2 BRM+LOFT -SPEC. 14K MTN VIEWS WITH CREEK ACCESS

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2006
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

2 BRM+LOFT -SPEC. 14K MTN VIEWS WITH CREEK ACCESS

Buena Vista Chalet Rental Photos and Description

Chalet, 2 brm + Loft, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 7)

Our 1500 sq. ft. Alpine retreat is a beautiful, luxurious Mountain Chalet, nestled in the heart of Colorado's most spectacular 14,000 Foot peaks, (Mt. Princeton, Mt. Antero) and near the Fame Chalk Cliffs that overlook Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Pools.

Our accommodations are perfect for 7 people with a King bed in the Master and a double bed in the second bedroom, which are on the main level with a full bath and walk-in shower. The spiral staircase takes you to the upstairs loft which has two twin beds,1/2 bath, and a lovely sitting area overlooking the livingroom with spectacular views of the surrounding area. You and your family/friends, will enjoy the open great room feeling of the kitchen, dining, and livingroom, which has a fireplace and HD flat screen TV's in both the living room and master bedroom.

Take in the surrounding beauty and sounds of the rushing waters of Chalk Creek on one of two decks with that morning cup of coffee or that evening glass of wine while watching the humming birds and other wildlife while planning your next days adventure, or walk down to the creek and catch the days appetizer.

Free Wifi available to our guests.

Keywords: Vacation home in the Colorado Rockies with creek access and Hot Spring Spas and pools

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2006
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.8
based on 15 traveler reviews

Write a Review
2 Brm+Loft -Spec. 14K Mtn Views with Creek Access
average rating of 4.8 based on 15 reviews
business
2 Brm+Loft -Spec. 14K Mtn Views with Creek Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400182vb
(719) 395-2717 (Colorado, USA)
Buena Vista South Central Colorado
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
5

GREAT TIME IN A BEAUTIFUL PLACE

  • 5 of 5
We had a great time staying at the Alpine Retreat! It is definitely not a "cabin" but is a lovely, modern chalet. It had a beautiful décor and was furnished with everything we needed. Our two-year-old granddaughter was thrilled with the spiral staircase and was eager to sleep "up in the treehouse." Chalk Creek was flowing too fast so we didn't get to fish this trip. We did enjoy visiting the ghost town St. Elmo and also enjoyed walking around the area of the chalet. The deck and balcony are great for star gazing, and we used the gas grill for dinner each night. Katie, the owner, is very pleasant to deal with and was most eager to answer questions, etc. Take time to read the book about Alpine Lake. It was rather fascinating to read of the history of the area. Also, our dog enjoyed the area and wore herself out running up and down the staircase to the deck. We hope to return sometime to see the beautiful fall colors!
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
2 Brm+Loft -Spec. 14K Mtn Views with Creek Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400182vb
(719) 395-2717 (Colorado, USA)
Buena Vista South Central Colorado
Olathe, Kansas
5

OUTSTANDING CABIN

  • 5 of 5
I have stayed in over 20 VRBO cabins in Colorado, this is my FAVORITE. The cabin is terrific. A+ rating. the cabin is roomy and comfortable and very nicely decorated. Loved it. The decks are the best. Outstanding mountain views. The entire grounds the cabin is located on is terrific. Very scenic. Exactly what you would want in a mountain cabin. The location, if you don't mind being away from town and stores, is perfect. Great hiking, great ATV trails, close to St. Elmo ghost town (only 3.5 miles), just a great place.
This cabin lacks a fire pit (It may have one, we really didn't look) or a hot tube. But, that shouldn't take away from how perfect everything else is. I will, absolutely, stay here again. In fact, this will be my first choice from now on.
Thank you Katie and Curt for having such a great place for us to stay, and for being such great hosts! Abby was great, too!! Ruff, Ruff!!
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
2 Brm+Loft -Spec. 14K Mtn Views with Creek Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400182vb
(719) 395-2717 (Colorado, USA)
Buena Vista South Central Colorado
South of Kansas City, Kansas
5

VAN FAM VACA WEEK

  • 5 of 5
It is my/our extreme pleasure to write this review. My apologies for not getting this done sooner.
Read the ONE bad review before we arrived. Only response is I have is that some people are never satisfied.

Our vacation was long overdue, our family had some tragedy and were in need of a haven. Curt & Katies chalet provided a comfortable, quiet, and relaxing place for just that. We were completely satisfied. The roads to cabin were a bit rough, but maintained. And, YOU ARE IN THE MOUNTAINS. Secluded. and Picturesque. Which is worth it. The cabin was very well maintained. We made ourselves at home. Brought 2 of our kids, ages 20 and 15. They nested in the loft, giving them their own space and offering their own stage to offer their opinions, lol. We walked to our "back" yard/creek, most every evening. Left the windows cracked enough to let in that clear crisp air. Watched the weather /clouds on the mountains. Had coffee watching the sun come into the valley.
We went horseback riding to Brown creek falls w/Mt Princeton (excellent) rented 2 ATVs (we are novices) went to 4 mile. Excellent! The boys went on aerial obstacle w/Capt Zip, Phenomenal!! We are old and out of shape, this trip was excellent. Salida is amazing, rented a bike and rode around that charming town. And it was always good to get back to the Chalet for a little dinner, glass of wine and relaxation.
Lovely Place Lovely People. What more is there?? Thank you and say hi to Abbie. Kindeswt Regards, Mary and Gene.
  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
2 Brm+Loft -Spec. 14K Mtn Views with Creek Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400182vb
(719) 395-2717 (Colorado, USA)
Buena Vista South Central Colorado
Denver, colorado
5

EAF

  • 5 of 5
We had a great stay, only wish it was longer. Once you get settled in and simply enjoy the "cabin," there is so much to do in the area. This is a special place, nicely landscaped and in keeping with surroundings. Katie and Curt are magicians with all aspects of home/cabin design. We felt at home quickly in the well appointed place. Thanks for a friendly and private stay.
  • Submitted: May 27, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
2 Brm+Loft -Spec. 14K Mtn Views with Creek Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400182vb
(719) 395-2717 (Colorado, USA)
Buena Vista South Central Colorado
Denver
2

WE WANTED TO LEAVE!

  • 2 of 5
My fiancé and I were debating on whether to give this place a 1 or 2 star rating and settled on 2. The 2 stars is dedicated to the nice, clean cabin and beautiful mountain view (minus the view of the owners home).

We do not believe in leaving bad reviews, but this place was ridiculous. Given the numerous cabin stays we have had over the last 7 years, we felt that people should know about our dissatisfied experience. We only read positive reviews about this place and based 50% of our decision on this alone. Not every experience is a good one.

The owners did not inform us that:

#1. A four-wheel drive vehicle might be required in order to access the cabin. I have a Mazda3. Access required taking a dirt road, which had become slushy due to melting snow, and we ended up stuck 3 times. We could not leave the cabin for 3 days, fearing that we would end up stuck again, which meant no fishing or going into town. I have lived in Denver for more than 19 years and stayed in many cabins. Not once did I need a four-wheel drive to access a cabin, and if there was a possibility that a four-wheel drive might be required, the owners told us!

#2. The fireplace is an amenity listed, but it was broken and did not work during our stay. Apparently, the owners knew about this before we drove up, and did not tell us until after our arrival. The owner stated, “we attempted to fix it the day before, but couldn’t”. Trust me; we would have stayed elsewhere, if we knew beforehand. My fiancé and I love the fireplace. We look forward to this one amenity in particular, especially during our wintertime cabin getaways. What a complete disappointment.

#3. There was a leaky roof in the master bedroom. Are you kidding me? I woke up to a weird noise during the second night of our stay and found that the roof was leaking into my fiancé’s overnight bag.

#4. The refrigerator icemaker and water did not work, though their binder in the kitchen does mention it.

#5. The morning we were getting ready to leave, the phone rang twice, and the owner told us to throw the sheets into the washer before we left. Are you joking? Considering the type of experience we had, you can just do it yourself.

Poor communication and the lack of a happy, fulfilling experience = 2 stars, not 5.
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that you were unhappy with your accommodations. We pride ourselves on making sure our customers are comfortable and satisfied.
You had asked for a discount, which we accommodated, waived the deposit and cleaning fee to meet your budgetary requirements and felt we had worked with you fairly.
Given the time of year and the amount of snow the mountains can receive at any time, it would only be common sense to not drive a sports car to the mountains during winter season. In addition, when your fiancé and I spoke on the phone prior to your stay, I explained to him where we were located and that there was snow on the ground and roads.
Regarding the fireplace, had we known this was a high priority for you, we certainly would have told you it was not operative and recommended you find other accommodations. We have fixed the problem now, but at the time, we did not feel it was safe to operate.
In response to you being inconvenienced of putting your bed sheets in the washing machine, that is part of our instructions for all our clients which are included in the red instruction book on the kitchen counter.
Also, we did accommodate you with additional candles for "ambiance", however these were placed directly on the hardwood floors, and were allowed to melt down causing damage to the floors.
In addition, we were sorry you diid not appreciate and enjoy being nestled in the forest surrounded by beautiful mountains and the serenity away from the noise and sounds of the city.
We realize it can be difficult to please everyone, however we will continue strive to make sure our customers have a pleasurable experience and are completely satisfied.
business
2 Brm+Loft -Spec. 14K Mtn Views with Creek Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400182vb
(719) 395-2717 (Colorado, USA)
Buena Vista South Central Colorado
College Station, Texas
5

WE DIDN'T WANT TO LEAVE!!

We didn't want to leave!!
  • 5 of 5
The cabin/chalet was even more spectacular than the pictures showed! It was very clean and had a feeling of being brand new. The owners were so nice and helpful with any questions we had. The views were breathtaking from the two decks. Even our teenage son was impressed. We loved going on walks and down to the creek and sitting in the swing. We had fun 4 wheeling at St. Elmo and fishing at Chalk Lake. The Lobacks Bakery in Buena Vista was historical and had yummy pastries. We are planning to come back and stay here next summer and are already looking forward to it!
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Email

Map

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Buena Vista Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall/winter
Oct 1 2014 - Jan 4 2015
3 night minimum stay
$215
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$265
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection 49
Pet Fee 65 + Tax
Cleaning fee 125 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.0%

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Buena Vista Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Spa
General:
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Telephone
  • Linens Provided
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking
  • Living Room
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
Kitchen:
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Pantry Items
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Kitchen
  • Ice Maker
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
  • 1.5
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • King size beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Murphy Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Balcony
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • horseback riding
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • antiquing
  • sledding
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • skiing
  • mountain biking
  • snowmobiling
  • golf
  • rock climbing
  • cycling
  • swimming
  • cross country skiing
  • kayaking
  • tennis
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hunting big game
  • mountain climbing
  • whitewater rafting
  • rafting
  • snowboarding
  • basketball court
  • hiking
Email Owner Email