Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

LOFT IN THE HEART OF AMSTERDAM WITH GREAT VIEW ON WESTERTOWER

Jeroen Saris

Advertiser since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Jeroen Saris

Advertiser since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 20, 2014
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

LOFT IN THE HEART OF AMSTERDAM WITH GREAT VIEW ON WESTERTOWER

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Overview

Jordaan Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1,5 Bath, (Sleeps 5-6)

If you want to explore Amsterdam with your family or friends, or you need a stay for a business visit this loft appartment is a great start of your experience of the city. It is quiet, light and beautifully furnished. It is a historic building on a canal (Lijnbaansgracht), in the midst of the Jordaan, one of the liveliest districts of the city. You will find the nice bars, cafés, restaurants and shops in the direct surrourding of the house. Musea, cultural heritage, modern architecture, galleries and shops are around the corner. The apartment is huge (1500 square foot, 150m2, 3 bedrooms), in a old renovated furniture factory under architecture. Very well equipped with all modern facilities.

The loft on the second floor has a gorgeous open kitchen with a cooking island in the middle with a lot of space to work and sit on. There are two living sides on each edge. A quiet one for the music and the view. And a lively for watching TV, eat and drink, both with a view on the street. Looking through the one fence you will have a great view on the famous Westertoren, looking through the other you see the Lijnbaansgracht (canalsite). On the third level are three spacious bedrooms. One bedroom has a 1.60 m queensbed. The second has a doublebed of 1.40 m. The third room has a 'in between' bed 120 cm. When needed there is an extra bed available. Spacious bathroom, nice design, with bathtube, separate shower, toilet and two washbasins. An another half bathroom with toilet on the second floor.

On the roof is a great sun terrace for breakfast, diner, sunbathing with a view over the roofs of Amsterdam. If you need more space/bedrooms: special arrangements are possible for additional fee.

Keywords: Jordaan, loft, 3 bedrooms, 2 - 8 sleeps, huge space, quiet, lively, well equipped, clean, authentic, canalhouse, biking, all facilities nearby, groups, family, business stay, streetlife, culture, Anne Frank house, Nine streets, Haarlemmerstraat, canaldistrict, public traffic, restaurants, light, central heating.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Jeroen Saris (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

About Jeroen Saris

We are Jeroen Saris and Lia Randsdorp. On the picture you see me and my partner celebrating her 50th birthday with friends diner and dancing in the street. This house is special because it has two frontsides on each side of the house: one on the canal and another on the (Jordaan) Tichelstraat. My wife is clerck of citycouncil in Zaanstad (a nearby town), I am a consultant in urban development.

Jeroen Saris purchased this apartment in 2001

Why Jeroen Saris chose Jordaan

This house is not a vacation rental, it is 'home'. For it has been our familyhome in wich we lived with our two doughters for more than ten years. They are on university now. The apartment is still in same state: warm, pleasant, fully equipped kitchen, nive pictures, Frisian clock, painting of The house of the East Indian Campany. We live in the other appartment downstairs in the same building. We don't come upstairs onless you invite us. One other thing I can assure you: we will never ever leave this city.

What makes this apartment unique

In this house you will enjoy the unique atmosphere of a original Amsterdam loft in the inner city. This city and this neighbourhood are rich of culture, cosmopolitan and easy living at the same time. You will experience it in the looks, smells and feels of the house and the neighborhood. You will have complete privacy, because you do have your private entrance. On the other hand we live near, so we are there for all your questions (if you want).

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Matt, you'r right. Tell all your friends and bring them to Amaterdam. Next time we will be there to show you the details and secrets of the city. Thank you for your words. Jeroen
Dec 2012
  • 1 of 2

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 37 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Loft in the Heart of Amsterdam with Great View on Westertower
average rating of 4.783784 based on 39 reviews
business
Loft in the Heart of Amsterdam with Great View on Westertower
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413948vb
-+31655836385
Jordaan Amsterdam
Finchampstead UK
1

Canal House Apartment

  • 1 of 5
We were shocked and dissapointed at the condition of the apartment when we arrived especially after reading the reviews and description. The main area was accessed via two flights of stairs one of which was extremely steep and narrow. The decoration and paintwork was very poorly maintained and the floor on the main level proved to be dangerous as chair legs could pass through holes in the floor. There was exposed wiring on the main level ceiling and the so called half bathroom was in fact a toilet and wash hand basin, with only cold water to wash hands after using the toilet, which we considered unhygenic. The cooking utensils were dirty and the kettle was thick with burnt on residue from previous years of use and needed to be replaced or cleaned. We could not use some of the utensils due to their condition. additionally the cooker was in need a good clean. The concrete sink was in a very bad condition with a series of cracks and stains and there had been a bad attempt to repair the drain. We did not approve of having a dustbin in the kitchen area which after a few day began to smell before being emptied by the owner.
The bedroom level was accessed via another flight of stairs from the main level. this level smelt musty and dank. The main bedroom curtain was badly deteriorating and just about hung onto the runner, there were only two small pillows supplied. The bathroom smelt and the shower curtain was in need of replacement as it was old and stained. There were no grab handles in the shower area which was slippery and could have resulted in an accident. There were only 6 towles supplied for 4 people for a two week rental period which was insufficient.
The apartment is not suitable for the elderly, the steepness and number of stairs presented extreme difficulty for the ladies in our party and we had to ask to owner to carry our luggage up the two flights of stairs to the main level and down again on leaving.
Very poor value for money
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: After reading this review I was initially shocked, because we have not yet received a single bad review in all those years. A day later I realized myself this was a blessing in disquise. We did everything needed to make the apartment proper on a high level of maintenance.
This was our answer to our guest:
'We learned our lesson. Your review was a wake up call for me. Last week we did look with your eyes to the apartment. That was a good and healthy exercition. We cleaned the kitchen thoroughly, put all kitchen tools in the dishwasher and threw away what was obsolete. Even the kettle gleams like new again, so does the ofen. The sink and the drain are covered with a new layer of mortar so that no dirt can acculate anymore. We also improved the lighting on the rooms.
Thank you for keeping us sharp.
Next time please ask me for more towels. As you know we were not there when you arrived, as result of a car accident in france. So I did know how many towels our housekeeper did provide to you.
Thank you again for your critical review'.
There is one more issue: the stairs. I have to admit the stairs are steep, but not more than regular in Amsterdam. That is the way the houses are built in the inner city. They proved to be too steep for our guest who are late in their seventies. That is why I brought their luggage up and I will do for future guests who need that service. It is a serious issue to consider if you want to rent our apartment.
business
Loft in the Heart of Amsterdam with Great View on Westertower
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413948vb
-+31655836385
Jordaan Amsterdam
Abilene
5

Lovely Jordaan apt

  • 5 of 5
We had a fabulous time in this very comfortable, clean apartment. It was in a very clean beautiful part of Amsterdam and very close to transportation, food and history. We had a perfect stay
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Loft in the Heart of Amsterdam with Great View on Westertower
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413948vb
-+31655836385
Jordaan Amsterdam
4

Great Location

  • 4 of 5
The location of this apartment is absolutely perfect and the layout very spacious. The stairs up to the loft were intimidating for 3 American 50 plus women, but the owner carried our excessive luggage up and down for us! The steps are about 6 inches deep so likely kept us from having too much wine as well! Overall, we loved Amsterdam and will definitely plan to return.
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
Loft in the Heart of Amsterdam with Great View on Westertower
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413948vb
-+31655836385
Jordaan Amsterdam
Las Vegas Nevada U S A
5

Great fun!

  • 5 of 5
We really enjoyed the flat, we had everything we needed. This was our first time in Nl. We walked all around and saw many beautiful sites. The neighborhood is very good- shops and dining close by. The owner was helpful- Great place to stay- thanks
  • Submitted: May 18, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Loft in the Heart of Amsterdam with Great View on Westertower
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413948vb
-+31655836385
Jordaan Amsterdam
5

Charming Comfortable Upscale Large apartment in excellent location

  • 5 of 5
We just returned from a week in Amsterdam and stayed at this lovely apt. in the Jordaan.We couldn't have been more pleased with our choice--it was even nicer than the photos showed. There were only 3 of us because the 2 friends we were expecting to join us couldn't make it at the last minute. The space could have comfortably housed 6 persons. It was a great location because it was on a quiet canal but close to so many great restaurants and cafes and bars--all walking distance. And we also walked to all of the sights-museumplein, etc.--but there is a tram convenient if you prefer. I especially enjoyed the markets which were close by. The space was clean and comfortable and had a very trendy upscale design aesthetic. we enjoyed the fresh flowers and it was filled with books and music--we felt right at home. Our weather didn't allow use of the upper roof deck, but that would be a real plus in the good weather overlooking all the roof tops.
The owner was very helpful when one of our group had a dental emergency-
There were also helpful books and maps on the city available and a grocery store was very close and also bakery, etc. I would stay here again and recommend it to all my
friends.
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Loft in the Heart of Amsterdam with Great View on Westertower
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413948vb
-+31655836385
Jordaan Amsterdam
Indianapolis, IN. USA
5

Wonderful Week

  • 5 of 5
The apartment was very attractive and comfortable. The four of us had plenty of space and opportunities to relax after each day of walkable sightseeing. The owners were helpful and pleasant to us.
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: this is a very short review, but what can we say more? This apartment is huge, lovely and very well-located. So what is there to say more? it is very well equipped for a group of family that likes to stay a week or longer. The longer you stay the more you enjoy the homely atmosphere and the comfort.
Jeroen Saris

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Schiphol Airport
Nearest Barpub
100 Metres
De Blaffende Vis
Nearest Ferry
1 Kilometres
IJ
Nearest Train
2 Kilometres
Amsterdam Centraal
Nearest Motorway
3 Kilometres
A10
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Caramba
Nearest Beach
20 Miles
Zandvoort
Car: not necessary

The Jordaan itself is the lively part of the inner city. The canaldistrict hosts many galleries, shops, designstores and cafes. The mayor museums, theaters, best restaurants are on walking or biking distance. Rent a bike around the corner on the Lijnbaansgracht. The wider spread tourist attractions in de centre of Amsterdam are on a distance of 15 minutes. On saturday you can visit a famous streetmarket on the Lindengracht and a organic market on the Noordermarkt (10 minutes walk) On monday woman form all Amsterdam and all cultures come to the textile market on Westerstraat. The nearby Haarlemmerstraat is one of the most exciting shopping streets of Holland with small specialised design shops. The waterfront (IJoevers) an architectural interesting site 15 minute walk: Muziekgebouw, Jazzcafé, IJsbreker, the Eye, the Zwijger, National Library, the Sweelink (conservatory).

Photos

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rates & Availability

From €200 Per night

Jordaan Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Autumn
Sep 16 - Dec 22
3 night minimum stay
€250
From
€300
Fri,Sat,Sun
€1,400
€4,500
 
 
winter
Jan 15 - Apr 29
3 night minimum stay
€200
From
€250
Fri,Sat,Sun
€1,015
€4,350
 
 
spring mid season
May 1 - Jun 14
3 night minimum stay
€250
From
€300
Fri,Sat,Sun
€1,400
€4,500
 
 
summmer
Jun 15 - Sep 14
3 night minimum stay
€300
From
€350
Fri,Sat,Sun
€1,750
€5,400
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
€300
From
€300
Fri,Sat,Sun
€1,400
€4,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit €100
Pet Fee €50
Notes The booking form contains information about the payment, account nubers, bank and paypal. It also contains rules on annulation.

Payment by paypal or international banktransaction

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Amenities

Jordaan Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 150 m²
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Monument View
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , this bathroom is on the same flor ar the kitchen/livingspace
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 child bed , 1 sleep sofa /futon , 1 bunk bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 bunk bed
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • equestrian events
  • roller blading
  • swimming
Notes:
Flat screen TV, a bath, great kitchen with cooking island, roof terrace

Other Vacation Properties

$311 per night
7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • Sleeps 6
$373 - $398 per night
3 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • Sleeps 6
$435 - $572 per night
3 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote