Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

WALK TO EVERY WHERE FROM THIS HISTORICAL HOME

Property Manager

Advertiser since: 2012
Speaks: english
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Property Manager
Advertiser since: 2012
Speaks: english
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

WALK TO EVERY WHERE FROM THIS HISTORICAL HOME

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Charlevoix Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Historical home in the center of it all. 3 blocks from the public beach and downtown (across the street from the Charlevoix Library). New listing in 2012. Park your car and walk to the grocery store, resturants, movie theater, beach and more!

The home has master suite with a king size bed and vaulted ceilings, bathroom includes dualing tubs and a standup shower. Second bedroom has a queen size bed. Third bedroom has 2 full sized beds with a small balcony. Full bathroom also downstairs with a walk-in rain shower.

Newly remodeled kitchen opens up to a large deck and yard. Seperate dining room. Washer and dryer also!

If interested please contact us with available dates. Currently renting Saturday - Saturday. 1/2 of payment is due with a signed rental agreement immediatly in order to guarentee the dates, balance is due 30 days prior to arrival. Reservation deposit is non-refudable if cancelled within 30 days of arrival date. Personal damage insurance is required through VRBO and is non-refundable. $125 Cleaning Fee for any stay regardless of length.

Note: this is a 160+year old home with some quirks and many original features. If you love old homes you will appreciate this one but if you are used to something more current, this may not be for you.

Keywords: Cottage, vacation home, downtown, beach, library, ventian festival, newly renovated, retreat, attached garage, yard, 2 stories, crib

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Property Manager
Advertiser since: 2012
Speaks: english

Why The Owner chose Charlevoix

I grew up spending my summers in Charlevoix, its a great family get away with a lot of acitivites.

What makes this cottage unique

Walk into town and enjoy live music at the harbor ampitheater, children love playing in the fountain in town, the newly renovated library has an outdoor area, walk to boat rental facility, skate park, and monthly festivals all make Charlevoix a great place to visit.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

3.6
based on 5 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Walk to Every Where from This Historical Home
average rating of 3.6 based on 5 reviews
business
Walk to Every Where from This Historical Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396289vb
Charlevoix Northern Michigan
Chicago
5

Lovely home for our end-of-summer stay in Charlevoix

  • 5 of 5
Charlevoix is the perfect locale for a low-key summer vacation with kids. Our boys (8 and 4) loved walking downtown to the toy store, playing with new friends during a summer concert at East Park, and spending hours at the beach finding Petosky stones. On rainy days, the kids' area in Chalrevoix's world class library is a quick dash across the street. It's wonderful to have all the vacation amenities--a grocery store, bookstore, beach, and a fudge shop--within easy walking distance. This house was perfect for all of us. Great location--right across from the library. Lots of historic character (wide wood floors, steep 1850 stairs, interesting little nooks) for my history-minded husband. I loved the rainfall shower for washing off after the beach and the upstairs tub for a long soak with a good book. The kitchen looked like an Ikea catalog page--compact, but perfect for cooking, baking, and eating in the little breakfast nook. We made all our own meals, except for Cousin Jenny's pasties in Traverse City--the one time we used the car! There are puzzles and games for the kids--we spent a rainy morning working on one at the big dining room table--and the kids' room was perfect. There is some outdoor space for running around as well as a deck/table for dinner or a relaxing cup of coffee or glass of wine on a summer evening.

Only recommended additions would be wi-fi and some window air conditioners for the first floor. (There is A/C for the upstairs bedrooms.) We were there the last week of August so it was naturally cool, day and night. Also: for those with little ones not in a crib but likely to wander at night, the stairs are vintage steep! The owners did provide a baby gate, though, which may help nervous parents of toddlers.

Overall: Lovely historic home with great character and some new additions, lots of space, great kid/adult amenities, and excellent location. We'll definitely be back!
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. I will look into your suggestions as well. We'll continue to improve. Hope to have you back again!
business
Walk to Every Where from This Historical Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396289vb
Charlevoix Northern Michigan
-
4

Location, Location, Location

  • 4 of 5
You will love Charlevoix! It is a charming town and there is not a better location to call home while you are visiting. We didn't need to drive anywhere. Lake Michigan, Round Lake, the food store, the library, the restaurants and shops were all within walking distance. The beds were comfortable and the sheets were great. The owners were very responsive. The house was well set up with many of the incidentals provided - dish soap, toilet paper and laundry detergent.
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review the property. We are glad you enjoyed the house and the convenient location. We'd love to have you back!
business
Walk to Every Where from This Historical Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396289vb
Charlevoix Northern Michigan
MI
4

Unique home in the perfect location!

  • 4 of 5
My Family (2 adults and 2 young kids) stayed here for a week last July, I was very surprised to see the poor review when I came back to see if the house would open again this summer. We loved the fact the house is historical and wasn't a "cookie cutter" home. We aren't buying the house so why not enjoy something different for a week than where we live the rest of the year? The house was very clean and has many modern features.

The location was perfect. The library is better than any big town we have been to. We parked our car on Saturday and need it again until we left. Walking to the grocery store, farmers market, movie theater, beach, lunch, shopping was just the lazy town vacation we love.

We can't wait to come back again this August! (And so glad you have decided to provide linens this year!)
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review! We are so glad you decided to rent with us again this summer.
business
Walk to Every Where from This Historical Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396289vb
Charlevoix Northern Michigan
West Bloomfield
4

We had a great time in a great house!!!!

  • 4 of 5
We stayed there for a a long weekend. It is an old house with a lot of charm and great renovated. We enjoyed every minute. The 3 bedrooms had plenty of space. We stayed there with three families and didn't feel that we would need more room.
The house is very bright with a lot of huge windows. The stairs are old and you have to be careful but it is an old house and there is a stair guard for kids.
It was very clean and had clean sheets and comfortable beds. The tubs are fun and the kids enjoyed it to sit next to each other. The house has two modern showers. The washer and dryer were perfect after a snowy day.
If you have questions the owners are very helpful and answered our questions right away.
The house is in between several ski resorts. Boyne Montain, Nub's Nob and Boyne Highlands are only 30 minutes away. Petoskey has a Winterpark where you can go sledding, skating and skiing for free.
We had an awesome time there and we are coming back for sure.
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you! Glad you enjoyed your stay. Remember us on your next trip up-north.
business
Walk to Every Where from This Historical Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396289vb
Charlevoix Northern Michigan
United States
1

Not for me!

  • 1 of 5
The house had a bad odor (neighbor told us house had been empty for years). Sofas are old and dirty (some cat has regularly used as a scratcher). Bed was a King Koil ($99 for a twin) so you can just imagine. Mattress covers and coverlets were stained and dirty. Steps to upstairs are very steep and shallow. Since only a king bath up, elders should be warned that trip down at night is treacherous. Unlike the pictures, upstairs is dark and dingy; dueling tubs are a joke. We called to complain immediately after getting there. Owner called me a terrible name and charged me a small fortune for staying one night. Did not want to stay even one night but could not find anyplace else on a Saturday night.
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately VRBO does nothing to protect the homeowners from tenants who wish to scam. This family arrived prior to the check in time while the cleaning company was just getting started (last family had been there for 3 weeks) and immediately started demanding things. We did everything to accommodate them including breaking our contract and promptly sending them their money back. We did charge them $500 for the night to cover the cleaning cost for the mess that they purposely left as well as to recover some of the income that we lost for the week during peak season. There was no name calling, it was a very long and drawn out process which we were as accommodating as possible given the circumstances. The pictures speak for themselves, they were taken by us the homeowners not a by a photographer. The review is correct there are steep stairs in the house as shown in the picture but there is a full bathroom on both levels of the house, so unless you need to take a bath in the middle of the night there shouldn’t be an issue. As for the rest of the complaints, there is nothing that would have made these people happy they were looking for problems so they could get out of the contract. We have owned the home for the past 7 years and there has been plenty of activity at the house. It is a great historical home in a perfect location in town and therefore don’t feel we deserve the black-eye.

Map

Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Many in town
Nearest Ferry
0.12 Miles
Beaver Island Ferry
Nearest Golf
12 Miles
Dumaglas
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
31
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Many in town
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Boyne Mountain
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Ferry Beach
Car: not necessary

The house is directly across the street from the beautiful city Library. Perfect location, centered 3 blocks from the beach and 3 blocks from town. Can park your car and walk all week.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $1,400 Per week

Charlevoix Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer Peak Rate
May 30 2015 - Sep 6 2015
7 night minimum stay
$1,400
 
 
4th of July week
Jul 4 2015 - Jul 10 2015
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
Flat fee
 
 
Venetian Festival
Jul 18 2015 - Jul 24 2015
7 night minimum stay
$1,600
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Property Damage Protection $69
Tax Rate 6.0%
Notes No pets or smoking, if found the owners will terminate the agreement in which all monies paid will be forfeited. Cancellations less than 30 days prior to arrival will lose 50% deposit.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Charlevoix Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Upstairs Master Bathroom - tub , shower , Dualing bathtubs and stall shower
    Downstairs Full Bathroom - toilet , shower , outdoor shower , Walk in rain shower, outdoor shower off of kitchen deck
    Downstairs Bathroom - toilet , shower , outdoor shower , Walk in rain shower, outdoor shower off of kitchen deck
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , 1 baby crib , California King bed with attached mater bathroom
    Front Bedroom - 1 queen
    Great Kids Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 double , Door to upstairs balcony in this room
  • Crib is available in the Master.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Outdoor Shower, Dual bathubs in master bathroom, walk in shower on first floor

Other Vacation Properties

$1,000 - $1,500 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$850 - $1,495 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$1,500 - $3,000 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote