OCEANFRONT PENTHOUSE APT, FABULOUS VIEWS, MINUTES FROM PANAMA CITY (PANAMA)

From
$135
Enter dates to see total
Email Owner Email

Marilyn Johnson

Speaks english, some Spanish, but not good on the telephone
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms3
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

OCEANFRONT PENTHOUSE APT, FABULOUS VIEWS, MINUTES FROM PANAMA CITY (PANAMA)

Panama City Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Sit on our beautiful patio by the pool and watch the sun sparkle on the ocean as the many sea birds fly by directly in front of our house.

THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU if you want to stay by the beach but don't want to be over an hour drive from the shopping and restaurants of Panama City

Our apt is over 2000sq ft, 2 bdrms with attached baths, panoramic ocean views, laundry, full kitchen, pool on the ocean

****************************************************Price for a party of more than 2 people is just $25 more per person/per night

*****************************************************

Enjoy drinks by the pool or go to one of the open-air beach restaurants at sunset. Swim in the Pacific Ocean and enjoy the quiet country atmosphere just 15 min. form the canal and 30 from the middle of downtown Panama City, but away from the city noise

We're on the coast a few min. past the new Westin Resort Hotel and the Playa Bonita Resort. You know that they chose this location for a good reason; proximity to PC but away from the noise, and the beautiful ocean views.

The apt is on the top (3rd floor) or our house in Majagual, just through the little fishing town of Veracruz

Use this as your base if you want to explore farther down the coast and interior of the country but don't want to stay an hour from the city.

There are lots of TAXIS in Veracruz or we can arrange PRIVATE TRANSPORTATION AND TOURS if you prefer. We have lived here a long time so have great connections to arrange day trips, excursions to Indian villages, bird watching, canal trips, etc.

.................................................................................

ARRIVING LATE? Ask about our grocery shopping service

.................................................................................

We will offer much lower prices for long term rentals of at least 4 months, contact us for information if you are interested.

Weekly apt. cleaning

Keywords: oceanfront, panoramic views, beach, quiet, safe, large, pool, 2bdrm, 3 bath, condo, apartment, house,penthouse

More Details
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome

Marilyn Johnson

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2011
Speaks english, some Spanish, but not good on the telephone
Enter your email address to view the phone number

I am an artist and interior designer, now retired, from the US. My husband is a retired ins. broker. We enjoy living here on the ocean where we can go into PC for social occasions, movies , restaurants, etc. but be home in about 25 minutes to escape the noise and traffic.

Marilyn Johnson purchased this apartment in 2006

We have remodeled this house from a three unit apt to a house with this apt on the top floor. We looked at other beach locations but didn't want to be so far from Panama City. This location is perfect for us. We can hear the ocean at night, watch the sea birds during the day and we have a large yard full of tropical vegetation. We share all this and the pool with our guest

large spaces, quiet country location, just a short drive over the canal to the city of Panama. Very private yard and entrance so renters can have as much privacy as they desire, but are welcome to share our patio and pool area too.

Ask about our grocery shopping service, only $25.

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms3
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

19 Reviews Write a Review
Oceanfront Penthouse Apt, Fabulous Views, Minutes from Panama City (PANAMA)
average rating of 4.714286 based on 19 reviews
business
Oceanfront Penthouse Apt, Fabulous Views, Minutes from Panama City (PANAMA)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385409vbi
+1 925-289-4591
Panama City Panama
Santiago, Panama
5

Just what we needed

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This is our second time staying in Majagual with Marilyn and Jerry. We had business in Panama City but wanted to sleep in a quieter location. It is relaxing and super convenient to drive in and back out before rush hour traffic. I have to agree with the other reviewers that the place is even more spacious than it appears in the photos, and the view to the ocean is unbeatable. You certainly don't find that space anywhere else for this price.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We always enjoy it when people like our place enough to stay more than once. We hope to see you again.
Marilyn & Jerry
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront Penthouse Apt, Fabulous Views, Minutes from Panama City (PANAMA)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385409vbi
+1 925-289-4591
Panama City Panama
5

Paradise to Us

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
The weather was warm, but not too hot, the yard is full of tropical flowers and ends at the ocean, the pool is wonderful, the patio has comfortable lounges, Marilyn and Jerry were great hosts, and we relaxed and did some sightseeing. The apartment is well equipped, clean, well furnished, spacious, and has wonderful views of the ocean. It is very convenient to everything we wanted to visit. It was exactly what we had hoped it would be for this vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that we could help to make your stay in Panama everything thst you had hoped it would be.
business
Oceanfront Penthouse Apt, Fabulous Views, Minutes from Panama City (PANAMA)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385409vbi
+1 925-289-4591
Panama City Panama
5

Wonderful Relaxing Stay Off the Beaten Path

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My husband and I greatly enjoyed our stay at Casa De Las Olas in Veracruz. Marilyn and Jerry were the perfect hosts and their home is situated just outside of the small beach town of Veracruz. If you like a quiet spot from which to launch your explorations of central Panama this is the ideal spot. Close enough access to Panama City but without the hustle and bustle (and oppressive heat) of the city center. The penthouse flat is equipped with everything you need and nothing you don't. We found the delightful sea breezes far more pleasant than air-conditioning so we never turned it on. We also spent many hours lounging in and around the ocean-front salt water pool. You will likely enjoy your stay in Veracruz more if you rent a car, although there are many buses and taxis available for those who don't want to enhance their Panamanian experience by attempting to navigate the unique traffic patterns. All in all a wonderful experience!
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: We have met a lot of nice people while renting the apt on the top floor of our house, and we really enjoyed meeting you and John. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay here, and hope to see you here again some time
business
Oceanfront Penthouse Apt, Fabulous Views, Minutes from Panama City (PANAMA)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385409vbi
+1 925-289-4591
Panama City Panama
Richmond
5

Perfect for us

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We are so glad that we chose this apartment in the country instead of staying in noisy Panama City. The ocean was close enough to hear the surf, walk out the back gate to the water, eat at the Veracruz beach restaurants, but get into the city in a short time.

We didn't rent a car because we were only staying a short time, but for a longer stay and more long distance touring we might do that. It was easy and inexpensive to get a taxi from the apartment. The ride to the beach restaurants averaged about $2, depending on if we called a taxi or caught one at the corner. We used a very good English speaking driver who was recommended by Marilyn for touring to Gamboa, the canal, and into Panama City for dinner.
The apartment is LARGE open, well equipped and the views to the ocean are wonderful. The pool area right on the ocean is so beautiful and relaxing, and Marilyn & Jerry are great hosts. We recommend this place highly
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are always happy when our guests enjoy their stay in our apartment on the ocean and leave a nice review. We find that since the apt. is on the top our house, and we don't have to depend on a property manager, we not only get to meet everyone but can also respond to the needs of our guests more easily. We enjoyed meeting you and we're glad that we could help you find an English speaking driver for your excursions.
I hope that your children liked the shells that you picked up on the beach area behind our house, and that you visit us next time you come to Panama
business
Oceanfront Penthouse Apt, Fabulous Views, Minutes from Panama City (PANAMA)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385409vbi
+1 925-289-4591
Panama City Panama
NM/USA
2

Not Paradise

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
After a 4-week intensive Spanish course in Colombia, we decided a 10-day stay at a nice beach house would be great. We stayed 4 nights but would have left earlier if there had not been Carnaval in Panama City. The house is very, very isolated and unless you have a car the taxis are expensive; i.e. US$35.00 to 50.00 one way into Panama City. The closest convenience store is a 15-minute walk. The closest restaurant is a 45-minute walk and it is not a nice walk. Veracruz is an extremely poor town, with litter and starving animals along the way. The apartment itself was big and the pool was nice. There was no access to the beach and I would not walk on the beach or swim in the gulf. We received our deposit back; however no other reimbursement for the remaining 6 nights.
Owner's Response: It is upsetting to get a bad review, but this one is not based on the accommodations we offer. It seems to be based on the expectations that Veracruz would be a small picturesque tourist village with shops and cafes nearby. Unfortunately, the country villages of Panama have not gotten to that point yet.

Since these renters assured us several times that there was nothing wrong with our accommodations and they were only leaving because they had made a mistake in renting in the country where it was too quiet for them, and they wanted to be in the city for awhile, and since we had turned away other renters for those booked dates, I assumed that they understood that they would not be getting a refund of their rent. And until this review, it was never mentioned by them.

We are directly on the ocean and there is no reason at all that they couldn't walk out to the ocean from our gate in the seawall, as most of our renters do several times.

We advertise the fact that we are in the country about 25 minutes from the center of Panama City and it is not for people who want the noise, hustle and bustle of the city. That is the appeal for most of our vacationers, but our house is far from isolated.

Most of our renters rent a car or hire taxis so I have never asked how long it takes to walk to the beach restaurants. The taxis in Veracruz are not expensive. I have learned from many former guests that the 10 min taxi ride to the beach restaurants from our house is anywhere from $1-$4, and the 25 min drive into Panama City is about $15. We know from our own experience that a taxi ride all the way to Tocumen International Airport (45 -60 minute drive from our house) is $50.

Veracruz is a small Latin town full of working class people and yes, there is a litter problem in all of Panama, including Veracruz. It is something that I wish the Panamanians would address, but they have not yet.
If you want a noisy, busy city, do not stay here. If you want a large apt with pool area on the ocean then this is for you. We deliver what we advertise and we are happy to answer any questions about the area so that you now what you're getting before you book
Helpful votes: 1/3
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
open air beach restaurants

there is a nice long beach with open-air beach restaurants nearby

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Panama City Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Minimum Stay
 
My Standard Rate
$135
$840
$2,200
4 nights
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $400.00
Notes Price for parties of more than 2 people staying 7 nights or more is just $20 more per person/per night

Ask us about the lower rates for groups of 3 or 4 staying 28 nights or more and

LOWER RATES FOR LONG TERM STAYS OF over 2 months




absolutely no smoking and no pets

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Panama City Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 3
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Family
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
Kitchen:
  • Pantry Items
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Music Library
  • Video Library
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Golf ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • non smoking only ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • health/beauty spa
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
  • beachcombing
  • shelling
  • shopping
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
  • golf
Notes:
Complete privacy, very spacious rooms, ocean breezes, ocean views. Ample room for two couples without being crowded We provide a cell phone, brand new central air conditioning, DVD player for your use
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

$152 per night
5 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • Sleeps 5
$849 - $933 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 5
$849 - $933 per week
5 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4