Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Sandy Beach, Cathedral, hardwood, hot tub/swim pool, near Awenda park

Hilary Slater

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, (a few greeting words in Greek and Arabic also.)
Bedrooms 5
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights

Contact the Owner

Hilary Slater

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, (a few greeting words in Greek and Arabic also.)
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 24, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Sandy Beach, Cathedral, hardwood, hot tub/swim pool, near Awenda park

Bedrooms 5
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights


Penetanguishene Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 4+1 Bedrooms, hot tub/lap pool, Sleeps 10+4, -no animals in house

Our cottage is a new location/renovation so all reviews are from the old location, on the same lake... No cats in this cottage now!

We have a wonderful spacious cottage, cathedral ceilings, with all the comforts of home: private outdoor hot tub/lap pool, sandy beach, warm quiet swimmable lake + sandy beach, gas fireplace, BBQ, fire pit, A/C, central vac, elegant new hardwood floors this season, TV, movies, library, full kitchen equipment, espresso maker, garden+lawn, fire pit, hummingbirds, loons, owls, etc . Our cottage has 4 upper + 1 lower bedrooms, open plan great room/ kitchen living room, family/games room, 2 full bathrooms, Ping Pong table, Big wrap-around deck, gas line BBQ, sandy beach with clean swimmable water, kayak, float boards, play room, lego box, board games, etc

We rent to quiet groups, maximum 10+4 but sorry, no animals in the house due to guest allergies.

Keywords: 4+1 Bedroom Cottage, Awenda Park, Georgian Bay, Chalet, cathedral ceilings, country house, guest house, lake retreat, sandy beach,kayaking, hot tub, hot pool, yoga retreats, group holiday, family holiday, winter holiday, ski-do , skiing, ice fishing, skating, sports, hiking, lake activities, photography, trees, wilderness, Awenda provincial Park, biking, etc

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Hilary Slater (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, (a few greeting words in Greek and Arabic also.)
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 24, 2015

About Hilary Slater

We live in Georgian Bay and part time at the cottage, so it's fully furnished and has all the comforts of home! I'm an artist, so the cottage is my art gallery as well. We love sharing our space with people who are travelling, or just want to enjoy the quiet of the country holiday, since we appreciate the same when we are here.

Hilary Slater purchased this cottage in 2012

Why Hilary Slater chose Penetanguishene

*2 hours drive from Toronto

* spa retreat cottage

*Sleeps 14+

* sandy beach

* hot tub/lap pool- year round swimming

* luxuries of home

* newly renovated

* spacious, bright, cathedral ceiling, hardwood floors in all rooms

*AC, gas furnace, gas fireplace, gas line BBQ, fire pit

*lawn, trees, privacy, large drive

* on Farlain Lake, sandy shallow-access beach

*kayak, float boards, canoe.

*adjacent to Awenda Provincial Park, Georgian Bay.

* Midland/Penetanguishene 10 mins.

* Wye Marsh, St. Marie Among the Hurons,coffee shops, movie theatre, Georgian Bay boat tours, boat rentals, Sailing, live theatre, arts classes, Golf, Martyrs Shrine

* 2 hours to wilderness, loons, hummingbirds, forests, lakes, sunsets, starry skies, silence

What makes this cottage unique

Wildlife, birds, trees, silence, escape and just 2 hours drive from Toronto- no stress! Lakeview Cottage is a wonderful place to relax and unwind, without giving up the comforts of home. We've made it cosy and convenient to stay here with the whole family, and the surrounding wilderness makes life make sense. Awenda Provincial Park is just around the corner, so you have easy access while you're visiting. Weekends are wonderful year-round, with skiing and snow mobile trails at the doorstep. Come for a relaxed weekend, or visit St. Marie Among the Hurons for their seasonal specials, or photograph birds in Wye Marsh, and visit the Martyr's shrine. Year round wilderness heaven -and town is just 10 minutes away if you're in the mood for a great coffee shop or a movie on a rainy day.

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 5
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 6 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Sandy Beach, Cathedral, hardwood, hot tub/swim pool, near Awenda park
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 6 reviews

great family time away!

  • 5 of 5

My family and my brother's family stayed for a week this summer. Our ages ranged from 1 year to 75 years. Everyone had a very nice time. While there were many of us, the cottage was large enough not to be tripping over anyone. The spa was wonderful after a day at the beach. The lake was perfect for the kids. My teens kayaked and fished. The little ones could wade and build castles. We took day trips to the surrounding beaches and fell in love with 2. Ones a 5 minute drive, the other 15. Our weather was great and the one rainy day was spent playing Xbox, ping pong and cards. Shopping is 15-20 minutes away and has everything you need. Also close were The King's Wharf theatre (Drayton Entertainment) and historical villages. The beds were comfortable and the huge kitchen was perfect to create meals fir so many. Hilary was ready for any questions we had, just an email away. Thank you for opening up your cottage to us��

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your wonderful review! It will help others appreciate the lovely region we live in. You were a great group of guests, and you treated my home as if it were your own. Things were left cleaner than when you arrived, and the neighbours said you'd been polite and friendly without disturbing the lovely quiet of the area. We look forward to having you return this summer! Thanks, Hilary

Small cottage which is very far from what is advertised

  • 1 of 5

1. The owner’s initial e-mail indicated that cottage is 4000 sq. feet and can comfortably accommodate up to 12 people. In reality, the cottage was very small, in my estimation hardly 2000 Sq feet. The cottage has three tiny bedrooms on the main floor; each hardly can accommodate 2 people literally squeezing in. The basement has one more ‘kids” bedroom, which was freezing – it’s couldn't hold temperature of even 15 degrees C in the middle of Canadian Winter!

2. The owner has obligated us to take care of her cat, without mentioning it in the contract or initial e-mails, she informed us about presence of the cat in the cottage only a couple of days before our arriving, so we pretty much did not had a choice. As result, part of our group had to leave in the middle of their vacation because of cat allergy one of them had.

3. The owner has claimed to have a “luxury” cottage while in reality, the cottage had one 3 piece bathroom on the main floor sheared by 3 bedrooms and one 2 piece bathroom in the basement, which we sheared with a cat and therefore could not even close the door. The doors on both bathrooms had broken locks, so there was ZERO privacy, considering presence of 10 people from 3 different families in the cottage! All this by no means match common standards for advertised “luxury” 4 bedroom premises.

4. The owner left us the fridge full of her partially spoiled food and we had to spend our time cleaning up HER food before we able to store our food in the fridge.

5. All leaving space, all drawers and storage space was full of the owner’s own belongings in pretty chaotic order leaving us with virtually zero space for our own stuff and very presence.

6. The owner has claimed 4 bedrooms in her initial e-mail and contract. However, the basement was freezing and NOT in the livable conditions. We had to put kids in the 4-th bedroom as there was no other space, but as result, kids slept in the room with temperatures hardly reaching 15 degrees and my children came home sick with bronchitis.

Would not recomend this cottage to anyone!

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As promised, you have posted a negative review since I held back a portion of your damage deposit to cover damages to my home. Your beer bottle in the hot tub was obviously an issue, since drinking in the hot tub is dangerous, as is the broken glass causing the hot tub to be drained. The beer spillage all around the cottage, including down the walls, was obviously not in keeping with a quite family holiday in the country. I'm sure you wouldn't treat your own home in such a manner. Our cottage is over 4000 sq. ft since there are 2 levels, each 2000 sq ft -I know because I purchased our new hardwood flooring for the whole house. If the lower level room was cold for you, why didn't you just turn up the heat, or turn on the gas fire, or use the electric heater provided for that room? It's winter and this is a cottage, so there are plenty of electric blankets and warming methods provided. If you'd communicated at the time I would have known there was a problem -but these problems seem to have emerged only once I refused some of your damage deposit, I notice. The cat was left in the house because you said you were happy to have her stay since I also allowed you to bring your dog along -at no extra charge- so you agreed to this at the time of booking, you'll notice if you check your emails. I also informed you that I make food available for guests to help themselves to while they are here -since people often forget to bring some items for baking, etc. I'm sorry you didn't appreciate the gesture. The closets have blankets and electric blankets in them for winter guests, so that everyone can feel warm and cosy. The back family room also has 2 sleeper couches, -where your kids could have slept if they didn't want to be downstairs, although judging by the amount of partying, I can see why you'd insist on sending your kids downstairs so you could party and keep them out of your way. Why would you put your children in the basement otherwise? I'm sorry you left all your garbage to be spread over the road, and all your empty alcohol bottles for me to clean up and take back to the liquor store. When the agreement states "To be left in the state which you found it" that means *clean* -not filthy stains in the sink or kitchen, or damage to the Persian carpets, or vomit stains on the rugs, or wax crayon marks on the walls, or dog smell in the rooms, or body stains on the mattresses. It's quite an educational undertaking teaching people how to treat a cottage.

Not as advertised

  • 1 of 5

Several items in this advertisement are misleading.

The lake is not directly in front of this cottage – there is a road and another cottage before the lake.

Shared beach front – you must cross a street and go down a fairly steep hill before you get to the small shared beach front. It is difficult to transport small children, chairs, and beach items to the beach.

Huge Stainless refrigerator with ice maker – food from the owner and previous renters is kept in the fridge/freezer and cupboards leaving no room for current renters. Ice maker was not working the entire 10 days we rented.

Internet: wifi for whole cottage – the is a 1GB limit but no way to track it, yet overages are taken out of security deposit.

Cottage has 5+bedrooms, bedroom 6: 1 bunk bed, 2 bunks, window, shared bath. This was not actually a room but a nook in the basement with a privacy screen as the 4th wall/door. This cottage only has 4 actual bedrooms and can only sleep 9 adults (just barely) comfortably.

Cleaning fee – there is an additional substantial cleaning fee but you are still expected to clean the cottage (including taking the bbq apart to clean it) before you leave.

Key for cottage – the lock box was broken and we were unable to lock the cottage the entire 10 days we rented it.

The grass on the property was not cut when we arrived and had to be cut (by us!) before we could use the outdoor space.

No cottage handbook or departure checklist were left by the owner yet there were very specific expectations on how the cottage should be left upon departure.

Overall the cottage was average (although still not as advertised) and we made the best of it.

Dealing with the cottage owner after the rental period is what attributes to the Poor rating.

I would strongly recommend looking for another cottage with more desirable features and no extra fees (i.e. cleaning fee & security deposit). This cottage is very expensive for what you actually get.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As expected, you posted a negative review once the damage deposit was revoked due to all the damages caused by your party while at our cottage. The $26,000 swim spa was brand new, and you ripped the lid off and broke the safety straps. You also destroyed the oak tree at the back door, as well as leaving 10 bags of garbage for me to deal with, and cigarette/ joint butts around the deck area. These items resulted in the loss of your damage deposit. That's why we charge a damage deposit -for people who don't respect our home while visiting. I'm sorry that you feel that you should be allowed to party for 10 days and damage my brand new renovation and swim spa, and leave your mess for me to clean up, and then not be charged for the damages you caused. I'm also sorry you feel that you should be allowed to leave the cottage in the filthy post-party state , just because you paid for the cleaning staff to cleaned everything for your arrival. The cottage is not directly on the beach, which most people enjoy since the shared beach can sometimes be a noisy social area, with children and motor boats, and it offers no privacy. Our little path takes less than 2 minutes to walk down to the water, which is clearly visible from the cottage deck. Some 'beachfront' cottages are located as far from the water as we are, by the way. The ice maker on the fridge is fully functioning, as I explained in the emails I sent you at the time, -simply press the button on the fridge top to turn it on. You had turned it off instead of on for your visit. The food in the fridge was left by me for your use while you were visiting. -Condiments and basics are provided since no one wants to have to purchase ketchup and such for just a short visit. Most guests appreciate this gesture. I'm sorry you didn't feel the cottage was to your satisfaction, -although your initial reaction upon arrival was one of definite pleasure when you emailed me "Your cottage is amazing!" I suppose it wasn't as amazing any longer after you'd trashed it for a week. Please find another cottage for your next event. We are not posted as a party cottage, and we certainly will charge people for damages to property or damage to the peaceful neighbourhood balance we work hard to maintain. You're right. This wasn't a good place for you to rent! We prefer to cater to family gatherings, not to 'young professionals' who believe they are responsible, but haven't yet learned to clean up after themselves. Thanks, Hilary

An excellent experience

  • 5 of 5

A beautiful cottage with ample room for for the little ones to play and the adults to socialize. The short walk to the safe little sandy beach was ideal for everyone. Awenda is a nearby alternative. And there really are lots of humming birds which come to the feeders.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your cheerful review! So glad to have met you, and come back again soon :) Hilary

Nice relaxing cottage with all the amenities of home

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful cottage with nice nice art decors.

Plenty of space for 10+ people (unfortunately only 1 shower)

Shared lake front is a short walk across the street.

Plenty of humming birds to enjoy

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice response! We really enjoyed sharing our cottage with you, too! It's great to have good people who appreciate the quiet and natural peaceful surroundings of our little cul de sac! Hope to see you again sometime, Hilary

A wonderful week at Cosy Country Cottage!

  • 5 of 5

I just wanted to share what a great time we had at this cottage. The pictures on this site don't do it justice.The cottage was clean and well-maintained. Alittle dated but in good shape. Very comfortable for our large group. Neighbours were friendly and our children had other children to play with. All amenities available. Our children enjoyed the front yard, play area and beach. A short bike ride to Awenda Park. The drive from Toronto was under two hours! Really great.

The cottage is quite close to Midland and Penetanguishene for shopping. LCBO, Beer Store, Canadian Tire, and Walmart to name a few. Be sure to visit Georgian Shores for local crafts and home decor.

enjoy your stay!

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review, Apryle! Yes, we have enjoyed being there since May, 2012. We will be updating the cottage each year with a new kitchen, decor, etc! Hilary


Nearest Airport
15 Kilometres
Penetanguishene (or lake landing option)
Nearest Barpub
15 Kilometres
Nearest Ferry
20 Kilometres
Penetanguishene ferry around the islands
Nearest Golf
15 Kilometres
Nearest Train
80 Kilometres
Barrie Go train
Nearest Motorway
20 Kilometres
#93. to the 401.
Nearest Restaurant
15 Kilometres
Nearest Ski
30 Kilometres
Horseshoe Valley Resort
Nearest Beach
10 Metres
Car: necessary

Perfect for winter or summer retreats, -yoga, writers, other groups, or skiing weekends, social gatherings, corporate events, etc - camping, beach barbeques, forest hikes, wilderness, wetland photography, birding, cross country skiing, down hill skiing, hikes, biking, snow mobile trails, ski trails, writing, peaceful escapes, winter activities, fresh air, photography, etc.


Rates & Availability

From C$450 Per night

Penetanguishene Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Feb 21 2015 - Jun 1 2015
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
6 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit C$800
Notes Smoking anywhere on the property or evidence of alcohol drinking around the hot tub against safety regulations will result in full loss of damage deposit.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total


Penetanguishene Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Water View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Master bath off king sized bedroom
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double , Sleigh bed, shared bath
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , 1 baby crib , 2 bunk bed , Lower level, shared bath, window
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 120 sq ft. -Walk out deck and shared bath
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king , Walk out to sun deck, private bath adjacent
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Shared bath
  • king sized beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Single Beds (6), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa (1), space for foam mattresses for additional.
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Art Gallery in house, spa feel to the cottage, hardwood throughout, hot tub, lap pool, hummingbirds on deck, trees, lawn area, loons in the lake. We are adjacent to Awenda Provincial Park-hiking and x-country ski trails, snow mobile trails at the door, pristine sandy beaches on Georgian Bay, etc. small kayak, bike trails, neighbour offers professional hot stone massage services, (book ahead), in-house evening yoga can be booked ahead.

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$1,987 - $2,385 per week
3 night min stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$1,192 per week
1 - 3 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote