Great Location, but read the fine print
Property Location: 5
Quality of amenities at property: 3.5
Property Matched description: 4.0
Ease of obtaining and returning Keys: 2
Overall Value for the money: 3
The location of the property was wonderful- in the pedestrian area Montorgueil in the 2nd Arondissement.A few blocks from the Louvre, Pompidou etc. Lots of little bars, and cafes perfect for people watching. Shops are nearby for stocking up the fridge of the small but well-equipped kitchen. The apartment was quite clean, except for hair in the bathroom area. Unfortunately there were the following problems with the apartment equipment, which were known to the owner: toilet that sometimes continued to flush and no direct access to the tank as it is built into the wall (very loud). Table for 2, neither chairs, nor room for 3rd/4th person. (chair number 3 was missing the arm rest and was broken in another spot, as was chair number 4 which was very unstable and couldn't hold the weight of the lightest in our party (50kg, 110 pound). Only 1 blanket for 4 people. (though the owner did offer to bring another one by the following day - we didn't want to wait until 10am to leave the apartment).
Otherwise the property is really modern and wonderfully designed -maximizing the space available in the attic apartment. The owner of the property was very responsive but is only available for key hand-off at 3pm and 10am. We were luckily able to pick the keys up outside of this time (4:30 pm) about 20 minute drive away (could have been very tricky without a car). There is public parking in the quarter - search online, discounts for per-booking of parking - to get into the pedestrian area, must press button and say you are driving in to a parking garage. Would be preferable to travel by public transportation - we left our car parked for the duration of the visit.
Overall, I found it a little disappointing that the apartment is supposed to be for 4 people and it actually doesn't have chairs, table space, blankets etc. for more than 2 people. We also had to pay proportionately more for my 1.5 year old child, BUT there was no 5th chair, towel, plate etc despite the extra increase in cost. (only a baby cot was available, without sheet etc)
All in all, I would recommend this property for 2 people who know they can be at the property at 3pm to pick up the keys and stay until 10 a.m. to return the keys.
Tourists without a Car,
Owner's Response: Hello! Thanks for your remarks. It's very interesting to read what our guests think about our apartment. Some of the things you mention I agree and some i think you are not exactly right. I would like to explain:
- Hair in the bathroom: The apartment is cleaned by a maid each time guests leaves. We never had any complain. It may happen that sometimes you can find a Hair in the bathroom. We are sorry about that, i don't like myself so i can perfectly understand.The day you came i couldn't check since your time arrival was after the time was stipulated and agreed by both sides in the RENTAL AGREEMENT so i wasn't there to check as i usually do when i receive guests in the apartment itself.
Chairs: The apartment has 2 chairs around the table . if you had the time to look behind the sofa you could discover 6 more chairs to open .If you needed , it's a pity you didn't ask me if i had more.. In general people use them because they see them.
The apartment is for 4 people. You were 5, and i told you that when you insisted. I told you is not an apartment for 5 people specially when you come with kids. We offer you toys for your child and you had blankets for everybody. I think that it was not enough because you mentioned you had cold and it's true we didn't give you more. We will take that in consideration for the next guest and we apologize for that.
Towel for your children: I put 2 sets of towels for children in the placard. i don't understand how you didn't see them. I brought them specially together with the toys.
Concerning the check in and out time: Before you agreed to rent the apartment i have sent to you a RENTAL AGREEMENT. It's written the check in 3PM and out time 10 AM, so it's strange you say something about it like its sounds strange. When we have the possibility we let our guests enter before, or leave after that hours. But we prefer to write an hour in case we have limitations to receive people in late or early hours. Sometimes people have late hours and we can not receive them so we prefer to mention that in the contract. If we know in advance we do our maximum to be there . But if a guest leaves and other arrives the same day we need minimum hours in between to clean.
Hope it's clear and as always , we prefer to read guest's comments to make better our guests stay.
Helpful votes: 19/21
Did you find this review helpful?