Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Heart of the Wine Country--close to all wineries and wedding venues

Kim Johns

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Kim Johns

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 25, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Heart of the Wine Country--close to all wineries and wedding venues

Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 3 nights


Temecula Estate Rental Photos and Description

Estate, 5 Bedrooms + Den, 3.25 Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

Enjoy 4000 square feet of country serenity on 2 1/2 acres in the wine country of Temecula. This Estate was featured in the Temecula Valley Women's Club Christmas Home Tour in 2000.

Our home has 5 bedrooms and 3 1/2 baths for your inside comfort. All bedrooms have new duvet linens that freshly await guest arrival. The backyard consists of an infinity edge pool and spa overlooking the valley below and Pala Mountain. To enjoy the outdoor area, a 650 square foot pool house with living and dining room provide comfort for a cozy book, nap or family gathering. The pool house has an outdoor barbeque area with perimeter seating. Around the pool is a covered patio area with lounge chairs and tables for additional recreation and enjoyment of wines purchased from one of Temecula's 35 wineries.

Inside the home is relaxing and cozy. A large kitchen with mountain views allows for intimate dining or large gatherings around the table or sitting at the kitchen island. The family room has sound equipment, tv and satelite along with video library. The master bedroom is downstairs and has a sitting area and a corner fireplace. Sliding doors open to the outdoor jacuzzi area allowing easy access to the pool area. The master bedroom has a large Victorian king-sized bed with comfy, cozy bedding allowing for sweet dreams. The master bath hosts a two-person whirlpool tub and separate shower. Dual sinks and mirrored closets provide a comfortable experience for couples to dress and ready.

Upstairs houses the remainder of the bedrooms. On each side of the upstairs are two bedrooms connected with jack-n-jill baths. Each bedroom has its own sink and dressing area with a shared toilet and shower. Bedroom one has a double bed, and beach decor and overlooks the vineyard in the front of the house. Bedroom two has two twin beds with bright Caribbean colors and overlooks the mountains in the back of the house. Bedroom number three has a queen sized bed with bright, cheery flower decor and overlooks the front rose garden. Bedroom number four has a queen antique reproduction bed and overlooks the backyard pool area. Upstairs an additional den has a futon that sleeps two children comfortably. An inflatable queen sized mattress is available for two additional guests and an additional fee applies.

Our home is at the beginning of the Wine Country Trail and is easily accessible to all wineries within a 3 mile radius. With 35 plus wineries, morning hot air balooning, parasailing, close proximity to beaches, antiquing, family fun parks, and restaurants, this is the perfect vacation location.

Please be aware--there are restrictions in the Wine Country regarding weddings and events. Many homes will state that they are approved for weddings and events and they are not. Our home does not meet the County requirements for events due to location and size of the property--so NO WEDDINGS, RECEPTIONS, REHEARSALS OR EVENTS--Under ANY circumstances.

Keywords: wineries, views, vineyards, hot air balloons, vacation villa, pool house, large estate home on acreage

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Kim Johns (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 25, 2015

About Kim Johns

We built our home when we married and combined our families. We raised our four children in the home and now are empty nesters. We enjoy the city life and returning 'home' to our relaxing vacation villa.

Kim Johns purchased this estate in 1994

Why Kim Johns chose Temecula

Our Temecula Estate was built as our home to enjoy and raise our family. The area is beautiful, and serene with mountain and valley views. The wineries are close by, Old Town is charming and the nights are peaceful. This is our home, and we enjoy sharing our hospitality with others.

What makes this estate unique

This home provides beautiful sunrises and sunsets over the mountains. Early morning birds awaken you with hot air balloons flying overhead. Afternoons are perfect to enjoy the infinity edge pool, and a family barbeque in the outdoor kitchen. As the sun sets, you can enjoy sitting in the pool house and enjoy shade, or sit under the decking to watch the sun set. In addition, the property is located within easy driving distance of all major amusement parks in Southern California allowing for easy day trips. The beach and the mountains are just an hour drive away.

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 11 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Heart of the Wine Country--close to all wineries and wedding venues
average rating of 4.181818 based on 11 reviews

Beautiful- but be prepared

  • 4 of 5

The house was beautiful and obviously owned by people who take pride in their belongings. The accommodations were spacious and many basic comforts were provided for. The view was beautiful and the space was reasonable for up to 12 people. There were a few inconveniences that can be mitigated if you know what to expect:

1. There are only 6 cars allowed on this property, and there is no street parking. We had to shuttle 4 cars to a residential area 3 miles away. This was clearly outlined to me ahead of time, and we were prepared to do so. Just be aware of this before you book.

2. The air conditioner was locked at 78 degrees. In triple digit weather, this was very uncomfortable for us and there was really no relief from the heat. I found that temperature to be unreasonable considering we were on vacation and generally expected to have some comforts and the *luxury* of a 74 degree house. I would recommend negotiating a lower AC limit before booking if you are going to be visiting during hot months.

3. We were unsettled to see video cameras inside the house. I understand that most rental houses have video cameras outside the house, but this was new to me. Upon reading the contract, I saw that I had agreed that the video cameras would be turned on to monitor our arrival and departure, then turned off for our privacy. Just be aware that you will be under video surveillance upon arrival and departure.

4. After we left, there were a few nit-picky complaints about the trash not being taken to the correct trash cans, furniture being *slightly* out of place, and candle holders being out of place. I would just recommend being very meticulous to put things exactly where you found them, because they *will* say something.

The home is really, really, lovely, and I actually do recommend it, but with the aforementioned warnings.

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your response and we are so glad you enjoyed our home!! We ask that our guests, who enjoy partaking in the Wine Country, remove their wine bottles, and or place them in the proper containers so that the next guests have space for their trash. A security system is in place to monitor entrances when guests are not using the home. And most importantly, we do not want to disturb our quiet Wine Country neighborhood and have excessive cars parked on the street. We want to continue to host families and guests in our home and have our neighborhood not be affected. Thank you for taking the time to honor those wishes and we are glad you enjoyed our home and your stay!!

Not as expected

  • 3 of 5

Nine of us rented this house for 3 nights. We were in Temecula for a race and wanted to make a nice trip of it.

Upon arrival at the house we immediately noticed the grass needed mowed and the landscaping was not very well kept. There was trash blown against the bushes in the driveway and it looked like no one had been to the residence for weeks.

The pool and the scenery from the back yard is very beautiful but the outside of the house was in need of repair and painting. They had pool noodles laying on the back deck that were dry rotting and would start coming apart when you touched them.

The house was very hot inside but the thermostats are controlled remotely and could not be adjusted. The thermostats were set for 78 degrees but the house, specifically the master bedroom, was well over 80 degrees. I tried to call Richard, as per the instructions, but did not receive and answer so I left a voice mail. I further emailed Kim and told her the house was extremely hot. They subsequently turned it down to 76 degrees but the house still felt very warm but tolerable.

A reasonable person would expect that if you spend over $2000 for 3 nights in a house, you would have extra garbage bags, laundry soap, tissues, etc. This was not the case and we had to go purchase these items. 9 people for 3 nights produce a lot of trash.

Overall we still had a good time and the pool was very nice. The inside of the house was nice. My main complaint is the lack of upkeep on the house and the grounds. I only dealt with Kim via email but she was responsive.

After reading prior reviews, it seems most complaints are along the same lines.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I (owner) have spoken with this guest regarding his review of our home. He has graciously shared with me his experiences and I so appreciate his time as it is our goal to ensure a happy travel experience. After speaking with him, we went to the house to review and inspect. Indeed, the lawn had not been maintained and has now been addressed. We are working with a new property manager to ensure that the property has appropriate supplies, cleanliness and maintenance oversight. Unfortunately, the year of 2014 will historically be considered one of the most devastating years for heat and water shortage in California history. The two air conditioners worked day and night to cool the home during this guest's stay. The master bedroom has high vaulted ceilings and direct sun exposure in the afternoon, and the temperatures were just not cooling down. The weekend he stayed, was horrific for temperatures. In addition, the heat and the high winds have severely affected the upper portion of the patio deck in the backyard. Although unsightly, this does not affect the vacation experience in the backyard pool area. Repairs will be done in the fall and winter months and updated pictures will be available on the website. So, I thank this guest for sharing his thoughts, all the while, still enjoying our home for his getaway vacation!
Lowell, MA


  • 2 of 5

We rented three VRBOs in Temecula for wedding guests. This home housed from 8 to 11 people over an 8 day span. The interior of this home is very nice with two exceptions: The Jennaire stove top grill did not have a proper grease catcher and grease went all over the cabinet under the stove. We could not use it after the first use. We reported this but recieved no offer to correct the problem. We also tried to use the jetted tub in the Master BR but the hot water faucet was defective. It barely trickled on full open taking 30 minutes to fill the tub and then wouldn't shut off until another 30 minutes went by. We didn't use it again after that. Also reported but received no further corrective actions or accommodation.

As reported as others, the exterior of the building and the landscaping are well below par. I understand the water issues but trimming shrubs, pulling weeds and clearing away junk would go a long way to improving the appearance of the property. The wood trim on the building is rotted and peeling in many areas. Basic maintenance neglected.

Finally, the AC was a big issue. It is controlled remotely by the owners by computer. It was HOT while we were there and unseasonably humid with actual heavy rain on three of the days we were there. We were told that the thermostats are set at 77 which would normally be tolerable but when you're dressing for a formal wedding this was uncomfortable. Since the thermostats showed readings of 78-81 routinely, we asked them to reset down to 72. They said they would go to 74 but the thermostats regularly showed 77-79. Not cool!

Outside cleanliness, and maintenance are needed badly. It would not take much to bring this property up to the standards expected.

The other two VRBO homes we rented from different owners were cool and comfortable with spotless inside/outside decor.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The actual person who rented our home for their wedding weekend, visited our home personally with his bride to look at the property for its appropriateness to their needs. They spent quite a bit of time looking over the entire property, including the front and back yards, the bedrooms, and bathrooms. The writer of this review was a guest at the home. The actual renter, did not ever contact us regarding his discontent of issues. The writer of this review contacted us several times during the stay to report his discontent. We responded to each of his requests and issues, including sending our housekeeper out to address his needs when he wanted an extra bed brought in for a guest. After his departure, I (owner) personally inspected the issues he presented us with as no one else has contacted us with these issues. The following was found: the kitchen JennAir stove had the appropriate receptacle yet was moved to the incorrect burner, the spa tub has a safety valve to restrict the hot water to enter the tub (this is working as per safety feature upon inspection) and the tub is a two person tub which takes a very long time to fill, the spa tub also has a hygiene feature to purge the used, unclean the water with fresh water, thus the line drains (upon personal inspection the water drained for 60 seconds max), the air conditioner was turned down to the guest request to 74 degrees (this was monitored via remote operation per guest request). During the visit, we responded to each of his conditions, concerns, and comments. And upon his departure, we thoroughly inspected the home regarding his reports, and there were no problems present. All items are completely operational as expected.
Los Angeles, CA

Family vacation

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed a 10 day family vacation here in July. There were 5 adults and 5 children age 6-13. We found the house and backyard to be big and pleasant and we enjoyed our experience. We had a couple of minor issues, but found the owners to be concerned and responsive. The description and photos are accurate. The view from the backyard is especially enjoyable. The pool is attractive, just a bit smaller than we would have liked with 5 kids, but they enjoyed it. The pool and patio areas are nice, with lots of space. The other parts of the yard (front, sides) are minimally maintained. The location was great for us and we had a good combination of relaxing at the house/pool and getting out to various activities. If we stay in the area in the future, we will check into staying here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing our Temecula home for your vacation. We have been able to host many families, such as yours, and enjoy hearing their stories and experiences. Our backyard, pool and pool house are terrific for family gatherings. We look forward to your return in the future.

Girl's Weekend

  • 3 of 5

Overall the home was beautiful and spacious, however the decor was not to my liking. The outside landscaping around the property had not been maintained properly (e.g. trash behind the the outdoor kitchen that had been sitting for a while; fountain in the driveway had green water; the Gazebo and bridge was in poor shape and dead shrubbery around the perimeter of the property). There was a bee hive above the entrance of the property and although a bee keeper was called out, they left dead bees on the porch and surrounding area which made it impossible for us to enter and exit out of the front door. I know TVs are not used often during a vacation, however it would have been nice to have one in the bedrooms. There was only one TV in the entire house, but it was in the family room.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate you choosing our Temecula Wine Country home. Our home was professionally decorated on the lower level with custom furnishings and décor that reflects a Southern charm. Our guests enjoy the outside amenities and spaciousness for their family gatherings, ie. pool house with dining and seating options, outdoor kitchen, infinity edge pool, and seating for all. The partial acreage behind the pool house is used to store maintenance and other items. In compliance with the local water restrictions and in consideration of the water crisis in California, we have turned off our water fountain and the front pond in the vineyard. The perimeter of our property is planted with low maintenance shrubbery while the front yard is our personal vineyard. With vines, bees are a natural occurrence. We were unaware that the beekeeper left residual bees after their visit; otherwise we would have had someone return to remediate. It is our goal to offer a spacious, enjoyable, and affordable home for families, and friends to gather together to make special memories. Thank you for choosing our home!
San Diego, CA

great views- large house

  • 5 of 5

We rented the house for a 3-day holiday get away/staycation traveling from San Diego. The house was great for many reasons:

1. location to the wineries (yet not far off the highway)

2. views from the pool area

3. gorgeous infinity pool

4. plenty of space/rooms and layout of house was wonderful for a large group

5. excellent features- house even provided shampoo, conditioner, etc. (most rentals do not)

6. free internet

7. very large kitchen- easy for everyone to help cook together

Overall, fantastic time in Temecula and outstanding views from the pool area.

Great experience!!

  • Submitted: May 28, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you enjoyed our Temecula Wine Country vacation home. Thank you for choosing our home and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.


Nearest Airport
50 Miles
San Diego, or Ontario
Nearest Beach
30 Miles
Car: recommended

30 local wineries available for wine tasting, wine events, concerts, Pechanga Casino, Pauba Casino,


Rates & Availability

From $475 Per night

Temecula Estate Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
High Season
May 1 2015 - Sep 30 2015
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee $300
Tax Rate 10.0%
Notes Travelers Insurance required at cost of $89. Pool and spa heating fee additional. Minimum stay is 3 nights. Weekend stays considered as fill in. Weekly and monthly rates negotiable. $300 cleaning fee. $500 refundable deposit
Guests pay 50% deposit and balance 30 days prior to arrival
Enter dates to see total


Temecula Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 9 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Adjoins bedroom #1 and #2
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Adjoins Bedroom #4 & #5
    Master Bathroom - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Double sinks, jetted tub, marble shower and private WC
    Powder Room - toilet , Main level powder room
  • Bathrooms have all soap and shower amenities and thick, luxurious towels
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double , Our Ocean Room has a double bed and its own dressing area
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Two twin beds with dressing area attached to bathroom
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Can sleep one adult or two children
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Queen room with private dressing area attached to bath
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , Sunflower room has Queen bed and private dressing area
    Master Bedroom - 1 king , Victorian Bedroom with large bath
  • All bedrooms have high quality linens and pillows. Duvet covers are changed between each guest for a fresh stay
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
  • jetted tub ...
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Bathrooms include soap, lotion, toilet paper and hairdryers. High Chair and Porta Crib available

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$1,950 - $2,200 per week
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 13
$2,900 - $3,893 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 12
$6,500 - $8,000 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 6 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 15

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote