Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.


Erin Furr

Advertiser since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 4
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Erin Furr

Advertiser since: 2012
Speaks: english
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


Bedrooms 4
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Kerr Lake Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 13) with air conditioning and private fishing pond

This one of a kind fully restored historic farm house is nestled in the heart of 100 acres of large trees, hay fields and conservation forest only an hour away from Durham and Raleigh. The property, on the National Historic Registry, was once a tobacco farm, whose store, drying sheds and outbuildings still dot the property. A fishing pond sits off the back porch surrounded by horse pasture, while wooded paths lead you to a private dock on a secluded finger of Kerr Lake.

The air conditioned, 2,700 square foot house has a gourmet kitchen with granite counters, custom maple/cherry cabinets, a large island with bar stools and a sunroom with fireplace - a perfect gathering place to watch and socialize with your cooks. The front porch with porch swing is a perfect place to relax and watch the wild life pass by. The back porch houses a private hot tub, where you can relax with a view of the pond and surrounding field, home to ducks, geese and horses and the occasional deer. A farmhouse table sits in the dining room with seating for eight, or dine alfresco: two oversized hardwood picnic tables off the back porch have seating for 16.

Four bedrooms (1 king, 1 queen, 2 twin and 2 bunk beds) offer plenty of sleeping options. A perfect children's room has two sets of bunk beds with ample play space. Board games, an extensive DVD library, basketball net, and internet with WiFi are other entertainment options.

With so much space to explore, we offer, for a fee, the use of our golf cart. Make trips to the lake easy - load the coolers, chairs and gear in the back and enjoy the ride!

Restaurants, grocery stores and shopping are located 10 minutes away in Clarksville, VA. Spend a day on the lake - boat rentals are available in town as well.

Linens are provided.

We are committed to preserving the natural and historical beauty of this rare estate. As such, we prohibit the use of ATVs or motorbikes on the property.

Perfect for gatherings, the property is available for special events, weddings, family reunions and corporate retreats.

Check out our website:

Keywords: Farmhouse, Vacation rental, North Carolina, Virginia, Kerr Lake, Horses, Family reunion, Weddings, Special Events

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Erin Furr (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

About Erin Furr

We are a family of 6 that live in Chapel Hill, North Carolina. Originally from Pennsylvania and Hawaii, we spent time in Boston before coming to North Carolina.

Erin Furr purchased this farmhouse in 2008

Why Erin Furr chose Kerr Lake

We fell in love with this property the moment we set our eyes on it. Our four kids and two dogs have had the best times of their lives running, exploring, sharing campfires, swimming and fishing together. We believe the property is magical.

What makes this farmhouse unique

When we spend time at our farm, we feel transported to a simpler time where we gather together, slow down and enjoy one another. A family game of softball or basketball, fishing or climbing trees makes for a perfect way to spend the day. Watching the sun go down with a glass of wine on the front porch is heavenly. After purchasing the property, we placed the surrounding fields and old growth forests into a conservation trust to preserve the land for the enjoyment of future generations. We invite you and your family to spend time at the Farm and make lasting memories of a truly unique vacation.

Bedrooms 4
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 18 traveler reviews

Write a Review
100 Acre Restored Historic Farm House at Kerr Lake - Horses, Trails, Hot tub
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 18 reviews
Chapel Hill

Peaceful Get Away !!

  • 5 of 5

My brother and his family joined us for the weekend. They drove down from Canada to see this tobacco farm as they live on one in Ontario. The history is fascinating to anyone with even a mild interest in farming. They outdoor environment is beautiful for long walks, enjoying nature, and a peaceful time with family. The house is wonderful with a fun hot tub, outdoor fire pit, fully equipped kitchen that made our meals together an enjoyable experience. The children had a great time overall and a lot of fun both outside and inside playing. It is a great place to get away from the day to day and focus on family, and we were able to accommodate a lot of family there - which is one of the biggest plusses ++ the place can fit a big family gathering!

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Tunstall Farm - Excellence in Every Way

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful place to have our family reunite! The house is full of charm and, yet, has many modern conveniences. The setting is rustic and regal. Erin was great to deal with and answered all our questions in a very timely manner and even had a few goodies on hand for our arrival. Two elderly sisters enjoyed the master bedroom downstairs with twin beds and many other amenities await. The surroundings were amazing and Clarksville and all its charm is just a short 8 minute drive away. This is the kind of vacation rental that you hope for! We'll be back!!

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Great potential, but hugely disappointing

  • 2 of 5

We rented Tunstall Farm for a week long family get together over Thanksgiving. We had 7 adults staying at the property and arrived on Wednesday. The house was cold when we arrived so we turned on the heat. We soon started having to contend with a large number of wasps in the house, mostly in one of the front upstairs bedrooms and in the main living room. We killed at least 15 wasps inside the house that first night. I emailed the property manager and heard back from her the next morning. Her response indicated she knew there might be a wasp problem but she apparently had not done anything to get to the root of the problem. She suggested we use wasp spray in the house which was not an adequate or acceptable response for us given health concerns and the extent of the problem.

We continued to have problems with wasps in the house throughout the course of our stay. On Friday I emailed her again telling her there was definitely an ongoing problem with wasps getting into the house despite the fact that we had sealed off two of the old fireplaces that we most suspected as being the problem areas. At this point, one person had already been stung and we were spending time every evening swatting wasps. The property manager told us she would call out a pest control person and led us to believe they would come either that day or the following Monday. Sadly, no one came to deal with the problem and we did not hear from the property manager again until a few days after we left the property the next Wednesday. In the meantime, we spent time every day contending with wasps in the house, and a second person in our party was stung. The problem was so bad in the living room area that we abandoned attempts to use that room. This meant that for seven adults, the only comfortable place to sit in the evenings was the single couch in the sunroom and there was no access to the only television. Also, going to bed each night with wasps in the bedrooms was far from pleasant. We were hugely disappointed by how much this problem detracted from our use and enjoyment of the property and hugely disappointed that the property manager did not do more to address the problem.

The property itself is unique and we enjoyed the outdoor areas very much as other reviewers have indicated. The kitchen and sunroom were enjoyable to use. Some parts of the house need additional maintenance work, including replacement of some beds and bedding and repair and repainting of walls.

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Again, we do apologize for the wasp problem during your stay at the farm. Since it was Thanksgiving weekend I could not reach anyone until Monday morning and he said the soonest he could come out was Wednesday morning. I tried my very best to take care of the problem as soon as possible but due to the time and it being a holiday weekend it was difficult to get anyone to service the farm. The exterminator did say that because it turned really cold the week you were there it tends to bring them in and its impossible to TREAT those areas that they are getting in because of being a historical home from 1906. We did not have a wasp nest of any kind. He also said he has the same problem in his home and he can't do anything about it since he can't treat the areas inside the walls. This is a extremely frustrating and I assure you we no longer have a issue since now it has stayed cold. We did have guests stay after you that experienced no problem at all. So again, I apologize that this issue affected your experience on the FARM and I did try to rectify the issue as soon as I could but because it being a holiday weekend and the cold snap that happened the week you were there it was the "perfect storm". We have had two families right after your left and they experienced no problem at all. Hope you had a safe trip back to the mid west. Regards, Erin Furr 919.423.6916 Regards, Erin Furr Property Manager Tunstall Farm at Kerr Lake
Richmond, VA

Excellent Family Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5

My sister and I took our 2 families to the farm for our summer vacation and it was amazing! Our kids range in age from 2-9 and all of them had a blast feeding the horses, picking wildflowers, riding in the golf cart and throwing rocks in the creek. The kitchen is great for hosting big groups and we all enjoyed the lake (we rented a pontoon boat from Clarkesville Water Sports). The only drawback I can see for some people is the bathroom situation. There are only 2. One upstairs and 1 downstairs. Thsi did not bother my party since we are all family, but I think it should be noted for others. Erin did a great job communicating with us prior to our visit. I'd highly recommend it!

  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

The PERFECT rustic venue for our Wedding Weekend!

  • 5 of 5

We booked Tunstall Farm for the entire weekend of our wedding--October 3-5. We wanted a private, reasonably-priced venue that provided us with a lot of flexibility for creating a unique and memorable experience for our 80 wedding guests. Tunstall Farm turned out to be a more-than-perfect fit for our vision.

We took full advantage of the property, which has so much to offer! There is lots of space for parking, yard games, carriage rides for the guests (the property manager, Erin, hooked us up with a local vendor for this, and it was AMAZING!), feeding the horses on property, etc. We had a large charter bus act as a "shuttle" for our guests between Durham, NC, and Tunstall Farm, for those who did not want to make the drive (I would say to plan for a drive of about 1.5 hours each way). The property was able to accommodate this bus perfectly. In addition to having our wedding ceremony and reception at the farm (everything was outdoors for these events), my husband and I were also able to invite our entire bridal party to stay at the farm with us for the weekend, and it was great to be able to offer them a place to stay without any real additional charge to us! The property has a great chef's kitchen, a golf cart to shuttle people around the property, open green fields, large trees, updated amenities inside the farm house, a hot tub, a fire pit, plenty of linens, a very private location, and a property manager who is wonderful to work with! Erin followed through with everything she agreed to during our planning process, and she was very pleasant to work with. If you are looking for a personal wedding venue (or place to stay with a large group for the weekend), Tunstall Farm provides endless options to create memories that will last a lifetime.

I also think the following items are worth making clear to anyone interested in renting this property. These were not problems for us at all--we simply did not see these items as barriers to anything we envisioned for our wedding weekend--but I think potential renters may be interested in knowing these facts:

**Kerr lake is not visible from the house/main areas

**The property's grounds are natural and uneven, covered with grass and dirt. There is also gravel and LOTS of acorns (hard to walk on) in the fall. So you should be prepared to have to deal with these "'charms" of a rustic venue :) We told our guests to "wear shoes for walking in the grass," and our tables/chairs weren't perfectly level.

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Kendall for having such a amazing vision for your wedding. The Farm was a perfect back drop for making your wedding truly memorable. The day was perfect, the farm tables looked amazing and the carriage rides were a huge hit. I hope you can return for your year anniversary and remember all those wonderful memories ....... All My Best- Erin Furr Property Manager Tunstall Farm

A location beyond expectations for a beautiful wedding - everything we wished for and more!

  • 5 of 5

Our reservations for Tunstall Farm was made sight unseen for my daughter's wedding. The property was beautiful and it exceeded our expectations. Erin, the property manager, was wonderful to work with from beginning to end. She was very prompt to answer emails and all inquiries.

The house was very clean, had all modern conveniences -- including an incredible sound system in the house, and the grounds were just a beautiful. The layout of the house was wonderful but held all the charm of an older home. It is just beautiful and everyone who visited during the wedding week fell in love with the house. Landscaping is beautiful and I found I spent the most time on the porches admiring the views!

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Your wedding was amazing! Every last detailed was not missed.....I hope you can return on your year anniversary to remember all those lasting memories that you made.... All My Best- Erin Furr Property Manager


Cooper's Landing Inn
"Wonderful place for Sunday brunch!"
Nearest Airport
48 Miles
Nearest Golf
22 Miles
Oxford Country Club
Nearest Train
36 Miles
Durham Downtown
Nearest Motorway
25 Miles
HWY 85
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Coopers Landing

Firepit, One Golf Cart (addtl fee),

Hot Tub, Separate Game Room with foosball


Rates & Availability

From $350 Per night

Kerr Lake Farmhouse Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75 + Tax
Golf Cart (weekly) $50 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Golf Cart Fee (weekend) $25 + Tax
Cleaning fee $175 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.75%
Notes March 1-November 30th $350.00 night (1-6 guests) $399.00 night (7-12 guests) *
December-February $300.00 night (1-6 guests) $325.00 night (7-12 guests) *
Cleaning fee is $150 (1-6 guests) $175 for (7-12 guests)
Golf cart weekend $25 Wkly $50
*Holidays (Memorial, 4th July, Labor Day, $400 (1-6 guests) $450 (7-12 guests)
Special event pricing available for weddings, reunions and corporate retreat

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total


Kerr Lake Farmhouse Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 Main Floor - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 Upstairs - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 Full bathrooms one downstairs and one upstairs no on-suite bathrooms
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 4 Main Floor - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 Upstairs - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 Upstairs - 2 bunk bed , Plus 2 Trundle Beds with a twin size mattress
    Bedroom 1 Upstairs - 1 king
  • King size beds (1) upstairs, Queen size Bed and (1) Twin upstairs, 2 sets of bunk beds plus 2 trundles sleeps 6 upstairs and 2 twin beds on the main floor.
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Fire pit, picnic tables, forest trails, fishing pond, porch swing, rocking chairs, outbuildings, rope swing, gardens, granite counters, coffee makers, board games, sunroom, barn, separate building with game room, golf cart, fishing gear, pack and play crib, fireplaces in all the main floor rooms

Other Vacation Properties

$1,505 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 8

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote