Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

OCEAN VIEW LOFT OVERLOOKING LUNENBURG HARBOUR

Owner/Property Manager

Advertiser since: 2012
Speaks: english, french
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Owner/Property Manager

Advertiser since: 2012
Speaks: english, french
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

OCEAN VIEW LOFT OVERLOOKING LUNENBURG HARBOUR

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Lunenburg Apartment Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedroom apartment with a large deck

Explore the unique UNESCO heritage town in this bright, newly renovated, loft style apartment. You won't miss any of the action sitting on the large, sunny deck overlooking Lunenburg Harbour & the Bluenose II. Whether it's the comings & goings of the majestic schooners; the dory or sailboat races; the arrival of new vessels which have come from afar; or simply the daily activity of the harbour; everything happens on the Bluenose wharf.

The shops, restaurants & art galleries are only steps away or around the corner. After dining in one of the many fine or family restaurants, you can walk the streets, steeped in a fascinating history and explore the intriguing architecture which gives Lunenburg it's special charm.

Beautiful beaches are only a short drive away, with either calm waters for toddlers or wavy surf providing endless enjoyment for teenagers & more adventurous sorts.

Summers in the town are filled with music, art & street festivals.

Our 2nd floor apartment is also available for rentals. This unit provides an additional 2 bedrooms (sleeps 4) with complete kitchen facilities & living area.

Or if you're a larger group, we can offer both units & can accommodate up to 10 people comfortably.

Keywords:

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Owner/Property Manager (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2012
Speaks: english, french

About Owner/Property Manager

Renovating this historical 3 story Dutch gambrel building has been a labour of love. It's location in this UNESCO heritage town brings one back in time to a gentler place.

Owner/Property Manager purchased this apartment in 2005

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.9
based on 10 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Ocean View Loft Overlooking Lunenburg Harbour
average rating of 4.9 based on 10 reviews
business
Ocean View Loft Overlooking Lunenburg Harbour
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399360vb
Lunenburg Nova Scotia
5

Great location!

  • 5 of 5
Spent a wonderful three days here - very comfortable and relaxing - owner extremely helpful.
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
business
Ocean View Loft Overlooking Lunenburg Harbour
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399360vb
Lunenburg Nova Scotia
5

Special place

  • 5 of 5
We (parents with two four-year olds) had such a lovely time at this place! Loved everything about it: the balcony with the view on the harbor, its charm and various art pieces throughout the apartment. Thank you for making Lunenber a place that will always stay in our hearts.
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Ocean View Loft Overlooking Lunenburg Harbour
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399360vb
Lunenburg Nova Scotia
4

Lovely, but kitchen/dining need work.

  • 4 of 5
Four of us stayed in the Loft for a week.

As other reviewers note, the view from this Loft is fantastic. And the apartment is lovely with beautifully restored old floors, nice colors in kitchen and bathroom tile, and tasteful decorations. And it is well situated in the middle of Lunenburg for easy access to restaurants, shops, wharf, and galleries.

However, we would note a few concerns. First, we planned to cook dinner "at home" about half the time. The kitchen was so under-furnished (inadequate supply of pans, glasses, utensils; no broiler pan at all) that cooking was challenging. If you use a fork in food prep, you have to wash it to set the table for 4. And if the weather doesn't permit you to eat outside on the deck, you have to move furniture around and bring in outdoor chairs to create a dinner table for 4. An aside: the 3 stools at the kitchen counter are too high for the counter and have no padding left in the upholstered seats. Very uncomfortable. So, if your intention is to do serious cooking, be forewarned to try to keep it simple.

The second concern is sleep quality. I guess it is the flip side of being in the center of town, but the surrounding inn and restaurants have garbage pick-up early in the morning. And other trucks come by grinding uphill at early hours. We had the bedroom window open for air, and we were routinely awakened by early morning garbage/traffic noise between 4 and 6 a.m. In fairness, my sister in the other (equally exposed) bedroom did not get awakened by noise.

We were glad to have WiFi, but the connection was slow and sometimes failed. We found that the payment procedures were not convenient for international travelers. Upon arrival, we paid in full, in cash. Yet, our deposit was returned as a check which the owner's bank refused to cash for us. This would probably not be an issue for Canadian renters.
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We thank you for the 4-star rating and we’re sorry your stay was not to your complete satisfaction. We were unaware that you were experiencing these inconveniences and had we known, we would have made every effort to accommodate you. As we say to all our guests upon arrival, ”If there is anything you need, please don’t hesitate to ask us!”

I’ve tried to address a few of your concerns below for future guests.

We outfit our 2 apartments with basic kitchen utensils for simple in-house meals. We do have an assortment of additional supplies on the main floor and are very happy to provide our guests with any supplementary items that they feel they may need.

The WiFi we provide is a high speed internet connection that we are personally dependent on and it is extremely stable. In our experience, the source of the problem mentioned is that the computer is continually scanning & trying to pick up one of the many other network signals in the area. This can be easily rectified by managing the WiFi settings on your personal computer.

Our policy with regard to the security deposit is to return it to our guests in the same method of payment as it was received, either by PayPal, bank e-transfer or check (US or CAN), since these are the accounts in which the deposit funds are held. Unfortunately, Canadian Banks will not cash a check unless you hold an account with that institution.

We hope that these inconveniences didn’t take away from your stay in Lunenburg and that you had an enjoyable time nonetheless.
business
Ocean View Loft Overlooking Lunenburg Harbour
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399360vb
Lunenburg Nova Scotia
Atlanta
5

Week of Bliss

  • 5 of 5
I wanted to let you all know how much my wife & I enjoyed our stay at your apartment & the town of Lunenburg. The apartment fit our needs and is exactly as described on VRBO's website. Thank you again for suggesting visiting the Thursday Farmers Market I would suggest it to anyone visiting Lunenburg.
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Ocean View Loft Overlooking Lunenburg Harbour
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399360vb
Lunenburg Nova Scotia
5

Just the right spot!

  • 5 of 5
Having rented houses and apartments in Europe and North America for quite some time now, we've developed an appreciation for the ambience and amenities of good properties. Happily, the description and photos that invited our interest in the Ocean View Loft matched very well with our stay.

This is an attractive and well-maintained property located in a UNESCO World Heritage Site. On its website, UNESCO describes Old Town Lunenburg as "the best surviving example of a planned British colonial settlement in North America." The Lunenburgers have struck the right balance between offering typical maritime tourist attractions and preserving the character of their town's historical buildings and streets. The Ocean View Loft fits well within this atmosphere.

The human touch also enriches the quality of a stay, of course, and we were pleased by the owners' relaxed and cordial treatment -- in person and in our email correspondence. A stay at the Ocean View Loft is highly recommended. We've put it on our stay-at-this-place-again list.
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Ocean View Loft Overlooking Lunenburg Harbour
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399360vb
Lunenburg Nova Scotia
Austin, TX
5

Perfect location with perfect hosts

  • 5 of 5
To say that this loft is in the perfect location in downtown Lunenburg could be considered an understatement. Not only are there lovely shops around the corner, but also restaurants, coffee shops, local haunts...everything! All of this and you get a PERFECT view to boot. We spent every morning and evening out on the deck just enjoying the crisp air and beautiful view. <br> <br>And I can't say enough good things about Steve and Irma. Not only did they give us great advice on what to see in the area (The Ovens, Hirtle Beach, Mahone Bay, Blue Rocks), but they also got on great with our kooky, chatty four-year-old. :-) <br><br>So if you're looking for an ideal location from which to explore this area of Nova Scotia, you'd be hard-pressed to find a better apartment for your stay!
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Map

whale watching, boat & sailing tours

Photos

Rates & Availability

From C$225 Per night

Lunenburg Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
C$225
C$1,500
C$5,700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit C$200
Notes 2 night minimum is an option where 3 consecutive nights are not available due to previous bookings.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Lunenburg Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 3
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 double
  • Ask about our 2nd floor apartment which provides an additional 2 bedrooms with complete kitchen facilities & living area. We can accommodate up to 10 people comfortably.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Ask about our 2nd floor apartment which provides an additional 2 bedrooms with complete kitchen facilities & living area.

Other Vacation Properties

$529 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$881 - $1,058 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$101 per night
3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote