WALK TO EVERY WHERE FROM THIS HISTORICAL HOME

Property Manager

Speaks english
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

This manager accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn more

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

WALK TO EVERY WHERE FROM THIS HISTORICAL HOME

Charlevoix Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Historical home in the center of it all. 3 blocks from the public beach and downtown (across the street from the Charlevoix Library). New listing in 2012. Park your car and walk to the grocery store, resturants, movie theater, beach and more!

The home has master suite with a king size bed and vaulted ceilings, bathroom includes dualing tubs and a standup shower. Second bedroom has a queen size bed. Third bedroom has 2 full sized beds with a small balcony. Full bathroom also downstairs with a walk-in rain shower.

Newly remodeled kitchen opens up to a large deck and yard. Seperate dining room. Washer and dryer also!

If interested please contact us with available dates. Currently renting Saturday - Saturday. 1/2 of payment is due with a signed rental agreement immediatly in order to guarentee the dates, balance is due 30 days prior to arrival. Reservation deposit is non-refudable if cancelled within 30 days of arrival date. Personal damage insurance is required through VRBO and is non-refundable. $125 Cleaning Fee for any stay regardless of length.

Note: this is a 160+year old home with some quirks and many original features. If you love old homes you will appreciate this one but if you are used to something more current, this may not be for you.

Keywords: Cottage, vacation home, downtown, beach, library, ventian festival, newly renovated, retreat, attached garage, yard, 2 stories, crib

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • non smoking only
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets not allowed
This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Speaks english

I grew up spending my summers in Charlevoix, its a great family get away with a lot of acitivites.

Walk into town and enjoy live music at the harbor ampitheater, children love playing in the fountain in town, the newly renovated library has an outdoor area, walk to boat rental facility, skate park, and monthly festivals all make Charlevoix a great place to visit.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

This manager accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn more

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

3.2
based on 4 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Walk to Every Where from This Historical Home
average rating of 3.25 based on 4 reviews
business
Walk to Every Where from This Historical Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396289vb
Charlevoix Northern Michigan
-
4

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION

  • 4 of 5
You will love Charlevoix! It is a charming town and there is not a better location to call home while you are visiting. We didn't need to drive anywhere. Lake Michigan, Round Lake, the food store, the library, the restaurants and shops were all within walking distance. The beds were comfortable and the sheets were great. The owners were very responsive. The house was well set up with many of the incidentals provided - dish soap, toilet paper and laundry detergent.
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Walk to Every Where from This Historical Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396289vb
Charlevoix Northern Michigan
MI
4

UNIQUE HOME IN THE PERFECT LOCATION!

  • 4 of 5
My Family (2 adults and 2 young kids) stayed here for a week last July, I was very surprised to see the poor review when I came back to see if the house would open again this summer. We loved the fact the house is historical and wasn't a "cookie cutter" home. We aren't buying the house so why not enjoy something different for a week than where we live the rest of the year? The house was very clean and has many modern features.

The location was perfect. The library is better than any big town we have been to. We parked our car on Saturday and need it again until we left. Walking to the grocery store, farmers market, movie theater, beach, lunch, shopping was just the lazy town vacation we love.

We can't wait to come back again this August! (And so glad you have decided to provide linens this year!)
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review! We are so glad you decided to rent with us again this summer.
business
Walk to Every Where from This Historical Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396289vb
Charlevoix Northern Michigan
West Bloomfield
4

WE HAD A GREAT TIME IN A GREAT HOUSE!!!!

  • 4 of 5
We stayed there for a a long weekend. It is an old house with a lot of charm and great renovated. We enjoyed every minute. The 3 bedrooms had plenty of space. We stayed there with three families and didn't feel that we would need more room.
The house is very bright with a lot of huge windows. The stairs are old and you have to be careful but it is an old house and there is a stair guard for kids.
It was very clean and had clean sheets and comfortable beds. The tubs are fun and the kids enjoyed it to sit next to each other. The house has two modern showers. The washer and dryer were perfect after a snowy day.
If you have questions the owners are very helpful and answered our questions right away.
The house is in between several ski resorts. Boyne Montain, Nub's Nob and Boyne Highlands are only 30 minutes away. Petoskey has a Winterpark where you can go sledding, skating and skiing for free.
We had an awesome time there and we are coming back for sure.
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you! Glad you enjoyed your stay. Remember us on your next trip up-north.
business
Walk to Every Where from This Historical Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396289vb
Charlevoix Northern Michigan
United States
1

NOT FOR ME!

  • 1 of 5
The house had a bad odor (neighbor told us house had been empty for years). Sofas are old and dirty (some cat has regularly used as a scratcher). Bed was a King Koil ($99 for a twin) so you can just imagine. Mattress covers and coverlets were stained and dirty. Steps to upstairs are very steep and shallow. Since only a king bath up, elders should be warned that trip down at night is treacherous. Unlike the pictures, upstairs is dark and dingy; dueling tubs are a joke. We called to complain immediately after getting there. Owner called me a terrible name and charged me a small fortune for staying one night. Did not want to stay even one night but could not find anyplace else on a Saturday night.
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately VRBO does nothing to protect the homeowners from tenants who wish to scam. This family arrived prior to the check in time while the cleaning company was just getting started (last family had been there for 3 weeks) and immediately started demanding things. We did everything to accommodate them including breaking our contract and promptly sending them their money back. We did charge them $500 for the night to cover the cleaning cost for the mess that they purposely left as well as to recover some of the income that we lost for the week during peak season. There was no name calling, it was a very long and drawn out process which we were as accommodating as possible given the circumstances. The pictures speak for themselves, they were taken by us the homeowners not a by a photographer. The review is correct there are steep stairs in the house as shown in the picture but there is a full bathroom on both levels of the house, so unless you need to take a bath in the middle of the night there shouldn’t be an issue. As for the rest of the complaints, there is nothing that would have made these people happy they were looking for problems so they could get out of the contract. We have owned the home for the past 7 years and there has been plenty of activity at the house. It is a great historical home in a perfect location in town and therefore don’t feel we deserve the black-eye.
Email Manager Email

Map

Nearest Ferry
0.12 Miles
Beaver Island Ferry
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
31
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Ferry Beach
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Many in town
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Boyne Mountain
Nearest Golf
12 Miles
Dumaglas
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Many in town
Car: not necessary

The house is directly across the street from the beautiful city Library. Perfect location, centered 3 blocks from the beach and 3 blocks from town. Can park your car and walk all week.

Email Manager Email

Photos

Email Manager Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Charlevoix Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
4th of July
Jun 28 2014 - Jul 5 2014
7 night minimum stay
$1,450
 
 
Venetian Festival
Jul 19 2014 - Jul 26 2014
7 night minimum stay
$1,550
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,350
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $69.00
Cleaning Fee $125.00
Notes No pets or smoking, if found the owners will terminate the agreement in which all monies paid will be forfeited.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Email Manager Email

Amenities

Charlevoix Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
General:
  • Living Room ...
  • Garage ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Stove
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Upstairs Master Bathroom - tub , shower , Dualing bathtubs and stall shower
    Downstairs Full Bathroom - toilet , shower , outdoor shower , Walk in rain shower, outdoor shower off of kitchen deck
    Downstairs Bathroom - toilet , shower , outdoor shower , Walk in rain shower, outdoor shower off of kitchen deck
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , 1 baby crib , California King bed with attached mater bathroom
    Front Bedroom - 1 queen
    Great Kids Bedroom - 1 double , 1 queen , Door to upstairs balcony in this room
  • Crib is available in the Master.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • DVD Player
  • Toys ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Balcony ...
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • non smoking only ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
Leisure Activities:
  • wildlife viewing
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • miniature golf
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • antiquing
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • ATM/bank
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • ice skating
  • basketball court
  • sound/bay fishing
  • water tubing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • cross country skiing
  • kayaking
  • skiing
  • golf
  • water skiing
  • mountain biking
  • hunting
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
Notes:
Outdoor Shower, Dual bathubs in master bathroom, walk in shower on first floor
Email Manager Email

Other Vacation Properties

$1,500 - $3,000 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$1,085 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6