STAY AWAY!!! (Rating is 0/5)
Submitted: August 2, 2012
Stayed: July 2012
This has been the absolute worst rental experience that we have had in 10+ years of renting vacation homes. We had extra work to do upon arrival secondary to a "clean" towel having hairs on it, dishes being in cabinet dirty, and tub being dirty. We did not contact the management company about the above -- we just figured we could handle it. I would have complained if I had known the company was this bad. The kitchen was poorly stocked if you want to actually cook there. We had to buy more dish towels and a pan. We departed on a Saturday. The following Thursday I received an e-mail from Sun N Fun. The e-mail's subject was "Booking Confirmation." The e-mail started out the same way 2 previous e-mails had been stating that our reservation had been paid in full and listed our rental amount plus taxes giving our total. I almost did not completely read this third e-mail because I knew that our reservation was paid in full. Thank goodness I scrolled completely down because at the very bottom was a note. The note stated that we would be charged $125 for excessive trash/not following garbage disposal policy/tear in a screen. We had TWO bags of garbage when we left!! That's all. The owner (once he FINALLY got in touch with me via phone 1 week later and after numerous phone calls and e-mails from me) admitted that the garbage part was his error. We took the trash out both days we were instructed to. As for the tear in the screen; we didn't do it. He took a picture. The picture looks like there is damage to the outside area - we didn't even go outside of the screen area. Very poor customer service. We were instructed to keep the thermostat at 78 degrees, which we did although we find this warm for a vacation rental. We were even careful to tell the children in our group to keep the doors closed. STAY AWAY at all costs. There are way too many vacation homes to rent in the Orlando area to rent this home. More specifically, stay away from Sun N Fun. They are no fun at all.
Owner's Response: I spoke with our guest and listened to her alleged "claims" regarding our vacation home. I explained to her that we inspect each home at every departure and prior to each arrival for damages and issues.It was upon this departure inspection that we found a torn pool screen that had clearly been pushed out from inside and was not there previously. We encourage our guests by policy to notify the property management office if there are any issues with the home.
She admittedly did not call us about her "concerns" about the home during her stay, nor did she fill out a customer survey where we encourage guests to comment about the home so that we can insure they are in great condition for the next guest. Common sense would lead one to believe she was satisfied with the stay until she was charged for damages as agreed upon by contract. To comment on level of customer service when you never called for service is unfortunate and unfair.
Our first communication received from the guest concerning all of her issues ironically was when she found out she had been charged a nominal fee on her credit card deposit for a torn pool screen at which point she vented her concerns that were not worth mentioning prior to that time.
Helpful votes: 3/3
Did you find this review helpful?