LUXURY HOME ON 900 PRIVATE ACRES 1 MILE FROM CRESTED BUTTE

Ted Colvin

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights

Contact the Owner

Ted Colvin

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

LUXURY HOME ON 900 PRIVATE ACRES 1 MILE FROM CRESTED BUTTE

Crested Butte Estate Rental Photos and Description

Estate, 4 Bedrooms + Den, 4.25 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

An exquisite custom home close to town with total privacy, wilderness access and fantastic views - Whetstone Mountain Ranch is totally unique. There are only 3 homes on this 300 acre ranch, with trails, ponds, and private access to the Slate River and world class fishing.

This is real Colorado luxury. A 4 bedroom deluxe house with 4-1/2 baths! It is located 2 minutes from town. As you drive into Crested Butte, the golf course is on the right of the highway and the ranch is on the left, nestled underneath gorgeous aspen and pine covered mountains. There is excellent private fishing on the property - the Slate River, as well as several large ponds. I watched my brother (pictured) pull fish after fish out of the water.

The home has an extremely private master suite with a king bed, clawfoot bathtub, large walk-in shower, and exercise room that takes up one whole wing of the house.

Two additional master suite are downstairs. One has a king bed and large sitting area with couch. The other has a queen bed. The third downstairs bedroom has a queen bed with a full bath across the hall. All downstairs bedrooms have large windows and exterior doors leading to a private patio and pond. Bedrooms are beautifully furnished, with new pillow-top mattresses and down comforters.

A large great room is perfect for entertaining, with massive gas fireplace and breathtaking views. A breakfast nook off the kitchen seats 6 and overlooks the pond in the front yard. You are surrounded by lakes, aspens, horses - it's part of Whetstone Ranch - acres and acres of land filled with vistas, lakes and horses. It is all yours. The biggest lake has a campfire area complete with picnic tables and barbecue pit.

Want some privacy to ski, fish, relax and have some space in the mountains? It doesn't get any better.

In winter, you can ski or snowmobile right out the front door. Special access easements allow for recreating on adjoining private land. Summer is perfect for bikes, motorcycles, horseback riding, hiking, and fishing. It will take you 5 minutes to bike to town, 3 minutes to drive to golf.

The house is only a mile from downtown Crested Butte, with a public shuttle to the ski hill, restaurants and other amenities. Perfect for couples, families and small groups. The house and setting are truly one-of-a-kind.

Streams run thru the house - or rather, underneath it. The house is built on top of the streams, on bridges as it were.

For privacy, space and luxury, location, wilderness access and fishing, this home is absolutely unique in Crested Butte. The house is 3800 sq. ft.

Keywords: Ranch, views, private, secluded, water, light, family, fishing, biking, skiing, luxury, custom home, wilderness access

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed

Ted Colvin

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2011
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

I am a custom home builder and developer.

Ted Colvin purchased this estate in 2005

I have been living in Crested Butte for over 35 years and enjoy sharing my love of the mountain lifestyle with others, and look forward to sharing my home with you.

I like having enough privacy not to need curtains. I like to take off on a hike right out my back door, ride dirt bikes or snowmobiles, and let my dog Louie swim in the ponds on the ranch.

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.4
based on 5 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Luxury home on 900 private acres 1 mile from Crested Butte
average rating of 4.4 based on 5 reviews
business
Luxury home on 900 private acres 1 mile from Crested Butte
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389046vb
970-349-0305
Crested Butte Southwestern Colorado
Dallas
5

OUTSTANDING

  • 5 of 5
My husband and I, along with our grown children, their spouses and one grandchild loved every moment in this beautiful home. We thoroughly enjoyed the property and all it has to offer. The beds are heavenly, and the furnishings, WIFI, TV, music, and kitchen appliances and equipment are all high quality. Plenty of room for everyone to space out and enjoy the week without ever feeling crowded. We grilled out and enjoyed the multiple decks and seating areas. Showers are hot and we appreciated the nice touches of shampoo, soaps, makeup remover pads, etc. washer dryers worked perfectly after I figured out the controls. We would love to stay here again. Thank you for making our daughter's wedding week extra special for our entire family.
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxury home on 900 private acres 1 mile from Crested Butte
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389046vb
970-349-0305
Crested Butte Southwestern Colorado
Dallas
5

FIRST IMPRESSION

  • 5 of 5
We arrived Monday and our family will be staying here until next Monday. There are 8 adults and an 11 year old. We will post again after our stay but had to share what an amazingly beautiful and well-appointed home this is. Aside from the setting being spectacular, the home itself is really beautiful. We are very impressed by the furnishings and comforts provided for us. We have cooked in the kitchen, grilled out on the deck, and done laundry. We love it.
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Luxury home on 900 private acres 1 mile from Crested Butte
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389046vb
970-349-0305
Crested Butte Southwestern Colorado
St. Charles, Il
2

DISAPPOINTED...WE WOULD ENCOURAGE YOU TO LOOK ELSEWHERE

  • 2 of 5
Our family of 7 rented the "Lux" Colvin home for Spring Break 2014. We have 5 children and while we would say that the views were beautiful, the beds were comfortable and towels were plentiful, on the second day the dryer overheated and fried our daughters ski coat. (no reimbursement for that) We had ran it on regular heat as we do at home. The manager called a tech in and THE MANAGER CHARGED US FOR THE TECH VISIT!!! He informed me that I should start AIR drying all of our laundry and not using detergent. The washer leaked all over and that was "my fault" for using the detergent that was provided, the dryer upstairs didn't dry (glad we didn't mention that one for fear of more charges) and the tv did not work properly. Sound would go on and off along with the picture and we called the given number for assistance with A/V and they never phoned back and that issue was never addressed. The disposals overflowed, yes both of them along with water overflowing from the dishwashers. They are questionably plumbed under the sink. They plumbing system is open under the sink and not hooked up to the dishwasher. They backed up all over under the cabinet. We cleaned that one up for hours. Yuck! They blamed that one on us too. We "overloaded it." If you plan on using the disposal to clean up the spagetti dinner, be careful b/c it will back up and drain to the downstairs bedroom and they will blame you! We have the pictures of the plumbing, it is ridiculous. Our 5 year old knocked down the only coat rack that is in the front hall (no closet) trying to remove her coat and one of the tips of the arms broke off. This was a true accident and it was not used beyond normal wear and tear. It is a coat rack in front of the window (thank goodness it didn't go the other way) that is not tacked down, has 4 hooks and is supposed to house the coats for all! We explained to the property manager what happened and he was very understanding until time came to give us back our deposit. We were charged 70$ for the repair of the coat rack. There is no place for shoes either btw.
We had a great vacation in Crested Butte. This home ended up to be a real disappointment for our family. They took a chunk from the deposit for the listed things above. We have rented from VRBO numerous times and have had great experiences. This was not a great rental. We would recommend looking elsewhere.
  • Submitted: May 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Accidents happen. We charged these guests $150 against their $500 deposit, and did our best to be positive, friendly and polite, as we have done with all of our guests for many years now.

These guests broke a wrought iron coat rack , and blame us for not bolting it to the stone floor. We have a large coat closet on the landing to the left of the front door and there is plenty of space in the entry for shoes. The repairman could find nothing wrong with our appliances and our plumbing is top notch. Overstuffing was his diagnosis - from the washing machine and dryer to the disposals.

If you are considering a visit to Crested Butte, you have lots of options for lodging. Life is good here. Colvin House is unique - private, close to town, and very comfortable. We are totally booked every summer and we enjoy sharing our mountain lifestyle with like-minded people, especially families.
business
Luxury home on 900 private acres 1 mile from Crested Butte
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389046vb
970-349-0305
Crested Butte Southwestern Colorado
Austin, TX
5

BEAUTIFUL HOUSE ON BEAUTIFUL PROPERTY

  • 5 of 5
This was the perfect place for our family's vacation. The house is huge and very pretty! We all had plenty of room to move around and have our own space, but the common areas are also very inviting and large enough to accommodate all of us. Lots of open spaces and windows - perfect! Plenty of places to read, play games as a family, watch TV, or just visit. Several porches surrounding the house, so you can be part of all that is going on outside. I loved all of the amentities and extras - especially all of the plants throughout the house! The house is located on top of a series of small streams and ponds and it is wonderful! I loved the sounds of moving water 24 hours a day! It is also within walking distance of several ponds on the property that my family used frequently when fly fishing. The house is remote enough and close enough to town to be just right. There is a mountain with a very interesting forest right behind the house that is so much fun to hike up! I really recommend this house as a perfect vacation home rental for a large family.
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Luxury home on 900 private acres 1 mile from Crested Butte
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389046vb
970-349-0305
Crested Butte Southwestern Colorado
Lubbock, Texas
5

A GREAT FAMILY VACATION

  • 5 of 5
This house is awesome!! We had 8 adults, and 2 babies in our group, and we were never crowded! The living area and kitchen/dining are spacious, and all parts of the house have fabulous views of the mountains, forrest, and surrounding area.We particularly enjoyed the ponds and the portion of the Slate River that runs through the property. Being a fly fisherman, I loved how close we were to the Taylor, Gunnison, East, and Slate Rivers, as well as the ponds. Also, we appreciated the quiet solitude of the forrest bordering the house, and yet were only a couple of minutes from Crested Butte. We have already booked for next summer. Also, the owner & management are super nice people and are very accomodating.
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Email Owner Email

Map

Car: necessary

Over 900 acres of private land with access to premium trout fishing and to the trails on Whetstone Mountain behind the house.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Crested Butte Estate Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Jun 14 2014 - Sep 13 2014
Changeover Day: Saturday
6 night minimum stay
$1,500
$30,000
 
 
Winter 2014/15
Dec 20 2014 - Mar 14 2015
6 night minimum stay
$1,500
$24,000
 
 
Summer 2015/16
Jun 13 2015 - Sep 12 2015
6 night minimum stay
$1,500
$30,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$750
$4,000
$12,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Pet Fee $300
Cleaning Fee $300
Property Damage Protection $89
50% of total due upon booking. Final payment due 90 days prior to occupancy. Payment by check is preferred.
Tax Rate 5.6%
Notes Pets and events are not allowed unless special arrangements are made in advance.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Crested Butte Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Resort ...
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking Off Street
Kitchen:
  • Ice Maker
  • Catering Available
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
  • 4.25
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (2) 1 king bed in upstairs master, 1 king bed in downstairs master, Queen size Beds (3) 3 queen beds downstairs, Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) 2 airbeds with linens for extra guests
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Music Library
  • Stereo
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • wildlife viewing
  • antiquing
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • horseback riding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • tennis
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • skiing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • hunting
  • hiking
  • rafting
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • cross country skiing
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • rock climbing
Notes:
Private access to over 900 acres - hiking, biking, 4x4, fishing, and skiing
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

$4,000 per week
5 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$2,500 - $3,850 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • Sleeps 12
  • 4 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10