OCEANVIEW DOWNTOWN KAILUA-KONA. SUMMER/FALL $475. WEEK

Claudia & Jim Shukle

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Claudia & Jim Shukle

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

OCEANVIEW DOWNTOWN KAILUA-KONA. SUMMER/FALL $475. WEEK

Kailua Kona Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Kailua Village has the perfect location, a block from the ocean. A short walk to restaurants, shopping, and the Farmers Market where there is fresh fruit, flowers, Kona coffee and other shopping.

The unit is on the fourth floor and has been recently remodeled. Everything is new; a 47' Smart LED TV, Blu-Ray DVD, upgraded furnishings, linens, appliances, full kitchen with all the utensils to cook with.

Free local and long distance phone service within the USA and Canada. Unit has secure Wi-Fi with high speed router.

A patio table and chairs are on the lanai, for enjoying your meals with a view of the ocean. The complex is secure, a key operates the elevators, pool area, and the large clean laundry room. There is assigned off street parking and also visitor parking.

NON SMOKING UNIT

Keywords: oceanview condo, downtown Kona,, walk to restaurants, Wi-Fi, elevator

Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Claudia & Jim Shukle (Owner)
Advertiser since 2011
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

Why HomeAway

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.6
based on 10 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Oceanview Downtown Kailua-Kona. summer/fall $475. week
average rating of 4.6 based on 10 reviews
business
Oceanview Downtown Kailua-Kona. summer/fall $475. week
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385960vb
541-4304357
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

A wonderful stay in Kona, Hawaii

  • 5 of 5
My mother and I spent two weeks during the holidays at Claudia and Jim’s condo and we had wonderful time. First of all, the condo is close to everything: main street, grocery stores, restaurants, farmer market, small stores, etc. It was also very easy to get there from the airport at a reasonable price of $40 (including tip) for a taxi. If you want to rent a car (and I would definitely recommend it) there is a parking lot, so no worries at all. The condo itself was more than perfect for the two of us. It was clean and everything we needed was there, from the towels to go to the beach to the mixer to make delicious smoothies in the morning. The balcony was awesome to enjoy a small lunch outside or to look at the wonderful sunset in the ocean. The only thing is that they were building a church in front of the condo, so it was sometimes noisy, especially early in the morning. But Claudia told us before we rent the condo, so we were aware of it (and it was not as worse as we could have expected). Claudia was frank with us about the noise and this is something that we really appreciated. I highly recommend this condo for a place to stay in Kona. It is CLEAN, CLOSE to everything we need, WELL-EQUIPPED and Claudia was kind, honest and definitely trustworthy. She also answered very fast when we had any questions. My mother and I are very thankful towards Jim and Claudia for letting us use their place and we had wonderful vacations in Hawaii, mostly because we were pleased with our place to stay. You must consider this place, I doubt that you will regret your choice !
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your kind review, we try to keep things updated in the unit. Glad you enjoyed your stay in Kona, and hopefully you can return again.
business
Oceanview Downtown Kailua-Kona. summer/fall $475. week
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385960vb
541-4304357
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Helena, Montana
5

Nice Condo - highly recommended

  • 5 of 5
Located right at the heart of Kailua-Kona. Alii street is literally about a 1 minute walk. Condo is well equipped with just about everything to make you feel at home (46 inch cable tv and wifi internet was especially welcome) - like home, that is if you had a nice ocean view from home. Condo was very clean and is really well maintained. Condo complex is very secure with the use of an elevator key. Owners were especially nice and called the first night to make sure everything was ok. Communication with owners prior to our stay and during our stay couldn't have been better. Condo has nice views with Geckos right on the lanai.

Per prior reviews, they are rebuilding the church behind the condo. When finished it will block a small amount of the view, but I think probably only the view of bubba gumps; I don't think it will end up blocking the ocean views at all. You will be awake when they start working at 7:00 am (no chance of sleeping through the noise) Monday - Friday. Remember though, with the 3 hour or more time change and the plane flight messing with your internal clock, you probably won't be sleeping much past this time anyway. It was a little annoying, but not that big of deal to get up and moving (We didn't want to sleep away our vacation days anyhow).

We didn't use the pool much, the water was a little cooler than expected, but it was nice and you will likely be all alone in that area. The pool area doesn't get a bunch of sun, but it was so warm out that it was actually nice to have the shade.

The only small thing that I could nit pick at, and I knew before renting the condo, is that the condo (I think all of the condos in the complex) does not have a washer and dryer. Not a huge deal as there is a secure area in the complex with coin operated washer and dryers on the first level. We actually got to meet some of the tenants of the building while doing laundry and they were very friendly.

Hint for runners or those wanting to walk a little, there is a great 3/4 mile running path about 5 minutes drive to the old airport. It has a 3/4 mile outside path and a shorter route that runs more through the middle. Very nice running and walking path that is maintained as a habitat type area.

All in all it was a great stay and I would recommend this condo to anyone looking to stay in the Kailua-Kona area.
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanview Downtown Kailua-Kona. summer/fall $475. week
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385960vb
541-4304357
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
1

D. Harvey

  • 1 of 5
We were told by the owner that there was some construction on the front of the building. I google mapped it and the front of the building was on the street, so I assumed that there was driveway work or maybe some street paving. We were woken up 7:00 am the first morning by backhoes, loaders, dump trucks, cement trucks, crane, compressors and compactors that were building a 9 story steel Catholic Church right outside the balcony 50 ft with the view to the ocean. We had unbearable noise from 7:00am to 5:30 PM for 9 out of 10 days we were there. Could not have breakfast or lunch on balcony as the noise was too loud. The owner was very vague telling us about the construction. When I E-Mailed her she said she was sorry, basically blew me off.

In addition 60% of the view that is on the Website is taken away by the Church. This construction will probably go on until the end of the year. The view you currently see as of 2/5/14 will be 40% reduced.

The Smoke Detectors did not work. Rice Cooker was broken and the bathroom screen was filthy. The toilet did not flush and had to adjust it 2 times to work.

In addition the unit owner and the Condo Association did not promote recycling or any kind of Sustainability. All garbage went is a plastic bag and down a chute to the garbage room. In addition there was no conservation on water. The toilet was the original and was a 5 Gal. flush. No water restrictors on faucets or showers. All light bulbs were incadescent. TV was old flat screen. The brand was Westinghouse. Picture was poor. I don't think Westinghouse builds TVs any more.

The only positive we could give is that the location is excellent.

If we had been given the true story on construction, we would have stayed at another location in Kona.

THE OWNER NEEDS TO GET IN TO THE 21ST CENTURY WITH THEIR RENTAL. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PROPERTY TO STAY IN UNTIL THE CONSTRUCTION IS COMPLETED AND THE DEFICIENCIES HAVE BEEN TAKEN CARE OF
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First, please read my other reviews. This guest did not inform me about these matters until he had left. The guest was told about the construction before he booked the unit. The toilet is fixed and a new facet is installed The LED HD TV is 2 years old and is still under warranty, if there is a problem it will be fixed or replaced. The church is 2 stories, not 9 stories, also Kona has a building code of not building over 4 stories and the view photo will be the same. I do not appreciate being asked to refund money or give a discount for another week or this bad review will be posted. I will always work with guests, I want everyone to have a good experience staying in our condo.
business
Oceanview Downtown Kailua-Kona. summer/fall $475. week
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385960vb
541-4304357
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Keewatin, ON, Canada
5

Great Location - Awesome people to deal with

  • 5 of 5
We'd like to thank Claudia and Jim for use of their condo while we were in Kona. We rented this condo Feb. 9/2013 for two weeks. Claudia and Jim responded to our questions very quickly. Condo was very nice and we liked the fact it was close to elevator. Parking was close to the elevator as well which was great. Pictures show condo perfectly.
The location is great as we just stayed parked and walked to the downtown in the evening. There were beach towels, chairs and beach mats which we used and really appreciated. We left a boogie board behind in condo for others to use as we didn't get much time at the good spots for boogie boarding. This year we spent most of our beach time at Magic sands beach. The sand was mostly there all of our trip.
We'd also like to thank you (Claudia & Jim) for allowing us to stay a little longer than check out as our flights home were late in the evening.
We'll hopefully be back next year!
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review, better luck hunting next time, thanks for the boogie board!!
business
Oceanview Downtown Kailua-Kona. summer/fall $475. week
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385960vb
541-4304357
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Seattle
5

Excellent Place

  • 5 of 5
My boyfriend and I had an amazing time there. It is really close to the restaurant and shopping area. the unit is clean and has everything you need although it is not a brand new building. I highly recommend staying here. The price was really reasonable. I lost one of the keys while staying but the owner was kind enough not to charge anything for that. I will definitely come back whenever I visit Big Island.
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanview Downtown Kailua-Kona. summer/fall $475. week
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385960vb
541-4304357
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Boston
5

Best choice we made!

  • 5 of 5
The condo is in a very convenient location. ~5 min walking distance to farmer's market and ocean. This is the best choice we made because it is close to every thing on kona coast. Especially good for the first time visitors, since you probably would like to go different places. We usually go out to beach, or snorkeling place in the morning and come back to have a great shower, lunch and break. Then we go out for another place in the afternoon. In this way, we are very relaxed and didn't have too much sun exposure.

The condo is very well equipped to make a decent meal. In the total of 9 days, we ended up only had one lunch out in a restaurant. We fed us well, saved money, and most importantly we did not spend time on looking for a place to eat. In some places, it is not close to any where you could find a lunch.

The condo is maintained in a super condition. Claudia gave us a detailed instruction, so our check-in and out are straight forward. From balcony we could see ocean, and the main street along the ocean. We had so much time sitting in the balcony enjoy the view, having coffee and fruits.

We would still recommend you to rent a car. There are a lot of places to check out in the Island. Also, it is very inconvenient to go Target, or Walmart if you don't have a car. Finally, kayak to Captain Cook is the best ever experience for us. When we were in the middle of water, there were a group of Dolphins appeared and following us. Speechless moments!
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway

Map

Map

Photos

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Kailua Kona Condo Rental Rates

Notes

  • From $475-$675/wk
  • US Dollars
  • High Season - Dec 15 to April 15 - $675.00 weekly -
  • Low Season - April 16 - Dec 14 - $475.00 weekly
  • Iron Man - $110.00 per day, minimum 7 nights
  • Rates based on 2 guests, cleaning fee of $90.
  • Refundable security deposit of $200 required at time of booking
  • Final payment due 45 days from date of arrival
  • Rates do not include Hawaii State Tax of 13.25%,#W22412566-01
  • Email or call for monthly rates

Amenities

Amenities

Kailua Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Water View
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Elevator
  • Telephone ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Living Room
  • Broadband Access
Kitchen:
  • Stove
  • Microwave
  • Dishwasher
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Ice Maker
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Queen size Bed (1) new, with quality linens
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Games
  • Books
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Balcony ...
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • cinemas
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snorkeling/diving
  • kayaking
  • deepsea fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • jet skiing
  • hiking
  • parasailing
  • golf
  • fishing
  • cycling
  • tennis
Notes:
Beach towels, ice chest, beach mats, beach chairs, beach umbrella, assigned off street parking, hair dryer, guest parking

Other Vacation Properties

$668 - $1,598 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$665 - $770 per week
5 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$668 - $1,598 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 3