 year old son said is was the best time he's had in the wilderness and has made me promise to go back soon , it won't take much convincing,

I was tempted to give it zero star rating , because sometimes you want to keep the really cool stuff secret
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks Mark,I must say Susie and I had a blast with the kids,so beautiful,polite,curious and fun. I wish we had much more time, because there is a lot to get done with those four, bow and arrow bearing, indians. I hope we get to meet the mother of sweet Isa and Liam next time.Don't worry about keeping it a secret, we will always have room for your lovely family same goes for Feonna,Harper,Suki and Michael. See you later Chip and Susie
business
Secluded Light Filled House, Gardens,River, 5 Min to Phoenicia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p414398vbi
845-688-2154
Phoenicia Catskills
5

WONDERFUL

  • 5 of 5
Not only is the location wonderful, but the cabin is also beautiful. The owners are not only pleasant, but kind, and go well out of their way to make your stay great. I cannot recommend this property enough. Thank you for a great stay!
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, all of you were a pleasure to have here and do come again, try the summer time it's great, so is spring and fall! Hope to see you again. Chip and Susie
business
Secluded Light Filled House, Gardens,River, 5 Min to Phoenicia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p414398vbi
845-688-2154
Phoenicia Catskills
New York, New York
5

AMAZING!!!

  • 5 of 5
One of the nicest and best places I have stayed. I would recommend this to anyone especially my friends and family. Chip and Susie are the perfect hosts in that they are so incredibly nice, understanding of our needs and our privacy yet letting us feel like guests but also being part of a home.

It is exactly what were were looking; a home away from home, a rustic retreat, an inspirational getaway and an artists heaven. The house is filled with tons of light, has beautiful views, a stream near by, great hiking and a hop skip away from Phoenicia and the local skiing center.

Thank u Chip and Susie for everything, especially for the wonderful memories.

I can not wait to come back again. =)

Stefania
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Stefania, Thank you, we had the best time with all of you bringing in the new year! Even with 18 inches of snow on your arrival you guys were so smooth and engaged in procession and the rest of the week, please do come back any time and send our love to Eric and the others.
Hope to see you soon, Chip and Susie
business
Secluded Light Filled House, Gardens,River, 5 Min to Phoenicia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p414398vbi
845-688-2154
Phoenicia Catskills
pa
5

VERY ENJOYABLE.

  • 5 of 5
We had a wonderful time at Chip and Susie's House. The rental is a fun house filled with light and art. The beds are comfortable and it was very clean. Susie provided many warm blankets for the cold night. Its such a welcome to wake up to the all the light this house lets in, Beautiful surroundings. There is a great yard with a view of the mountain. My kids 14, 13 and 8 enjoyed playing in the yard and exploring the tree house. The kitchen is just big enough for cooking if you will be doing that, large fridge and big table. It is very quiet and private. We enjoyed our stay. We hiked all day and it was nice to come back to a home environment instead of a hotel. Thanks again!
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Georgeann,Thanks for staying with us it was nice to meet you and your sweet family. I'm glad you all got so much hiking in but also got to enjoy the swing and the tree- house. Thanks again for the photos you sent hope to see you again some time.
business
Secluded Light Filled House, Gardens,River, 5 Min to Phoenicia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p414398vbi
845-688-2154
Phoenicia Catskills
NY
1

DISASTER!! STAY AWAY!!

  • 1 of 5
Where to begin? Perhaps it was when our jaws hit the floor as the owner introduced the place, explaining that they keep a dish towel over the utensil bin to keep out the mice. “We haven’t figured out a way to keep them out.” It was downhill from there.

The mice are everywhere! And it’s not like it’s just one that you can chock up to country living. Mouse droppings on the stove, table, windowsills, refrigerator, in bowls, etc. Most disgusting, only realized afterwards, was the PILE of mouse droppings in the bottom of the toaster used for breakfast. Woke up in the morning with a box of the owners crackers on the floor (from on top of refrigerator) with droppings right there. Our dog spent ½ the night chasing these damn things around. It was disgusting, no other way to describe it.

The living situation is also bad! The master “bed” is a boxspring on the floor with a mattress on top. ¼ of the living room has thick plywood as a floor (with some holes). Parts of the ceiling/roof are sealed with paper between the cracks. The deck outside was falling apart. I didn’t take off my socks/shoes for the entire stay as I didn’t want my feet on the floor. The house modifications are amateurish, as if someone did all the work themselves without actually having the skills to do so. The furnishings and décor was borderline junk. No air conditioning so be prepared to sweat it out. Could go on and on.

NO PRIVACY: owners live RIGHT next door (about 50 feet away). But during the tour, owner mentioned that they had to stop by later to finish laundry!! They are working in the yard, workshed, etc. right in front of living room windows that have no blinds. They walk right by your front door (and bathroom window) to get to their house. Several people accessed the state land behind the house by walking up the driveway and past the living room. And so on.

We left after 2 nights of a planned week stay. Incredibly, after explaining the problems, the owners had the obnoxious audacity to charge us for 4 nights! Unbelievable, especially since owner agreed that the mice were a problem, but “that he was busy so didn’t have the time to plug the holes in the floor/walls”, “that maybe I’ll look at it now”, “put down some traps”, etc. You think? Crazily, the price has increased since our stay!

I’ve used vrbo successfully before, but unfortunately this place reminded me that it really is buyer beware. Make your own decisions on whether to stay here – just know that you’ve been warned!
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Where to begin? My suggestion is to read all the other reviews and a more realistic view will appear. Views, are relative to one's perspective and if the mind is full of disaster that is what one sees. When you live in the woods mice are one of the creatures you may encounter, as well as bear,dear,bald eagles, squirrels,coyote, and many others. Quite a few eat mice, so we do not use poison on mice, we use traps and try to keep them out in the first place. I think the phobia of mice that you said you had may of exaggerated your view and then extended to other areas such as; the deck is not falling apart it is a brand new cedar deck and only half finished covered with plywood on the other half so no one gets hurt. The living room floor did not have ply wood with holes in it, rather temporary pine with knots over plywood subfloor and is now complete with new finished pine planks.The furnishings we have been told by a well respected artist, "every where i look is a beautiful object". We do not care for Ikea or Walmart. The bed is a mattress on a box spring as are most beds yet in that room we don't use a frame as the lower perspective affords a much better view of the mountain and sunrise.As far as the money goes you booked one of the busiest weeks in Phoenicia as the ' Festival of the Voice" was happening and many others wanted to stay here. I was not obliged to give you back anything and I gave you back $1000.00 We must keep everything in perspective. I know you were going through a hard time with your young boy crying often and your sweet old dog pooping all over but I was sad you didn't get a chance to go up in the treehouse, walk into the state forest abutting the land or even enjoy all the beautiful gardens. I do hope you found another place that suited you better.

Map

Zip lines at Hunter Mt largest zip line in North America. 450 sq ft tree house on our property Walk right into state forest from your back yard. Three spots for bond fires plenty of wood to burn.

Photos

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable
This listing does not have a published calendar. Please contact the owner for availability.

Phoenicia House Rental Rates

Notes

  • $250 a night, 2 night minimum
  • US Dollars
  • $250 dollars a night 2 night minimum
  • $1,500 dollars a week
  • $6,500 dollars a month

Amenities

Phoenicia House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
  • Water View
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Telephone
  • Wireless Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Broadband Access
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Parking Off Street
  • Wood Stove
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Child Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • VCR
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • live theater
  • health/beauty spa
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • churches
  • library
  • recreation center
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • walking
  • sight seeing
  • shopping
  • horseback riding
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
  • antiquing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
  • rock climbing
  • mountain biking
  • kayaking
  • basketball court
  • skiing
  • hiking
  • fishing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • golf
  • rafting
  • hunting
  • cycling
  • cross country skiing
  • tennis
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • ski privileges optional
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Tree house behind house. 450 sq ft and 20 ft off the ground spectacular view

Other Vacation Properties

$175 per night
2 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 7
$1,000 per week
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$1,000 - $1,425 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 5