Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

'MEMPHIS BLUES CITY TOWNHOME' 3 STORY 2 BEDROOM, 2.5 BATH

Mark Huber

Advertiser since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Mark Huber

Advertiser since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 11, 2014
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

'MEMPHIS BLUES CITY TOWNHOME' 3 STORY 2 BEDROOM, 2.5 BATH

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Memphis Townhome Rental Photos and Description

Townhome, 2 Bedrooms + Den, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 5-6)

High on the Mississippi River Bluff and within walking distance of all downtown Memphis Tourist Locations. A new construction 2 bedroom townhome with additional comvertible couch in the den that comfortably sleeps 5-6.

Built in 2010 fully furnished with a downtown trendy music flair!

Luxuriously furnished with comfort and entertainment in mind. Park in our exclusive 2 car garage and walk right into the first floor. Our third story patio overlooks the Memphis Bridge and the Mississippi River and it is steps aways from,

Beale Street

National Civil Rights Museum

Peabody Hotel

Sun Studio

Gibson Guitar Factory

Fedex Forum

National Ornamental Museum

Orpheum Theatre

Mud Island River Park

Memphis River Boats

We have a beautiful kitchen with granite counter top, top of the line appliances as well as everything you need to prepare a wonderful meal. Or you can walk to the many area restaurants and bars nearby. If you don't want to walk, there is a nearby trolley stop or a taxi is just a phone call away.

We feature three large flat screen TV's as well as high quality bedding and linens with custom window coverings in the upstairs bedrooms for sleeping in.

Keywords: Memphis, Townhome, Beale Street, Elvis Presley, Blues, Civil Rights, Fedex Forum, Mississippi River, Private, Secure, Quiet, Romantic

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Mark Huber (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 11, 2014

About Mark Huber

We bought this downtown town home as our residence to help us stay close to our downtown business.

We are very familiar with the Memphis area and can help make wonderful memories while you are visiting. Thus we can provide you a comfortable stay with the 'locals' insight to visiting Memphis.

Mark Huber purchased this townhome in 2010

Why Mark Huber chose Memphis

Location, location, location.....Our townhome is one block from the trolley stop and only blocks away from all the Downtown Memphis sights. You can not get any closer to all the sights and yet have the privacy of a private secure home.

What makes this townhome unique

A market store is next door for all your last minute travel needs.

Across the street our the cascading steps to access the beautiful Mississippi river park.

Have a craving for Memphis Soul Food...across the street is Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.6
based on 53 traveler reviews

Write a Review
'Memphis Blues City Townhome' 3 Story 2 Bedroom, 2.5 Bath
average rating of 4.6037736 based on 53 reviews
business
'Memphis Blues City Townhome' 3 Story 2 Bedroom, 2.5 Bath
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361554vb
-9014931355
Memphis Tennessee
1

BAD EXPERIENCE!! HORRIBLE OWNER!!

  • 1 of 5
The announcement makes you think 6 people can sleep comfortably and that is NOT the case. The couch, which converts into a sleeper was hard as a rock. That same couch is the only piece of furniture for 6 people to sit on. There was food in the fridge, trash and a terrible plumbing issue as well. We spent part of the weekend calling and emailing the owner with no response. The dirty water from our shower was up to our ankles within 2 mins. After the trip, we continued to call him. We go no answer until I called from a number with a different area code. He promised to return my call with a resolution. Here we are, 3 weeks later with no call. You would think with the amount he charges per night he would hire a plummer, buy Livingroom furniture with a decent sleeper and make sure its clean. I do not recommend this place to anyone until the issues are fixed.
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry you feel that way.

I make it very clear to all guests that there are two queen beds and a couch that folds out. I am sorry but I know of no couch that is comfortable as a bed and we tell all guests regarding the number of beds both on the website, on the phone, and through email. Thus I am sorry you were disappointed.

Before every guest arrives, an arrival document is sent with all access information to the unit as well as contact information for the property manager. I am sorry in this particular case the property manager was not called. I was personally called and the guest was disappointed in the shower. The property manager checked after departure and the drain was draining and it was slower than normal, but there was nothing we could do about after they had checked out. Thus I apologize and have corrected the issue.

Regarding the remaining food, the property manager checked and only condiments were left, thus I am sorry that was bothersome. We have changed our policies and will no longer leave any previous condiments, thus I appreciate the feedback.

We only charged you for 4 persons, and 6 stayed in the unit, thus we believe we had already given you a good value for your stay and did not feel additional discount was warranted for a slow draining shower reported after check out.

We strive very hard to provide a clean unit that meets the pictures and expectations of the site. The pictures and the site represent the unit very well. For those reading the review, this unit is more appointed and designed for two couples or less even though it will accomodate more.

We appreciate your feedback and again apologize for the disappointment.
business
'Memphis Blues City Townhome' 3 Story 2 Bedroom, 2.5 Bath
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361554vb
-9014931355
Memphis Tennessee
5

TEXAS GIRLS ROAD TRIP

  • 5 of 5
What you see in the pictures is exactly what you get! We found the property to be clean and well-maintained. If you are looking for a downtown, centrally located property, this is the place to be!!! Beale street, Lorraine Motel and Central BBQ (just to name a few top spots) are all within an easy walk. And let's not forget Gus's Famous Fried Chicken, which is less than a block away!!!! The rooftop deck was a bonus for cocktails in the evening!!! I would recommend this property and would definitely stay here again if I returned to Memphis!
Side note: If you have difficulty climbing stairs, this may not be suitable for you as this property has plenty of stairs.
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
'Memphis Blues City Townhome' 3 Story 2 Bedroom, 2.5 Bath
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361554vb
-9014931355
Memphis Tennessee
Waynesville, MO
3

4 Army Buddies Reunite in Memphis for Golf and Entertainment

  • 3 of 5
Me and three Army buddies rented this townhome for three nights in late June to serve as our HQ for the annual reunion/golf trip. I was in charge of lodging this year and after reading the reviews here on VRBO I decided to give this one a try. As advertised and reviewed the place is in a great location! It's just a three block walk (very easy walk) to all the attractions on Beale. A few blocks in the opposite direction you will find the Civil Rights Museum and the favorably reviewed Central BBQ. Central BBQ is awesome and worth a wait in line. So if a downtown central location is what your after and the most important factor to you stop reading now and start the booking process. However, if your planning a trip where couples who can bunk together are not involved and you're not a family unit buyer beware. The ad says the place has beds for 5-6 which may be true if the 5-6 are not full grown adults, but if they are full grown this is a gross overreach. In our situation this place comfortably slept two grown men. There are 2 bedrooms, ea of which are on separate levels, each has 1 small q-bed and its own full bath. The entire unit has hard wood floors. Sounds good right?? It is good until the 4 very full grown guys need to sleep. There just isn't room enough for two grown men in the beds and the wooden floors are obviously not ideal for sleep. Bottom line- the 2 who drew the short straws didn't get much sleep. As reviewed, the place is very sparsely outfitted with furniture. The couch in the living area is quite beat up with its plastic upholstery torn in several places. This couch was so uncomfortable that the unfortuante traveler in our group who drew the couch short straw opted for the hard wood floor! Outside of the couch, there are a couple of very uncomfortable chairs to sit on and thats it. The D-TV only worked in the living area. The simple addition of a couple of sleeper sofas or one more queen bed could help this place realize its full potential as one of the best rentals in downtown Memphis. Beyond the furniture shortages, the rest of the place was acceptable with a large double door fridge, microwave, washer and dryer, and really good central air that kept the place nice and cool. Overall we had a good time enjoying Memphis food, attractions, and golf. If you like golf give Mirimichi GC a try. Next year we're headed to Nashville and we'll be sure to look closely at the sleeping arrangements.
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I am very sorry to hear your disappointment in the sleeping arrangements. For all future travelers, it is two queen beds and futon style couch. I always warn people that have over four people about the couch as our unit is great for couples, but the 5th and 6th person. Our description clear describes two queen beds thus I am very sorry to hear about the disappointment as I would have warned you if I knew it was 4 gentleman who were not intimate.

The decoration is a minimalist contemporary and we installed hardwood/tile for allergen control. The bedding is also outfitted with allergen wrap around the bed and pillows for those sensitive....as this area of the country is difficult for those with allergies.

Regarding the Direct TV - I was unaware and often it is a remote issue....I will call Direct TV today. Future travelers can call the property manager anytime their is an issue as it clear stated in our arrival documents to call us if we can address any situation

Again, I am sorry to hear as we strive to please those who stay and accurately represent our property. Thank you for giving feedback and we will make the corrections.
business
'Memphis Blues City Townhome' 3 Story 2 Bedroom, 2.5 Bath
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361554vb
-9014931355
Memphis Tennessee
Birmingham, Al, USA
5

Lovely stay in Memphis

  • 5 of 5
We had a very nice stay. Condo was nice, location was great - close enough to walk to most places we visited. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit Memphis.
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
'Memphis Blues City Townhome' 3 Story 2 Bedroom, 2.5 Bath
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361554vb
-9014931355
Memphis Tennessee
5

Fantastic Town House

  • 5 of 5
We were 2 couples travelling around the Deep South with a hire car. We stayed here 4 nights and found this house to be beautifully decorated in a very modern, minimalistic style with some very nice, new, high quality fittings. Very comfy mattresses on the beds and good quality bedding and towels.
Ideal rental for 2 couples with a bathroom and bedroom on each floor and plenty of storage, plus washer, dryer, iron and ironing board which we used every day. Plenty of kitchen rolls, toilet rolls, cleaning products etc. left for your use.
I would agree that window blinds would be a good idea especially in the top floor bedroom as the sun shines in from early morning and tends to make the bedroom quite warm.
Did not eat in the property so the amount of dishes etc did not bother us as who wants to cook when you come to a city like Memphis. It was cheaper to go out for breakfast and dinner. Everything was immaculate and very clean. Yes there were a few small scuff marks on the walls but this is bound to happen when guests are carrying heavy suitcases up 4 flights of stairs.
Loved the roof top deck which had nice new comfy cushions which you could sit on and catch the afternoon sun with a nice glass of wine.
The garage was very useful and easy to park in around the back of the property.
Everything is right on the doorstep for lively downtown Memphis and we certainly felt safe in the up and coming area. Had food at the Green Beetle and also at the Blue Monkey which is near the farmers market and would highly recommend both. If you like seafood try the Flying Fish Downtown as the snow crabs legs and oysters are to die for. Had breakfast at the Arcade diner which was good value and huge portions.
I would not hesitate to recommend this property and would definitely go back if we were to return to Memphis.
  • Submitted: May 20, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review
business
'Memphis Blues City Townhome' 3 Story 2 Bedroom, 2.5 Bath
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361554vb
-9014931355
Memphis Tennessee
3

Good place but could use some TLC

  • 3 of 5
This townhouse is centrally located in an area that is really starting to come around with new condos and warehouse lofts being developed within its vicinity. For those interested in civil rights history, you are a block away from where some very historic marches took place in Memphis and a few blocks away from the Lorraine Motel where Martin Luther King was assasinated. Near the Lorraine Motel you will find a cool area with museums, cafe's (non-starbucks thank goodness), and good restaurants. You are also a short walk to the Mississippi river and all of the attractions of downtown. Please know that Memphis is a gritty town with a fair bit of crime mostly due to bad government policies (war on drugs), the ill-effects of mass incarceration, and the legacy of segregation and Jim Crow laws. If you are looking for beauty, tranquility, and peace, this may not be the best place for you. If you are interested in history and want to experience the heartbeat of a gritty historical city on the rebound, you will enjoy it. As for the accomodations in particular, I felt that this place was not quite hitting its potential. When we entered, the place was not very clean. There were scuffs on the walls and some water damage in a couple of areas. The windows are very cheap and the mechanisms to lock them were broken. From a safety perspective this isn't a concern because they are out of reach from street level. The couch on the main floor was ripped and quite uncomfortable. A proper dining table would have been nice. Overall, the owner would benefit by enhancing cleanliness, stocking the kitchen with a few more basics, fixing things that are broken, and simply going a little further to provide guests with the best experience. To be fair, the owner left a note stating that if the suite was not clean to our standards we could call him and he would rectify the problem. We did not call him because I don't like doing work-related things when I'm on vacation so we chose to live with it. I'm confident he would have addressed our concerns if brought to his attention. Don't take this place off your list unless you have very high standards for comfort, quality, and safety. There is a lot of good here but I would recommend the owner address some of the concerns I mentioned in order to take it to the next level.
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Beale Street
Nearest Point of Interest
Fedex Forum
Nearest Point of Interest
Civil Rights Museum
Nearest Point of Interest
Mud Island River Park

The Bluff City is a Unique Tourist Destination. Elvis, Memphis Blues, Civil Rights....Memphis breathes history. Within walking distance is the The National Civil Right Museum and World Famous Memphis Beale Street. Memphis is where some of the world’s most famous music was made, and it’s still home to talented musicians who are a little soul, a little rock ‘n’ roll – and so much more.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $270 Per night

Memphis Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Holiday
Dec 30 2014 - Jan 1 2015
2 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
Memphis in May
May 1 2015 - May 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
$395
$1,800
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$270
$1,550
$4,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Pet Fee $75 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.32%

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Memphis Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
  • 3 stories
Location Type:
  • Monument View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote