Do not stay here!!!
Submitted: April 18, 2013
Stayed: March 2013
My Family (3 Children) and another Family(2 Children) found this property on Home Away in the Fall of 2012. Based on Pictures and reviews on the Home Way Site we contacted the Manager and agreed to rent the property in early April 2013.
Upon arrival we found the house was not as described on the advertisement and basically not usable.
The issues listed below are reasons why we fell the home was misrepresented on the Website as well as unusable.
1) Although Tidy the house was left EXTREMLY dirty
a. Stove Top Dirty
b. Fridge, Empty but Dirty
c. Walls extremely Dirty Sinks extremely dirty
d. Drawers of Beds to dirty that they were unusable
2) Broken glass in rear of house posing a danger to the 5 children with us
3) Full Ashtray in back yard of Stated Non Smoking Home
4) Cigarette butts IN pool
5) Pool\Hot tub damaged-Chunks of Rock Work Missing
6) Broken Shower handle making shower unusable.
7) MOLD on shower curtains
8) BLOOD stains on bed spread
9) Trap Door for Attic loose and in danger of falling.
10) BBQ\Grill broken and unusable
11) Pool bottom filled with leaves and Sand
The overall condition and cleanliness of this property was so bad we could not stay here. The issues listed above made a number of the amenities unusable for us, Pool, BBQ, Shower, some Linens. Furthermore the condition and disgusting state of the house in general made us unsure about using ANY of the Amenities, i.e. toaster, coffee maker, blender as we could not be sure that they were clean and safe to use.
Numerous attempts were made to contact the owner with only one response, which did not address any of the problems. We had no choice but to leave the property and find a nearby hotel after only one night’s stay.
Do yourself a favor and find somewhere else to stay, avoid this rental and owner. I sure wish that we had.
Owner's Response: We are so sorry that you were disappointed in our home. We take great pride in maintaining the home so that it is a carefree and enjoyable experience for all of our guests. We stay here regularly to make sure everything is clean and in working order. As this review mentioned, we offered to make things right by sending over the cleaning crew ASAP to remedy all of their concerns, but this guest was very difficult to work with and did not seem interested in allowing us to make things right. We want all of our guests to feel at home and comfortable and apologize this was not what you found at our home. We only wish you would have allowed us the chance to work with you on this so that your vacation was not disrupted. Hopefully, despite these troubles you have a fantastic time exploring Galveston Island.
Helpful votes: 4/7
Did you find this review helpful?