Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

VINTAGE COTTAGE ON OTSEGO LAKE GOLF COURSE NEAR GLIMMERGLASS

Sophie Clarke

Advertiser since: 2005
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, italian
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Sophie Clarke

Advertiser since: 2005
Speaks: english, italian
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

VINTAGE COTTAGE ON OTSEGO LAKE GOLF COURSE NEAR GLIMMERGLASS

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Cooperstown Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8) near Cooperstown

At the head of Otsego Lake, a short drive away from the Dreams Park and all the museums and attractions of Cooperstown, enjoy this classic and exclusive location at a very affordable price.

Wifi, wide-screen Hi-def TV with premium cable, a great porch with barbecue: enjoy this spacious home on a large private property with family or friends. It's stocked with books, games and more.

A master suite with queen bed, and a two-twin bedroom, each with an en-suite bathroom, and a double and a single bedroom with shared en-suite bathroom, additional cot available. Full eat-in-kitchen and enormous loft-like great room with dining area, fireplace, piano and several seating areas.

Uniquely located on the only private property within the grounds of the Otsego Golf Club. There is ample outdoor room for games, parking or heading out for a hike or nature walk. The north end of the lake is a natural, protected wetlands with a wide variety of birds and other wildlife. Or take advantage of offers for golfing packages for you and your group.

Double sliding doors open onto a view of Mount Wellington and the ninth green while a stone-paved porch wraps around two sides of the house which backs directly onto woods.

High ceilings and fans keep the house cool all summer, enjoying breezes coming up from the lake, and baseboard heat and radiators warm the bedrooms and bathrooms on cooler days. Air-conditioning window units in each bedroom added in 2013.

Available mid-May through mid-September. Please check our calendar for available dates. Our other home on the property, Houghton House, may also be available for Hall of Fame weekend and Opera season rentals, please ask if you would like more information.

Keywords: Phoenix cottage, weekly rentals, Cooperstown, Glimmerglass Opera, Dream Park, Baseball, Summer Holiday Rental, Golf, Otsego Lake, Self-catering holidays, cultural tourism

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Sophie Clarke (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2005
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, italian

About Sophie Clarke

I am a garden designer in Spoleto Italy but I grew up on the property and went to school in Cooperstown. The beauty of the lake and hills here make it a natural garden.

Sophie Clarke purchased this cottage in 1920

Why Sophie Clarke chose Cooperstown

The property has been in my family for several generations and has been used as both a summer holiday retreat and a year-round home. It is both a peaceful place to immerse oneself in nature as well as a stimulating cultural center.

What makes this cottage unique

Quiet days enjoying nature can be interspersed with world-class entertainment at the opera and visits to the fascinating museums of Cooperstown. And a stroll downhill brings you to the charms of the golf course, one of the 10 oldest in the US.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.3
based on 6 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Vintage Cottage on Otsego Lake Golf Course Near Glimmerglass
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 6 reviews
business
Vintage Cottage on Otsego Lake Golf Course Near Glimmerglass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385846vb
Cooperstown Central - Leatherstocking
Connecticut
5

Surprisingly spacious

  • 5 of 5
Surprisingly large 'cottage' in a very convenient location with lovely views. Potential problem of a very cold early fall night was remedied by the arrival of space heaters for all the bed rooms. No complaints from our Cooperstown bound wedding crew. Although we did not try, it looked as if canoe access to the lake would be difficult. However, for golf lovers, one of the country's oldest courses is just outside the door. A car is essential.
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
business
Vintage Cottage on Otsego Lake Golf Course Near Glimmerglass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385846vb
Cooperstown Central - Leatherstocking
-
5

Outstanding stay at Phoenix

  • 5 of 5
I can't say enough positive things about our stay at Phoenix cottage. We stayed there this summer for my son's trip with his baseball team to Cooperstown Dreams Park. From the moment we booked the cottage, all throughout our stay, and through departure, the owners were an absolute pleasure to deal with. Four of us dads and 3 younger siblings shared the cottage and there was plenty of room. It was a convenient 20 minute drive to CPD, and only 10 minutes to downtown Cooperstown. The kids canoed, swam in the lake, and played outside the cottage every day. The dads enjoyed cooking out every night and hanging on the covered back patio. Played golf a couple of times and really enjoyed the 9 hole classic layout. We will be back in 3 years time for my youngest son to experience CPD, and I KNOW WHERE I WILL STAY! Thank you Sophie and Hyde for sharing your home.
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're so happy to hear how much your group enjoyed your stay at the cottage. We do try to make sure all our guests can relax in comfort amidst this unique natural setting and have everything they need to unwind at the end of a day at the baseball fields, visiting museums or before an evening at the opera. We'll look forward to your return visit!
business
Vintage Cottage on Otsego Lake Golf Course Near Glimmerglass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385846vb
Cooperstown Central - Leatherstocking
Durham, North Carolina
4

WE LOVED PHOENIX COTTAGE

  • 4 of 5
If you're looking for central air and granite counters, don't stay here. If you want a wonderful piece of history surrounded by great scenery, people and coziness, this is the place. My grandson was playing at the Dream Park with some of us coming from California and some from North Carolina. We met up here and fell in love the the stories and the house. I had a personal crisis so ended up meeting more of the locals than usual. Everyone was wonderful and A.R. was such a help and so very kind. He installed a wheelchair ramp and bathroom grab bar which we had to have. I have very warm feelings for the cottage,the lake and the folks around it.
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the cottage. Yes, it is certainly best enjoyed by guests who will appreciate the peace, beauty and very special history of this spot. We do hope you will be able to return some day and in the meanwhile send our warmest wishes to you and your family.
business
Vintage Cottage on Otsego Lake Golf Course Near Glimmerglass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385846vb
Cooperstown Central - Leatherstocking
4

We'd stay there again!

We'd stay there again!
  • 4 of 5
My family visited Cooperstown this Summer. Our son played ball at the Dreams Park. Perfect location. We were about 20 minutes away. Perfect location from town, the Baseball Hall of Fame museum, and the Dreams Park. The house suited our needs perfectly. It is vintage, and very spacious. The views from the house are beautiful. The flowers, the golf course, the lake, etc. All such a wonderful sight! It reminded me of my great-grandmother's house. Brought back great memories. We would definitely stay there again. It was clean, only one television in the main room; but we didn't watch much tv anyway. It has a great porch too! The weather is so great there that you can open the barn doors, and leave the screen closed. Barely needed A/C while we were there. We actually needed heaters at night. This is a precious heirloom, and we appreciated it's historical location and accommodations. Owner addressed any concerns we had, as well.
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, we're so glad to know you enjoyed your stay at our classic cottage. The great-grandmother reference is perfect as ours did indeed build this summer house and we try to maintain that spirit of a traditional old family holiday retreat. We have added the air-conditioners in the bedrooms but you are quite right that they are rarely needed as the Cooperstown area enjoys quite a cool and breezy summer. We think the attraction of our region lies in maintaining that old-time feeling of relaxed family gatherings in a beautiful natural setting--far from the bustle of most families' busy work and school lives and in contact with history and nature. We hope to see you and your family back here whenever you can get away for another vacation!
business
Vintage Cottage on Otsego Lake Golf Course Near Glimmerglass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385846vb
Cooperstown Central - Leatherstocking
5

Very nice!

  • 5 of 5
Great alternative to Cooperstown hotels. Beautiful lake side (short walk) setting.
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Doug, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We're so glad you enjoyed the setting and you and your friends could take advantage of all the great sights and activities in the area. We look forward to your return to the Cooperstown area in the future.
business
Vintage Cottage on Otsego Lake Golf Course Near Glimmerglass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385846vb
Cooperstown Central - Leatherstocking
Alexandria, VA
3

Not as we expected

  • 3 of 5
This cottage is lovely and charming in a very rustic way. The pictures don't really let you see just how rustic it is. We happened to be staying there over a few days that were in the mid-nineties and with no air conditioning it got quite hot. We also couldn't open the windows because there were no screens on them to keep the bugs out. We even had to close the screened barn door at night because we were getting a ton of moths and bugs coming in that were attracted to the light through the holes in the screen. Fortunately there were fans so we at least had that to cool us off at night. The other disappointing thing was we were under the impression that we would be able to walk to the lake from the house and jump in to go swimming or take the kayak out. When we walked to the area that was to be the "lake access" there was a big pile of manure that stunk horribly and the water was murky and full of weeds and algae - not a place one would want to jump in for a dip. I ended up getting a week pass at 3 mile point and my daughters and I went swimming there almost everyday which meant we had to get in the car and drive 4 miles or so to get there and it was often crowded. Very disappointing when we had expected to have a secluded close spot to swim and play. All that being said we did enjoy our time there once we changed our expectations of the place. The woods are full of wildlife and it was nice not to be on the road. My suggestion is for the owners to be very clear about the cottage not being air conditioned and/or easily ventilated and that lake access doesn't really exist.
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad your family enjoyed your visit; I do hope to provide a stay in a historic cottage within a tranquil natural setting on a golf course at a reasonable rate. I will check the damage to the door screens you mention, thank you for bringing the problem to my attention. While we do not have air conditioning we do have fans and there are screens on the windows. I urge guests to contact us if they experience problems; I would be glad to show you how to use the screens. Here are some comments by our guests earlier this summer:
Rev Thomas and Cathy C: This has been one of the best vacations we have ever had. We truly loved staying here. I know that there is a lot of history in this place and we feel like we have been a part of it.
B Family: We were instantly charmed as we opened the door and the charm lasted throughout our stay. Phoenix Cottage is the perfect place for a relaxed family gathering: spacious, unpretentious and welcoming. Well done. The place is delightful!
Bruce T: Thanks for everything. We all had a great time as usual, played a ton of golf and just relaxed. I will be in touch with you next year to rent the cottage.
The lake is a complex, living organism and conditions change from year to year and day to day. I think the unusually hot weather during your stay after the prolonged drought this year washed up water plants to the shoreline which may have seemed like fertilizer. I have moved the kayak to the river below the cottage which leads to the lake for a cleaner water access for now.

Map

Portabello's
Brewery OMMEGANG
National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum
Hyde Hall
"This historic home at Glimmerglass State Park is an easy bike ride, a healthy hike or a shor..."
Lake Otsego Boat Tours
Blue Mingo Grill
"Dine on the Lake and enjoy local and international cuisine. http://bluemingogrill.com/"
Alex Ika Restaurant
"Main Street in Cooperstown"
Glimmerglass Opera
"http://www.glimmerglass.org/ World class opera and cultural events"
Otsego Golf Club
"www.otsegogolf.com/ A historic 9-hole public golf course open daily with cart rentals and b..."
Erie Canal Cruises Inc.
"You don't need a mule to tour the historic Erie Canal"
The Farmers' Museum
"Great fun for the whole family! A recreation of a village featuring historic buildings and a..."
Fenimore Art Museum
"An excellent small museum of historic and contemporary American art with regularly changing ..."
Cooperstown Theater
Leatherstocking Theatre
http://www.cooperstowntheatrefestival.org/
"http://www.smithyarts.org/glimmer-globe-theatre"
Glimmerglass State Park
"Our recommendation for carefree swimming in Otsego Lake--supervised beach, baths, ample park..."
Nearest Airport
65 Miles
Albany International Airport
Nearest Golf
100 Metres
Otsego Golf Club
Nearest Train
34 Miles
Utica
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Otsego Golf Club
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Glimmerglass State Park
Car: necessary

Glimmerglass Opera 1 mile (20-minute walk), Cooperstown Dreams Park 14 miles (22-minute drive), Cooperstown 9 miles (15-minute drive).

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $229 Per night

Cooperstown Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
early Summer 2015
May 29 2015 - Jul 23 2015
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
$1,600
$6,000
 
 
Hall of Fame
Jul 24 2015 - Jul 30 2015
Changeover Day: Friday
2 night minimum stay
$1,500
$3,000
$6,000
 
 
late Summer 2015
Jul 31 2015 - Aug 27 2015
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
$1,600
$6,000
 
 
Fall 2015
Aug 28 2015 - Sep 30 2015
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
$5,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$300
$1,450
$5,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Final Housecleaning $100
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 4.0%
Notes Security deposit $200; returned within 7 days of end of rental period.
50% of rental cost to confirm booking. Balance of rental, housecleaning fee and security deposit due 60 days prior to start of rental.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Cooperstown Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Golf Course View
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • One is en suite to two-twin bedroom #4, one is both en suite to queen bedroom #1 and opens to great room (two doors), one is en suite to both double #3 and single #2 bedrooms (two doors).
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single , wardrobe, dresser and shelves
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , closet, dressers
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , large closet and dressers, additional cot available
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (3), Folding Cot (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
Immediate tee times available at Otsego Golf Club, walk just 400 feet down the hill--very reasonable rates and special offers for our guests. Enjoy lunch on the Club porch with enchanting lake views.

Other Vacation Properties

$3,500 - $4,200 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 9
$3,500 - $6,200 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 9
$2,950 - $3,950 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote