WONDERFUL FAMILY LODGE OVERLOOKING RUSHING CREEK ON 12 ACRES!

Owner

Advertiser since 2007
Speaks english
Sleeps14
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Contact the Owner

Owner
Advertiser since 2007
Speaks english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

WONDERFUL FAMILY LODGE OVERLOOKING RUSHING CREEK ON 12 ACRES!

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

Overview

Blowing Rock Lodge Rental Photos and Description

Lodge, 6 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10 adults, 4 children)

This much loved and enjoyed family retreat was constructed in 2004 but has the ambiance and charm of an old timey mountain lodge. Rustic wood interior, both indoor and outdoor woodburning stone fireplaces, vintage fixtures, cozy spaces and a two story great room, wonderful kitchen and plenty of room for all the family to gather with 6 bedrooms and 3.5 baths. And the setting is just perfection--surrounded by pristine forest and rhododendrons and overlooking cascading Green Mountain Creek. No other house in sight or even close by yet within the community of Lost Creek, which adjoins Pisgah National Forest. This is truly a nature lover's paradise that's big enough to share with friends and family--offering total privacy and the only noise you will hear is the music of the creek.

While the house will accomodate a large family group, it would also work well for 3 couples to share, with plenty of privacy for each.

Kids of all ages will enjoy getting their feet wet in the stream and exploring the forest--this house is at the end of a private drive so no traffic concerns here. And well behaved dogs are welcomed with prior approval.

Many of the High Country's most famous locales are within 20 minutes of this home, including Grandfather Mountain with its swinging bridge and animal habitat, the quaint villages of Blowing Rock and Linville, and the Blue Ridge Parkway and Price Lake.

Keywords: mountain lodge, retreat, get-away,

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Owner
Advertiser since 2007
Speaks english

About The Owner

My family built this spacious retreat in 2004 and have entertained large gatherings over the years. It has the warmth and character that puts people at ease immediately and has the feel of being being in the middle of a pristine forest.

The Owner purchased this lodge in 2004

Why HomeAway

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.2
based on 12 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Wonderful Family Lodge Overlooking Rushing Creek on 12 Acres!
average rating of 4.25 based on 12 reviews
business
Wonderful Family Lodge Overlooking Rushing Creek on 12 Acres!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404412vb
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Lenoir, N. Carolina
2

Beware of the Property Management!!!

  • 2 of 5
This home was rented for the purpose of a get together for 5 siblings and their families. The property was really nice in that each couple had their own bedroom. We loved he cabin feel and the banquet size table, allowing us to have family mealtime with everyone seated together.
On the day that we went to enter the rental, we had to stop 2 different times to remove trees that had fallen across the driveway from a winter snow storm that had happened earlier in the week. Luckily, my husband had rope and chain in the vehicle. We would have called management but cell service is not good. I had called the office prior to leaving home and they assured me that the roads were clear.Yes, the main roads were clear, thanks to the village of Blowing Rock. It was obvious that they had not checked, because the road was completely impassable with the tree across it. Also, during that call I wanted to make sure that plenty wood was supplied, as the two fire places is what drew us to selecting this property. When we arrived, we counted 10 sticks of firewood... not very much if you want to use the fireplace more than a few hours. Again, we called once we were in the house and begrudgingly they came out and brought more firewood. It was very clear that the guy bringing the wood was not happy !We enjoyed our selves as this was the first time we had all been together in 20 years. When it was time to clean up and leave,we left the home just the way we found it..Except we did leave an ice cream cake in the freezer and 3 beers in the refrigerator part. The instructions stated that we were to bag all of our garbage and take it with us to empty at the local transfer station. Otherwise we would be charged. So we complied... We went from one transfer station to the next...everyone of them were closed!!! We had to carry a whole weekend worth of trash with us all the way home!!!!!Let me ask you... Would you want to rent a home for a weekend with 12 people and their trash and have to ride with it for hours? On Monday, we called to let the management know, when we were hit with another surprise! They were upset that we left the cake and the beer. No apology for the inconvience of the trash, they could care less all they wanted to do was complain about the cake and the beer. Now let me state this.the home was perfect.We would rent it again for sure...Only if it is under a different Management.. Blowing Rock Properties will NEVER get another penny out of me. Rented Nov. 16-18,2012
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly
Owner's Response: Margaret and any prospective guest reading this review, please read the following email response sent in NOVEMBER 2012 IMMEDIATELY AFTER THIS GUEST'S STAY.
"Dear Margaret,
Perhaps your fiance, Dennis, never informed you that we tried to call him first thing Monday morning after we found the note you had left in the dropbox at the office. We also tried the number you left below your name. After checking on the home Monday morning, we saw that a tree had fallen and hit a small corner of the covered porch so thought that was probably what your note regarded since we did not hear back from either of you after our calls. I hope you enjoyed the birthday celebration--saw that you left the remains of the cake in the freezer and guess you meant to leave the beer also.
Regarding the firewood, we had more firewood delivered within 2 hours of your call, and were also informed that there were 45-50 pieces of firewood there when the delivery man arrived, so I am at a loss to understand your problem there.
As far as weather and road conditions, I am sure you are aware that a storm of historic proportions affected the eastern seaboard and also our mountain area, with high winds and snow from 4-5 inches to over a foot in some places. (This is atypical weather for us in early November.) When you called regarding an early check in, you were told to check back with us because we did not know what the roads were going to be like. You did not do this. Also, we did ride out to check the road between 1 and 2 but saw your car and that you were already there. You arrived sometime after 12 Noon and were not charged for early check in. Normal check in time is 3 PM. As far as removing any obstacle from the road, you should have called us immediately rather than attempt this yourself. We have people on call who do handle these things for us and would have been dispatched immediately to take care of this problem. Whether or not you have cell phone service is not within our control, but there is a working land line at the house for local calls.
In reviewing our emails to you, we noted that you even drove up from Lenoir to look at the house prior to renting it so knew exactly where it was and that it was in a very wooded location down a private gravel road.
As far as the remaining tone and claims of your email, you have been treated with professionalism and courtesy throughout and I see no reason for further discussion. "
business
Wonderful Family Lodge Overlooking Rushing Creek on 12 Acres!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404412vb
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
4

Four Generation Thanksgiving gathering

  • 4 of 5
Looking for a place to house 4 generations for a "memory maker Thanksgiving", Jewelweed was the perfect spot. The house is fabulously situated for a winter wonderland...it snowed...we build fires in the stone fireplace, we played family games in front of it. The separate but joined wing was perfect for the grandparents and each of the families had their own space in the house. The big kitchen table was a special gathering place with no worry about enough space. Our family created a memory that will last forever. The only reason for not giving it 5 stars were the condition of some of the chairs, which we had to be careful of with the grandparents. Everyone (from 3 to 91 years of age) left with the desire to "do it again". The location is "out of this world" and we felt as if we were in a magical place.
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Wonderful Family Lodge Overlooking Rushing Creek on 12 Acres!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404412vb
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Picture does not do it justice!

  • 5 of 5
We had 3 adult couples and 6 kids (two 5 year-olds, two 3 year-olds, a 2 year-old and a 1 year-old). The property is located via 221 or the parkway directly in between Grandfather mountain and Blowing Rock and is at the end of the lane back in the woods. The house is completey private along a beuatiful stream with a bridge across the stream that follows a small path into the woods. Experienced hikers can hike into the woods a good deal or even hike down the stream bed right on the property - these items are not recommended for the children although we were able to take the down to the stream bed via the stairs that lead down from the portch. The Kitchen/Living Room/Portch areas were all open to each other so very convenient for entertaining - we especially enjoyed starting the outside fire place and drinks after we got the kids to bed. The furnishings are not ultra fancy as previous comments point out but our expectation was a comfortable mountain lodge and it fully lives up to that expectation. Staying at the house more than made up for the rash of park closures due to the partial government shut down - don't worry Grandfather mountain was still open and you will find out why when you go to pay your entry fee but well worth every penny.
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Wonderful Family Lodge Overlooking Rushing Creek on 12 Acres!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404412vb
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Fernandina Beach, Florida
3

Jewelweed Lodge

  • 3 of 5
There were two main problems: when my family arrived arrived, we could not get into the lockbox to obtain the keys. After much rummaging, we found a key in the unopened cleaner's closet on a high shelf. One more key was found inside the home, for a total of two. We left the cleaner's key where we found it and the single key inside. But what would we have done if we had not found the key on the closet shelf? There was no one to call and no way to call, without cell phone service. I hope you fix this before the next rental!

When I called the real estate office to explain I would not be leaving three keys - only two total - I left a voice mail for the realtor who is listed as the owner, but received no return phone call. So I would not say the owner was helpful in answering requests.

The second main problem was an ant infestation from the window over the stove in the kitchen. I actually feel that, with the ant problem, my rental rate should be decreased and I should get a partial refund! This is obviously unacceptable. I hope you fix it before the next rental.

The house was large and well-described, but many of the furnishings were shabby. Several chairs in bedrooms were broken, for example. The living room couches are old and uncomfortable. The living room rug was rumpled. Many, many fixtures needed light bulbs. I scrounged upstairs to bring more lights down for the kitchen. The chandelier over the dining table is particularly dim and evenings were dark!

The house appeared to me to be in need of more maintenance.

Beds were comfortable and kitchen was well supplied. This is a good home for a large group who wish to be very private. It was pet friendly, which is a plus with us.

You needed more outside chairs, maybe plastic chairs for sitting around the fire pit.

The brook was marvelous. The silence marvelous. And the air clean and fresh.

Because the house was not well maintained, I would not recommend it to others.

We enjoyed Grandfather Mountain, Blowing Rock attractions, and the Blue Ridge Parkway. The area was wonderful, lush and scenic. I would definitely come to the area again, but would look for a more well maintained home.
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly
Owner's Response: Hi Nancy
It is hard to respond to comments like yours, especially when I just received a call from the guest now staying at Jewelweed Lodge to tell me how wonderful and beautiful it was! This is a much loved family retreat with comfy furniture that invites everyone to relax and enjoy the spectacular setting and nature and is kid and dog friendly. Yes, there are antique wooden chairs there that can be broken--we have them repaired when necessary, and the home is regularly treated for pest control. Due to the huge amount of rain this summer, we have had more pests inside even in homes that are on a treatment program. If you had let us know about the ants, we would have sent someone out. As to maintenance, this home is regularly maintained by the owners and management company.
We are glad that you agree that our description online is accurate and would challenge anyone to find a more private and spectacular creek side setting. We encourage readers to check out all the 4 and 5 star reviews.
business
Wonderful Family Lodge Overlooking Rushing Creek on 12 Acres!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404412vb
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Perfect multifamily gathering place

  • 5 of 5
We so enjoyed the house. The number of bedrooms and bathrooms as well as the roomy kitchen and living areas made us so comfortable. It really is one of the nicest homes we have stayed in. The kitchen was well stocked with pots and pans. We ate every meal at the house. Our favorite parts were the stream and the outdoor fire place. Though it rained and rained we were able to go up to the park way and hike the wonderful trails nearby.
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Melissa, we are so glad that all that rainy weather did not deter your enjoyment of Jewelweed Lodge--it is a perfect gathering place for friends and family and I bet that stream just outside was roaring with all the water we have had this summer. At least with the covered porches you could still enjoy the outside even with rain! Our weather is glorious this week so come back soon and see us in the sun!
business
Wonderful Family Lodge Overlooking Rushing Creek on 12 Acres!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404412vb
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Atlantic Beach,NC
5

The Perfect Spot

  • 5 of 5
Jewelweed is a diamond in the ruff. The property is nestled into a very natural development. The lodge sits on an absolutely gorgeous rushing creek that is extensive. The house is architecturally designed with this in mind. Every aspect of the lodge is perfect for a crowd who truly wishes to get away from it all. We loved it. It is natural beauty at its best.
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Blowing Rock Lodge Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
HOLIDAY
Nov 22 2014 - Nov 30 2014
5 night minimum stay
$500
$3,000
 
 
HOLIDAY
Dec 20 2014 - Jan 4 2015
5 night minimum stay
$500
$3,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$390
$2,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $60
Tax Rate 9.75%
Notes WINTER WEATHER ACCESS REQUIRES FOUR WHEEL DRIVE VEHICLES, NO EXCEPTIONS
50% DEPOSIT IS REQUIRED TO BOOK WITH BALANCE DUE 30 DAYS PRIOR TO CHECK IN
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Blowing Rock Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Dialup Access
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3.5
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • King size beds (2) Two king bedrooms on second floor, Queen size Beds (2) Queen bedroom on main level Queen bedroom on second floor, Double Beds (2) Second floor bedrooms, Twin or Single Beds (6) bedroom with twin beds on main level other twin beds in bedrooms upstairs, Child Beds (1) crib in upstairs bedroom, Baby Cribs (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
Notes:
All the privacy you could wish for on 12 acres with the house at the end of the lane overlooking cascading mountain creek.
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$1,750 - $4,800 per week
2 - 5 night minimum stay
  • 6 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • Sleeps 17
$2,400 - $4,800 per week
2 - 6 night minimum stay
  • 6 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 2 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 14
$1,200 - $2,400 per week
3 - 5 night minimum stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote