Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

BEAUTIFUL KENAI RIVER COTTAGE WITH PRIME RIVERFRONT SALMON AND TROUT FISHING

Property Manager

Advertiser since 2012
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Manager

Property Manager
Advertiser since 2012
Speaks english
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

BEAUTIFUL KENAI RIVER COTTAGE WITH PRIME RIVERFRONT SALMON AND TROUT FISHING

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay nights

Overview

Overview

Sterling Chalet Rental Photos and Description

Chalet, 2/3 Bedrooms (Detached Unit), 1+ Bath (1 in detached unit), (Sleeps 6+)

Centrally located on a 'Trophy' stretch of the famous Kenai River, our rental cabin sits on 1 acre with 100 ft of private waterfront and incredible shore fishing. Monster 'King Salmon' spaun right off our dock and 'Reds' streem by in the thousands. From our Kenai Chalet / cabin you can easily access the entire Kenai Penninsula within an easy drive. Fishing, Kayaking, wildlife viewing, or sightseeing, it's all easily accesed from perfectly located Sterling Alaska. We offer wonderful views of the Kenai River, great bank fishing for red ( sockeye ) salmon, and has all normal amenities for your use and enjoyment. Use our fully equipped kitchen or barbeque your salmon on the deck then sit around and tell fish stories you'll need to cut in half to make them sound believable. We have freezer space available on site plus Several local restaurants are available in the immediate area if you choose to dine out.

Our cabin is a great base camp for your unguided or guided daily fishing adventures with an opportunity to enjoy superb bank fishing from our property. There are numerous rivers in addition to the Kenai river as well as lakes and ocean fishing destinations within a short drive. When making reservations, please let us know your fishing interests and we’ll be happy to advise you on Guided or Unguided fishing services or help you arrange a complete package.

The Kenai river fishing is perhaps most famous for its giant king salmon and world class rainbow trout. However, many anglers also target the Kenai’s huge run of red (sockeye) salmon which most years exceed over 1 million fish entering the river over about a 4 week period. Fishing for other species such as silver (coho) salmon, pink (humpy) salmon and dolly varden is also available in the Kenai river as well as in other nearby rivers such as the Kasilof river and Quartz Creek. We are also only a short drive from saltwater, and halibut fishing charters are easily arranged.

Fishing for red salmon from the shore of our Kenai river frontage is excellent during the peak season and is available to anyone renting our Chalet. This is private bank fishing along a certain designated shoreline. We can also give you assistance with walk in fishing spots along the entire Kenai River plus help on the Kasilof, Anchor, Deep Creek, Russian River and Ptarmigan to name just a few. While Staying at the Chalet if I'm fishing in the area you are welcome to tag along (please note, I am not a guide and this is not a guide service)

Keywords: Alaska, cabins, rental, Kenai, vacation, rental cabins, cabin rentals, Kenai river, guides, guided, Alaska fishing packages, B & B, Bed and Breakfast, fishing packages, fishing, vacation, cabin, accomodations, rainbows, fishing, Alaskan fishing, Alaska fishing, sport fishing, salmon, fly fishing Alaska, halibut, lodges, fish, Kenai Peninsula, flyfishing, fly fishing, red salmon, sockeye, king salmon, trout, rainbow trout, halibut, tours, vacation rental cabin, travel, charters, guides, vacations, kayaking, canoeing, backpacking, hiking, sightseeing, wildlife viewing

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Property Manager
Advertiser since 2012
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About The Owner

Life long fisherman who loves the back country and helping young people get excited about Alaska and fishing this incredible land.

The Owner purchased this chalet in 2011

Why The Owner chose Sterling

I choose the Kenai River because of it's unparalleled opportunities for many different species of fish. This stretch of the Kenai is prime King Salmon fishing, the Reds school thru in abundance and there are several Silver Salmon and Trout holes reachable from our dock. The famous Russian River is a short drive and great Salt water fishing for Halibut, Salmon or Rock fish came be accessed thru Homer or Seward. It's easy access to amenities for hikers, kayakers , sightseers and kids activities.

What makes this chalet unique

We are in some of the best King Salmon stretches of the river. Red Salmon Are abundant as are Silvers later in the season , and some MONSTER TROUT have been caught right off our riverbank.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Thank you so much for providing such a great place to stay. It had everything we needed and more. Although we did not use much of the food provided (we had already been to Safeway when we discovered it), it is a really nice touch.



We had a great time in the area and hope to return some time.
Jul 2012
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4
based on 4 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Beautiful Kenai River Cottage with prime Riverfront Salmon and Trout Fishing
average rating of 4.0 based on 5 reviews
business
Beautiful Kenai River Cottage with prime Riverfront Salmon and Trout Fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402734vb
-210-591-8550
Sterling Alaska
California
5

Filled the Freezer!

  • 5 of 5
2014 was a strange year for Sockeye Salmon but with checking out all the different fishing holes in the area the owner was able to help us locate more than enough fish to fill all our boxes. Nice quiet area, very cute cottage and right in the heart of dozens of great fishing spots. We had a great time and a definite thumbs up!
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Kenai River Cottage with prime Riverfront Salmon and Trout Fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402734vb
-210-591-8550
Sterling Alaska
Portland
5

Nice Place !

  • 5 of 5
Great place to get away and see the entire Kenai Peninsula. We were able to fish and sight see from Homer to Seward without having to change property or have an unreasonable drive. The metal walkway to the river was very nice as was the fishing motif for the house decorations. The house was very clean and the owners stocked the refrigerator with all the little things that we usually forget. They also had some things like frozen Pizza and Bacon & Eggs available so we didn't have to eat out when we first got in (which was late of course), nice touch!

There had been some large fires earlier in the year which had thrown the area into some confusion. Apparently this had effected some of the upgrades that had been planned and the owner had had to do some maintenance while we were there. They were very considerate and worked around our schedule. Aside from seeing some building materials in the driveway it really didn't affect us at all.

One thing we did notice was that the area water is from wells and the forest in which the house is located seems to have a lot of tannins, this gives the water a slight taste, the owned showed us the filtered drinking water system which we used for all drinking water after that.
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
business
Beautiful Kenai River Cottage with prime Riverfront Salmon and Trout Fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402734vb
-210-591-8550
Sterling Alaska
1

Not reccomended!

  • 1 of 5
I must start by saying this property does have potential to be very nice but it is not! The property upon arrival in the middle of the night was alarming to say the least, there is junk(plastic buckets, Styrofoam ice chests, boat motors,1 0f 3 boats looks like it hasn't been operable for 20 years or more! stacks of wood in front of the house and side, cardboard, box fan in front yard?) everywhere! I don't believe a lawnmower has ever been on the property, grass or weeds were 3 foot tall! The screen door and screen on the sliding doors are not fit to allow doors to be left open, unless you want biting insects sleeping with you.
The freezer in the storage shed was not fit for human food storage, smelled horrible from the doorway before even opening it you could smell it! The water is not drinkable, it stunk so bad we could not brush our teeth with it much less use it for drinking or cooking. The water pressure is horrible! There is no internet even though it is advertised!(per owner, no one used it so we had it removed) its still on the list of amenities! The knob on the stackable washer/dryer was broken, making it difficult to use. There is no theme to the décor of the home although this does not make it a deal breaker I feel for the price it should be better decorated. Having been a tourist to this area before and renting vacation homes I can honestly say this was deplorable! I was embarrassed for the owners of this property! Want to rent it? Either make it worth the price or lower the rental price to the meet the accommodations and disclose the property as it is. Must say the only thing this property has going for it is the river is beautiful!
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm not sure if these people expected but most of what they complained about ran exactly opposite from the other many other guests we have hosted over the last 2 years, in fact this was the first complaint so I was a little surprised especially considering what they complained about . To the Man/Woman, every other guest has loved the house and "Fishing", we don't have a lawn so I don't know what that was about.
We also leave a number of "Alaska" niceties for the customers to use, a kettle for opening clams, a vacuum packer and a mosquito fan. Apparently they did not understand it's use, if you put a net on the exhaust side and place it by the door it will catch more mosquitoes then the fancy gas powered models, it's not pretty but it works and we had fairly bad early season as far as those little buggers are concerned.
This year we had some very serious fires that did push back some of plans and had us storing our boats on the side lot. Every boat gets used regularly up here but maybe they expected the "Queen Mary" ...who knows.
In their defense, because of the fires we were set back on a couple of our construction projects so we did nave some wood in the yard that hadn't been utilized yet. It was out of the way and I don't see how that could have been a problem. Also since we live in the woods the soil has a lot of tannins in the soil which does have a slight odor, to alleviate the issue we installed 2 filters, one on the well and another at the sink for drinking. After filtering there is no odor and to say they couldn't shower is pure Barbara Striesan ( BS ), you have to be pretty hard pressed to even notice it in the shower.
I think the real reason for this review was that they were not catching Silvers off our dock and they were unhappy about it.
If they had asked I would have pointed out that every fish they caught upstream had to swim by our place to get there. Every stretch of the river requires different techniques and from what they told me, they only fish "holes" or holding areas. If that's correct I am not surprised they didn't have much luck on our stretch of the river, here the fish are just traveling thru and you need to fish accordingly. On the upside "Traveling" areas are great for "Reds" because an angler needs running water to have good catches and the small back eddy did produce a nice 26 inch "Dolly" for the people who preceded them.
business
Beautiful Kenai River Cottage with prime Riverfront Salmon and Trout Fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402734vb
-210-591-8550
Sterling Alaska
5

California vacationers

  • 5 of 5
This is a beautiful property with lots of forested trees and plants. There is an awesome view of the Kenai river from the kitchen, living room and deck. It was beautiful walking on the easily accessible walkway from the house to the river. You walk through a beautiful forest of trees. The house inside is very sunny with nice vaulted ceilings. The kitchen is well equipped and pretty with a nice seating area by big windows to look out at the river. They put a lot of care and thought into decorating the home. It's very cozy. The washer and dryer were very useful to us. The drive to get to the home is adventuresome and fun as long as you have GPS. There's lots of homes around but don't see your neighbors. Just the right amount of privacy. There was some fishing rods for us to use on the river to catch the salmon. We caught zero fish because we did not know what we were doing. However we had fun trying. We did our major fishing on charters and did well with that. It's fun walking out to the river when ever you like to watch the fisherman go by and neighbors across the way fish. There's fish processing areas on property to prepare your catch. The owner came by to check on us a couple times. They were very nice and gave us lots good info on the area. They're friend comes by and uses the fish processing area and likes to talk. They were all fun to talk with and are very knowledgeable about the area and fishing. Didn't see any bears or moose on the property, but said bears do come by. Just wear bells to scare them away if you're out at night. A nice size town is about 7 to 10 mins away with good shopping, eating and fish processing company's. This was a very enjoyable vacation. We appreciate the owners allowing us to use they're home.
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Kenai
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
Moosquito's
Nearest Golf
9 Miles
Soldotna
Nearest Train
59 Miles
Seward
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Sterling Highway
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Magpie's
Car: necessary

Prime King (Chinook) Salmon fishing, Red (sockeye) Salmon, Silver or Coho Salmon, Rainbow Trout, Dolly Varden,

Fish and Game reports King fishing will continue to be moderate on the Kenai this year but Reds and Silvers should have an excellent year.

Rainbows and Dolly's are always Spectacular !

Photos

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rates & Availability

Sterling Chalet Rental Rates

Notes

  • $199 and up.
  • U.S. Dollars
  • May 15 - September 15 (see exception below) $199 per night for 2 persons
  • add $50 per night for each additional person ( $25 for children under 10 years )
  • July 13th - August 3rd $299 per night for 2 persons ($50 for each additional )
  • 4 night minimum ($49 damage insuranse and $89 cleaning fee added to each stay)
  • Call for long term rental Oct-March
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Amenities

Sterling Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snowmobiling
  • surf fishing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Located on the famous Kenai River, our rental cabin sits on 1 acre with 100 ft of waterfront and incredible shore fishing. Wonderful view of the Kenai River, great bank fishing for King, Red ( sockeye ) or Silver salmon, wildlife viewing, or sightseeing and has all normal amenities for your use and enjoyment. You can prepare your meals in our fully equipped kitchen or barbeque your salmon on the deck BBQ; then sit around and tell fish stories that you'll have to cut in half just to make them believable. Several local restaurants are available in the immediate area if you choose to dine out. Our Chalet is a great base camp for your unguided or guided daily fishing adventures , we can assist with guides if you desire.

Other Vacation Properties

$175 - $200 per night
2 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$700 per week
2 - 4 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 3
$2,500 - $4,865 per week
3 - 5 night minimum stay
  • 6 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 16

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote