Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

3 BDRM HISTORICAL VICTORIAN IN QUAINT CABBAGETOWN VILLAGE, 15 MIN WALK TO TOWN

Hilary Slater

Advertiser since: 2012
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, (a few greeting words in Greek and Arabic also.)
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Hilary Slater

Advertiser since: 2012
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, (a few greeting words in Greek and Arabic also.)
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
25%
Calendar last updated:
October 26, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

3 BDRM HISTORICAL VICTORIAN IN QUAINT CABBAGETOWN VILLAGE, 15 MIN WALK TO TOWN

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Toronto House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedroom, sleeps 8, 2 Baths, bright kitchen, jacuzzi tub, private roof deck, pk

Our lovely historical victorian home offers a 3-bedroom 2 level cosy suite. We are situated on a quiet dead-end tree-lined street. Newly renovated kitchen/living room and beautiful hardwood floors, electric stove, microwave, built in dishwasher, 2nd floor laundry, jacuzzi tub, and all the equipment and amenities needed for in-house dining.

The loft living room has 12 foot Victorian ceiling, a sofa-couch, perfect for cosy evenings curled up watching a movie on Netflix or searching the internet.

The bright lofty 2nd floor area has 2 bedrooms: 1 large queen bedroom, and one small single-bed room, a 4 piece bath, kitchen with laundry.

The elegant 3rd floor is a king bed/living room suite, slanted ceilings, ensuite 3 piece bath (shower), cosy living room area with desk and TV area, electric fire, large glass-fenced roof deck for morning relaxing or evening entertaining.

We live walking distance to downtown, but in a quaint historically-protected neighbourhood with bike trails and great city/country walks at your doorstep. Superb location, in the heart of downtown, but it feels just like a small village, with a free farm (open to the public) down the street, bike trails in the valley, forest trails, waterfront just a few minutes to the south. Walking around our neighbourhood is a lovely holiday in itself!

This is a quiet city get-away, for a peaceful escapes in the city. Suitable for small social gatherings.

Keywords:sleeps 8, 3 bedroom, quaint, elegant, casa, haus, maison, medina, city cottage, Toronto, downtown, holiday cottage, guesthouse, couples, families, business, actors

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Hilary Slater (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2012
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, (a few greeting words in Greek and Arabic also.)
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
25%
Calendar last updated:
October 26, 2014

About Hilary Slater

I am a single mother, and my teen son and I love to travel! We love the opportunity to have visitors come to our sweet suite. We enjoy sharing our city while we go travelling or to our cottage. I am an artist and a writer, and you will notice paintings around our home done by me. If you're interested in purchasing any, just contact me during or after your visit.

Hilary Slater purchased this house in 1995

Why Hilary Slater chose Toronto

Our home is in the most interesting and beautiful neighbourhood in the city. It's in the heart of a historically-protected Victorian village, located just 15 minutes walk from the centre of town! It's quiet and safe, with lovely gardens in the area, excellent walks, a farm, 2 cemeteries, bike/hike trails, places to explore, ..lots to do! The suite is big enough to house the whole family for a great shared holiday get-away! Our little avenue is a dead end, and there are no cars, so it really does feel as if we've jumped back in time about 100 years. (Although inside we have all the modern conveniences, of course)

We hope you enjoy visiting our peaceful city escape as much as we love living here.

What makes this house unique

Enjoy the quiet elegance of our historical street and walks around the lovely Victorian neighbourhood of Cabbagetown. Our home is cosy, with open bright rooms, full kitchen, a roof deck for evening relaxing, jacuzzi jets in the 2nd floor bath,(with dimming chandeliers to add a little romance!). The 3rd floor roof deck is private enough to sunbathe or sip a quiet glass of wine in the evenings, even though you're just 15 minutes walk from the centre of town!

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.1
based on 8 traveler reviews

Write a Review
3 bdrm Historical Victorian in quaint Cabbagetown village, 15 min walk to town
average rating of 4.125 based on 8 reviews
business
3 bdrm Historical Victorian in quaint Cabbagetown village, 15 min walk to town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405891vb
Toronto Ontario
4

Great Place for Larger Groups!

  • 4 of 5
Myself and 5 others stayed in this walk-up for one week during the Toronto World Pride celebrations. The location was great, especially since the majority of us were new to Toronto. There were many amenities nearby, including many restaurants, a grocery store and liquor store. The house fit us all comfortably, and we all agreed it was much more economical than sharing a pair of hotel rooms.

That being said there were certain drawbacks. Our main complaint was the heat. No AC or electric fans were provided which made being inside almost unbearable at times, and it was especially difficult trying to sleep in the upstairs bedroom. In addition the sink in one of the bathrooms did not drain properly, and this was not fixed despite our email to the owner. As well there was no soap in the bathrooms when we arrived; we had to purchase some ourselves. Nevertheless I would recommend this place for families or groups of friends looking to enjoy Toronto.
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, -it was very helpful to find out that you'd had some difficulties. I wish that you had let me know while you were here that these problems existed, since it was easily resolvable. The house has full A/C and it is computerised,so it turns on automatically as soon as the house goes over 24 degrees, so there was certainly A/C in the whole house during your stay. I think it would have worked much better if you hadn't had the windows open since the A/C can't cool the outside air!
The sink problem I did repair as soon as I could get into the apartment, -but as you didn't want me to disturb you I couldn't access it to repair it until you left. It turns out the drain was filled with a collection of 3 coins, 2 bobby pins and a chop stick, -so it's no wonder it wasn't draining well!
I'm happy that you found the location convenient. It is certainly great to be able to walk everywhere in downtown Toronto, as we're so close to the centre of things and just 5 minutes from the Gay Pride parade for your group visit. Thanks, and we hope you enjoyed the selection of group photos we sent you after your visit!
business
3 bdrm Historical Victorian in quaint Cabbagetown village, 15 min walk to town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405891vb
Toronto Ontario
LILLE,FRANCE
1

DISPOINTED

  • 1 of 5
What a disappointment
We came from france for a stay of 10 days in toronto and surroundings. We were two adults and two teenagers
We have felt cramped in this house ! One of the bedroom was small as a closet of 5 m2!
We can't open the windows or with lot of difficulties .
Just in front of the kitchen, there are two hives (for which the owner did not warned us)
There is no cable or satellite the television is not usable.
Pictures on internet are very misleading
The appartment of the owner is on the ground floor and there is no privacy .no door entrance for the appartement we occuped.
This was not mentioned in advance
No prior information on waste sorting system, we keep food waste in the kitchen for a week!
The owner was not there for our arrival or for departure day, we do not have the feeling of being expected,,,, there was only one roll of toilet paper in the toilet.

In short, the cost of the stay is not justified

I do not advise this house

The City of Toronto and the neighborhood are very nice. Very nice neighbors.

The only disappointment was really home
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As you promised, you have posted a negative review because i had to charge you for dropping the air conditioner out of the 3rd floor window. This is unfortunate, but that is why we home owners have a samage protection deposit.
I'm sorry you didn't feel the cottage was what you were expecting. ...I see by your comments that you didn't know that the house was divided, and that both separate units are available for larger group rentals if you felt you needed more space. - (although we've had groups as large as 8 in the upper unit so I'm sorry you feel it didn't fit your needs.)
The main front entrance IS your private entrance though, since the lower unit only uses the rear entrance -no one else has access to your upper house while you're there. There is also a safe
provided if you feel the need to lock up any valuables during your stay.
The windows certainly do all open though. with the humidity they wrre a bit sticky but I could have helped you if you'd asked me about this while you were here!
I live in 2 places since I have 2 properties that I rent so I'm am often not there for arrivals. That is normal with house rentals, however. It's not a hotel where you have to check in. Most people prefer the private feeling of not having
me there, so they can feel like it's their 'home away from home' while they are in Toronto, and not feel that 'the owner' is checking up on them.
Yes, there are raccoons in our area, and yes, in Canada we recycle, which was all detailed in your renters agreement, so I'm sorry you found this to be a challenge. Garbage bins are available outside for guests use.
As you say, it's a great neighbourhood, and it's a home, not a hotel, so guests can feel as if they 'live' in the city at our cottage.
Thanks for your feedback, -it's always useful to have people's reactions, and helps to improve our home for future guests!
Hilary
business
3 bdrm Historical Victorian in quaint Cabbagetown village, 15 min walk to town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405891vb
Toronto Ontario
Buxton
5

Lovely quiet Cabbagetown House

  • 5 of 5
If you would like to stay in a cool quiet clean oasis close to Downtown Toronto this is an ideal location. We had two good sized bedrooms, one small but adequate bedroom, two bathrooms, and an eat-in kitchen. there was an additional seating area in the top bedroom leading to the deck. There are parks nearby, one with a Tuesday Famers Market and lots of shops etc on Parliament. There is easily accessible public transport across the city and to downtown. The owner is a very friendly pleasant lady who will do her best to assist without intruding.
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for posting a nice review! We enjoyed having you here, and I'm so glad you had a lovely stay last week. It was nice to meet you and your lovely family, and we look forward to having you come back in the future!
Hilary
business
3 bdrm Historical Victorian in quaint Cabbagetown village, 15 min walk to town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405891vb
Toronto Ontario
5

cozy and comfortable

  • 5 of 5
We had a wonderful trip to Toronto and loved having this charming and comfortable home to come back to at the end of a busy day! Parking was a bit inconvenient, but otherwise it was lovely.
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for the nice review! We'd love to have you visit again next time you're passing through Toronto! Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Hilary
business
3 bdrm Historical Victorian in quaint Cabbagetown village, 15 min walk to town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405891vb
Toronto Ontario
West Sussex, England
4

Comfortable Victorian Home in delightful Cabbagetown

  • 4 of 5
We stayed here as a family of four for our daughters wedding in Toronto. The house is located in a quiet cul-de-sac in Cabbagetown and is roomy and comfortable with plenty of character. It was clean and well presented on our arrival and the owner was readily available to answer any questions that we had and to help make our stay more comfortable. Cabbagetown is a quiet and friendly community in Toronto. It was an absolute pleasure to stay here and we enjoyed walking around the area and viewing the beautiful Victiorian homes. There are plenty of shops within a few minutes walk on Parliament Street, from supermarkets and chemists to coffee shops and delis. Jamestown Deli was a favourite destination for breakfast for us. We also ate at the House on Parliament which served great food in a pub like environment. But better still, just around the corner in Amelia Street, we found the Italian restaurant F'Amelia, which served amazing food in a delightful conservatory setting.
Public transport was also a few minutes away on Parliament Street, which meant that we could access most parts of the city with a little planning. However, on a number of occasions we walked into Downtown Toronto and it only took us 30 mins or so. Taxi cabs were readily available for all other journeys with the benefit of a house phone to book in advance.
We would recommend this property to people who would want to use it as a base for viewing Toronto. It perfect for a group of adults, but it probably wouldn't be so suitable for a young family as there were two sets of stairs to negotiate in the apartment. Similarly it may not suit more elderly people.
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thanks for posting a great review of our home! We enjoyed having you stay and were glad to hear you enjoyed our lovely little corner of the world. Cabbagetown is one of the best kept secrets of Toronto, but once you've been here, it's hard not to love it :)
Hope to see you again one day!
Hilary
business
3 bdrm Historical Victorian in quaint Cabbagetown village, 15 min walk to town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405891vb
Toronto Ontario
Napier, New Zealand
4

Family Retreat

  • 4 of 5
We stayed here for a family reunion of three families and it was able to fit 6 adults and 2 kids. For a hot summer time, the house was reasonably cool as you could use the A/C or just let the breeze in. The house was spotless and well kept. The kitchen layout was a little confusing with the extra high cupboards and possibly not as many utensils as possibly needed to do a lot of eat-in meals. A BBQ would have been nice. The living area was smaller than expected for that many people to hang out but the location was convenient to the public transit and we were able to get to the Waterfront and St. Lawrence Market easily. Sorting out parking permits was not that easy as the allotment for the surrounding area was all gone by the time we tried to get them online. But, I called City Hall directly and the permit office was able to override the restriction but we had to do it in person. The owner was friendly and easy to communicate with during the booking process.
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review, Adrienne! Yes, the city permit issue can be a problem when it's high season and the streets get booked up. Cabbagetown is a popular destination for holidayers! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope you had a lovely summer trip through Canada!
Thanks,
Hilary

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Kilometres
Toronto Island Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Kilometres
Cranberries
Nearest Ferry
10 Kilometres
Toronto Island Ferry
Nearest Golf
40 Kilometres
Toronto Golf courses
Nearest Train
10 Kilometres
VIA -union station
Nearest Motorway
5 Kilometres
Don Valley Parkway, to 401
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Kilometres
Rashna -South Indian
Nearest Ski
30 Kilometres
Toronto small hills
Nearest Beach
5 Kilometres
Cherry Beach
Car: not necessary

Our home is located within a protected Historical Victorian Village (the only one remaining in North America), full of beautiful homes and gardens, walking trails, and biking trails. We are superbly located 15 minutes from the heart of downtown, but the neighbourhood feels like a small quiet village in the country! There is even a farm just 2 minutes walk from our home, with organic produce and fresh eggs! Toronto has over 200,000 restaurants, and all the cuisine of the world is represented here! Street events in summer, and winter festivals are always a treat , and Harbourfront and Lake Ontario are superb places to plan water outings nearby. Why not rent a canoe or go for a harbour cruise, or take a winter walk in the quiet streets or take the ferry over to Toronto Island. We're close to everything, without the cold impersonal hotel environment. Our home offers luxury travel, with the freedom to still do home baking !

The Distillery District is another historical area, just down Parliament Street, -20 minutes walk. -Visit an old Distillery with cobbled brick streets and pedestrian shopping area. Great local arts and crafts and holiday markets available there!

Photos

Rates & Availability

From C$300 Per night

Toronto House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
weekly
Mar 15 2014 - Apr 3 2015
3 night minimum stay
C$300
From
C$350
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
C$1,600
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add C$50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning C$300 + Tax
Pet Fee C$100 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit C$800
Tax Rate 13.0%
Notes Cleaning fee is $300.
Damage deposit is $800. (refundable)
Any smoking on property costs $800. for the rental period.
HST.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Toronto House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , 2nd floor bathroom for 3-bedroom apartment
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Shower-bath in 3rd floor studio of 3 bedroom unit.
  • 2 tiled bathrooms: one has jacuzzi tub and shower, one has shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , 1 baby crib , queen bed, single sofa bed, baby playpen, -master suite
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single , Single room, 2nd floor, suitable for child
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 double , 3rd floor loft, King bed, double couch, TV, Patio,
  • upper floor: (sleep 8)- 1 king bed, 1 double fold out couch, 1 queen bed, 1 single futon couch (in master bedroom), 1 single bed, in single room, also: 1 baby playpen and booster seat on site.
Entertainment:
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Indoor Pool
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Riverdale Farm, just around the corner... For the early bird, fresh farm eggs can be purchased each morning. Organic food market on Tuesdays during the summer months, 3pm-7pm. Don Valley Trails are at the end of the street -great for long hikes and interesting views of the city. Distillery District is 10 minutes away, -Historical walking district with Artist's studios and restaurants to see! *Basement and back of our home is not included. Cancellation 10% until 1 month before, after that, 100% booking fee.

Other Vacation Properties

$1,321 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 5
$200 - $230 per night
2 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$208 - $246 per night
3 - 5 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 5

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote