Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

3BR CHALET-2 MI. TO DURANGO MTN RESORT-PRIVATE SAUNA-LAKE VIEWS-LOW RATES

Jenna and Jonathan Byers, Gwen Buscher

Advertiser since 2001
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Contact the Manager

Jenna and Jonathan Byers, Gwen Buscher

Advertiser since 2001
Speaks english
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

3BR CHALET-2 MI. TO DURANGO MTN RESORT-PRIVATE SAUNA-LAKE VIEWS-LOW RATES

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

Overview

Cascade Chalet Rental Photos and Description

Chalet, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Welcome to the Purgatory Lake Chalet. This home is exactly what you picture when you think Colorado ski chalet. Located just minutes from Durango Mountain Resort, this home is a great place to stay for your next Durango vacation.

The main floor features a large, fully stocked kitchen with bar seating for 2. The spacious living room has plenty of space for the entire family to curl up by the large fireplace or play a game of cards at the game table. The downstairs bath features a wonderful sauna. A private bedroom with queen bed is also on the main floor.

Upstairs you will find 2 more bedrooms, one with a private bath, and each with a queen bed. The front bedroom also has its own private patio.

Enjoy great lake fishing, swimming and tubing at Lake of the Pines, right behind the home.

Monthly Rates Available - Please contact for more info.

Keywords: chalet, ski chalet, a-frame,house, private house, cabin, purgatory, durango mountain resort, acreage, home, 3 bedroom, three bedroom

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jenna and Jonathan Byers, Gwen Buscher (Property Manager)
Advertiser since 2001
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

3BR Chalet-2 Mi. to Durango Mtn Resort-Private Sauna-Lake Views-Low Rates
average rating of 1.0 based on 1 reviews
business
3BR Chalet-2 Mi. to Durango Mtn Resort-Private Sauna-Lake Views-Low Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407716vb
-+1 (970) 799-4673
Cascade South Central Colorado
Littleton, CO USA
1

Not as advertised

  • 1 of 5
My wife and I stayed at this property from July 14-18 2014. We were drawn to this listing because of the advertised access to the private lake. We were unpleasantly surprised to find that there really isn't lake access since the water is so low behind the house that about all you can access is weeds and muck. In addition, do not let the photos fool you. They show a property where the grounds around the home are neatly mowed and trimmed. This is not the case. The grass around the home had not been mowed for some time and in some areas was waist high on me (I'm 6 feet tall). Only a small strip that leads from the parking area to the deck was trimmed. This probably wouldn't have been a big deal but we had our dog with us and the small trimmed area wasn't really enough for walking our German Shepard. When we complained about the grass/lake they said this was a "rustic property" and the area around it was a "wild meadow" (an understatement) but that doesn't explain the photos showing it being mowed. They did give us recommendations for some other lakes to visit which were very nice but we were planning on walking to a lake...we could have stayed anywhere and driven to these other lakes. The interior of the home is OK, and it was relatively clean although there may be a rodent problem (as evidenced by the traps in the living room and the droppings we found in some of the pots and pans). The water for the property is apparently very hard and many of the fixtures are badly corroded/rusted. The bedframe in the master bedroom was so loose we were afraid to use it, and the sliding glass doors that lead to the upstairs deck were so dirty you could hardly see out of them. On a positive note, this property would probably be a good place to stay during ski season. It is located very close to DMR and the large fireplace in the massive living room would be really nice to sit in front of after a long day of skiing. Unfortunately that wasn't an option for us in July. To be fair, we were given a 10% refund after voicing our complaints but given what they promise relative to what they deliver, 10% was hardly adequate as far as we were concerned.
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are again sorry that you found the cabin surroundings not to your satisfaction. This is a very rustic cabin in the mountains and one of our older properties. We do not try to hide that fact and do not feel that our advertising of the property is unjust. If you read the listings description we do not mention that a trail to the lake is provided from the home, just that the there is a lake located behind the home. The area surrounding the cabin is a meadow not a yard and it changes throughout the seasons. It is not for us to maintain an open meadow. At times the owners have done some minimal mowing during high fire seasons around the house however, this home is in a natural meadow that reaches all the way to the lake. Even if the area around the house had been cut it still would have had high grass to the lake. We have had many guests fish and swim in the lake. Some took tubes down and floated as they had shared that with us. We have walked to the lake several times and yes it can be spongy and muddy at times. It does change and we do not regularly walk to the lake to report conditions nor do we retake photos each season to show the different conditions. We have managed this property for several years and not had anyone until now find that the conditions were unmanageable. We felt that since the issue was something we are not in control of a 10% discount was very fair.

Map

Map

Nearest Ski
3 Miles
Durango Mountain Resort

Photos

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Cascade Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall Off Season
Oct 1 2014 - Nov 23 2014
2 night minimum stay
$175
$1,050
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 24 2014 - Dec 18 2014
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
 
 
Christmas
Dec 19 2014 - Dec 25 2014
4 night minimum stay
$350
$2,450
 
 
New Years
Dec 26 2014 - Jan 5 2015
4 night minimum stay
$400
$2,800
 
 
Winter - 5th Night Free!
Jan 6 2015 - Mar 5 2015
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
 
 
Spring Break
Mar 6 2015 - Mar 22 2015
4 night minimum stay
$325
$2,275
 
 
Spring Off Season
Mar 23 2015 - May 21 2015
2 night minimum stay
$175
$1,050
 
 
Summer - 7th Night Free!
May 22 2015 - Sep 7 2015
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning Fee $100
Tax Rate 6.8%
Notes Until confirmed, all rates and date ranges are subject to change.
Please contact us about off-season rates and special offers.
Ask us about our Military Discount - we appreciate your service!
We require a deposit of 50% of the total amount due upon booking.
Your final balance will be due 30 days (60 days holidays) prior to arrival.
If you are booking within 30 days (60 days holidays) of arrival the full balance is due immediately.
Our prices reflect a cash discount. There is a 3% fee on all cc transactions.
All reservations booked within 7 days of arrival must pay by credit card.

Amenities

Amenities

Cascade Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Full Baths
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Queen size Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (1) Queen Sleeper Sofa (1)
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Other Vacation Properties

$1,750 - $4,725 per week
3 - 5 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 9
$1,715 - $3,850 per week
0 - 5 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 12
$1,400 - $2,400 per week
4 - 5 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 9

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote