SUNNY SAN RAFAEL 2 BED 2 BATH FLAT IN HISTORIC GERSTLE PARK

Fred Warnecke

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Fred Warnecke

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SUNNY SAN RAFAEL 2 BED 2 BATH FLAT IN HISTORIC GERSTLE PARK

San Rafael House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

This beautiful house, located on a quiet, tree lined street close to downtown San Rafael, is available for both short term (two night minimum) or long term (month to month) rental. Perfect for families touring Northern California, or those needing a base while doing business in the Bay Area or seeking more permanent housing. Centrally located near the Hwy 101 corridor, the house provides easy access to Bay Area destinations: half hour drive to Sonoma and Napa Wine Country, San Francisco, East Bay and coastal beaches… 15 minute drive to spectacular Mt. Tam hiking and biking trails… 3-4 hours to Lake Tahoe skiing and water sports. Lots of great shops and restaurants are just a few blocks away.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • pets considered
Guestbook comments from the owner
Hi Fred!

Just a short note to thank you for providing us with shelter the last few days. We loved the neighborhood and found the home quite suitable for our needs. I would like to let you know that the water tap in the master BR dribbles constantly and should be attended to. Other than that, we found everything in good shape and the kitchen very nice, even tho we never did use the kitchen for cooking. We would gladly recommend your rental to anyone.

Best regards,

Fred & Kitty Meyer
Jul 2013
  • 1 of 3

Fred Warnecke

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.2
based on 10 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Sunny San Rafael 2 Bed 2 Bath Flat in Historic Gerstle Park
average rating of 4.2 based on 10 reviews
business
Sunny San Rafael 2 Bed 2 Bath Flat in Historic Gerstle Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p410502vb
415 999 3571
San Rafael The Bay Area
Surprise AZ
5

WE LOVED THIS HOME!

  • 5 of 5
We loved staying here! Very comfortable, open, light. The dining room is great for a family meal and there is lots of space. Everything you need is there. Lots of Marin history, books, paintings. The neigbors are nice, very quaint street. Close to everything. We brought our pets and they loved it too! We have stayed for two years in a row and intend to go again. Great place to stay.
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Sunny San Rafael 2 Bed 2 Bath Flat in Historic Gerstle Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p410502vb
415 999 3571
San Rafael The Bay Area
5

NICE APARTMENT IN SAN RAFAEL

  • 5 of 5
I really enjoy staying at this apartment with my daughter. It's a very calm and friendly place. The beds are comfortable, the kitchen is well-appointed, and the living spaces are large. It's clean and cozy. The downstairs neighbors are extremely kind and have never disturbed us. I think we (being upstairs) sometimes unavoidably disturb them, but they are very nice about it. I like the neighborhood. The owner is a caring and thoughtful person, and works to make things right if they aren't.
  • Submitted: May 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Sunny San Rafael 2 Bed 2 Bath Flat in Historic Gerstle Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p410502vb
415 999 3571
San Rafael The Bay Area
California
1

HORROR STORY

  • 1 of 5
Ours is a horror story! At midnight, a woman unlocked the door into the kitchen. She was talking to the owner who had told her where the hidden key was located. We told her we had rented the house for 2 days. She left the house, but continued talking outside the house for another half hour. She then banged on the door saying the owner wanted to talk to me. When I read him the conformation e-mail, he finally agreed that indeed we had rented the place. The house was not cleaned properly. The kitchen floor was dirty; the bedroom had Kleenex pieces all over the floor; the bathroom had a wet rug in front of the toilet, and a full wast basket. Would I stay there again? NEVER. Would I recommend the place, NEVER! We paid a cleaning fee for a dirty house. He e- mailed me the next day apologizing for the inconvenience. He said he forgot to mark his calendar and double booked. What a way to run a business!
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What an unfortunate stay for you.
Unfortunately we overbooked because under special circumstances we allowed you to pay by check and it did not go thru pay pal and was not recorded on VRBO.
We immediately assessed the situation and rectified the problem with the incoming tenant by arranging for a hotel room nearby.
Out of this sorry experience we have learnt never again to allow tenants to pay by check.
We did have a substitute cleaner who will now no longer be our substitute . Our usual cleaning crew are excellent. I was out of town so I could not check the substitutes work.
business
Sunny San Rafael 2 Bed 2 Bath Flat in Historic Gerstle Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p410502vb
415 999 3571
San Rafael The Bay Area
Iowa
5

CUTE COMFORTABLE AND CONVENIENT

  • 5 of 5
What a perfect home for our week stay in the bay area. The home was just perfect for the three of us and easily hosted our larger family for Thanksgiving. Great location, great neighborhood, and lovely home with a terrific kitchen. Fred couldn't have been a more pleasant host and we never notice the quiet neighbor living below. TVs are a problem if you need them... it is a bit of a Rube Goldberg system. We will definitely be back...a real unexpected treasure on our visit.
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers
business
Sunny San Rafael 2 Bed 2 Bath Flat in Historic Gerstle Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p410502vb
415 999 3571
San Rafael The Bay Area
5

FAMILY VACATION

  • 5 of 5
This was a great getaway for a couple of days! The owner was very communicative which made the whole process seamless. When I first saw the house online, the pictures made me a little worried, but after I got there, I shouldn't have worried one bit. The house was amazing. Also, if you are looking to stay in San Rafael, the location is perfect for walking to the market, restaurants or parks.

The only thing that was a little tough is the quiet hours for the front end of the house were from 11PM-9AM due to the neighbors that live below. When you have 2 littles that wake up at 5:30, it kept us quarantined to the back of the house. This wasn't that big of a deal since the house is big enough to accommodate their activity.

From now on, for business or pleasure, I will look to this house first for availability.

Thanks!
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed the house. I have since made upgrades with a designer and am trying to make it more seamless and and enjoyable for renters. Looking forward to having you stay with us again.
business
Sunny San Rafael 2 Bed 2 Bath Flat in Historic Gerstle Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p410502vb
415 999 3571
San Rafael The Bay Area
2

LIVABILITY SCORE NEEDS HELP

  • 2 of 5
Things we loved- interesting and lovely side tables and lamps, beautiful pictures, lots of bed linens and finely equipped kitchen with crystal glassware and a multitude of spices and kitchen tools. Great gas stove and microwave.
Things that we didn't- master bed is so hard I had unbelievable back pain until I figured it out and padded mattress with quilt. Shower in master too low but still good hot water. Laundry access is like a scary movie, but washer and dryer excellent. Usability index is very low- dish tv is a nightmare, only room with reception was second bedroom with 2 old recliner chairs. Main Living room is a beautiful setting but all of furniture is very old, losing stuffing, at most seating 5 uncomfortably. I feel sad about this property review but with a few simple upgrades it would be a 5 star property. New furniture, new TV with cable in living room not bedroom, new softer good mattress, and more dinner plates and repaired dishwasher so it doesn't fall open. Refrigerator needs leveling so it closes.
I would love to return when these upgrades are Done. Oh, and then here is the noise problem. There is no sound insulation between the upstairs rental and the full time tenants below. This means sound passes between floors word for word. This is disconcerting at best and embarrassing at worst. Essentially you are in a bedroom watching tv that is directly over the bedrooms of downstairs tenants who hear every sound. NOT a good situation.
Hope this review is taken in the spirit in which it is offered.
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly
Owner's Response: Thankyou for your insight, am working on all the items you mentioned. Hope you will come back and enjoy the results.
Email Owner Email

Map

Muffin Mania Cafe
Vin Antico
Marin French Cheese
Samuel P Taylor State Park

This unit is in central San Rafael, Marin County, 30 mins to SF, 45 mins to Sonoma and Napa counties (wine country), 40 mins to coastal beaches (Stinson, Bolinas, and many more), 15 mins to Mt. Tamalpias (biking, hiking) and 3-4 hours to Lake Tahoe (water sports, skiing).

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

San Rafael House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
standard
Jan 1 2014 - Jan 1 2015
2 night minimum stay
$180
$1,260
$4,500
 
Email Owner Email

Amenities

San Rafael House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Parking ...
  • Internet
  • Wood Stove
  • Heating
  • Towels Provided
  • Living Room
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Wireless Internet
  • Computer Available
Kitchen:
  • Ice Maker
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • Dining
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 bathrooms , a larger one off dining room w shower, toilet sink and linen closet; second smaller one off master bedroom with bath, sink and toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • 2 bedrooms, (2) queen size beds (1) roll away bed (1), large sofa
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • Television
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Lawn / Garden
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • pets considered
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • health/beauty spa
Leisure Activities:
  • wildlife viewing
  • boating
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
  • shopping
  • scenic drives
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • ATM/bank
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • skiing
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • water skiing
  • mountain biking
  • surfing
  • basketball court
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • rock climbing
Notes:
Light filled rooms, 10' tall ceilings, newly remodeled kitchen w granite counters and small computer work/desk space, small garden area w sitting area, wood floors with area rugs, large shower and bath tub, laundry room in basement. Conveniently located walking distance to Downtown stores and restaurants, parks and open space. Located close to Highway 101; south to San Francisco and north to Sonoma and Napa Wine country, and Bay Bridge to Oakland and East Bay destinations; or head to West Marin Open space trails and coastal beaches and Towns. For massage service, contact Jen Winter 415-302-1313.
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

$900 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$1,100 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • Sleeps 4
$200 - $390 per night
3 - 4 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4