Make sure the construction is over and verfy fixes have been made to home
Bottom line: If you're looking for a luxury home to rent in Diamond Head, this is NOT it. House is not worth the cost and be sure the construction is complete if you do stay there. When the construction is going on, it's not worth it at any price. I would not consider renting any homes run by Ohana Beach Rentals Hawaii again. Their on site services were extremely poor and I felt deceived by the way the construction was presented to us.
I realize the pictures make this home look stunning and the location was great. Diamond Head is a perfect place to bring the family. However, a new building is being constructed right in front of this home. See that great picture by the pool? Turn it 180 degrees and you would see a large dirt pile. They were just pouring the foundation when we were there. I would expect them to be there a while. The road leading up to the driveway only accommodates one car at a time. There were a few instances when we had to coordinate with the construction teams on when we could come and go by car. The cement truck was parked in the road most of the morning those days. The workers would also hang out and gawk and my wife and niece sitting by the pool. A really horrible experience.
As for the house itself, I can't minimize how uncomfortable it is. The chairs are rock hard and the couch is this white, dirty cloth mess. The owners are definitely focused on form over function. There is a surround system. Unfortunately the speakers by the TV didn't work and you had to blast the speakers in the kitchen to watch TV. Hopefully no one wants to go to bed early by that bedroom! The dishwasher failed while we were there. The built in coffee machine already didn't work. At least there was a standard counter top one available.
As far as the property management company, they certainly didn't make the experience any better. They had given us a 25% discount for the construction, which we were notified of AFTER we had already purchased the time and bought our flights. Changing things a month before our trip was not possible. 25% was take it or leave it. Our contact would do nothing even though we were clearly unhappy with the construction. When the dishwasher and TV issues appeared, Ohana could not fix it. They attempted to fix but we were stuck with the inconveniences. It seems they did not make sure the place was functioning before we arrived. Only thing offered for the horrible stay, 10% off a future rental.
Owner's Response: On behalf of Ohana Beach Rentals Hawaii, I would like to thank you for your feedback and truly apologize. We understand that holidays and vacations are special and anticipated with excitement, so we understand the disappointment you and your family must have felt with the construction. However, we did disclose the construction was taking place during your visit and we did offer $2000 credit for the inconvenience.
Unfortunately, there is a lot of construction going on all over the island, and schedules and construction times vary and change often. This is something completely out of our control, but something we try our best to take into consideration before renting out a home. Most of our vacation homes are rented out 4 - 6 months in advance, so this construction delay is not something we could have foreseen happening.
Each home is inspected and cleaned thoroughly before a new guest arrives, and again, I do apologize if something wasn’t working properly, or if it took us longer than expected to remedy the issue. We manage over 140 properties on the island and our maintenance staff works very, very hard to keep all our guests happy. In this one instance, we needed a few days to let the glue set on the hanging mirror, again something completely out of our control, but we were on site to assist you in a timely and responsive manner.
We appreciate your information regarding the couch, and rest assured a new one has been ordered. We do our very best to represent the home owners best interests as well as the paying guests of these homes, so when a situation like broken appliances or new furniture arises, this is something that needs to be addressed with the home owner, prior to us making any changes. But we genuinely appreciate the feedback so that we can improve upon our product and service.
Our terms and conditions are always outlined clearly in our contract so our guests shouldn’t expect any surprises, but granted our system is not perfect and occasionally a situation arises. We feel we did our best to accommodate you during your stay, we offered a $2000 discount and a discount on a future stay. While we do apologize for inconveniences beyond our control, and we do hope you will give us another chance, as we have a very good reputation on the island.
Ohana Beach Rentals Hawaii
Helpful votes: 17/17
Did you find this review helpful?