WHAT A DUMP!!!
The title says it all, and I have pics to prove it... We stayed at this rental during Easter break 2013. Ac was broken, all balcony furniture was horrible. The place looked like it had not had any routine cleaning and maintenance in a long time. The electrical outlet was hanging out of the wall on one of the balconies. After spending a considerable amount of time at the management office, they replaced the rusted out pots, had the ac fixed, and replaced the melted dryer vent. This was just the beginning. We paid premium for a week, and ended up leaving early. It was totally disgusting. The garbage from the previous guests was overflowing out of the cans and smelled. Mold on the windows, grime on the walls and floors. Cracked and broken tiles by the "pool" which was as big as a bathtub. The only thing clean was the toilets and beds---which is obviously all they keep up with. In the end, the GM of the management co. came out herself, and was totally embarrassed. We got a small portion of our money back, but in my opinion, that was a joke! If I wanted to go slumming, I could have stayed for a fraction of that price a couple of blocks down. The only thing pleasant was the fixit guys that came by- I think they felt sorry for us.
Owner's Response: We appreciate your comments and cannot apologize enough for your bad experience. Off-site owners, like us rely heavily on management companies to handle guest-related issues and report anything major back to us.
In this case, we did not hear the whole story. In April, we were told
by management that a discount was given due to A/C repair and safety issues from cracks and broken pool tiles. Due to guest’s post like this one, we became aware of cleaning problems and poor kitchen items. We noticed some cleanliness issues this spring and asked the management company to take care of this – so they switched cleaning crews (but obviously, this did not fix the problem). Because of this issue and poor communication, we changed management offices recently in May 2013. Our number one concern is providing a great experience for our guests and when that does not happen, we want to AND need to hear about it directly. So thank you for your post.
Our gulf front house has rented very well during the summer and spring time and we usually do all our repair work and upgrades during the winter months. Unfortunately, this year we had to wait for the
Association to repair the pool, pool deck and leaking balcony (they
needed to secure funds since some of our neighboring units had the
same issues with cracks and broken tiles on the pool deck). The timing
of the repairs was out of our hands unfortunately. We could not finish
all our repairs/upgrades until we received Association approval, so
this year, our work was not done until May. We painted the entire
house after the leak and finished the pool repair work. We are
currently looking to replace some of old outdoor furniture.
We thank you for your feedback. We also want to reassure our guests
that our house is in excellent condition after the finished repair
work and new paint job. We are confident the new management team will do much better managing, including and most importantly, keeping the house clean and better communication with owners.
Again, we sincerely apologize for your experiences. We believe that the steps taken, including getting a new management team among other things, will alleviate these concerns and provide an even better experience to our guests. We hope that you do choose to return and as always, we appreciate your feedback.
Helpful votes: 1/1
Did you find this review helpful?