Ingrid OCallaghan

Speaks french, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

OMAHA BEACH, NORMANDY, 2 BED HOUSE

Vierville-sur-Mer House Rental Photos and Description

2 bed, sleeps 5, self catering, 500 meters from Omaha Beach

Looking for a getaway, relaxing, chill out holiday? The house offers all that and more. Located beside what was US headquarter building after the landings on Omaha Beach 6th June 1944. The house is a short stroll from the beautiful Omaha beach, ideal for that perfect recreation /reflection for both kids and adults. The house has been recently lovingly renovated and accommodates 5 people comfortably, containing all modern conveniences. The surrounding area is steeped in D-Day History, the Normandy American Cemetery, the British Cemetery and many (within walking distance) historical monuments. Nearby there are plenty of WWII museums, Pointe Du Hoc and the town of Bayeux us just a short drive away. It also is just a 30 minute drive from the city of Caen which has many attractions. The house will be cleaned and ready for you before arrival, so all you have to do is arrive.

Suitability:
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets not allowed
Guestbook comments from the owner
hi ingrid

never got around to saying thank you for helping us and letting us stay at your place. the house was in a great location and the kids just loved playing with all the toys.
May 2010
  • 1 of 2

Ingrid OCallaghan

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2009
Speaks french, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

I am from Ireland and I understand the importance of history. I am proud to own a unique part of a very historical area in France

Ingrid OCallaghan purchased this house in 2002

I was astounded with the rich variety and historical importance of this area after first visit here in 1998 .I was lucky enough to be able to obtain the property here in 2002, and have since loving restored it. There is so much to see and do in the area and surrounding locations, when I and my small children we are never lost for something to do or see.

The ouse is beside Omaha Beach allowing beautiful walks / cycles / drives to all nearby historical areas(American Cemetary, Point Du Hoc, WW II Buildings, Museums, Vinyard's etc). Also close to Bayeaux / Caen for shopping and eating out

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.3
based on 7 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Omaha Beach, Normandy, 2 bed house
average rating of 4.285714 based on 7 reviews
business
Omaha Beach, Normandy, 2 bed house
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400114
+353 868202396
Vierville-sur-Mer Bayeux area
5

Best vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5
We stayed here for our trip of a lifetime. The house is adorable! Was clean, welcoming, and the views of the sea are outstanding! There was nothing that we needed that was not in the home, and the village of Vierville Sur Mer is a welcoming, friendly place. We were fortunate enough to be there for the 70th anniversary reenactments, and it was like stepping back in time. Sadly, we did not have the farmers market that week because of the reenactments, but the local market was able to fit all of our needs. The beds were comfy, the kitchen well equipped ...I just simply cannot say enough good things!
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Omaha Beach, Normandy, 2 bed house
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400114
+353 868202396
Vierville-sur-Mer Bayeux area
4

Our Stay

  • 4 of 5
The house is exactly what you see. It was a quint place with all the amenities and more. I love that there were books you could read, stuff for the beach, and many others little things to make it a more pleasurable stay. We had our boys read about the different sites before visiting them the next day. We had a crazy time trying get the key (cell out of country), but it worked out. The place is perfect for site seeing around Omaha Beach because it's just around the corner. We did trip the circuit breaker due to the washer and dryer running together one day. Not a big deal we just did one load completely and started the next. There is also chickens that will greet you in the morning and the cows on the other side. If you are there on a Monday there was a lady selling fresh produce and eggs. The beach is beautiful and well worth our time here. The stairs are tight and narrow so if you have a handicap or large luggage it may be a hinderance. The only bathroom is downstairs so use it before bedtime. For us it worked out just fine. Thanks for letting us stay at your place.
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Omaha Beach, Normandy, 2 bed house
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400114
+353 868202396
Vierville-sur-Mer Bayeux area
5

Enchanting, Historical and truly AMAZING!

  • 5 of 5
I 110% recommend this apartment and location. We, (4 adults in our 30's) spent the week celebrating the 69th anniversary of D Day and it was magical. The location is superb since it is next to all the major historical sites. You go to sleep to the sound of the waves and wake up to find the ocean, willys driving by (military jeeps from the 1940's) and a family of sheep feeding. The apartment is the perfect size for 4 people (5 would have been fine too). We found everything in impecable condition, so tried leaving it the same way. The only tip I would give is to those wanting to use the hairdryer, you will find the converter (since it is a uk hairdryer) in the plug where the tv and music are located. There is no toaster so we toasted bread in the frying pan. I was happy to have read in a review before I got there about the water heater, its true, its a small heater so I recommend brief showers and if you set the water to lower pressure you'll get hot water lasting longer. Careful not to burn yourselves, you need to play with the setting a bit until you get the hang of it. The beds and futon are all super comfy. And the owner is a sweetheart. I cannot wait to do it again next year! Happy stays!
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your kind words. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Appreciate your point about the hairdryer, I hadn't thought of that so will look into replacing it! The shower hot water heater is small and we are restricted by what can be done under local law. However I will enquire to see if it can be changed.
Looking forward to having you stay again! Take care Ingrid
business
Omaha Beach, Normandy, 2 bed house
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400114
+353 868202396
Vierville-sur-Mer Bayeux area
Boekel, Netherlands
3

Be ready for Adventure!!!!

  • 3 of 5
Overall, it was what we needed. There was enough room for our familiy of five which is pretty much what we got. The apt is in good condition and the owner left a book to explain the nuances of the room which was very helpful because we needed it. Upstairs, the rooms were cozy, comfortable, and warm. Downstairs, probably due to the time of year, was cold. There were space heaters provided but trying to figure out the exact science of what could be running at the same time before tripping the circuit was an adventure. There is a washer and dryer on premises which was quite nice considering the amount of clothes we had. The biggest issue we had and very hard to overlook was the water. Whether it was the pressure or amount of hot water. If you wanted pressure, you could only take about a 30 sec hot shower, if you wanted a hot shower, then you took a shower with barely a drizzle. We figured it out eventually but it was a big disappointment. We can see that the owner takes pride in their property and fixed the things that one reviewer left. If the water 'issue' could be improved, I would recommend this property to people because it is a nice place in a nice area. However, for a large family, it takes a bit of figuring out.
  • Submitted: May 9, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your review and comments. We always appreciate feedback

The maximum voltage/ampage supplied by the electricity provider is 10A. If every appliance is on at the same, this can overload, therefore we mention this in our book to ensure visitors are aware of same. Unfortunately, Summer has taken its time to kick in all over Europe this year, and being a holiday home, the house would feel a little cold initially, however, there are heaters provided for this
same reason.

The water flow and shower has not been raised as an issue before therefore we appreciate this feedback. This will be tested and maintained to ensure everything works as it should for future guests.
business
Omaha Beach, Normandy, 2 bed house
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400114
+353 868202396
Vierville-sur-Mer Bayeux area
5

August hols

  • 5 of 5
Hi - just wanted to say really enjoyed our hols this year in your apartment. The famous Omaha Beach certainly didn't disappoint and thankfully the weather was great so many a day was spent there. The surrounding area is lovely too and can't wait to come back year to explore some more.

The honan family.
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words. We look forward to having you back at some stage in the future.
Ingrid
business
Omaha Beach, Normandy, 2 bed house
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400114
+353 868202396
Vierville-sur-Mer Bayeux area
Germany
3

April 2011 holiday

  • 3 of 5
My family (self, husband & four children ages 3-11) spent a week on spring holiday at this flat in April 2011. The listed description is accurate regarding convenience of location as it within a short walk to a nearby museum, Omaha beach, & a small market. Photos shown are accurate, but it is worth noting that the internal stairs are VERY narrow & in a corkscrew style which made negotiating them with a travel bag/suitcase concerning. Caution needed for safety on the stairs with small kids or older adults. We found the flat to be clean upon our arrival but there was a dirty fish-tank smell that we could not figure out initially. Upon clearing the kitchen from the evening meal, we found that the dishwasher drain was clogged & thus water was sitting there for obviously a long enough time to begin to smell. My husband took apart the drain & cleaned it, after which it functioned properly. During our week-long holiday we discovered numerous things that needed attention: shower head holder broken in shower, shower & bathroom sink drains were very slow to empty, kitchen sink faucet loose & wobbly, electrical outlet for kitchen wall heater became hot to the touch when in use, flashlight & clocks were inoperable, television volume not operable when viewing DVDs, & the flat’s electrical power would cut off when more than two electrical appliances were operating at the same time. This power failure was most frustrating, because we had no information regarding the location neither of the circuit breaker box nor information on strategically considering simultaneous use of electrical appliances. This event in particular necessitated a call to the owners for guidance. The positive aspects of this rental were certainly location/convenience, affordability, available washer/dryer with detergent, children’s toys/books & regional travel literature for use, room heaters & a functioning smoke alarm. We believe all of the negative aspects could easily be addressed with some intense maintenance attention. Also recommended would be an information sheet posted in the flat listing such things as location of the circuit breaker box, name & number of a local point of contact to address issues, nearest hospital & pharmacy, etc…We would not hesitate to recommend this property to a friend or to return there ourselves, as well as upgrade our overall experience to "excellent", if maintenance issues were addressed.
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments.

Many of the issues raised have been rectified and the cleaner has been informed of the concerns raised.

Certain aspects are more features of the house. The spiral staircase is a standard
spiral staircase which may find more of a challenge.
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Kilometres
Caen
Nearest Ferry
80 Kilometres
Cherbourg
Nearest Train
15 Kilometres
Bayeux
Nearest Motorway
5 Kilometres
A13
Nearest Beach
500 Metres
Omaha Beach
Nearest Barpub
500 Metres
Hotel Casino
Nearest Golf
2 Kilometres
Golf Omaha
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
Hotel Casino
Car: recommended

Just a short stroll from the main D Day landing site of Omaha Beach, located in the picturesque village of Vierville Sur Mer.

You can drive the route of the allies, from Vierville to Arromanche

with many stops and sites of importance. There are 2 great museums nearby, and a very beautiful walk along Omaha beach, up the bluff to the American cemetery is recommended.

There are many tours of the landing beaches and historical World War II locations and some will even collect from our door.

Other Activities: Historical WW II tours, D Day drives, Scenic Walks,

Golfing, Boating, Fishing, Cycling, Cider Vineyards, Horse Riding

Schools, Shopping, Traditional French Restraint's

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Vierville-sur-Mer House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
SummerSeason
Jun 1 - Sep 29
3 night minimum stay
€75
From
€75
Fri,Sat,Sun
€455
€1,710
 
 
Last Minute July 2014
Aug 26 2014 - Aug 31 2014
6 night minimum stay
€390
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
€65
From
€65
Fri,Sat,Sun
€400
€1,350
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning €35

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Vierville-sur-Mer House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house (terraced)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 65 m²
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Beach
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Family
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Laundry Soap
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Shampoo
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Parking
  • Living Room
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
Kitchen:
  • Grill
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Kitchen
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single
    Sitting Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • Games for Kids
  • Toys
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Games ...
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Terrace
Suitability:
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • recreation center
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • walking
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • swimming
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • paragliding
  • surfing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • equestrian events
  • hiking
  • sailing
Email Owner Contact Me