Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Fern Creek Cabins @ New River Gorge White Water Hiking Hot Tub

Tom & Janet Atack

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps7
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Tom & Janet Atack

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 20, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Fern Creek Cabins @ New River Gorge White Water Hiking Hot Tub

Sleeps7
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Fayetteville Cabin Rental Photos and Description

One-Room Cabin with kitchen, living and sleeping areas. 1 full bath/shower stall

Conveniently located near popular area attractions and outdoor activities, Fern Creek Cabins offer year round, affordable vacation lodging in the beautiful mountains of southern West Virginia. Our cabins sit on 40 private acres of pristine hemlock forrest near the north rim of the New River Gorge National River..

For those who just want to relax, Fern Creek Cabins offers plenty of space to roam about the property. Our cabins have comfortable porches equipped with grills and hot tubs, outdoor fire pits, and lots of beautiful yard space for throwing horseshoes or playing softball.

We welcome well behaved pet.

We ask our guests to not smoke in our cabins.

While our 2 cabin's share the peaceful seclusion of the Appalachians, it is but a few short miles over New River Gorge Bridge to downtown Fayetteville, named 'Coolest Small Town in America.' Come visit, and take a walk around. You’ll find a vibrant shopping district and fantastic restaurants, windows to browse with lots to buy, and a lovely town park.

'Endless Wall Trail' lies a mile around the corner which tours one of the wonders of the New River Gorge -- the unbroken cliffline known as the Endless Wall, which follows the rim of the gorge and offers access to dozens of bolted climbing routes. Breathtaking panoramas await hikers as the trail leads along the top of the cliffs through gnarled pines, mossy boulders, and rhododendron thickets.

Keywords: Cabin, Cottage, Get a way, Secluded, 1 Room

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Tom & Janet Atack (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 20, 2015

Guestbook comments from the owner

I've stayed twice now at the Fern Creek property. This second time I rented the larger cabin and found it to be comfortable, spacious, inviting and well-appointed--just like the smaller cabin beside it. Our family gathers each year in this little corner of paradise to reminisce about our WV childhood and explore the region. Fern Creek is ideally located for our needs. We golfed, hiked, shopped, swam, and visited other relatives--all without having to drive more than a few miles. The best part of this rental is that, though it's very handy for enjoying the outdoors activities around it, the meadow itself is so quiet and remote that you'd think you were the only folks in the whole county! The smell of the wild roses, the dark red interior of the living room, the song of the mocking bird, the occasional sighting of a jake turkey or a yearling fawn, the blanket of stars overhead at night, the distant echo of the train down in the gorge, the peeping of the tree frogs down by the pond, the porch swing, the screen doors... All these little details remind me of my Grandmother's home, her simple lifestyle. Even if you come to Fayette County to raft or rock climb, you will appreciate the luxury of the stress-free, non-technical, slower pace of living at Fern Creek. Rating: 5 out of 5



Recommended for: Age 55+ , Pet-friendly , Adventure Seekers , Sightseeing , Families with Young Children , Romantic Getaway
May 2012
  • 1 of 3

Why HomeAway

Sleeps7
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.3
based on 19 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Fern Creek Cabins @ New River Gorge White Water Hiking Hot Tub
average rating of 4.3157897 based on 22 reviews
Salt Rock , WV, United States
1

Disappointed, to say the least

  • 1 of 5

To say I was disappointed with the state of the cabin would be putting it mildly. The weather when we arrived was very cool and rainy, so we were forced to stay in the cabin the majority of the day. Upon entry, I attempted to turn on the lights but nothing happened. I tried the second switch and a dim glow appeared. After trying every switch in the cabin, we came to realize that almost every light throughout the cabin was blown. One light bulb in the fixture in the living area was burning, so once night fell, the lighting in the home was no brighter than what a flashlight would have provided. The light bulb in the bathroom was blown and there were no bulbs to replace it. There was one lamp in the cabin and we had to remove the bulb from it when we needed to use the bathroom, wait about 10 mins for it to cool, and then put the bulb back into the lamp so we could take it to whatever area of the cabin we needed light in. This proved to be very frustrating during our 2 day stay…The cabin was also in need of a good cleaning. I could tell previous vacationers had brought along their dogs, because the smell was evident. The carpeting was so dirty that we were forced to wear shoes; otherwise our socks would have been ruined. The towels provided smelled soured, so we had to dry off on spare clothing we had brought along. I discovered two half smoked joints and rolling papers in the top dresser drawer, and also a fuzzy heart shaped paddle behind the bed. I realize everyone is free to do what they please while on vacation; but please make sure the remnants of their good time are discarded by the time my family and I arrive. I have two young daughters and explaining our finds to them was quite unpleasant…The location of the cabin is very good. I will give it that, and the hot tub was our weekend’s saving grace. It was clean and in good working condition. The cabin could be very nice if proper care was being taken. I don’t think any good or semi-adequate housekeeper would have thought that cabin was in an acceptable condition. I felt bad for the owners and contacted them to tell them of the conditions. I thought perhaps I might be compensated for our stay, or at least offered a discounted rate, but I received neither. I thought after telling them of the situation, the person in charge of maintenance on the cabins would have been dispatched to fix the lights and remove the unsavory items, but that did not happen either. Very disappointed all around.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry your vacation was not what you had hoped. We try to provide a clean and comfortable place to stay. I cannot dispute what you have said because I am not there presently and cannot verify the conditions. I can say that Marion our caretaker has been one of the bright spots for our guests in the past going above and beyond her duty to make people feel at home. In her defense her house burned to the ground about six weeks ago and I am sure she has been preoccupied with finding a home for herself and her children. I will personally be going to the cabins in about two weeks to make sure things are up to standards. I definitely need to upgrade the lighting to something that doesn't require frequent bulb changes. Once again I am sorry for your experience and I will strive make sure it doesn't happen again.
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5

This place has is great, extremely clean, awesome value, and just a great experience. The owners are accommodating, and we had such a great time!

  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5

This place is basically as advertised. Great location less than 15 minutes from downtown Fayetteville and all sorts of hiking and biking trails. My only gripe is the bathroom light fixture did not work but the owners probably didn't even know this. I put a new light bulb in and still no luck. It doesn't have cable or satellite which was tough to stomach being there on an early fall weekend but I knew this going in. Hot tub is great, grill is great, beds are comfortable. No complaints but I hope they get the light fixed and get at least the directv basic package (I would gladly pay a little more if they did). Sure, the kitchen could use an upgrade and more cabinets but hey, it's a cabin! I would definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
ohio
5

Great place, had a nice time

  • 5 of 5

Thanks so much for the relaxing weekend. We had a great time relaxing in the quiet. The cabin had everything we needed. We hope to come back.

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
4

Cozy, quiet place

  • 4 of 5

This place is nice and quiet. Location is good, and driveway was not bad getting to. It is very quiet with plenty of room for dogs to play. The cabin itself is cozy and seemed to have everything we needed. The only reason we give 4 stars instead of 5 is because there were plenty of cobwebs in and around the windows and ceilings that could have easily been cleaned up. There were some bees on the back porch but plenty of spray was provided if needed. But it is the woods, you expect some bugs! The hot-tub was the great. So comfortable, was clean, and worked great. Very private at this cabin. The grill was also very nice and worked great. Porches were relaxing. Only other thing I'd recommend is screening one of them in, perhaps the back porch, that would have been very nice. Overall, very comfortable, relaxing place for me, my wife, newborn, and two small dogs. It is a very nice location and would recommend some of the hikes!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Where do you live?
5

Beautiful cabin in awesome location!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was beautiful, the hot tub relaxing, and the location incredible. I came down in a group of 6 to rock climb in the New River Gorge. The cabin was less than 5 miles from some of the best/most classic climbs in the New. The kitchen was sufficiently stocked with pots/pans/utensils to cook/serve 6 hungry climbers every night. The hot tub was perfect for relaxing after a hard day of climbing and great memories were made around the fire-pit! I would definitely recommend the cabin to anyone looking for a place to stay in the New River Gorge!

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Endless Wall Trail

Super Walmart and Lowes located 6 miles from cabin.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $150 Per night

Fayetteville Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Off-Season
Nov 1 2014 - May 22 2015
2 night minimum stay
$135
$875
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
$980
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 12.0%
Notes Our rates are the same 7 days a week!
Check-in is 4pm. Check-Out is 11am.
Cabins are smoke free.
Detailed directions and lock box code are sent in email after payment is received.

Cancellation Policy:
30 days - 100% refund
2 weeks - 75% refund
1 week - 50% refund
under 7 days - NO refund
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Fayetteville Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 bath with shower stall
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom Area - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , 1 bunk bed , 1 rollaway twin bed available
  • Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
Pet Friendly. Room for tent camping. Outdoor fire pit.

Other Vacation Properties

$661 per week
2 night min stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 5
$511 per week
2 night min stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$1,194 per week
2 night min stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 14

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote