VINTAGE COTTAGE ON OTSEGO LAKE GOLF COURSE NEAR GLIMMERGLASS

Sophie Clarke

Speaks english, italian
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Sophie Clarke

Speaks english, italian
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

VINTAGE COTTAGE ON OTSEGO LAKE GOLF COURSE NEAR GLIMMERGLASS

Cooperstown Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8) near Cooperstown

At the head of Otsego Lake, a short drive away from the Dreams Park and all the museums and attractions of Cooperstown, enjoy this classic and exclusive location at a very affordable price.

Wifi, wide-screen Hi-def TV with premium cable, a great porch with large gas barbecue: enjoy this spacious home on a large private property with family or friends. It's stocked with books, games and more.

A master suite with queen bed, and a two-twin bedroom, each with an en-suite bathroom, and a double and a single bedroom with shared en-suite bathroom, additional cot available. Full eat-in-kitchen and enormous loft-like great room with dining area, fireplace, piano and several seating areas.

Uniquely located on the only private property within the grounds of the Otsego Golf Club. There is ample outdoor room for games, parking or heading out for a hike or nature walk. The north end of the lake is a natural, protected wetlands with a wide variety of birds and other wildlife. Or take advantage of the special discount offers for golfing packages for you and your group.

Double sliding doors open onto a view of Mount Wellington and the ninth green while a stone-paved porch wraps around two sides of the house which backs directly onto woods.

High ceilings and fans keep the house cool all summer, enjoying breezes coming up from the lake, and baseboard heat and radiators warm the house on cooler days. Air-conditioning window units in each bedroom added in 2013.

Available June 1 through the end of September. Please check our calendar for available dates.

Keywords: Phoenix cottage, weekly rentals, Cooperstown, Glimmerglass Opera, Dream Park, Baseball, Summer Holiday Rental, Golf, Otsego Lake, Self-catering holidays, cultural tourism

More Details
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Sophie Clarke

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2005
Speaks english, italian
Enter your email address to view the phone number

I am a garden designer in Spoleto Italy but I grew up on the property and went to school in Cooperstown. The beauty of the lake and hills here make it a natural garden.

Sophie Clarke purchased this cottage in 1920

The property has been in my family for several generations and has been used as both a summer holiday retreat and a year-round home. It is both a peaceful place to immerse oneself in nature as well as a stimulating cultural center.

Quiet days enjoying nature can be interspersed with world-class entertainment at the opera and visits to the fascinating museums of Cooperstown. And a stroll downhill brings you to the charms of the golf course, one of the 10 oldest in the US.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Vintage Cottage on Otsego Lake Golf Course Near Glimmerglass
average rating of 4.0 based on 2 reviews
business
Vintage Cottage on Otsego Lake Golf Course Near Glimmerglass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385846vbi
Cooperstown Central - Leatherstocking
5

VERY NICE!

  • 5 of 5
Great alternative to Cooperstown hotels. Beautiful lake side (short walk) setting.
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Doug, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We're so glad you enjoyed the setting and you and your friends could take advantage of all the great sights and activities in the area. We look forward to your return to the Cooperstown area in the future.
business
Vintage Cottage on Otsego Lake Golf Course Near Glimmerglass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385846vbi
Cooperstown Central - Leatherstocking
Alexandria, VA
3

NOT AS WE EXPECTED

  • 3 of 5
This cottage is lovely and charming in a very rustic way. The pictures don't really let you see just how rustic it is. We happened to be staying there over a few days that were in the mid-nineties and with no air conditioning it got quite hot. We also couldn't open the windows because there were no screens on them to keep the bugs out. We even had to close the screened barn door at night because we were getting a ton of moths and bugs coming in that were attracted to the light through the holes in the screen. Fortunately there were fans so we at least had that to cool us off at night. The other disappointing thing was we were under the impression that we would be able to walk to the lake from the house and jump in to go swimming or take the kayak out. When we walked to the area that was to be the "lake access" there was a big pile of manure that stunk horribly and the water was murky and full of weeds and algae - not a place one would want to jump in for a dip. I ended up getting a week pass at 3 mile point and my daughters and I went swimming there almost everyday which meant we had to get in the car and drive 4 miles or so to get there and it was often crowded. Very disappointing when we had expected to have a secluded close spot to swim and play. All that being said we did enjoy our time there once we changed our expectations of the place. The woods are full of wildlife and it was nice not to be on the road. My suggestion is for the owners to be very clear about the cottage not being air conditioned and/or easily ventilated and that lake access doesn't really exist.
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad your family enjoyed your visit; I do hope to provide a stay in a historic cottage within a tranquil natural setting on a golf course at a reasonable rate. I will check the damage to the door screens you mention, thank you for bringing the problem to my attention. While we do not have air conditioning we do have fans and there are screens on the windows. I urge guests to contact us if they experience problems; I would be glad to show you how to use the screens. Here are some comments by our guests earlier this summer:
Rev Thomas and Cathy C: This has been one of the best vacations we have ever had. We truly loved staying here. I know that there is a lot of history in this place and we feel like we have been a part of it.
B Family: We were instantly charmed as we opened the door and the charm lasted throughout our stay. Phoenix Cottage is the perfect place for a relaxed family gathering: spacious, unpretentious and welcoming. Well done. The place is delightful!
Bruce T: Thanks for everything. We all had a great time as usual, played a ton of golf and just relaxed. I will be in touch with you next year to rent the cottage.
The lake is a complex, living organism and conditions change from year to year and day to day. I think the unusually hot weather during your stay after the prolonged drought this year washed up water plants to the shoreline which may have seemed like fertilizer. I have moved the kayak to the river below the cottage which leads to the lake for a cleaner water access for now.
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
65 Miles
Albany International Airport
Nearest Train
34 Miles
Utica
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Glimmerglass State Park
Nearest Golf
100 Metres
Otsego Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Otsego Golf Club
Car: necessary

Glimmerglass Opera 1 mile (20-minute walk), Cooperstown Dreams Park 14 miles (22-minute drive), Cooperstown 9 miles (15-minute drive).

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Cooperstown Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
May 30 2014 - Aug 28 2014
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
$1,450
$5,500
 
 
Labor Day
Aug 29 2014 - Sep 1 2014
Changeover Day: Friday
4 night minimum stay
$300
$1,450
$5,400
 
 
Fall
Sep 2 2014 - Sep 30 2014
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,450
$5,400
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$300
$1,450
$5,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $49.00
Final house cleaning $100.00
50% of rental cost to confirm booking. Balance of rental, housecleaning fee and security deposit due 60 days prior to start of rental.
Tax Rate 4.0%
Notes Security deposit $150; returned within 7 days of end of rental period.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Cooperstown Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View
  • Golf Course Front
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Sports & Activities
  • Budget
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Parking Off Street
  • Internet ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking
  • Living Room ...
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Oven
  • Freezer
  • Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Pantry Items
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • One is en suite to two-twin bedroom #4, one is both en suite to queen bedroom #1 and opens to great room (two doors), one is en suite to both double #3 and single #2 bedrooms (two doors).
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single , wardrobe, dresser and shelves
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , closet, dressers
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , large closet and dressers, additional cot available
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (3), Folding Cot (1)
Entertainment:
  • Video Library
  • Television ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • winery tours
  • theme parks
  • restaurants
  • live theater
  • museums
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
  • antiquing
  • shopping
  • boating
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf privileges optional
  • sailing
  • water skiing
  • freshwater fishing
  • kayaking
  • hunting
  • cycling
  • golf
  • swimming
  • hiking
  • fishing
Notes:
We will reimburse your entry fees to Glimmerglass State Park for the supervised beach there whenever our own lakefront access is inaccessible due to low lake levels. Immediate tee times available at Otsego Golf Club, walk just 400 feet down the hill--very reasonable rates and special offers for our guests. Enjoy lunch on the Club porch with enchanting lake views.
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

$3,900 - $3,950 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$6,200 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 9
$3,500 - $7,000 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10