THE CHARMING "WINDY GABLES" ON HOLLYWOOD BEACH: DREAM GET-AWAY

Cecile Feitshans

Speaks english, Happy to respond to emails in Italian or Spanish.
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps16
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn more

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

THE CHARMING "WINDY GABLES" ON HOLLYWOOD BEACH: DREAM GET-AWAY

Oxnard House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8-16)

Known to locals & historians as The Windy Gables. (Clark Gable is known to have lived here.)

We've just updated our enchanted property, steeped in both charm & comfort. This 2 story home right on the beach offers direct access to a wide, white stretch of sand and spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean.

Hollywood Beach is a safe, quiet community of "locals" & regular renters. There's plenty of room on the sand for family fun, long walks, romantic dinners or star-gazing after some of the best sunsets on the California coast. Our two-story summer house can be your writer's retreat or—with room for up to 13—can be your family's favorite year-round get-away.

The warm living room and family room feature cozy fireplaces. The formal dining area & breakfast nook open right onto the deck for beach/ocean views at every meal. Our newly updated kitchen is located just off the family room for spectacular views (& an eye on the kids) while cooking. Hardwood & marble floors, cable TV & Wi-fi throughout. A master suite with ocean-facing balcony on the 2nd floor will let you sleep to the sound and fresh breeze off the Pacific Ocean.

Walking: Only a couple of blocks to Mrs. Olsen's for breakfast or lunch, shops in the Harbor Village, paddle boarding & kayaking, and a local Farmers' Market every Sunday. A short drive to charter boats & tours of the Channel Islands (known as "the Galapagos of the California Coast").

Activities include kayaking, paddle boarding, fishing, sailing, surfing, mountain biking & hiking on the islands, beach cruising our tiny town or along the beach paths, or just sitting by the hotel pool (up the coast a short distance) with a chilled drink in hand.

Once you're here, get great sushi, fish n' chips, pizza or BBQ within 1-2 miles; other restaurants, stores, and amenities of Oxnard & Victoria; shop the outlet malls of Camarillo; enjoy the movies, tacos & sports bars in communities nearby.

Less than an hour: The restaurants & shopping & beaches of Malibu, Santa Monica & Santa Barbara. You can be back in Los Angeles in an hour.

Keywords: charming house w/ original charm & character, cape cod style, semi-private, family getaway, retreat, cottage

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome

Cecile Feitshans

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Speaks english, Happy to respond to emails in Italian or Spanish.
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Our family has worked in the film industry for generations and our jobs require us to travel a lot. We've seen a lot of great sets in stunning locations around the world, but Hollywood Beach, for us, is our own little sanctuary.

We love to bring our kids out for a mini-vacation or long weekend -- they play and explore while we just relax. We like cooking dinner as the sun goes down; the kids play on our wide, safe stretch of beach.

We're usually sipping wine on the deck while the sun sets -- and it sure beats round trip flights to Hawaii for the very same views!

We found this house when looking for a place "near enough" to LA to enjoy often, but "far enough" from our busy lives to allow our families to really enjoy "getting away." Hollywood Beach is the perfect spot.

Imagine our surprise when we found that our great-grandmother's "little get-away" from the Hollywood scene of the 1920's was this very same beach! (She was an actress & dancer when silent films were transitioning to sound.)

Hollywood Beach was the vacation spot of the celebrities from that era. And, while it's now only 45 minutes to LA, Malibu or Santa Barbera, this tiny ocean community is still quiet and remote enough to seem like our own private beach.

The views!

The quiet & solitude -- coupled with the many, many activities nearby.

The charm of this still very-original property.

The wide beach and safe streets.

Sea lions in the harbor. Dolphins in the surf. Boat rides to Channel Islands. Sunsets &, did we mention, the views! You'll love it, too.

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn more

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.7
based on 15 traveler reviews

Write a Review
The Charming "Windy Gables" on Hollywood Beach: Dream Get-Away
average rating of 4.733333 based on 15 reviews
business
The Charming "Windy Gables" on Hollywood Beach: Dream Get-Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411913vb
Oxnard Central Coast California
5

GREAT GETAWAY FOR FAMILIES

  • 5 of 5
We had a wonderful time at the very charming Windy Gables cottage. The house was super cute and worked well for our group of 12 (4 adults & 8 kids). There were plenty of beds/pullouts/couches so that no one had to sleep on the floor. It had everything we needed to cook large meals and bbq, I really have no complaints. I would definitely come back again.

Hollywood Beach is a terrific beach (long, wide, clean) and really feels undiscovered and is only 20-25 minutes from Santa Barbara. We had the beach to ourselves nearly every day. We loved that were were able to literally step out onto the beach right from our backdoor.
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
The Charming "Windy Gables" on Hollywood Beach: Dream Get-Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411913vb
Oxnard Central Coast California
-
5

BEST VACATION EVER!!!

  • 5 of 5
We fell in love with the house upon arrival! It was so charming, quaint, and right on the beach. As soon as we walked through the front door, there was a gorgeous sunset that could be seen through the living room/dining room's span of windows! We could have been in Hawaii! The sun was setting and we sat on the deck, had a glass of wine and watched the kids play on the beach. It was amazing! The master bedroom view the next morning was incredible, looking out at the great surf while lying in bed was such a treat! We cooked great family meals at home in the fully stocked kitchen, and with the luck of such great weather, while the rest of the country was freezing, we had a heavenly vacation! We did use the fireplaces to keep warm in the evening as the temperature did drop. A few tips - a couple markets are conveniently located within a mile of the house and there's a harbor right next to the house that rents kayaks, stand up boards, etc (my husband loved this and went surfing right in front of the house). Would highly recommend this charming beach house and can't wait to go back!
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
The Charming "Windy Gables" on Hollywood Beach: Dream Get-Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411913vb
Oxnard Central Coast California
5

CHRISTMAS 2013 ~ NEW YEAR 2014

  • 5 of 5
My family and I spent 8 days at Windy Gables. It was perfect. The house is very charming and met all our needs. The weather was also great and we honestly enjoyed every minute of our stay.

A big thank you to Ceci and Jay for making our Christmas so memorable.

We will be back. :)
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
The Charming "Windy Gables" on Hollywood Beach: Dream Get-Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411913vb
Oxnard Central Coast California
Bakersfield
5

A CHARMING BEACHFRONT HOME

  • 5 of 5
My husband and I took our church college group for a long weekend at the Windy Gables. I found the description and the photos to be accurate, although the house was more spacious than I imagined. The house was well stocked with linens, towels, and everything else we needed and everything was in working order and good condition. There was plenty of sleeping space, sitting space (2 living rooms and a large dining table). We prepared and ate most of our meals in the house and I found the kitchen to be well equipped and there were plenty of dishes for our group of eleven. Our group enjoyed eating around the large dinning room table. There is lots to do in the surrounding area and some great places to eat. We did a competitive group surrey scavenger hunt at Mandalay Bay followed by lunch at Toppers pizza (both a 10-15 minute walk from the house). We also spent a day in Santa Barbara and took a coastal cruise and did some shopping. We had our last breakfast together at Mrs. Olsen's and were overwhelmed by the huge portions and incredible food ( a very short walk from the house). When we were at the house, we enjoyed walking on the beach, spotting dolphins, playing volleyball and lounging on the comfy couches (seems like someone was always falling asleep on those) and sitting around the fire. The weather was wonderful and there were very few people, it was like having a private beach. We found Ceci and Jay to be very quick to respond to our e-mails and phone calls and patient with our questions. Our group loved this place and found it to be the perfect place for our retreat. We would love to go back again. Thank you Jay and Ceci!
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Charming "Windy Gables" on Hollywood Beach: Dream Get-Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411913vb
Oxnard Central Coast California
2

OLDSCHOOL

  • 2 of 5
The weather was great so we had a nice relaxing weekend. The home itself was clean , however there are some Items that you, the owner, should know about : There is a gas leak in the garage ;I smelled the odor that the gas co puts in natural gas -the fireplace in family room area would not light the second night of our stay, the damper in the living room fireplace is malfunctioning and the room filled with smoke when we attempted to use that fireplace- the toilet in the master bath upstairs ran constantly & I had to adjust the float several times to fix it, & lastly there was no toilet paper in the house when we arrived . I have to say I'm rather disappointed , this trip was my birthday gift to my girlfriend and it was nice to get away ,but with all the issues it felt like we were having to work on things all weekend & could not enjoy the fireplaces
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi John, thank you so much for your note -- and your honesty in letting us know what got in the way of your having a perfect getaway.

Windy Gables is one of the few remaining "near original" homes on Hollywood Beach -- one of the reasons we're told people love it. However, it comes with quirks -- and takes a little work (at least on our part!) -- as we open it up to more and more vacationers.

So, you and everyone should know the following:

* The gas leak was FIXED. We've just had every bit of copper pipe under the house replaced. The gas lines were inspected and tested and received an all clear from the city.

* There are EXTRA SUPPLIES like toilet paper, paper towels, soaps, tissues and such fully stocked in a locked cabinet in the downstairs bathroom. It is supposed to be used by the cleaning crew to replenish between rentals. But it is also available for all of our renters during your stay. You should have had everything you needed upon arrival, but, if not, a quick note or call would get you the combination for the supply cabinet and you're covered.

* The pilot lights in beach front homes go out often due to ocean wind gusts. But ours are tested regularly and are in good order. We have instructions on site and are only a phone call away if you ever need help. We will always walk you through the solution or make immediate arrangements for assistance on any issue.

* Your note about the chimney flue that is stuck helped a great deal. Both the fireplace in the entry/living area and the toilet upstairs are being fixed before our next renters arrive. Thank you!

We hope, after all, that you have good memories about your weekend here. And we hope that the work we've done since your visit encourages you to stay with us again.


Ceci & Jay
re: The Windy Gables on Hollywood Beach
business
The Charming "Windy Gables" on Hollywood Beach: Dream Get-Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411913vb
Oxnard Central Coast California
5

ROAD WARRIORS

  • 5 of 5
We loved the location and beach. Unfortunately we had cooler than we were hoping for. The house was great for our two families including 5 children. I could have used more comfortable beds, but that's my only complaint.
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Mrs. Olsen's
Nearest Point of Interest
Boat Rental
Nearest Point of Interest
Topper's Pizza
Nearest Point of Interest
Farmer's Market
Nearest Point of Interest
Fresh seafood market
Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Oxnard House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer Rates 2014
Jun 1 2014 - Aug 29 2014
7 night minimum stay
$3,340
 
 
Fall 2014
Aug 30 2014 - Dec 31 2014
2 night minimum stay
$558
$2,540
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$558
$2,540
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning & Linen Service $180.00 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $89.00
Tax Rate 8.0%
Notes SUMMER RENTALS are only offered One Week at a time and are only available FRIDAY to FRIDAY.

MONTHLY AVAILABLE
Contact us directly for rates on all Monthly Rentals. Thank you.

Naturally, all rates are subject to change until a reservation deposit is paid for and your reservation is confirmed.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Oxnard House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
General:
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Garage
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Refrigerator
  • Kitchen
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2.5
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (3)
Entertainment:
  • Stereo
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio
  • Balcony
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • walking
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
  • boating
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • surfing
  • fishing
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • jet skiing
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • cycling
  • kayaking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • deepsea fishing
  • pier fishing
  • sound/bay fishing
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

$1,470 - $1,960 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$1,975 - $2,370 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$275 per night
3 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8