Women's annual weekend
Women's annual weekend
Submitted: May 5, 2013
Stayed: May 2013
We have rented from vrbo in Carmel, Lake Tahoe, Hawaii and Half Moon Bay. This was by far the biggest disappointment. The view and the neighborhood were wonderful....but the home was in need of maintainence and a good cleaning. My experience with other rentals is the owners want you there. Not the case here, discouraged us from renting pool (probably wasn't working), wouldn't allow us to check in before 6 PM (ridiculous in San Francisco traffic) and partial rolls of toilet paper!! We loved our excursions to local restaurants and pubs. The place just needed a good cleaning and a coat of interior paint. Wouldn't recommend it in present condition. The architecture and potential are awesome so hope owner will upgrade and fix things (shades, lights, stairs, bathroom fan, steamer in kitchen etc.) too much wrong especially for the price!!
Owner's Response: Renee I am so sorry to hear this. Other people from your group told me they loved the house and had a great time. I work very hard at trying to make everyone happy and make the house an enjoyable experience for everyone. However, it is obvious that you cant please everyone all the time . You were unhappy and complaining since the day I sent you the contract. Because of this I tried really hard to make the house extra nice for you but still it wasn’t enough.
You claim that I didn’t want you there which is absolutely not true. You said the reason for this is because I advised against paying for the pool and because I have a 6pm check in. I explained to you that it is very cold in San Francisco and in the past most people who rent the pool don’t use it. I tried to help you not waste money by telling you not to pay for it up front and add it later if you want when we know what the weather will be like. You never responded.
I also explained to you that I have check in at 6pm because it takes my cleaning crew every minute from the time guests check out at 11am until 6pm check in to get the house ready. We clean everything from top to bottom. The house is very large and it takes all this time. This is also in the very beginning of our rental agreement. But you have complained and sent me nasty text messages about it. It is not meant to hurt or bother you. It is just the way it is.
I am sorry you thought the house needed cleaning. That day I was there training a new crew. They are a professional house cleaning service and 3 of them plus me worked for 7 hours on the house. I was very picky with them and checked everything they did and the house was very clean. In an attempt to make you happy before you arrived I even bought lots of fresh flowers and decorated the house.
I also explained to you that the bathroom fans all work. They are very nice inline fans which means the motor is in the mechanical room. If you were looking for outdated noisy fans you wont find them here.
I still don’t know what you mean about the lights and shades not working. There are around 100 light bulbs in the house. Every fixture works and has been assigned just a single switch to make it easy for use. Every shade works as well. If you couldnt figure them out I would have been happy to help but didnt hear from you about them until now.
Anyway, sorry your unhappiness. Sure looked and sounded like everyone was having a great time and enjoying
Helpful votes: 1/1
Did you find this review helpful?