House is nice, but owners are difficult
Submitted: February 6, 2013
Stayed: December 2012
The photos of the home are for the most part very true to what is displayed. The only exception is the living room area, it is a bit more worn than the photos show. But overall, the place was nice, clean, comfortable, and we were happy with it. Unfortunately there was an issue with the house the morning of our arrival, so we had to stay in another home for the first night. It was awful. Dealing with the owners while the issue was fixed was an absolute nightmare. Since it was a quick trip (3 nights), the first half of it was a stressful disaster because of them. Once we were finally settled into the house, the remainder of our trip was great. But I would never even consider renting with these owners again.
Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Dear guests, I am sorry we can't please all. As you remember, on the day of your arrival the water heater broke. Alternative house was provided to you. Even though it was 4 bedroom instead of 5, it had a private salt water heated pool and spa, which we made sure to heat up just for you at no charge. The house was professionally cleaned the morning of your arrival, everything worked at the house, and to make sure you were happy we stopped by to greet you with a bottle of champagne. We have been responsive to your every request within minutes. And, once the other home was ready the following morning we let you know about it immediately. You complemented on the house and said it was beautiful and everything you were hoping for and more. We mailed your damage deposit in full within a couple of days of your departure. Now, you are asking for rent refunds, and when we refused, you decided to write this bad review...that is simply not fair.
I hope that whoever is reading this can see that there is always two sides of the story. I is unfortunate that these guests felt stressed during their first day of the visit. But honestly, I could not imagine where they could have gotten a better service than what we provided them with, and we traveled the world renting homes throughout US and Europe.
Helpful votes: 2/2
Did you find this review helpful?