STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS HOME!! UNTRUSTOWRTHY OWENRS!
STAY FAR AWAY!!!!!
Where to start? My family, three kids and mother stayed at this listing for 10 days after the Olympics. We have traveled the world using VRBO and have never had any trouble with any of the rented homes as we have had with this place.
1. The pictures you see here look NOTHING like the home. So these pictures you see are not the present state of the home. I'm serious. The "bed room" upstairs was gross, dirty, with huge pieces of duct tape all over the walls. And the rest of the home and been "demodeled".
2. Most of the rooms have no lights, so at night you are in the dark. We had to call the owners and we didn't get lights in the rooms till half way into our trip. And no bath towels.
3. The listing called it a 4 bedroom house. There is one "real" bedrom, the one in the pictures that looks really nice, but in reality looks nothing like that. In reality there arent 4 bedrooms, there are 4 rooms (one room being the attice) with "beds" if you get our meaning. The"bed" in one of the rooms consisted of a 2 pieces of thin foam (literally) on a metal cot frame. Horrific.
4. One of the windows in the upstairs bedroom broke (on its own) when we were not home and fell into the neighbors yard. I know the house is old, but come on, it stuff is falling off, you shouldn't be renting it. We have kids its not safe, even the neighbor was shocked as well. If there was an earthquake in that part of the world, would the owners blame us for that too?! Ridiculous.
We contacted the owner about all this and they kept saying that no one else ever had a problem with the rental, well Im not sure who else would pay the amount of money we did and stay. We were looking to changing locations after our arrival, but the owners promised they would be "fair" and give us a refund. We settled on an amount and felt we could stick it out rather than move everyone at that point and ruin our trip.
Flash to 2 months after out trip we still received NO EMAIL, NO DEPSOIT AND NO REFUND. WE had to track them down. Then today they finally sent us a check for a measly $720 bucks, because the think its "fair" after the broken window. They did not give us our deposit nor our promised refund. These people are horrible and untrustworthy. No matter how nice they seem on the phone to you, or via email. We are filing a formal compliant with VRBO and starting a proceeding with our lawyer to deal with this mess with the UK authorities. We have pictures, emails -happy to share.
Owner's Response: We, as the owners disagree with this review 99%. These renters were angry that they damaged our home and didn't get their full deposit back. The window they claim 'fell out', they left open all day while they were out touring. After banging against the house all day, leaving damage to our home, it finally became unhinged and fell into a neighbours yard, causing our neighbour to be cut on his face from the broken glass. It also left us with a leaky kitchen conservatory roof (now repaired after a heafty cost to us). We had recently bought our home when these renters came and in fairness still needed to buy two new beds and a few linens, lamps, all of which has been done and our beautiful photos reflect correctly of our home and have been verified by VBRO. Our home is a true 4 bdrm (still listed under 'sold' 2012 homes from our agent we bought it from early summer). We paid over 1.6 million pds (2.2 million USD) so didn't buy/offering a home for rent, that is 'falling apart' as these renters claim. Our home hasn't been 'de-modelled' and wasn't 'dirty' when they rented it. It's professionally cleaned weekly and we have a handyman on call, who visited these renters 4 times during their stay to help with things/questions/concerns. Our nanny did leave some tape on her bedroom wall (not an attic, but a loft bedroom that has it's own private bathroom on the top floor with windows on all sides, and now one NEW window from the repaired one!) :) The bed mentioned with foam was an extra rollaway child's bed, next to our daughters crib incase their teenager wanted to stay in a separate room. We do have 4 beautiful bedrooms, three with double beds and one bedroom with a single rollaway. It is simply false that we didn't correspond for two months regarding the deposit, we have 6 emails to prove this, we recently had our second baby, and sent off what we thought was fair compensation after making repairs to the damage done by their lack of care for our home. We're trustworthy/honest/fair home owners, who offer a beautiful home.We're Americans that have lived in London for over 7 yrs and have rented 4 flats and in July received dual citizenship and bought a lovely 1.5million pd home which we rent when we're back in the US with our children. Sadly, this unfortunate review was due to an angry renter who wanted their full deposit back after causing damage to our home and our neighbour.VRBO is considering removing this review after I've sent our emails/photos providing evidence
Helpful votes: 10/12
Did you find this review helpful?