SERENDIPITY HOUSE, IN HISTORIC GULFPORT WATERFRONT DISTRICT!

cathy braun

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SERENDIPITY HOUSE, IN HISTORIC GULFPORT WATERFRONT DISTRICT!

Gulfport House Rental Photos and Description

Main House, 2 Bedrooms = 1.5 Bath, (Sleeps 3) and Guest House 1 BR 1 Bath

Serendipity House is a family compound....a stand alone property located in quaint, waterfront Gulfport. It is perfect for a family vacation with two separate homes on one lot with a warm pool inbetween. One car garage also included for guests. There is a yoga/workout room, which is available for guests to use. Three bicycles, a man's and 2 women's are available for guest use. There is a warm pool which is also available to enjoy soaking or exercising in, heated to 98 degrees. Far Infrared Heat Sauna suitable for two people is also located on the patio and can be used by guests. Please check with the owner!

This two bedroom, 1.5 bath main house includes a roomy living area with full kitchen and dining area. Fridge can be stocked with items of your choice from your own shopping list, as well as the 1 bedroom, 1 bath guesthouse which can accommodate four, or possibly 5, with 1 real bed and 1 fold down double futon and 1 fold down single futon in the living area. Full kitchen and bath in both homes....outdoor shower too!

If you desire a Bed and Breakfast type of appointment or any other special arrangement, just call me and we will discuss! Airport pickup can also be arranged if you just want a retreat and do not wish to rent a car.

Let me know your own personal requests and I will try to accommodate them!

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
cathy braun (Owner)
Advertiser since 2011
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About cathy braun

Originally from Washington, DC, I've worn many hats, and have lived on four continents. I moved to Florida after the last overseas destination and love the beautiful weather and friendly people that I have come to know here in the Tampa Bay area.

I am a therapist, certified in Bhakti massage, Watsu aquatic therapy, Qigong, Reiki energybody work, addiction recovery and support and recently certified in raw food nutritional healing. I practice at this studio address as well as travel nationally and internationally.

Guests booking accommodations at the Serendipity Guesthouse and The Sanctuary can avail themselves of these healing/spa modalities or be completely separate per their preference. Level of interaction with owner is totally open and optional.

cathy braun purchased this house in 2002

Why cathy braun chose Gulfport

I love living in Florida, it's like always being on vacation! I enjoy travel as well, and having Gulfport as a base is safe, easy and totally comfortable!

What makes this house unique

Being able to walk or bike to everything is such a gift for me in this age of driving to everywhere. Gulfport is walk/bicycle/golfcart friendly and there are many opportunities for exercise and outdoor fun. Gulfport beach offers sunbathing, swimming, kayaking, gatherings such as karoke and Bocci ball, the Gulfport Casino has a world class floating dance floor and offers ballroom, tango, swing and salsa classes every week for nominal fees. There are also artwalks, festivals and special events including movies, concerts, 5Ks, community theatre, etc.

People are very friendly and the 'feel' of Gulfport is one of accepting and eclectic, an all inclusive welcoming type of approach to lifestyle.

I love doing Tai Chi on the beach at sunrise, or walking under the moon at night....occasionally you will see a beautiful bird or a large manatee or dolphin gracing the waters of Boca Ciega Bay.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We loved the Serendipity House and the village of Gulfport! The Serendipity House is adorable and beautifully maintained. Exploring on bikes is the best way to see the village. We just dropped our son off at Stetson Law School and are looking forward to returning over the next 3 years. Thanks so much!
Aug 2012
  • 1 of 12

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4
based on 8 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Serendipity House, in Historic Gulfport Waterfront District!
average rating of 4.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Serendipity House, in Historic Gulfport Waterfront District!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385545vb
727.415.4229
Gulfport St Petersburg Area
2

Not Up To Par

  • 2 of 5
Our stay was not what we expected. The first day of our vacation was spent cleaning, (fridge and microwave had splattered food, cupboards had encrusted food, glasses in cupboard were dirty, stained carpets). Next we discovered that the kitchen was not equipped to make any meals (no toaster, pots and pans were rusted, no knives) the silverware that was provided bent when used. We had to go purchased items and fortunately we had a picnic set with dishes. The dining table was small and wobbly, as were the chairs (use at your own risk) There is no B.Q. and no place to sit outdoors so you must go elsewhere to enjoy the weather. We did not feel that we were welcomed and at times an inconvience, as the owner runs a business from the property below, we were told not to go down unless we asked in advance (for laundry etc.) we went to the laundromat. The bed was comfortable but if you have a chilly night be prepared to cover up with a moving blanket (very itchy) Will not be returning and would not recommend.
  • Submitted: May 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's always unfortunate when guests do not share their concerns with the host. Serendipity House is just in its second season, and is always continuing to upgrade its facilities as it can. The only question I was asked was "is there a toaster?" to which I answered no, but when I went to put one on the porch for the guests, I saw they had already purchased one, the empty box was sitting outside. Seems trivial I know, but had any other concerns been shared with me, I would have gladly taken care of them. Many people that stay there do not cook, preferring to walk to the restaurants that are all over town within walking distance. New items have been added, and those mentioned by these guests are already being addressed. I recall that my guests arrived while I was still cleaning, and there could have been some oversight in deference to allowing them to check in upon their early arrival. Interestingly enough, they didn't mention the fact that their mid sized dog was welcomed here where many vacation rentals do not accept pets. There must have been some bad feelings upon leaving, because the place required two people four hours to clean up after these guests left, no exaggeration. Appreciate the review and also appreciate these guests enjoying another location next year!

Update to my response. Just finishing installing new dining table and chairs, seating for four people, complete Wolfgang Puck cookware set, deep cleaning now that the season is quieter, new bedside tables and lamps.
business
Serendipity House, in Historic Gulfport Waterfront District!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385545vb
727.415.4229
Gulfport St Petersburg Area
Chattanooga, TN
5

We Will Be Back!

  • 5 of 5
So very peaceful and quiet especially the cool and pleasant morning hours. Very well laid out.
  • Submitted: May 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: thanks for the positive review! Any comments or recommendations are always welcome! Be happy to welcome you back anytime! thanks, Cathy
business
Serendipity House, in Historic Gulfport Waterfront District!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385545vb
727.415.4229
Gulfport St Petersburg Area
Washington
5

Fantastic Stay

  • 5 of 5
My mom, sister and I stayed here last week. After driving from the west coast, it was nice to settle in at Serendipity House. The place was clean, well kept and decorated nicely. Cathy was a wonderful hostess and made sure we had everything we needed. This will certainly be a place we would recommend and would stay at again when we return to the Gulfport/St Petersburg area. It is close to everything yet located in a quiet residential area.

Thank you, Cathy, for providing us a home away from home!
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to write this review! You, your sister and Mom were a pleasure to have here at Serendipity House. I look forward to a return visit whenever possible! Happy Trails!
business
Serendipity House, in Historic Gulfport Waterfront District!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385545vb
727.415.4229
Gulfport St Petersburg Area
Fort Myers, FL
5

Delightful Stay!

  • 5 of 5
Wow! What a wonderful stay at Serendipity House!. The accommodations were nicely renovated with larger space than a hotel suite. Towels were plush. Central air was wonderful. The second level was quiet. Owner was very accommodating of our little dog and very helpful with suggestions of happening events in town. Location is great... near to wonderful Gulfport restaurants, shops, including the great little bookstore, and near to Tampa Bay Rays baseball stadium and downtown St. Pete. We already have plans to return!
  • Submitted: May 25, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: thanks so much for the great review! Your family was fun to have here in Gulfport, you fit right in! Looking forward to seeing you back Labor Day weekend! Gecko Fest will be in full swing! You can find out what's happening in Gulfport by signing up online with The Gulfport Patch! Smiles, Cathy
business
Serendipity House, in Historic Gulfport Waterfront District!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385545vb
727.415.4229
Gulfport St Petersburg Area
Ft Lauderdale, FL USA
5

Unbelievably Peaceful

  • 5 of 5
Can't say enough good things about my stay at Cathy's place as my expectations were far exceeded. The unit is nicely renovated and couldn't be more comfortable and cozy. You can't beat the location. It's so close to sandy beaches and all the shops, restaurants and activities in Gulfport's business district but yet sufficiently apart from that area to enjoy quiet and relaxation. If you haven't been to Gulfport yet, you're in for a treat. It's a unique little community like nowhere else on earth.
  • Submitted: May 15, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much, Rick, for the generous and heartfelt review of Serendipity House! We are evolving here as the space is a new vacation rental, and reviews always help me to know what's working and what could be done to make it better! Happy Trails!
business
Serendipity House, in Historic Gulfport Waterfront District!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385545vb
727.415.4229
Gulfport St Petersburg Area
Florida
1

Glad To Be Gone!

  • 1 of 5
Please don't be swayed by the description of the property, the photo's, or owners helpfulness.
We have never felt as uncomfortable, and unwelcome in all the years we have travelled.

This property would be the very LAST recommendation to a friend or relative - perhaps, to an enemy!

And if the enemy has more than 2 people coming to this location, they will be outside, because it is
furnished with a broken futon, and one queen bed. I don't know how it can accommodate 4-6 people.
Save your money! Bring your own end tables/night stands/dressers, and enjoy the view!
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Interesting review! I waited on writing a response because I spoke to the guest who wrote this and at the end of our conversation she agreed to amend it due to misunderstandings. Since that has not happened, I decided to go ahead and respond to this review.

I spoke to my guests while they were here and they never had a negative comment or even a question about anything that needed service. I did raise a concern about their 50 pound black Lab dog that accompanied them that was left alone in the house. I was concerned that he was afraid and discontent because he barked and whined much of the time.
I feel I was more than gracious by overlooking the specifications for pets in allowing a large dog that had not been given advance approval. My site is pet friendly but does have specific details that I request be adhered to or given special permission. Anyhow, I sincerely believe the animosity that oozes from this review was generated solely from my concern for the dog and the fact that I brought it up with the guest.
She later acknowledged this was the case, that her feelings of discomfort stemmed from that interaction. The suggestions made in the review will be taken into consideration too, as we are new at this and learning, and sincerely want to make all our guests' stays enjoyable and memorable in a fabulous way!
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Ted Peter's Famous Smoked Fish
"Tourists and locals alike have enjoyed this eatery for many years! Only five minutes away ..."
Florida Orange Groves and Winery
Nearest Airport
19 Miles
Tampa International
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Ft. Desoto Park
Nearest Train
23 Miles
Tampa, Florida
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Interstate 275
Nearest Beach
5 Metres
Gulfport Beach
Nearest Barpub
5 Metres
O'Maddy's
Nearest Ski
4 Miles
St Pete Beach
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
St. Petersburg
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
many restaurants within walking distance
Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Gulfport House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
pricing
Apr 15 2014 - Oct 1 2014
2 night minimum stay
$112
$672
$3,390
 

Additional information about rental rates

extra person, per night $20 + Tax
Pet Fee $30
Tax Rate 12.0%
Notes extra person $20 per person, per night

Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Gulfport House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Spa
General:
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Internet ...
  • Telephone
  • Heating ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Kitchen ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Microwave ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • Queen size Beds (2) new queen bed with pillow top memory foam mattress pad, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Books ...
  • Toys ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • CD Player
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
Suitability:
  • pets considered ...
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • live theater
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
  • health/beauty spa
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • horseback riding
  • shuffleboard
  • horseshoes
  • shelling
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snorkeling/diving
  • kayaking
  • water skiing
  • jet skiing
  • golf
  • basketball court
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
  • fishing
  • sailing
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • deepsea fishing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$600 - $800 per week
3 - 28 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 5