Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Fantastic Ocean View, minutes from Beach with Turtles, Dolphins.

Christina-email/phone

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Christina-email/phone

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 25, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Fantastic Ocean View, minutes from Beach with Turtles, Dolphins.

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

Makaha Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath Sleeps 2-4 + one infant

Enjoy views of the nearby Ocean and the steep Waianae Mountains while relaxing in our Comfortable Island Furniture. Experience the Beautifully Manicured Grounds, swim in the 2 Pools, relax in the Jacuzzi, exercise at the Basketball & Tennis courts.

5 minutes away by car, you can soak up the sun on a White-Sand Beach in comfortable Tommy Bahama Lawn Chairs under an Over-Sized Umbrella. Snorkel with the Turtles, and if you are lucky, the Dolphins off the reef at Makaha or Po'Kai Beach, will swim with you.

For the Golfer, there is an Exceptionally beautiful golf course where the management will happily rent you clubs. You and your guests may sit down to a Delicious Meal at our large table that seats 6 or more or just work a Cross Word or Jigsaw Puzzle. 42' flat screen WV, WiFi available and Netflix capability in living room and 32' in the main bedroom for your pleasure.

Further Details: Each room has a ceiling Fan that works in combination with the louvered windows, to cool each room allowing the Trade Winds to gently blow through the condo in typical Island Fashion. One bedroom has a ''sweet'' King Size bed, 2 Side tables with lamps, a Granite Topped 4 Drawer Dresser with a 32'' Flat screen TV. The second Bedroom has 2 Twin Beds with Antique Island Headboards and a small chest between the beds with a pineapple lamp. All our walls are tastefully decorated with Island Art that further compliments the decor. You will be able to rest in peace knowing you have 24 security.

About The Owners: We are from Oregon. We love our Ocean, but prefer more sun. After visiting Hawaii several times, we discovered how invigorated we were by the Sunny Leeward side of Oahu. The surf at Makaha Beach can be calm and fun place to play or have dangerous waves that are so interesting to watch as surfers brave the immense waves. Recently, we tried Paddle Boarding at Po'Kai Beach while turtles and dolphins played right next to the surf board. We have many hikes and bicycle rides left to do in the Makaha area. We love the Saturday Morning Market (get there early), pick up fresh vegetables, fish for dinner, and coffee for breakfast . The Waianae Area feels like old Hawaii. We hope you will enjoy Makaha Valley Plantation as much as we do! Mark and Christina, Eugene, Oregon.

Why the Owner Chose Makaha: We wanted to be 'off the beaten path'. We had spent time in a small village south of Puerto Vallarto, Mexico for a number of years, but we found that there were too many obstacles to really get to know the people and the culture. But living in Makaha, life is pretty quiet but you can still get into Honolulu within 1 hour. Ko'Olina, 20 minutes provides wonderful swimming lagoon and and world class dining. We have only owned our condo since February 2011, but we have already made many new friends at the Makaha Village Plantation. People are very open and friendly.

The Unique Benefits at this Condo:

We really enjoyed Swimming in the pool and watching the Kids play. In the evening we relax under a clear star-lit sky in the Jacuzzi. I love to Sit and Read and Watch the Peacocks, ducks, and many different birds and wildlife. We have spent many hours snorkeling off the reef at Makaha Beach and the little turtle beach at Aki Cove. Our relatives have enjoyed swimming with the dolphins at Maku

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Christina-email/phone (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 25, 2015

About Christina-email/phone

We love our beautiful Coastline in Oregon, but feel more invigorated with Hawaii winter sun. The surf at Makaha Beach can be calm and fun to play in the ways or dangerous and interesting to watch surfers braving immense waves. Recently, we tried Paddle Boarding at Po'kai Beach while turtles and dolphins played right next to the surf board. We have many hikes and bicycle rides left to do in the Waianae area. We love the Saturday Morning Market. It feels like old Hawaii. We hope you will enjoy Makaha Valley Plantation as much as we do! Mark and Christina, Eugene, Oregon

Christina-email/phone purchased this condo in 2011

Why Christina-email/phone chose Makaha

We wanted to be 'off the beaten path' We had spent time in a small village south of Puerto Vallarto, Mexico but we found that there were too many obstacles to really get to know the people and the culture. But living in Makaha, life is pretty quiet but you can still get into a huge city within 1 hour if you want more excitement and world class dining. We have only owned our condo since February 2011, but we have already made many friends at the Makaha Village Plantation. People are very open and friendly.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.4
based on 38 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Fantastic Ocean View, minutes from Beach with Turtles, Dolphins.
average rating of 4.368421 based on 38 reviews
5

we enjoyed our stay!

  • 5 of 5

This condo is very nice and has all the amenities of home. It is a very comfortable place to stay. The view is beautiful! Parking is convenient and security is tight which is a good thing. If you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of the city, this is a great location.

  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you enjoyed our condo and appreciated the location. We think that the view is fantastic and have found the beaches and location great for exploring the outdoors hiking and swimming.
4

Great Get-Away Location!

  • 4 of 5

We recently visited this unit with our two children (ages 15 & 16) for Spring Break! This was a great location away from all of the hustle and bustle of Waikiki with access to countless beaches and great locale cuisine.

We really enjoyed the local atmosphere and the condo was great...there was some construction going on a neighboring housing development but it was not intrusive. The kids also enjoyed the pools and basketball court while we were on the property. There were a number of beaches that we visited and had sea turtle sightings everyday! The surf was manageable for all of us and was great for snorkeling and playing on boogey boards. There were people fishing and surfing at each beach as well! Great location - pretty much within 35-45 minutes to anywhere on the island! Thanks for sharing your home with us, we hope to visit again soon!

The Campbells

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your great review. We are glad that you were able to enjoy all the wonderful beaches and the local color. I am glad that the local construction is nearing an end and as you saw the view remains. Hope we have you back in the future. Christina
4

Perfect for getting away from the touristy scene!

  • 4 of 5

The rental was very clean and quite stunning. The gated community made us feel very safe. It is quite a drive from Honolulu, especially during rush hour, but the serenity was worth it. The view from the balcony is gorgeous and we watched the sunsets and the humpback whales jumping in the distance. The construction and peacocks didn't bother us at all. The master bedroom is on the opposite side of the condo from much of the racket. Everyone was really nice, from the security guards to the locals around town. It was a very relaxing end to our honeymoon.

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay on our side of the island. I am excited to hear you saw humpback whales. Makaha is a long way out and is difficult during commute hours so it is necessary to work around them. We try very hard to keep the condo well equipped with towels, beach chairs, some snorkeling equipment and all the necessary items needed in a kitchen for cooking. Wish you the best in the future. Sincerely, Christina
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The home is comfortable and thoughtfully equipped. We appreciated that there were even water shoes, snorkeling equipment, and beach chairs-how kind. The notebook explaining the unit and detailing area attractions was quite helpful. The ceiling fans kept the air moving and relieved the daytime stuffiness that is inevitable when you close a home while you are away enjoying the beach. Working with the owner was simple and drama free. We highly recommend this home.

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
3

Anniversary Trip

  • 3 of 5

This condo is well stocked with everything you would need for having a relaxing time on the island. It was clean the property was well cared for. The rosters were annoying at times as were the peacocks. We did not visit the pool. We had an issue with the tub backing up but called and it was taken care of before we got back by the end of the day, thanks. The twin beds do move to create a king of you needed that. No air conditioning but there is a ceiling fan in ask the rooms plus a floor fan. Keep the Windows open for the trade winds to keep it cool, but this allows for noise from those that live there permanently.

Negatives- the laini is small only about a foot wide so don't expect to sit outside and eat breakfast. They are building new houses just out the laini and work started at 7am/6days a week. this side of the island is very local, meaning it was rare to see a tourist/white person here. The landscape is dry because of the nature of the island so if you want green and Palm trees don't stay on this side. The town's and parks are dirty and we were told they like it that way "to keep tourist away". The speed limit from here to anywhere is 35mph so it will take you some time to get to the good stuff; pearl harbor, airport, Waikiki, north shore. It is no less than an hour to go some place.

We did have a nice visit but will stay on the windward side next time.

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Guests, I am sorry that your stay wasn't as pleasant as you wanted however many of my guests love it in Makaha at the Plantation. I would agree with many of your comments, however for many of us who want to stay in the less tourist-ed part of the island and who like the ambiance of this area, we are not bothered by the Peacock's (these are remnants of the Royal stock and part of Hawaii's heritage, also protected). The small lanai is not really problematic because the sliding glass doors open widely and provide the same ambiance as a deck would except that you are not sitting in the sun. You have the same great view! Yes, this side of the island is drier. If it rained every day would you be happy? I know that I was very disappointed when I went to Kailua for a week and it rained every day, hence our choice for this side of the island. We wanted sun in Hawaii. As for air conditioners, the trade winds provide effective cooling except for a small number of weeks randomly spaced out in late summrt or September. In order to keep the condo moderately priced, I have chosen not to install air conditioning. Hawaii has some of the most expensive electricity in the USA . We have hoped that our buildings would be eligible for solar energy credits but our condo board is in the process of developing that plan. We are unable to do anything about the home building projects (and our rates reflect this) but I have stayed at the beach (in very expensive accommodations) and had the very same problems so we have to accept this development.
4

Amanda B.

  • 4 of 5

Christina's condo was exactly as was presented in the listing. Exceptionally clean and comfy. The only downside for us was the drive to the east side for better snorkeling in the winter. Thanks!!

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway

Map

Dole Plantation
Wahiawa Botanical Garden
Kukaniloko Birth Stones
Makaha
Ko Olina Beach Park
"Great location to swim with children"
Kaena Point State Park
" At the very end of Mokuleia where the road dead-ends is Kaena Point State Park with its sec..."
Hawaii Adventure Tour - E O Waianae Tours
" catamaran tour: snorkeling, dolphins, turtles, kayaking, boarding "
Pililaau Army Recreation Center
"Great Calm Beach, usually not very crowded, especially during the week"
Makaha Beach Park
"In the spring and fall, there is no better place to surf than this beach, with 8 to 12 foot ..."
Pokai Bay Beach Park
"Great Place to swim, learn to paddle boarding with Uncle George (free). Sometimes see the d..."
Hanauma Bay Marine Preserve
"This is a must do on Oahu. Go during the week early or later in the afternoon. Wonderful s..."
Wet'n'wild Hawaii
"Great fun day at the park. Expensive, look for a coupon or deal."
Bishop Museum
"Excellent museum, Very good for families to learn about Hawaii and the Hawaiian Culture"
Doris Duke Foundation For Islamic Art
"In the late 1930s, Doris Duke built her Honolulu home, Shangri La, on five acres overlooking..."
Manoa Falls
Honolulu Museum of Art
"If you visit the Museum of Art make lunch reservations. The menu is varied and the prices ar..."
Makaha Valley Country Club
"One of the most beautiful settings in which to play golf you will ever see. Call for times ..."
Shark's Cove
"Only good for summer snorkeling. Get there early and claim your place. It will get crowded..."
Boyd Irwin Estate Hike
Nearest Airport
32 Miles
Honolulu-50-55 mins.
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Makaha Valley Country Club
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Farrington
Nearest Beach
1.3 Miles
Makaha
Car: necessary

Minutes to Famous Makaha Beach surfing, Snorkeling, scuba diving; Keana Point State Park with whale & dolphin viewing, tide pools, arches, rock formations, caves; Water-slide Park at Kapolei (15 mins); Lagoons at Ko'Olina-Marriott/Disney Hotel(15 mins). Please contact us for additional Hiking or Biking Trails! Also there are good Travel books in the condo for Oahu.

Other Activities: Shopping, Kayaking, Para sailing, Wildlife Viewing, Basketball Court onsite, Tennis Court onsite, Boating, Shelling, fishing, swim with the dolphins. Whale watching, wonderful sunsets every night.

Golf: Makaha Valley Country Club rents clubs, world class course with spectacular views of the ocean.

Makaha Valley Resort closed for renovation.

http://www.gohawaii.com/oahu/experiences/golf/makaha-valley-country-club-oahu

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $115 Per night

Makaha Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
winter/spring
Jan 4 2015 - Jun 15 2015
4 night minimum stay
$115
$695
$2,400
 
 
winter holidays
Dec 19 2015 - Jan 2 2016
7 night minimum stay
$895
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$115
$695
$2,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Non Refundable Cleaning $135.00
Refundable damage deposit $150.00
Tax Rate 14.0%
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Makaha Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 815 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Secure Parking
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Full 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • The bathroom includes vanity and mirror, toilet, tub with glass shower door. Not spacious but adequate.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 1 baby crib
  • * Very comfortable King Bed * 2 Superior Twin Beds that will be comfortable for adults and children * Linens Provided for all beds * Regular towel sets (bath, face, & wash) for all guests. + 6 Beach Towels + 6 dishtowels. All set-up for your home away from home!
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Beach Umbrellas
  • Binoculars
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Gated Community
  • Gazebo ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis Court
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • In Ground Pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • marina
  • museums
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Children will love the pool area, beach, sealife, and the beaches. Ko Olina has 4 wonderful protected swimming lagoons that are great for children and adults. Please respect this rule, only smoke outside, away from windows and doors. 2 Tommy Bahama Beach Chairs, Over-Sized Beach Umbrella, 3 snorkels and masks, Beach Towels, Beach Mats, 2 Boogie Boards. Drying rack for wet swim cloths, Iron, Toaster, Electric Coffee Pot, Large Oval Dining Table-seats 6 or more, Hawaii Travel Books and Maps. 2 flat screen TV's with large collection of DVDs. Blueray DVD Netflix capable. WiFi available for cell phones, etc. Ocean View: Expansive View of the Waianae Coastline looking north and south of the Hawaiian Princess (high rise building on the beach). Mountain View: Partial View of the Waianae Mountains. Occasionally you will see waterfalls after a big rain. Golf Course View. Family Style Grill in the Pool area. Gazebo: With the BBQ and Pool Area. Shared area

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote