Ok if using as a base camp
Submitted: April 3, 2013
Stayed: March 2013
We spent 4 days at this Villa and were not overly impressed but take into consideration that we stayed at the Ocean Villa's prior to this and there is no comparison. Kind of like going from the Ritz to a Holiday Inn. Here are the pros and cons:
2 bathrooms/2 bedrooms was great
Good location for seeing the Northeast coast of PR
No view or use of balcony because there is a hot air return on the balcony that blows out hot air and is loud
Tiny ants all over kitchen and in main bathroom - we kept most of our food in the refrigerator to avoid ants in our food. I did contact the owner because I couldn't find the hairdryer and got a quick response but when I contacted him about the ants I didn't get a response. Way too far from pool to get to without car(we had a rental), shuttle(free) or golf cart($50/day)
Since we had planned a busy 4 days of site-seeing (rainforest, sailing, old San Juan) we were too unhappy since we were not there most days. It was just a place to sleep, shower and eat. Depends on the kind of vacation you are planning - probably would be great for a guys golf outing.
Owner's Response: Hi Diane,
Thanks for the Pros.
About the Cons., the same way you can't compare apples to oranges, comparing my property to the condo-hotel "Ocean Villa" is not fair for both them and me. My property is a lot less expensive mainly beacause is not beachfront, but it is part of the resort and have a home feeling because I want my guests to feel at home not in a condo-hotel. That is why my wife and I putted our touch to the decor, to the quality of the mattresses (I bet it was more comfortable), to the quality of the bed lining and the kitchen equipments and utenciles, and like our guests friends, we offer the complimentary guest passes for the use of the hotel facilities (without them you only have the option to go to the owners' pool, in your car and bring your own towels, no shuttle) to let you experience the complete resort feeling. Then you have the nice 3 bikes and the brand new Morey-bogeys to surf the waves. Can you soften the Cons.? It sounds like a complaint, it is like my advertisement in HomeAway is not accurate. You know that everything is carefully described in there, also the distance to the beach is accurate in my ad, and, I provided you with pertinent information before your arrival, and, you were staying at the resort and knew that any of the villa style apartments are not beachfront.
Usually when I use the balcony (photos of it are on the ad), I have all the doors and windows open and the air conditioner units off to feel the sea breeze.
About the tiny ants, I didn't answer because I was surprise and I didn’t know what to tell you. But understand that we are in the tropics and the villa is at ground level. I asked them (the ants) to behave but apparently they were tempted over their limit. I'm really sorry about their behavior, that really was the first complaint I have ever received about them and I took disciplinary actions already. :)
You know that my place is not any place just for sleep, shower and eat. After the end of a busy schedule during a great vacation day, it is a cozy place to come and enjoy the rest of the evening, like at home. True? Can you fix it, may be a 4 of 5 because the ants?
Helpful votes: 0/1
Did you find this review helpful?