RENO CATHEDR. CEILING, HOT TUB-POOL SPA, SANDY BEACH, AWENDA ENTRANCE: PARK PASS

Hilary Slater

Speaks french, german, spanish, english, (a few greeting words in Greek and Arabic also.)
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights

Contact the Owner

Hilary Slater

Speaks french, german, spanish, english, (a few greeting words in Greek and Arabic also.)
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

RENO CATHEDR. CEILING, HOT TUB-POOL SPA, SANDY BEACH, AWENDA ENTRANCE: PARK PASS

Penetanguishene Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 5 Bedrooms, hot tub/lap pool, Sleeps 10+ ( or 20 @ 2nd cottage adjacent

We have a wonderful spacious newly renovated cottage, cathedral ceilings, with all the comforts of home: private outdoor hot tub/lap pool, sandy beach, warm small lake, gas fireplace, A/C, central vac, hardwood floors, big screen TV, Xbox, movies, library, full kitchen equipment, espresso maker, garden+lawn, hummingbirds, etc . Our cottage has 5+bedrooms, open plan great room/ kitchen, family room, bathrooms, Ping Pong room, tv room, wrap-around deck, gas line BBQ, sandy beach -clean swimmable water, kayak, float boards, play room, lego box, board games, etc

We rent to quiet groups, maximum 10+4 at our cottage, but larger groups can rent our neighbour's 2nd cottage if required.

2 cottages are excellent for retreats, large group events, skiing holidays, etc.

Keywords: 5 Bedroom Cottage, Awenda Park, Georgian Bay, Chalet, cathedral ceilings, country house, guest house, lake retreat, sandy beach,kayaking, hot tub, hot pool, yoga retreats, group holiday, family holiday, winter holiday, skiido , skiing, ice fishing, skating, sports, hiking, lake activities, photography, trees, wilderness, Awenda provincial Park, biking, etc

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome

Hilary Slater

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Speaks french, german, spanish, english, (a few greeting words in Greek and Arabic also.)

My son and I live in Toronto, and spend time at the cottage, or in the city, depending on the season. We also love to travel. I'm an artist, so the cottage is my personal art gallery as well! We love sharing our space with people who are travelling, since we appreciate the same when we go away. The Cottage is also a great opportunity to host retreats of up to 24 people, since we are working in conjunction with a neighbour cottage for hosting larger group events. Just contact us for more information.

Hilary Slater purchased this cottage in 2012

Our new spa retreat cottage is cosy, comfortable, with all the luxuries of home. We've just added a new kitchen, hardwood floors, and hot tub /lap pool, so there's year round swimming! It's spacious, with cathedral ceiling, an open concept living/dining/kitchen area, AC, gas furnace and fireplace, wrap-around deck with BBQ for outdoor activities. We're on Farlain Lake, and our beach is sandy and perfect for swimming! we're also just 3 minutes walk from Awenda Provincial Park, (park pass included in your rental) for great trail activities and hiking along Georgian Bay.

Close by are also Wye Marsh for bird watching, and 'St. Marie Among the Hurons' native village, Georgian Bay boat rides, motor boat rentals, a Sailing club, and the Martyr's Shrine, all within 20 minutes drive!

We're just 2 hours from Toronto, so it's the most convenient escape to a quiet lakefront wilderness. The silence here is only broken by the sound of the loons crying or hummingbirds buzzing, or snow flakes falling on pine needles.

Wildlife, birds, trees, silence, escape and 0 stress. Lakeview Cottage is a wonderful place to relax and unwind, without giving up the comforts of home. We've made it cosy and convenient to stay here, and the surrounding wilderness makes it all make sense. Awenda Provincial Park is just around the corner, and we include a Park Pass for our guests, so you have free access while you're visiting. Weekends are wonderful year-round, with skiing trails and snow mobile trails at the doorstep. Come for a relaxed weekend, or visit St. Marie Among the Hurons for their Christmas special, or photograph birds in Wye Marsh, and visit the Martyr's shrine.

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4
based on 4 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Reno cathedr. ceiling, hot tub-pool spa, sandy Beach, Awenda entrance: park pass
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews
business
Reno cathedr. ceiling, hot tub-pool spa, sandy Beach, Awenda entrance: park pass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405913vb
Penetanguishene Muskoka
Toronto
1

Not as advertised

  • 1 of 5
Several items in this advertisement are misleading.
The lake is not directly in front of this cottage – there is a road and another cottage before the lake.
Shared beach front – you must cross a street and go down a fairly steep hill before you get to the small shared beach front. It is difficult to transport small children, chairs, and beach items to the beach.
Huge Stainless refrigerator with ice maker – food from the owner and previous renters is kept in the fridge/freezer and cupboards leaving no room for current renters. Ice maker was not working the entire 10 days we rented.
Internet: wifi for whole cottage – the is a 1GB limit but no way to track it, yet overages are taken out of security deposit.
Cottage has 5+bedrooms, bedroom 6: 1 bunk bed, 2 bunks, window, shared bath. This was not actually a room but a nook in the basement with a privacy screen as the 4th wall/door. This cottage only has 4 actual bedrooms and can only sleep 9 adults (just barely) comfortably.
Cleaning fee – there is an additional substantial cleaning fee but you are still expected to clean the cottage (including taking the bbq apart to clean it) before you leave.
Key for cottage – the lock box was broken and we were unable to lock the cottage the entire 10 days we rented it.
The grass on the property was not cut when we arrived and had to be cut (by us!) before we could use the outdoor space.
No cottage handbook or departure checklist were left by the owner yet there were very specific expectations on how the cottage should be left upon departure.
Overall the cottage was average (although still not as advertised) and we made the best of it.
Dealing with the cottage owner after the rental period is what attributes to the Poor rating.
I would strongly recommend looking for another cottage with more desirable features and no extra fees (i.e. cleaning fee & security deposit). This cottage is very expensive for what you actually get.
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As expected, you posted a negative review once the damage deposit was revoked due to all the damages caused by your party while at our cottage.
The $26,000 swim spa was brand new, and you ripped the lid off and broke the safety straps.
You also destroyed the oak tree at the back door, as well as leaving 10 bags of garbage for me to deal with, and cigarette/ joint butts around the deck area. These items resulted in the loss of your damage deposit. That's why we charge a damage deposit -for people who don't respect our home while visiting.

I'm sorry that you feel that you should be allowed to party for 10 days and damage my brand new renovation and swim spa, and leave your mess for me to clean up, and then not be charged for the damages you caused.
I'm also sorry you feel that you should be allowed to leave the cottage in the filthy post-party state , just because you paid for the cleaning staff to cleaned everything for your arrival.
The cottage is not directly on the beach, which most people enjoy since the shared beach can sometimes be a noisy social area, with children and motor boats, and it offers no privacy. Our little path takes less than 2 minutes to walk down to the water, which is clearly visible from the cottage deck. Some 'beachfront' cottages are located as far from the water as we are, by the way.
The ice maker on the fridge is fully functioning, as I explained in the emails I sent you at the time, -simply press the button on the fridge top to turn it on. You had turned it off instead of on for your visit.
The food in the fridge was left by me for your use while you were visiting. -Condiments and basics are provided since no one wants to have to purchase ketchup and such for just a short visit. Most guests appreciate this gesture.
I'm sorry you didn't feel the cottage was to your satisfaction, -although your initial reaction upon arrival was one of definite pleasure when you emailed me "Your cottage is amazing!"
I suppose it wasn't as amazing any longer after you'd trashed it for a week.
Please find another cottage for your next event. We are not posted as a party cottage, and we certainly will charge people for damages to property or damage to the peaceful neighbourhood balance we work hard to maintain. You're right. This wasn't a good place for you to rent! We prefer to cater to family gatherings, not to 'young professionals' who believe they are responsible, but haven't yet learned to clean up after themselves.
Thanks,
Hilary
business
Reno cathedr. ceiling, hot tub-pool spa, sandy Beach, Awenda entrance: park pass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405913vb
Penetanguishene Muskoka
Toronto
5

An excellent experience

  • 5 of 5
A beautiful cottage with ample room for for the little ones to play and the adults to socialize. The short walk to the safe little sandy beach was ideal for everyone. Awenda is a nearby alternative. And there really are lots of humming birds which come to the feeders.
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your cheerful review! So glad to have met you, and come back again soon :)
Hilary
business
Reno cathedr. ceiling, hot tub-pool spa, sandy Beach, Awenda entrance: park pass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405913vb
Penetanguishene Muskoka
5

Nice relaxing cottage with all the amenities of home

  • 5 of 5
Beautiful cottage with nice nice art decors.
Plenty of space for 10+ people (unfortunately only 1 shower)
Shared lake front is a short walk across the street.
Plenty of humming birds to enjoy
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice response! We really enjoyed sharing our cottage with you, too! It's great to have good people who appreciate the quiet and natural peaceful surroundings of our little cul de sac!
Hope to see you again sometime,
Hilary
business
Reno cathedr. ceiling, hot tub-pool spa, sandy Beach, Awenda entrance: park pass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405913vb
Penetanguishene Muskoka
Brampton
5

A wonderful week at Cosy Country Cottage!

  • 5 of 5
I just wanted to share what a great time we had at this cottage. The pictures on this site don't do it justice.The cottage was clean and well-maintained. Alittle dated but in good shape. Very comfortable for our large group. Neighbours were friendly and our children had other children to play with. All amenities available. Our children enjoyed the front yard, play area and beach. A short bike ride to Awenda Park. The drive from Toronto was under two hours! Really great.

The cottage is quite close to Midland and Penetanguishene for shopping. LCBO, Beer Store, Canadian Tire, and Walmart to name a few. Be sure to visit Georgian Shores for local crafts and home decor.

enjoy your stay!
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review, Apryle! Yes, we have enjoyed being there since May, 2012. We will be updating the cottage each year with a new kitchen, decor, etc! Hilary
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Kilometres
Penetanguishene (or lake landing option)
Nearest Ferry
20 Kilometres
Penetanguishene ferry around the islands
Nearest Train
80 Kilometres
Barrie Go train
Nearest Motorway
20 Kilometres
#93. to the 401.
Nearest Beach
10 Metres
ours
Nearest Barpub
15 Kilometres
Penetanguishene
Nearest Ski
30 Kilometres
Horseshoe Valley Resort
Nearest Golf
15 Kilometres
Penetanguishene
Nearest Restaurant
15 Kilometres
Penetanguishene
Car: recommended

Perfect for winter or summer retreats, -yoga, writers, other groups, or skiing weekends, social gatherings, corporate events, etc - camping, beach barbeques, forest hikes, wilderness, wetland photography, birding, cross country skiing, down hill skiing, hikes, biking, snow mobile trails, ski trails, writing, peaceful escapes, winter activities, fresh air, photography, etc.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Penetanguishene Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Jun 30 2014 - Aug 31 2014
Changeover Day: Friday
6 night minimum stay
C$600
From
C$600
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
C$3,000
C$6,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add C$100 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
C$600
C$3,000
C$6,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit C$800
Cleaning fee C$300 + Tax
Pet Fee C$100 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.0%
Notes Smoking on the property will incur an added $1000. fee.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Penetanguishene Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Beach View
  • Ski-In ...
  • Water View ...
  • Lake View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Air Conditioning
  • Mobile Phone
  • Fireplace ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Internet ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Parking ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Kitchen
  • Dishwasher
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Stove ...
  • Oven ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , toilet, sink, lower level
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Walk out deck and shared bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , Sleigh bed, shared bath
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Shared bath
    Bedroom 5 - 3 twin/ single , Lower level, shared bath, window
    Bedroom 6 - 1 bunk bed , 2 bunks, window, shared bath
    Other (See Description) - 2 sleep sofa /futon , 2 single pull-out couches in lower family room
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (7), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Books ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Game Console
  • Television ...
  • Stereo ...
  • DVD Player
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • CD Player
  • VCR
  • Music Library ...
Outside:
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Golf ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Private Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Heated Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • water parks
  • live theater
  • zoo
  • restaurants
  • health/beauty spa
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • eco tourism
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
  • shopping
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • walking
  • horseback riding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
  • skiing
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • water skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • parasailing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • cross country skiing
  • rock climbing
  • kayaking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • hunting
  • equestrian events
  • snorkeling
  • spelunking
  • water tubing
  • golf privileges optional
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
Notes:
Art Gallery in house, spa feel to the cottage, hot tub, lap pool, hummingbirds on deck, trees, lawn area, adjacent to Awenda Provincial Park-hiking and xcountry ski trails, beaches, Georgian Bay, etc. small kayak use, bike trails, neighbour offers professional hot stone massage services, yoga can be offered for weekend retreats.
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10