Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

SUMMER LAKE CABIN IN THE TREES

Owner

Advertiser since 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english
Sleeps16
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Owner
Advertiser since 2011
Speaks english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SUMMER LAKE CABIN IN THE TREES

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Overview

Park Rapids House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 12-14)

BECAUSE THE 4TH OF JULY IN 2015 FALLS ON A

SATURDAY.....OUR WEEKS WILL GO FROM

SUNDAY TO SUNDAY!!

LOVELY CABIN ON LONG LAKE, THE LOON CAPITAL of MINNESOTA. ONLY FULL WEEKS BOOKINGS IN JUNE, JULY AND AUGUST. 3 DAY MINIMUM IN OFF SEASON,

SEPT THRU MAY.

Fall asleep to the many calls of the famous loon.

Relax and enjoy all of mother natures beauty.....tall white pines, birch and a deep, clean, 2000 acre lake in northern Minnesota.

This is a cabin, and was built in the 60's, but has been completely refurbished, and this year, we put in NEW bathrooms! We also want you to know, that the cabin sits in an ASSOCIATION, with each cabin belonging to owners who are professional people, who do not have an issue with us renting. There is at least 150 Ft. between each home. We have 2 beaches, plenty of room for all. PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU UNDERSTAND THAT YOU WILL NOT HAVE COMPLETE PRIVACY, BUT IT HAS NEVER BEEN AN ISSUE EXCEPT FOR ONE PARTY IN

5 YEARS. ALSO BE AWARE THERE ARE 13 STEPS UP TO

THE LIVING QUARTERS WHICH ARE ALL ON ONE FLOOR!

Long Lake is one of the most prestigious lakes in the area, located just 3 miles from the unique little town of Park Rapids, MN Our town has a new look, finished the spring of 2011.

The home is set back 150 Ft. but has a great unobstructed view of the lake with easy access. The beach area includes a shallow lake area for small children, with sandy shore and bottom. Hydro-bikes, canoe and 24 Ft. Rave available free of charge. A 16 Ft. pontoon available for rental.

Modern playground near by. NEW horseshoe pit and

Shuffle Board

The house/cabin is modern, comfortable and perfect for 10 to 14 persons. 5 bedroom, 3 private, two have a queen bed and the 3rd has a full bed, and 2 dorm style bedrooms with 2 single and 1 full each. Each bedroom also has a private sink , lots of storage, new bedding and carpet. Two full baths with new fixtures and tile.

The full kitchen has all the appliances. The refrigerator, stove and microwave are all new in 2014!

Lots of small appliances, pots & pans and dinnerware.

The living room is tastefully decorated with NEW Mission furniture, large & comfortable, a stone gas fireplace, 2 ceiling fans, lg. screened TV with cable. A 3 season screened in porch looks over the lake, perfect for small children to romp, a great place for Mom to read a book.

Close to the unique little northern town of Park Rapids, MN, known for it's 'middle of the street parking!! Darling shops of all kinds, lots of deli's, and old fashion ice cream store, a candy store that makes their own candy, 2 newly renovated movie theaters, 2 book stores, antique and second hand stores and much more. Within walking distance of a museum, library, 2 grocery stores, tennis courts, and a river park. Surrounding area, includes the famous 'Summer Hill Farm' shopping and lunch mecca, Evergreen amusment park, 5 super golf courses, many great resturants, including a popular Mexican, pasta, and 2 German resturants with authentic German food, drive-ins, and casino with in 27 miles, in Walker, which is also a cute northern town with much to do, and the casino, Norhern Lights.

Park Rapids also has a wonderful hospital and clinic, something nice to know!

We only accept payments of a money order. cash or check.

For more information about Park Rapids, free of charge, call our

Chamber of Commerce...800-247-0054 and a free Park Rapids area vacation guide will be sent to you.

Keywords: Tastefully decorated, roomy, very clean, screened in porch, deck & good gas grill, close to lake, beautiful sandy beach, dock use, air, cable TV, dishwasher, complete, new appliances in the kitchen.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Owner
Advertiser since 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About The Owner

We have lived in this area for 23 yrs. and love it! We are newly retired and love to golf, travel and visit our grandchildren. We have owned a resort and are people and animal friendly! We live 100 Ft. from the rental and would be available for any problems or issues you may have.

We also take great pride in the cleaniness of the cabin and grounds.

Diane and Tom

The Owner purchased this house in 1991

Why The Owner chose Park Rapids

This is a wonderful northern Minnesota town and area and the envy of many.....after all, doesn't everyone want to live near water???

What makes this house unique

We have two beach areas....very sandy, no moss, no rocks or reeds..... with plenty of chairs also a fire ring with free wood close to cabin.

This coming year of 2015, we are enlarging our

outside deck to twice the size....with layers on

the deck and less steps and 'A RAMP' for easier entry to the cabin for those who need a

little help. We are always thinking about making

visiting at the lake a more pleasant experience!

Why HomeAway

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.4
based on 5 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Summer Lake Cabin in the Trees
average rating of 4.4 based on 5 reviews
business
Summer Lake Cabin in the Trees
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384747vb
-218-252-4665
Park Rapids Minnesota
Northfield, MN
5

Great Place to Relax

  • 5 of 5
We had a wonderful time here. Tom and Diane are excellent hosts. We had older families and families with younger kids. There was something for all to do, fishing, swimming, water toys, close to golf courses, trails (walking and biking) and if needed head to town. We enjoyed our nightly family gathering around the fire. We had relatives joining us from Minnesota, North Dakota and Montana - everyone had an excellent time.
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Summer Lake Cabin in the Trees
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384747vb
-218-252-4665
Park Rapids Minnesota
Savage, MN
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
My entire family started coming to Edgewood Resort 20 years ago. We continued that tradition for 13 years in a row (my wife and I even had our honeymoon there). This year, after a few year hiatus, we found ourselves back at Edgewood and staying in the very same cabin we started in. Since that time, the cabin interior has been completely gutted and remodeled. The living area is open and spacious, adorned in "up North" cabin decor. The living room and kitchen/dining areas are large enough for bigger groups and offer plenty of seating options. During the week our group ranged from 12-14 and we did not feel crowded at all. We found the kitchen was adequately equipped with all of the essentials...and we cook a lot as a family on vacation.

The five bedrooms all have plenty of storage and each has a sink, which is very nice. The beds are comfortable enough for a good night's sleep and the bedding was clean and soft. Plenty of extra blankets as well.

While this cabin is located on a resort association property, it was very quiet and privacy was not an issue for us. The view from the screenportch and deck is great. You do feel like you are up in the trees as you view Long Lake from above. The very close play ground, sandy beach, weedless clear clean water and Rave are icing on the cake!

Tom and Diane are very gracious hosts and will bend over backwards to ensure you have a great stay. They offer a wealth of knowledge about the Park Rapids area. If you need advice on site-seeing, entertainment, golfing, shopping or dinning they will point you in the right direction.

If you are considering this cabin for your next family vacation, I highly recommend it. You will not be disappointed.

Tom and Diane...thanks for a great week and it was wonderful to see you both again!
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Keith, Kathy and all, we were so pleased to have your great family back in our friendly "compound". You were perfect guests! And thanks for leaving the cabin extra clean!! My crew loves it!
It was fun to meet the new grandchildren, so cute. Hope to see you again in the future!! Your review was much appreciated!
business
Summer Lake Cabin in the Trees
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384747vb
-218-252-4665
Park Rapids Minnesota
aitkin, MN
5

Wonderful Vacation Rental!

  • 5 of 5
This vacation rental exceeded our expectations! The clean and spacious cabin had beautiful Northwoods features and furnishings! Tom and Diane were very accommodating and gracious hosts with a great knowledge of the area and recommendations for various activities like shopping, golfing and great places to eat! I can't believe such a small, quaint Northern resort town has such great restaurants and shopping nearby! Our kids loved the sandy beach and free water bikes and RAVE. At night, we went for a fun walk on the little forest paths through the woods with cute trail markers-very unique! I like to run in the morning and there is a excellent blacktop road that circles around with no traffic and no big dogs! We went into town in the morning-lots of cute cafes to get coffee or breakfast. Then we would come back and enjoy our breakfast on the spacious porch and watch the activity and enjoy the huge mature trees and beach view. We have 4 children and the bedrooms with the extra sinks and open storage for clothes is so handy and helps with getting ready. The new bathrooms are beautiful and the cabin is very well maintained. We have traveled all over the US and abroad and have not enjoyed a more peaceful, family vacation anywhere else! I felt like I really got to enjoy my family, no hassles and such fun family activities like bike riding on the Heartland Trail, hiking in Itasca Park, and the cleanest, clearest sandy bottom lake I have ever been in, Long Lake! Thank you Tom and Diane, for the priceless memories!!!! We have already re-booked for next summer! Kris Adams and family
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Kristin: VRBO wants me to respond to your review of our family cabin, and I want you to know that we are so appreciated your kind discription of our rental and the wonderful area we live in, here in Northern Minnesota! Your family was so adorable and by the end of the week we felt like you were family!! We have always been in the lodging business one way or another, and love meeting and getting to know people! You made our week, and part of our family was here this year and the children had so much fun together.
Come back and know that you are very welcomed!!
Tom and Diane Guinn, on Long lake
business
Summer Lake Cabin in the Trees
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384747vb
-218-252-4665
Park Rapids Minnesota
Buxton, ND
5

great vacation in beautiful northern Minnesota

  • 5 of 5
Our family would like to thank you ,Tom & Diane, for a wonderful week in your cabin. The cabin was very clean and the furnishings were lovely. We really loved the screened in porch to enjoy our morning coffee and our late night talks, while the grandchildren slept. The kids so enjoyed the 24 ft rave and the hydro bikes. The sand on the beach was great for sand castle building, and the nature walk was fun!
The best part of the cabin for us, was the extra sinks in each bedroom and the cubby-hole open storage.
We plan to come back in the near future and we appreciated your hospitality. Thanks again, Sandra and Elroy Hedde
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Sandra and family,

Your positive review was so appreciated and needed at this time. You were the perfect guests and everyone looked like they were having a great time! We DO hope you come back!

Thanks SO much and "HI" to everyone from
Diane and Tom
business
Summer Lake Cabin in the Trees
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384747vb
-218-252-4665
Park Rapids Minnesota
Washington, DC
2

Not So Private Resort Cabin

  • 2 of 5
This is a cabin in the Edgewood Resort - it may be privately owned, but there is nothing private about it, surrounded by other cabins and other vacationers. My sister booked this property 7 months in advance of our family vacation, 7 adults, 2 yr old and 3 infants.

The red flags started when less than 2 weeks before our arrival the owner asked if we would be willing to give up 2 days of our pontoon rental because she had double booked it and the directions to the property given by the owner were incorrect. The VRBO posting stated a washer/dryer was available when my sister booked it, but when we arrived we were told to go into town to use a laundromat. If we had known in advance a washer/dryer was not available, we would not have booked the property – with 4 children under the age of 2 a lot of dirty clothes are generated. The owner acquiesced and allowed us to do a load of laundry per day only when she was done with her chores. Not ideal.

The kitchen lacked basics such as can opener, colander or a cookie sheet. The refrigerator was missing a shelf.

The bedrooms did include a sink and storage as advertised, but were so small it was difficult to set up a pack-n-play for the children. The beds were resting on wooden boards attached to the floor, making it impossible to make space for the baby beds. Two times my box spring/mattress fell off the wooden boards, which didn’t make for comfortable sleeping. The mattresses were VERY old and uncomfortable. The sheets were fine, but the pillows, blankets and comforters were as old as the mattresses.

There was very little open space inside the house – making it feel claustrophobic. The screened in porch would have been nice to use on a private property, but because there were always other people outside, it made it difficult to enjoy.

Finally, the owner had instructed another family to come and retrieve the pontoon key prior to our 12:00pm checkout. We had planned to get packed up and go on a final ride, but instead gave the other family the key at 9:30am since they were obviously anxious to use the boat as well.

Our family has traveled quite a bit and typically don’t have these types of issues with rentals. We won’t be returning or recommending others to stay here.
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: These people were nasty and demanding from the beginning. Our rental is an old cabin, but it has new furniture, is very clean in a bauatiful setting. No one else, and I had it bookingsfor 10 weeks straight, was unsatisfied and said it was wonderful experience.
Also, I have a policy that every extra person on the property. using the facilities, must pay $25 per day. They asked me two weeks before coming if they could have a birthday party for their mother. I very kindly agreed since they said it would be from 20 to 25 people.
That day, Sunday, more than 30 people came, using the sewer system, and all the other facilities. We did not say a thing about this and even bent over backwards to get them an extra grill to feed all these people.
The mother, who was not a pleasant person, at all, kept coming over to our house and demanded things. We got tired of her complaining and being rude. so we told Erin, one of the daughters, we only wanted to deal with her, no one else.
They were asked to check out between 9 and 10 am on that Sat., but they did not leave until almost noon, and athey had no right to use the pontoon on that day.
I also opened my private laundry in my home, for them so that they could wash many loads of clothes and I did not charge them a cent.
The pontoon was always at their disposal and, we did not charge them a cent for gas and they used at least $50 worth of gas.
I'm sure they are the kind of oeople who would not be satisfied even if they were at the Ritz Carlton. Other then this family, our summer has gone very very well, and we are very satified with VRBO.

Thank you very much, Diane and Tom Guinn

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Bemidji, MN
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Bogies Resturant & Bar
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Blueberry Pines or Headwaters CC
Nearest Train
45 Miles
Amtrack
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
34 or 71
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Dorset, a town with 4 eating establishments
Car: necessary

Walking path in 20 acresof woods behind cabin with cute signs the children enjoy, such as 'chipmunk crossing' and 'watch out for snakes' with fake snakes hanging in the trees.. We also have walking and jogging in the immediate area without busy traffic.

Photos

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Park Rapids House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$500
From
$500
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,625
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes Nightly rates per person is $50.00. This relates to groups of men or women, over the 10 person rate.

Amenities

Amenities

Park Rapids House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Lake View
  • Water View
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1) A portable bed baby bed can be borrowed from owner., Bunk Beds (1) Bedroom # and bedroom # 2, each have a bunk bed....upper single, bottom double and one other twin bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
40 Ft. screened in porch with lake view. Nice playground, close, new shuffleboard, horseshoe pit and tether ball. Sandy beach.

Other Vacation Properties

$1,500 - $2,300 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 14
$1,995 - $2,520 per week
4 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 13
$1,949 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 12

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote