Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

SUMMER LAKE CABIN ON SPLENDID, PRIVATE GULL LAKE LOT

Mr. Rod Amlie

Advertiser since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Mr. Rod Amlie

Advertiser since: 2011
Speaks: english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SUMMER LAKE CABIN ON SPLENDID, PRIVATE GULL LAKE LOT

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay nights

Overview

Gull Lake Cabin Rental Photos and Description

5 bedrooms, 1 full bath, 2 half/baths, sleeps 11

This Cabin property fronts on the nicest part of well-known Gull Lake. Great swimming beach, good fishing right from the dock or only seconds by boat to abundant lake fishing, boat hoist with sufficient depth for most boats. One story, large summer cabin with an adjacent guest dwelling. Updated cabin has a great perspective overlooking the lake among attractive deciduous and majestic pine trees.. Eagles, pilleated woodpeckers, hummingbirds, and many other varieties are consistently on the premises. Neighbors of long-standing border each side of the property in the protected residential community of Lake Shore, and the 250' wide lot ensures a lot of privacy both as to residence as well as to the beach. Property access and appearance updated in the Spring of 2011. New kitchen installed in the fall of 2011. New casement bedroom windows installed in the fall of 2012 as well as new living room furniture and redecoration. Enhanced electrical system installed in the 2013-2014 off-season. Reconstructed large lake-side screened-in porch fall of 2014.

Stair-case down to beach: The cabin sits about 50 comfortable stair steps with hand-rails on both sides above the beach. This results in abundant cool summer breezes through-out the French Door laden cottage. Large screened-in porch on lake front provides ideal social and eating area; but in the event of adverse weather, there is also a good sized dining area on the back side.

Kitchen : Kitchen is small but efficient, and fully-equipped. Also connected to dining room on back side of cabin by serving window. Bring teenager or willing spouse to do dishes the old-fashioned way!

Bed Rooms: We try to furnish everything you need in the way of bedding and linens. Some people like to bring their own large-size beach towels. In all, there are 5 bedrooms with 3 double beds and 6 single beds Fire place in living room is very functional; there are also two out-side fire pits, one on the beach.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
Mr. Rod Amlie (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

Why HomeAway

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4
based on 9 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Summer Lake Cabin on Splendid, Private Gull Lake Lot
average rating of 4.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Summer Lake Cabin on Splendid, Private Gull Lake Lot
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396168
+1 -5153321083
Gull Lake Minnesota
5

As Advertised!!!

  • 5 of 5
My two teens, their two friends and I had the time of our lives at this cabin. The cabin was exactly as the owner advertised. The cabin is a family cottage out of a Norman Rockwell painting...if you just look below the surface, you will see amazing history, beauty in the aged architecture, and flat out awesome times. By the end of the week, all 5 of us had worked into a stress free routine and hated that it was time to go home.

This is not a pristine property with Ethan Allen decor, but then that isn't what I was looking for. I was looking for an old fashion cabin where people have come and enjoyed simple ways, and that is exactly what we found. No, you don't want to eat off the floor but the spacious and aged dining room was fabulous and we enjoyed several family meals there. When we didn't eat in the dining room, we were around the fire roasting hot dogs and making s'mores on slightly off kilter lawn chairs...and loved every minute of it. I could have called the owner and received new lawn chairs (he was very generous and clear that all we needed to do was call). This owner did not over sell the property, he represents it as it is. It is simple and rustic and wonderful.

If I had any complaint, it would be disrespectful boaters on Gull Lake...not much the owner can do about that.

My kids have made it clear they want a return trip. I believe we have established a new family tradition on Gull Lake at one of the last old time cabins around the shore.

My daughter's comments: The cabin was amazing! I had no complaints whatsoever. I had the best time! The yard was beautiful and the beach is indescribable! I can't wait to come back! In response to previous reviews, although we didn't use the extra cabin the owner did tell us that there was only cold water in that cabin, so we didn't expect for to have hot water...and we were right. :) Thank you, Owner! I can't wait to come back!
  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Summer Lake Cabin on Splendid, Private Gull Lake Lot
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396168
+1 -5153321083
Gull Lake Minnesota
1

Really wanted 2 like it..but..needs major overhaul

  • 1 of 5
I really wanted to like this place. I really, really did. I don't mind rustic. This went a little beyond rustic. I had to clean the bathroom. The "5th" bedroom in a separate small cabin was dirty and only had cold water. The sink in the kitchen leaked, there were only 2 coffee mugs, boxes from the cleaning had been left behind. In our bedroom was a 1970s calendar - not for charm sake - I think it had been left there. There are foundational issues. Chairs for outdoor use were broken. There is so much junk on the shore line - again, I think just left there. So disappointed. We made it work and it will go down as a memory. The lake is beautiful, the loons - unforgettable. We made the best of it and decided to have fun and be glad to be together - because in the end that's what holidays are about. I wouldn't be surprised if the owner will get on and have some reason for why this review is overstated and unfair. Disappointing. If you like camping - a tent would be cleaner. Again - I wanted to like this place. I believe that it is a family heirloom that could be so charming. I would definitely not recommend!
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Annually, there seems to be a party who wants a $4,000. per week place for $1,400. Most of her complaints could have been readily resolved with One telephone call or E mail, which never was made. Like the lack of coffee "Mugs", there were still 10 coffee cups including the two "mugs" in the cupboard. So I have added a couple more. The "offensive" calendar is a 1979 leather relic retained because of the very unique caricature of a cowboy roping a calf in a feedlot, one of my late father's favorites. It is even remotely located in his former bedroom. There were broken outside beach chairs at the end of the week (not the beginning). Was this due to Ma & Pa or to the 4 student members that came along? And the whole place was left in total dishevelment as we found it and hastened our cleaning crew to get ready for the next party. Because of lack of notification while there, it did take another week for the next party before we were able to make the plumbing repair. Communication needs to be a two-way proposition.
business
Summer Lake Cabin on Splendid, Private Gull Lake Lot
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396168
+1 -5153321083
Gull Lake Minnesota
null
5

Large Family

  • 5 of 5
This home was perfect for us. We found the home rustic and charming. Yes there are things that are older but all functional! The beach was perfect for kids never had trouble like the other review. We spent most of our time outside on the beach or boat. Rod was very helpful and friendly. If you bring dogs be careful letting them out at night a skunk got ours and we ha an electric fence on him with a short distance. I felt like this was home for 11 days. I put a little elbow grease in and cleaned the bunk house opened the windows and shined the hardwood floors and it looked amazing and I didn't want to leave!
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Summer Lake Cabin on Splendid, Private Gull Lake Lot
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396168
+1 -5153321083
Gull Lake Minnesota
5

Great lake, nice property, helpful owners

  • 5 of 5
This was my second year staying here. The owner has put in some nice updates since my prior visit: updated kitchen, some of the windows were replaced, and a privacy fence was put in (not that it was needed -- the lot is quite large). There was some new furniture that we liked as well. We had 8 family members (10 including our pups) with us and we fit comfortably. It's not a 5-star hotel or anything but it was clean, large, had great fishing and had lots of open area for the kids to play. Owner was there within hours when we called to say that we needed more wood. It was really quite a perfect fit for us being that it's big enough and pet-friendly. We all had a great time hanging out at the nice beach during the day and then sitting around a bonfire at night. We'll be back next year.
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Summer Lake Cabin on Splendid, Private Gull Lake Lot
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396168
+1 -5153321083
Gull Lake Minnesota
1

Rustic - Yes, Charming - NO

  • 1 of 5
Rustic but not charming. We were disappointed with the lack of cleanliness and the disrepair. We rented for a week (Saturday to Saturday) but only stayed till Tuesday. There were lots of cobwebs and everything had a musty smell particularly the upholstered furniture and blankets. The bunkhouse due to intense musty smell is not recommended for sleeping. This reduces the sleep numbers to 8. Ad states 2 showers but the one in the bunkhouse only had cold water. The 250 ft lot only has about 20 feet that is sandy, the rest is undeveloped and not useable. The swimming beach was rocky and weedy. There was supposed to be a raft which turned out to be an old sailboat. Stairs leading to lake were quite rickety and one of our family members was standing on the dock and fell through. Foot protection also needed because of zebra mussels. We will not recommend to others.
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This one-sided contrived review is not consistent with others submitted. The complaining Visitor does not provide how she engaged our property. She amended a 1st application by stating there would be 4 adults and 3 children coming. But, the first evening there were 5 or 6 autos and up to 14 guests as she later admitted, plus 2 yapping dogs that were not in accord with the well behaved requirement. Further, she and her husband inspected the property one week prior to her rental period, had access to anything they wanted to look at, and left without making any adversarial comment. The following Saturday, as family members arrived, I again escorted family members thru the property and oriented them for the essentials of their stay; again, no negative indications. They gave me a personal check, later dishonored, for the 2nd half payment, a violation of our contractural agreement requiring that part to be paid IN CASH. The evening of their 3rd day, a family member called me to say that a dock board had broken,no injury, but needed to be replaced. My son and I did this the next morning also replaced a couple others as normal dock maintenance. So on the 4th day, at Visitor’s request, I met with 4 of them, and for the first time was informed that they had a list of complaints. Some of those could have been settled by discussion, others by some attention, but this was not requested. They demanded full reimbursement, which was not a reasonable request in the 4th day, also considering they 1.Vastly understated the number of guests 2. Gave prior acquiescence to the condition of the property 3.Violated the contract terms to pay in cash, and 4. Failed to communicate as to needed corrections. Every aspect of living in our cabin is diminished when the number of Visitors particularly adults is excessive. All that foot traffic in and about mandates lots of daily housekeeping and domestic work that some Visitors dislike doing. Too many guests creates tension and unhappiness. They made the choice to ignore our approval based on 4 adults and 3 children. Full documentation for the original e mail documents between the Renter and myself are being forwarded to HomeAway.com. Any rental needs to be evaluated in terms of what it is and what it costs. Be candid with the Owner
business
Summer Lake Cabin on Splendid, Private Gull Lake Lot
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396168
+1 -5153321083
Gull Lake Minnesota
4

Excellent Rustic Experience!

  • 4 of 5
The lake home is perfect for people for want to experience the rustic vacation. The lake is perfect for swimming and fishing. Everything was great! I loved being there and enjoying the water. Rod and family were so helpful. When we were there, it was really hot and the fan was not working. We called Rod and fan was brought it right away. It is hard to find service like this. We felt like we were at our own family's cabin. Thank you Rod and family for making out experience great!
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love to have the family-type visitors who tell us what they need, and who offer constructive ideas and criticism as to how we can make their stays more enjoyable. It helps that our place is family-owned and managed from just a few short minutes away, to better service the needs of our guests. We try to be honest with potential renters and other guests as to what the place is, and to discourage those who have overly-numerous groups or those whose tastes would be better served by resorts and hotels offering daily housekeeping and other services.

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Gull Lake
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Bar Harbor
Nearest Ferry
2 Miles
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
The Legacy, Maddens, Craguns and Grandview Lodge
Nearest Train
30 Miles
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Bar Harbor
Nearest Ski
2 Miles
Nearest Beach
20 Metres
On Property
Car: recommended

This location is in the heart of Minnesota's prime lake recreation area, The Brainerd Lakes. This is a 250' frontage property on the main shore of Gull Lake, which is renowned for its size, depth, and water quality. While the property has a weed-free, sand beach with gradual depth out into the water, it is also well-located for access to fine restaurants, watering holes, golf courses, trails, as well as shopping activities and entertainment for the entire group. The lake property is on an improved road only 5 miles off from divided highways connecting to all major metro areas in the Midwest such as Twin Cities, Madison-Milwaukee, Des Moines & Omaha, Chicago and St. Louis, Fargo and SiouxFalls.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Gull Lake Cabin Rental Rates

Notes

  • See schedule below
  • for 2014; Weekly rates prior to June 14 -$1,200.; Rates through Sept. 3, $1,480. balance of Sept./Oct. $1,200 per week. All closed down by Oct. 12. For multiple weeks, deduct 15% from additional time in excess of first week.
  • Weekly rates range from $1,200. to $1,480 per week depending on time of year. Property is suitable for habitation only in the late spring to the early autumn.
Available
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Book It Now or updated calendars.

Amenities

Gull Lake Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1750 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Television
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch Furniture
  • Raft
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Yard
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting small game
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote