FUN AND UNIQUE SLEEPAFLOAT HOUSEBOAT IN OLD CITY PHILADELPHIA!

SleepAfloat Management and Rentals, LLC

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type house boat
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Contact the Manager

SleepAfloat Management and Rentals, LLC

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

FUN AND UNIQUE SLEEPAFLOAT HOUSEBOAT IN OLD CITY PHILADELPHIA!

Philadelphia House Boat Rental Photos and Description

Your own private floating home! Free Parking- Walk to all the Old City sites

With modern upgrades - granite counter tops, marble, and travertine - this unique houseboat rental is located in the heart of Old City Philadelphia, a place of great history, charming shops, captivating night life, and entertainment.

Free parking and wi-fi are included, as well as a kitchen, complete with refrigerator, sink, microwave, and cook-top stove. Steps away from the houseboat, you will find Independence Hall, Independence Visitor Center, the National Constitution Center, the Liberty Bell Center, and countless other historical Old City District attractions. Learn more about the important history of Philadelphia while shopping and dining at exciting places! Come and discover what Old City Philadelphia has to offer.

More About the Houseboat: It has a comfortably sized bathroom with stand up shower. The Master Bedroom has a queen sized bed with memory foam mattress, closet storage and a patio door leading to the deck. The queen size sleep sofa in the living room, also with memory foam, and aero bed provide additional sleeping options. The well appointed houseboat provides a calming respite after a day full of activity. Imagine relaxing on the roof deck, drink in hand, enjoying your own private sunset!

All the amenities of home! We provide an iron, ironing board, hairdryer, and loads of bathroom products such as soaps, shampoos, and lotions. We even include lots of cooking ingredients such as coffee, herbs, spices, condiments, etc...

All this for less than the price of the smallest rooms at any of the nearby downtown waterfront hotels! Fun and Chic in Old City Philadelphia! It is truly our goal that every guest have an exceptional and memorable experience, so come, relax away your tensions, inhale pure sea air and nautical vibes, 'chill' in an outdoor, relaxing setting during the most picturesque time of the year! Ahhhh...

The Experience: What's it like saying on a houseboat? The boat is in a protected part of the marina, but there is some occasional movement during the day when boats pass by. It is usually very calm during the night, although some guests find a bit of gentle swaying is relaxing and can lead to a very restful sleep.

Please note: we don't always keep our calendar up to date, so please check calendars on our SleepAfloat website before contacting us to make sure the dates you want are available!

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
Guestbook comments from the manager
We had a very relaxing time on the pegasus. After walking and eating our way through Philly it was great to come home and sit on the deck with no hustle and bustle of the city. Would recommend this to everyone that likes a little adventure to your travels.
Nov 2013
  • 1 of 9

SleepAfloat Management and Rentals, LLC

SleepAfloat Management and Rentals, LLC

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2005
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type house boat
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.4
based on 9 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Fun and Unique SleepAfloat Houseboat in Old City Philadelphia!
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 9 reviews
business
Fun and Unique SleepAfloat Houseboat in Old City Philadelphia!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390275
+1 855-343-3456
Philadelphia Greater Philadelphia area
5

GREAT STAY ON THE PEGASUS

  • 5 of 5
I stayed with my girlfriend on the Pegasus for 2 night's and it was great. Checking in was not a problem at all though parking got a little tricky. I took some getting used to staying on a houseboat but we quickly we made our home while in Philadelphia. The location is great as were able to walk to the major centers of the City and drive if necessary. It was also great to see the fireworks at night.
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Please come back any time! We have boats in plenty of other cities too, from Boston to Key West! All in great locations just like this one!

Cheers,
Marcia
business
Fun and Unique SleepAfloat Houseboat in Old City Philadelphia!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390275
+1 855-343-3456
Philadelphia Greater Philadelphia area
Massachusetts
5

AUGUST IN PHILLY

  • 5 of 5
Our visit was too short, but so pleasant. We went out to eat the first night, seeking "Fork" restaurant and when someone pointed out a restaurant with a different name on the corner, we thought it had changed its name. Nope. Different place. We found tiny Fork the next day -- wonderful.

Then we came "home," stopping at the little convenience store with the friendly proprietor. We picked up milk, eggs & a bagel to share for breakfast. At Pegasus, we stretched out under the 3 stars showing and the Ben Franklin Bridge, which clearly outshone the stars with its multicolored light display. Light breeze and no need for the air conditioning.

The bed was incredibly comfortable and the pillows excellent. In fact, all the fittings are top grade. We slept soundly to the slight rocking of the boat. (The only time the rocking felt odd was when I stepped into the boat after dinner and hadn't left a light on. Walking in the dark and moving differently was slightly discombobulating. As soon as I put on a light, all was fine. And it improved our sleep.)

Breakfast up on the lounge chairs was great. We watched cyclists, runners, large trucks and buses whisking back and forth. A few people went by in the marina or were busy on their boats. It was so peaceful.

And it's easy to get to the historic district -- walk a couple of blocks to Penn's Landing, cross the bridge over the highway, and you're on Market Street. From Penn's Landing, we watched a freighter and other ships as their lights slid silently by in the dark. Or, in the daytime, find Fork between 3rd & 4th streets for homemade bread, soups, latte, and other goodies, then walk a couple more blocks to the center of all that history.

Great place to stay!

PS: Would this be good for people with disabilities? It depends on the disability. It's awkward to get into the marina -- several steps up from the sidewalk. It's awkward getting through the 2 doors. The ramp down might be okay as it has 1/2" high strips of wood every couple of feet. It's only a small gap from the side dock to the boat. The bedroom is down 2 steps from the living room. The upper deck would be too difficult -- 4-5 step ladder and narrow entrance. But the bow has the table and four chairs (entrance area). You judge.
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Fun and Unique SleepAfloat Houseboat in Old City Philadelphia!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390275
+1 855-343-3456
Philadelphia Greater Philadelphia area
NJ
4

ENJOYABLE SHORT TERM STAY

  • 4 of 5
The houseboat was a unique and enjoyable lodging experience in Old City! It was fully equipped with all the necessary amenities (loved the Keurig machine) and an easy walk into the city. I would definitely recommend this to other travelers!
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Fun and Unique SleepAfloat Houseboat in Old City Philadelphia!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390275
+1 855-343-3456
Philadelphia Greater Philadelphia area
Seattle, WA
2

DEFINITELY FUNKY

  • 2 of 5
I would like to compliment Ryan who was very professional in his communication. However, there were some important (to me) details left out in the description of the rental property until after I had paid the full amount. The marina is not very scenic. In fact at the time I was there the water was quite dirty. I did not find the boat spacious and cannot imagine its sleeping 4-5. It was clean but a bit dark and damp. At low tide which occurs every six hours one needs to use the shower head to fill the toilet since the water is very low and contains (I was told) sludge during that time. There is a chance that if one uses a hair dryer for example a fuse might blow and needs to be reset. If you have a car, the parking lot is not that close by. The marina IS convenient to the downtown area of Phila. But I think it is WAY overpriced and not as desirable and exotic as suggested. The marina does have a bathroom and shower but it is not kept very clean. If comfort & aesthetics are important to you, this rental might disappoint.
  • Submitted: May 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: We were saddened to receive this review about our houseboat in Philadelphia. We try very hard to accurately describe the boat, location and experience on our listing site. We will definitely review our descriptions to make sure we do not mislead anyone in the future.

The low tide problem is being addressed as I write this response. The marina has to be dredged as the silt has filled in the marina. The dredging is slated to begin this Summer after 3 years of financial setbacks due to the state of the economy. We look forward to the time this work is completed, but try our best to make due while we wait for this work to be done. Adding water to the bowl is an easy, simple method we have implemented to circumvent this issue. The boat can be dark on gray days, but there are plenty of windows around the boat that provide a great deal of sunshine when it is available :)

The cautionary statement about the circuit breaker is in our welcome book, and is meant as an informative detail in case that situation happens (which is not very often at all) our guests will know where the box is so they can reset the circuit without waiting for assistance.

We had just received heavy rains and a major storm before this guest arrived and the surge pushed a lot of wood, dock pieces, etc... into the marina. The marina staff has since cleaned the debris out.

As we mentioned in our listing, we do have parking available 2 blocks from the marina. You can however pull right up in front of the marina to unload your belongings when you arrive and depart. Unfortunately the lot is the only available monthly space we could find to provide parking for our guests which is included in your rental. If you have difficulty walking distance, there is a lot across the street from the marina run by the comfort inn that has available short term parking for $20/day.

Our ultimate goal is that every guest have a memorable and enjoyable stay. We welcome the opportunity to answer any questions guests may have about the boat or experience. If you are unsure of anything about our rental, please ask!
business
Fun and Unique SleepAfloat Houseboat in Old City Philadelphia!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390275
+1 855-343-3456
Philadelphia Greater Philadelphia area
Alabama
4

EXCELLENT LOCATION TO TOUR HISTORICAL AREA.

  • 4 of 5
Did not need a car for anything we wanted to see/do, which was GREAT! Was hoping to defray some cost by making suppers in the houseboat for our family of 5, but we could find no grocery store with even CLOSE to reasonable prices to make it worthwhile. Plus, the oven control was covered in duct tape so we assumed that we weren't supposed to use it. Ordered delivery several times, which was good and reasonably priced. Shower is VERY small, and we all experienced some feelings of still being on the boat at times, even though we weren't. There is, however, a bathroom/shower in the marina's main building. Overall, we all agreed that it was an excellent, really fun experience to stay on a house boat, and we really enjoyed it, but we probably wouldn't do it again. We booked a four-night stay. The listing description is accurate as well as the photos. The property was clean, and there was a couple on-site who was very helpful in answering any questions and giving guidance for the area. I would recommend this property for anyone interested in seeing historical Philadelphia who would enjoy the really neat experience of staying on a houseboat. Mama's (I think) Philly cheesesteak stand sandwiches are terrific!
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Fun and Unique SleepAfloat Houseboat in Old City Philadelphia!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390275
+1 855-343-3456
Philadelphia Greater Philadelphia area
Phoenix AZ
5

  • 5 of 5
We stayed on the Houseboat in Philly for a week this past Aug/Sept. I have to say this was the best vacation we have ever had, mind you we have traveled extensively. We usually stay in hotels and wanted to try something different so we came across the Houseboat. We absolutely loved it. It was clean and comfortable with everything you need to enjoy your stay. You can't beat the location, walking distance to everything! As Houseboat "novices" we had a few minor issues which turned out to be nothing and only due to operator errors (meaning us!). We would contact Ryan and I have to say he was professional every time. I am ashamed to say we called him at the oddest hours even as late as 11:30 PM and he was there for us. He even made us feel like old friends and was patient with us. Everything was handeled professionaly from start to finish. I can't express enough how wonderful this trip was for us. Usually when you leave a hotel after a week you can't wait to go back home but I have to admit we did not feel that way when we left. We were sorry to leave and can't wait to go back. I can definatly say our yearly trip to Philly we will be staying on the houseboat. For sure.
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Email Manager Email

Map

Nearest Airport
10.2 Miles
Philadelphia International Airport
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
2nd St. Station
Nearest Motorway
0.9 Miles
Interstate 95
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Drinker's Tavern
Nearest Restaurant
La Veranda
Car: recommended

Come stay aboard a SleepAfloat houseboat in Old City Philadelphia and immerse yourself in all the charm and history this city has to offer!

Take a walk amongst the most historic streets in America, just steps from our marina. Our waterfront location is walking distance from the Liberty Bell Center, Independence Hall, the Betsy Ross House, National Constitution Center and Old City Philadelphia. There is so much to see and do in the City of Brotherly Love and it's all right at our doorstep!

Email Manager Email

Photos

Email Manager Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Philadelphia House Boat Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer II
Jul 7 2014 - Aug 28 2014
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$225
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Labor Day Weekend
Aug 29 2014 - Sep 1 2014
3 night minimum stay
$250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall
Sep 2 2014 - Nov 30 2014
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$225
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter
Dec 1 2014 - Dec 22 2014
2 night minimum stay
$175
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter Holiday
Dec 23 2014 - Jan 4 2015
3 night minimum stay
$250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$225
From
$250
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $119
Damage Insurance $39
PET FEE: $50 up to 2 pets

PAYMENT - An advance payment equal to 50% of the total is required when the reservation is confirmed. The balance is due 30 days prior to your arrival date. Please make payments in the form a credit card (Visa, Discover or Mastercard).
Tax Rate 8.0%
Notes We don't always update our HomeAway/VRBO calendars. Please check our SleepAfloat site for up to date availability and an instant quote.
Email Manager Email

Amenities

Philadelphia House Boat Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house boat
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Adventure
  • Romantic
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Heating
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Air Conditioning
  • Wireless Internet
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Toilet Paper
  • Shampoo
  • Paper Towels
  • Local Maps
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Hair Dryer
  • Alarm Clock
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking
  • Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Toaster
  • Coffee Maker
  • Freezer
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Stove
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Kitchen
  • Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Sleeper Sofa - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Radio
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Wood Deck
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • coin laundry
  • restaurants
  • marina
  • live theater
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • playground
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • medical services
  • ATM/bank
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • roller blading
  • fishing
  • swimming
  • pier fishing
Email Manager Email