Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Sosua. Cozy, New Condo. Practically on the Beach. 2BR/2BA

Misha

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Misha

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 27, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Sosua. Cozy, New Condo. Practically on the Beach. 2BR/2BA

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Sosua Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Located on the third floor of newly build gated condominium, this cozy two bedroom unit overlooks a gorgeous tropical garden from the entrance balcony and full kitchen window.

Staying in the ocean view bedroom, you'll be greeted in the morning by the sound of the fountain and hummingbirds collecting nectar from clematis vines which covers the bedroom's balcony and the picturesque tree.

Clematis covered and young palm trees separate the bedroom balconies from the courtyard with the pool and make you feel living in the private villa.

The full kitchen equipped with cooking utensils, microwave, Breville coffee maker, the living space with Bravia LCD TV, international cable programming, Wi-Fi broadband Internet, Bose iPhone Dock Radio, the vintage teak furniture imported from India, will make your feel luxury.

The condominium is located 10 miles from the Puerto Plata International airport, just steps away from the gorgeous Playa Alicea beach, the Parque Mirador and 5 minutes walk to center of Sosua with it's shopping, restaurants, night life and casino.

There is no need to rent a car, but if you'll decide to take a scenic day trip to La Playa Grande or for mountain adventures at 21 waterfalls or to spend the day on the kite beach or the evening of the nightlife, bars and restaurants along the beach strip of Cabarette, the off-street parking spot is available to you.

Keywords: private, newly build, condo, balconies, garden, pool, walking distance to the beach, gated community, 24hrs security, restaurants, night life, cable tv, internet

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Misha (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 27, 2015

What makes this condo unique

This condo is for sale. Please inquire via e-mail.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.5
based on 36 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Sosua. Cozy, New Condo. Practically on the Beach. 2BR/2BA
average rating of 4.5277777 based on 36 reviews
5

Everything we wanted and needed

  • 5 of 5

A friend and I enjoyed a 4-night stay in this lovely, modern, well-decorated, and private condo.

While not the biggest space, it certainly was cozy and well-suited for our needs. We were able to cook meals in the well-appointed kitchen, dine and work on our laptops from the scenic balcony, bathe in separate bathrooms, watch NFL football games on the HD TV, and listen to our iPod on a Bose docking station.

A major grocery store, dozens of restaurants, nightlife, salons, and shops of all kinds were all reachable within a 5-minute walk. And the beautiful Alicia Beach was maybe 200 yards away!

I'm a stickler about mattresses. There was a very nice queen-sized, pillow top mattress in each bedroom that was perhaps as good as what I have in my own home. We slept well!!!

Bath towels and beach towels were provided, but were rather limited. If you like using fresh towels every day, be sure to opt for the daily cleaning service (about $15 USD per day). The cleaning lady, at least the one we had, was spectacular. Another option is to bring a few extra towels of your own.

There were a two minor inconveniences, which I'm sure were unique. The owner was highly responsive and addressed them within 24 hours. Plus the owner stayed in contact via email before, during, and after our trip. As promised, I received my deposit back electronically within 5 hours of departure. Lastly, the owner allowed us to stay in the condo a couple hours beyond the normal checkout time, which was much appreciated given our late departure time.

We really enjoyed our stay in this condo and look forward to returning soon.

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
1

Terrible Experience

  • 1 of 5

My experience with this rental was terrible. I have been to the Dominican on several occasions and realize it is a 3rd world country and things will not always go smooth. I typically rent from the same person who has many properties throughout the town of Sosua and have had great experiences with him. Unfortunately his places were all booked up due to the holiday.

There was lack communication since day 1 with the owner Misha, who was hard to reach by phone. I will skip all of that and start from the beginning.

1. When I arrived @ the property there was security guard who was unaware that I was going to stay at the property. This took a solid 15-20 minutes to straighten out.

2. When I get inside the place I find out that the Master bedroom door was locked (where the safe was located). I called the owner and he directed me across the street to the so called "property manager" who turned out to be his Russian friends who did not speak any Spanish or English and were extremely hard to communicate with. It took them and their friend a solid half hour to open the bedroom door. They tried jump the balcony and all sorts of things and the way they eventually got in?.... The had to open the door with a knife.

3. The Wifi did not work and neither did the cable TV. Luckily my phone works in the DR and I was able to send emails off that way, but it was a major inconvenience. But here the worst part.

~The one night during my stay there was an extremely obnoxious beeping noise coming from the locked cabinet that contained the modem and router.... and that is where the beeping noise was coming from. I notified the "property manager" and she instructed me to call Misha. I called Misha and he said there was nothing he could do until the morning. The noise kept me up.

3. My security deposit was not refunded in full. Misha said there was additional cleaning charge. He claimed someone was smoking in the house. I am a long time smoker and would never smoke in my house or car. The interesting this is... the so called "property manager" was walking in and out of the house with a cigarette.

4. The maid did not come when she was suppose to come. And she forgot to stock the toilet paper.

5. The pool was extremely dirty...(not a big deal, as I went to the beach everyday)

6. MISHA TOLD ME NOT TO WRITE A REVIEW UNLESS IT WAS 5 STARS. HE SAID HE WOULD REFUND MY DEPOSIT IN FULL AND EVEN RETURN A NIGHTS STAY IF I DID NOT WRITE THIS.

  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm not really sure if I should bother answering this "review" - with the exception of the second bedroom's door being locked and the noise from suddenly dying UPS (both resolved in no-time), every statement Mike's T. made is inaccurate or not true. Nevertheless I'll answer it for the fairness to other renters and attention of other owners. Just by reading Mike's T. last sentence one can sense something is off ... From the second day of Mike T. stay it was clear to me that doesn't matter how hard I try and what I do - Mike will find something to complain about. He seemed to be *looking* for a "Terrible Experience" so he can get away with the abuse of the hospitality, the basic renters rules and respect to people living there. From the Welcome letter I sent to Mike T. on Mar 23 (nine days prior to his arrival) : "I also recommend you print out, bring with you and show to the security guard this e-mail or your rental agreement."; From the e-mail I replied to Mike T. on Mar 30th : "... arrive, show the security guard your rental agreement or this email.". Obviously both e-mails were not read, as Mike could neither show anything, nor tell to the guard which unit Mike T. has rented. It was clear that Mike T. did not bother reading the rental agreement, the house rules and never visited the VRBO Hospitality site, where I explain what I provide, what's included and what will costs an extra. Electricity for example is included, but leaving A/C on for 24 hours will incur an extra charge. A drinking water, toilet paper, soap are provided for your arrival, but refills are not. I could go on and on, describing Mike's T. calls to me in the middle of the night, noise complains from the neighbors, cigarette ashes (and butts !) in the night drawers (!) in both bedrooms, but I'll stop on the last fact worth mentioning. On the day 3, after numerous calls and SMS messages from Mike, a complaint from my neighbors and my house keeper, I realized that I am being abused and politely offered Mike to refund the balance of his rental amount and assist him in finding another place (there are couple of basic, non-luxury hotels on the same street). Mike T. refused my offer. After Mike's T. check-out, leaving the place filthy, it did take me a bit longer to asses the damages for the extra cleaning, washing and electricity charges, but I did promptly refunded the balance of his security deposit.
5

Best apartment ever!!!!

  • 5 of 5

Best apartment I ever stayed in. Great service from everyone. Safe and silent place, but still very central. Everthing was perfect!!! Strongly recomended

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
5

Just like home

  • 5 of 5

This is my second stay at the property.

Like the first everything went without a hitch and the maintenance and quality of the property hasn't suffered at all.

Misha is a total class act in making sure everything goes without a hitch and is proefficient in replying to any emails or concerns at any time.

The guards do a fab job of making sure everything is safe and are always prompt; even at times beating you to the door.

The location of this place is unquestionable. It's literally on the beach, and 5 minute walk to anything. It's easy to explain to any moto concho or taxi drivers, and it's on a well lit piece of road with no critters hanging around.

Inside is everything you could possibly need. The beds are of high quality, ample towels, the place cools down insanely fast and stays cool even just with the fans. The wifi works great, and the kitchen and living area are ample.

All the guests/occupants of the other units were friendly. It's a quiet building, but the units seem to do well on a noise level as you don't hear anything from anyone or any passing cars.

Compared to hotels it's a no brainer especially if you enjoy some independence or plan on spending some time.

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely two week stay in paradise. The owner's notes were helpful and accurately described the situation. The manager and staff at the condo were gracious and helpful. The condo was nicely equipped. Neighbors were pleasant. We felt safe, secure, and relaxed. A car was not needed as we used the local transportation system. We had a perfectly wonderful time.

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
4

Perfect stay

  • 4 of 5

We love the apartment and will definitely come back! Thank you for all your help regarding our flight delay, Misha.

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Puerto Plata
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Baileys
Nearest Beach
0.03 Miles
Playa Alicia
Car: not necessary

Perfectly located in the middle of the well known Calle Dr Rosen (Calle Sin Salida), leading to the Parque Mirador (build just one year ago) and the beach 100 yards one way; bars, restaurants, shops - 100 yards the other way. No car needed. Sosua is a harbor of European and North American migrants. It is very safe to walk around the Sosua day or night time. You can find many casual and fine restaurants and for a few dollars you can get a taxi for a quick ride to Cabarete for a kite class, a walk along the beach, a dinner or a Jazz festival.

'The North Coast of the Dominican Republic has been a top tourist destination for Europeans for nearly three decades. There is a very large expatriate community in Sosua, which consists of mostly German, British, American, and Canadian expats.

Sosua Bay attracts many water sports enthusiast, including snorkelers and divers because of its sheltered, calm waters, diverse species of fish and intricate reef structures. In the winter, whale watching is also a popular tourist activity in Sosua Bay.

Recently, naturally occurring beach nourishment has created a new beach just north of Sosua Bay, depositing sand where there were previously only sheer rock cliffs. The beach bears both the names Playa Alicia, and Playa Casa Marina because of the hotel in close proximity that bears the same name.'

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sos%C3%BAa

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $85 Per night

Sosua Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Low Season
Jul 1 2015 - Oct 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$85
From
$107
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$630
$1,800
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$97
From
$115
Fri,Sat,Sun
$650
$2,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $150.00
Tax Rate 10.0%
Notes Rates are seasonal and subject to change. Utilities inclusive. Owner reserve the right to charge for *excessive* electric usage. Please inquire about special rates and promotions.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Sosua Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 100 m²
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds. One in each bedroom. Comfortable and gorgeous collection beds with Setra pillowtop mattress.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Lanai / Gazebo
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
- this is two bedrooms unit, which can be rented as one bedroom for a lower rate - the condo is for sale - we have the US Internet provider. Staying in our condo you will be able to enjoy all the Internet services (Spotify, Pandora, IPTV, VoIP, etc.) restricted for North American users

Other Vacation Properties

$690 - $1,290 per week
5 - 7 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$58 - $68 per night
3 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 5
$98 - $149 per night
3 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote