Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Oh Wowie! Great Deal in Maui!

Lynne Curtis Gudes

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Lynne Curtis Gudes

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 25, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Oh Wowie! Great Deal in Maui!

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights


Kihei House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)


Beautiful View

A half-acre of yard and garden with running room for children or active games for the young at heart no matter what birthday they have celebrated.

The house is located in the Wailea area of South Kihei, set above Piilani Highway. You can sit on the patio or up by the hot tub and watch the famous 'green flash' as the sun sets over the Pacific Ocean or laze in lounge chair and enjoy our home.

Sleeps Eight

The master bedroom has a comfortable King bed. Another bedroom features a Queen bed, while a third bedroom features two single beds. There is also a Queen size hide-away bed in the living room.

Modern Kitchen

Three bathrooms

Two with bathtubs and one with shower only.

Lovely outdoor dining area, patio and barbecue

Relax at the patio table, prepare your meals on the gas grill, and eat surrounded by lush tropical plants.

Hot Tub

Wireless Internet Access

A couple of minutes to the best beaches on Maui.

Within a few minutes drive you are presented with a myriad of choices. The Shops at Wailea (an upscale boutique mall), Hilo Hattie, a Hawaii landmark providing the best in Hawaiian fashions and gifts. Safeway, Long's Drugs, and and every kind of restaurant you can think from trendy to down home. Boutique shops, art galleries, jewelry stores, and the Kihei boat ramp where you can meet your dive boat are all within easy reach.

A 20 minute drive will take you to the Maui Ocean Center, a not to be missed experience.

About a 25 minute drive to Wal-Mart, Costco, The Maui Mall and the airport.

Keywords: Private House, Vacation Home, Private Paradise

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Lynne Curtis Gudes (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 25, 2015

About Lynne Curtis Gudes

Glenn Curtis, the house owner is a contract pilot who flies Gulfstream jets and also float planes wherever called to do so. His sister Lynne, who lives in New Mexico, helps to manage the rentals. They are both dive masters and think of the house as diver friendly. His magical children, Skylar the wise and Siena the lovely are the original owners of the play equipment and helped to design many of the outside features of the property. Glenn, Skylar and Siena hope you will enjoy their home. If you need any help, call Auntie Lynne or dad and they'll do their best to help out. We know lots and lots about the island. Just ask.

Lynne Curtis Gudes purchased this house in 2004

Why Lynne Curtis Gudes chose Kihei

Alaska is awfully cold in the winter.

What makes this house unique

Another beautiful day in paradise is how we describe every day. Our house is located in a quiet residential neighborhood with a breathtaking view of the Pacific Ocean. The huge yard is perfect for play or just contemplating the natural beauty. Whether you dive, snorkel or bicycle down Haleakala, this is a perfect place to live. Aloha to you and yours and enjoy your stay in our home.

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 15 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Oh Wowie! Great Deal in Maui!
average rating of 4.2 based on 15 reviews
Denver, Colorado, USA

Wonderful Time for All!

  • 5 of 5

We rented the house for a week the end of February 2014, and with two bedrooms and two baths on one side of the house, and another large bedroom and bath on the other side, it was perfect for the seven people of our family. Even the teenagers were happy!!!!

The house was clean and well-maintained. The owner went out of his way to make sure we had everything, but gave us privacy. There are labels on drawers, etc., so you don't have to search for things. BTW, except for food, just about everything you will need is provided.

While there isn't a maid service as in a hotel, the money you save by renting the house versus hotel rooms is well worth it. Also, by cooking your meals, you can save even more.

We definitely would recommend renting this house.

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Shaun, we are so glad you had a good time and enjoyed your stay. You and your family are certainly welcome back to our home. Hope to see you again someday. Mahalo
Las Vegas, NV

Great time in Maui

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time in Maui and the house worked out well for us. It's very conveniently located and we loved getting up early in the morning to enjoy the ocean view from the garage roof top while the sun was rising.

We had a group of 8 and there was plenty of room in the house for all. We had a 2 year old and he made much use of the play room and toys. We also enjoyed using the grill almost every day--it really came in handy.

The owners and manager were very helpful and always responded to requests for help.

The critters were a bit much for us females, but I understand that's just normal in a tropical paradise.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Miami, Florida

The Worst House ever. A total misrepresentation

  • 1 of 5

This is the 3rd house we have rented in Maui since November 2013 and was by far the WORST! If it was just a few items they could be overlooked but this place was in total disrepair. First and foremost, there is a missing window! The house is not secure and anyone could have entered at any time through this missing window. Not even a screen on it. Despite complaints to the owner nothing was done.

The grounds have not been maintained for months. The yard was so overgrown, I had to find clippers in the garage in order to trim back plants that blocked the entry and exit. The hot tub is a joke! The pictures show a pristine tub with sparkling clear water. The reality was the hot tub had not been filled in months and was instead filled with dirt and scum and it even had a tree growing out from the bottom of it. The grass in the yard had also not been cut in months.

There was a strange odor emanating from the owners closet which smelled like rotting food. Needless to say, the room outside of it was unusable due to the rank smell.

Light bulbs were missing all around the house.

The BBQ was also a joke. Only one burner worked and it had not been maintained in a long time.

There were 4 of us staying here and yet there were only 3 coffee mugs. To the owners credit, they did have someone bring more coffee mugs after we complained but it took a few days to rectify.

The outdoor shower was basically a cheap unit stuck in the MIDDLE of the courtyard and was connected to a leaky garden hose.

The AC units are on timers and this means that we had to get up every 2 hours during the night to turn them back on. It is hot there in August and this was a total hassle to deal with. I know energy is expensive on Maui, but we paid a lot to stay there and, as such, this was ridiculous.

It is truly unfortunate because the skeleton of this house is decent and had it been maintained and cleaned, it would have been fine. However, the pictures on this website are nothing like the reality. The place was dirty and rundown.

i have never posted a review of any house on this website and in fact, rent my own vacation home here. However, this place was so terrible that I had to warn any potential vacation home renters about it.

lastly, the return of our security deposit was only done after repeated messages to the owners who are absentee landlords. It took a month after we left to get our money back.

BUYER BEWARE as this place was really bad! Not what you want on your Maui holiday.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're certainly sorry to hear that the guest had issues with the house. However, most of the items he mentions are not factual, and we need to set the record straight. After the guest left, we inspected all windows in the house. All windows and screens were in place. Some windows slide left-to-right, perhaps that was not obvious? The hot tub is not available during summer months, and the air conditioners are on timers to preserve energy. These are clearly spelled out in the contract. Since the guest signed the contract, and is a real estate professional, we have to believe that he read that, so are at a loss to understand the complaints. The outdoor shower with teakwood floor for washing off sand and dirt before entering the house. It is not meant to be a "formal" bathroom shower. There are three formal bathroom inside the house made for traditional showers. This is common in beach and tropical locations. The grounds were maintained the week before arrival. Admittedly there would have been a week of growth after being maintained, but even in Hawaii that should not have amounted to much. Perhaps the guest was expecting a crew cut lawn or xeriscaping? The "owners closet" contains records of the house, which are on paper. We are not certain what kind of odor that might give rise to. There was no odor on inspection after the guests left. As the guest mentioned, once we were made aware of the lack of coffee cups, we rectified the situation. It is never necessary to "complain", but rather to just notify us. We do apologize about the return of the security deposit, which was returned 10 days late (the contract calls for 21 days, it was returned in 31 days). This was due to an internal snafu on our side, and we are taking steps to make sure it does not happen again. In the future, we urge the guest to read his contract to be certain of expectations, and to maintain communications with the owner to make sure that problems such as coffee mugs are handled properly.
Woodland Park, CO USA


  • 4 of 5

We just returned from spending 10 days in Maui at this house. Upon arrival, at 10:00pm, Curtis greeted us & showed us around the house. He continued to be very helpful throughout our time there, recommending places to eat & things to do. The kitchen was well stocked with cooking utensils & everything that we needed to prepare some of our meals.

The house worked well for our family of 7, with 2 children. There was a pack &play for the baby & also a high chair available for our use. The play room was also a great addition. The play area outside was also fun for our 2 year old grand-daughter.

The only negative for our family, would be the distance to the beach. It is about a 5 minute drive or a 20 minute walk, which makes it difficult for early morning walks on the beach or late evening walks.

I would recommend this listing to others who are considering going to Maui, as it was a pleasant experience for our family. :-)

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Amy, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. The 3-5 minute drive from the beach is often listed as a great plus . The guests who were in the house during the tsunami were overjoyed to be uphill and a safe short distance above the beach. Some of our guests with small children point out they don't have to worry about the kids scooting across busy Kihei Rd. while the parents are cooking barbeque and ending up in the waves. We like to think of the short distance from the beach as a plus rather than a minus. We are really looking forward to your return. Thank you so much for being our honored guests. Mahalo, Curtis and Lynne
Calgary, AB, Canada

Calgary Family

  • 4 of 5

This is a very pleasant home with a wonderful yard and play area. It was a bit strange at first to realize this is one of three rental properties on the lot, with one being an attached studio to the main house. However, the other renters did not bother us at all and were friendly. The kitchen and barbeque were great, everything very well stocked, however the pantry requires a deep cleaning as ants were a problem. We had a 2 and a 4 year old and they loved the play room. Nice comfy furniture in the TV room, good parking area, and the best was the beautiful outdoor eating area.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed the house and the other friendly residents on the property. Unfortunately, everyone loves the tropics, including crawly creatures. People who live in more northern climates often assume that if they see a bug, it means things are not clean. Although it is true that even one small crumb left on a counter top will immediately attract ants, small creatures are a reality of the tropics.
Martinez, Ca

Good but not Heavenly

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time in Hawaii and we liked the House. The location is very close to the Wailea Village Shopping Center and is only a couple of blocks from an excellent snorkeling reef and beach. We had five adults and two children and the house and outdoors are large enough to spread out and enjoy. The kitchen was well equipped and the outdoor barbeque was great. The owner and his sister are very nice people and were easy to work with in making our vacation plans. There were some issues of deferred maintenance with the house, however. The toilet in the master bedroom was leaking through the wax seal and we had to continually put towels around the toilet to contain toilet water. Also, in another bathroom, the flush handle on the toilet was broken and every time the toilet was flushed, the lid for the tank had to be removed to free the chain from the flapper in the tank. One final issue that should be disclosed in the listing for the property is that attached to the house are two rooms with a separate entrance that is being rented by a young woman and her three-year old daughter. It did not turn out to be a problem, but it was surprising that we were sharing the rental of the property.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway


Nearest Airport
17.5 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Nearest Golf
0.2 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Nearest Beach
1 Miles

Maui Meadows is a quiet residential area of Kihei located directly above the Wailea golf course on the island of Maui.

Other Activities: Beach, Snorkeling, Scuba Diving, Parasailing, Shopping, Site-seeing, Boating,Wildlife Viewing, Fine Dining, Night-life and more


Rates & Availability

Kihei House Rental Rates


  • From $265nt - $1855/wk
  • US Dollars
  • May 1-Nov 1: $265/night (1-8 guests)
  • Nov 2-Dec 14 & Mar 16 - Apr 30: $299/night (1-8 guests)
  • Dec 15-Mar 15: $345/night (1-8 guests)
  • $150 Cleaning fee. Down payment of 20% to hold reservation dates
  • $400 refundable Damage Deposit
  • For cancellation policy see our website
  • 28 days or more...10% discount
  • Hawaii sales tax: 4.17%; lodging tax: 9.25% *PAYPAL ACCEPTED*
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.


Kihei House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote