Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

SECLUDED TWO STORY HOUSE IN A GATED, LAKESIDE COMMMUNITY

Owner

Advertiser since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Owner
Advertiser since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
November 25, 2014
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SECLUDED TWO STORY HOUSE IN A GATED, LAKESIDE COMMMUNITY

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Overview

Granbury Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Get away from it all at Contrary Creek Cottage, a secluded two story house in a gated, lakeside community just ten minutes from downtown Granbury or the lakeside beach. Surrounded by trees on a quiet cul-de-sac, the cottage has a beautiful, serene view of the water. It's perfect for a romantic getaway or a relaxing overnight with the family at the lake.The community marina, boat ramp, and café are nearby. Dine on site in the fully equipped kitchen or experience Granbury’s fine restaurants, just minutes away. Relax on the front porch or in the Hot Tub and listen to the birds or watch the ducks swimming in the nearby creek. Located right outside of the city, you can do what your heart desires. From hiking, mountain biking, swimming, shopping, golfing, or just reading and relaxing, there are endless possibilities! Come enjoy Granbury, the lake, and the solitude of Contrary Creek Cottage.

Keywords: lake house, quiet retreat

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Owner
Advertiser since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Four 65+ women friends on a 3-day girls' getaway to Granbury. Perfect location, quiet area of town and even though the creek was quite low, its area kept us isolated from noise and traffic. The back yard was lovely. We didn't use the hot tub, but the stockade-fenced back yard would keep all quite private. The owner made sure we were well stocked with breakfast goodies and checked in with us as we arrived. The whole place was so very comfortable. We especially liked the sun room in the back which served as my prayer place early in the am and our coffee get together place after the others joined me one by one. Close enough to town to be convenient, but far enough away to be wonderfully quiet. We'll be back!
Feb 2013
  • 1 of 11

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.6
based on 8 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Secluded Two Story House in a Gated, Lakeside Commmunity
average rating of 4.625 based on 19 reviews
business
Secluded Two Story House in a Gated, Lakeside Commmunity
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384474vb
-+ 8179196290
Granbury Texas Lakes
Houston, TX
5

Quiet, clean, roomy home located in the middle of all the nearby fun

  • 5 of 5
Wanting to stay away from lodging in a hotel for 3 nights with 5 kids ages 7 and under, we looked into booking a rental home for the first time. We booked here and couldn't have been happier with the experience.

This home was located smack dab in the middle of all our activities; take a left after leaving the gated subdivision and your minutes from Dinosaur World, Dinosaur Valley State Park and Fossil Rim Wildlife Center (better than Natural Bridge Wildlife), or take a right and visit the nearby beach and playground -- both free and very clean. (Note: this seems the appropriate spot to tell those reading to eat at Babe's near the park on the town square. It's a country-style restaurant with more than enough of any kind of chicken you prefer and unlimited sides. Mmm)

This home was more than spacious enough to accommodate our crew, and not having to worry about traffic because of it being located on a cul de sac with only one other house gave us a bit more peace of mind. Also, the house comes fully equipped to handle anything I could think of, from extra linens to ample kitchen supplies.

Cindy was more than helpful and made our experience as smooth as could be. Oh, and the muffins she gave us were devoured. Thanks again for those.

Bottom line: Cindy is amazing to work with, it's impossible not to enjoy the house, there are many inexpensive things to do in any direction, and Granbury has to be the cleanest, neatest small town we've visited.

We will look to hopefully making this a yearly stop.

One last note: we didn't use the hot tub, but she has a very relaxing setup on the back patio. Seemed perfect for cocktails at night and/or coffee in the morning.

Enjoy!
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write out such a wonderful review! It makes us so happy when we hear that people have had a great "get-away" and that special memories were made! So glad you enjoyed the cottage's features and location! You have a beautiful family, we would love to have you back any time! Thank you again for your thoughtfulness and for staying with Contrary Creek Cottage!
business
Secluded Two Story House in a Gated, Lakeside Commmunity
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384474vb
-+ 8179196290
Granbury Texas Lakes
United States
5

Quaint Cottage

  • 5 of 5
Cozy, clean and comfy ! Close to so many things to do in Granbury. Sitting on that great front porch and sipping wine and listening to sounds of nature! Very comfortable home and although we didn't use the hot tub - its in the back yard in a super spot!
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a peaceful, relaxing time at the cottage! We all work hard on all the details to make it a wonderful "get-away" for you! Our goal is to always please our guests and to be apart of creating happy memories! Thank you so much for staying with us, and we hope you will stay with us again!
business
Secluded Two Story House in a Gated, Lakeside Commmunity
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384474vb
-+ 8179196290
Granbury Texas Lakes
5

Just Relaxing!!

  • 5 of 5
We had such a great time, the kids loved it so much it was so relaxing the home was beautiful we have absolutely nothing to complain about this home everything is so nearby no problem at all:) cant wait to go back!
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a nice review! We so appreciate that! We enjoy hosting "getaways" for people, and our desire is always to create a memorable and relaxing time for folks! You were very sweet, and we loved having you! We were so happy to hear that you had a great time! Please come again! Thank you again for choosing Contrary Creek Cottage!
business
Secluded Two Story House in a Gated, Lakeside Commmunity
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384474vb
-+ 8179196290
Granbury Texas Lakes
Fairview, TX
5

Perfect for Peace & Quiet

Perfect for Peace & Quiet
  • 5 of 5
This was my second visit to Contrary Creek Cottage, the first one being an excellent two-night visit this past Spring with 3 other senior women friends. This time, I brought my 2 sisters from the East Coast and we stayed 3 nights. They were delighted the with charming interior decor...all maritime in every room. Well done and thoughtful decorations. The photos are accurate representations of the property...it's lovely! It's very comfortable and suitable for singles, couples or families or really anyone. The owners were just sprucing things up when we arrived this time. They have always been very communicative and helpful. All the appliances work well, the beds are comfortable, the baths are just right and we love the back patio over the creek, with or without water. The breakfast items provided were just right for a light breakfast prior to exploring Granbury and the surrounding territory. This was also my second time to see a play at the local theater, which I highly recommend. Very good acting from a small community theater. We are looking forward to seeing the plays performed in the soon- to-be-opened-after-renovation Granbury Opera House. Shopping is fun and I don't think there's a bad restaurant in town...and we've tried many of them.
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: You are an awesome guest, and we appreciate you so much! You have become a friend to us through you stays, and we thank you for your kind words! We love making our guests feel special, and preparing everything so that they have a wonderful get-away! Please come back anytime! We love having you! Thank you again for choosing Contrary Creek Cottage!
business
Secluded Two Story House in a Gated, Lakeside Commmunity
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384474vb
-+ 8179196290
Granbury Texas Lakes
Houston
5

Great Little Place!

  • 5 of 5
We had a wonderful stay at this sweet little cottage in a gated/guarded community! A really nice place to come back to after a day out in the hot sun. Nice and cool with a great 'hot' tub (we never heated the tub - it was over 100 degrees outside most days we were there) that we used to cool off in the evenings. Cindy and her husband were fabulous hosts and left us yummy muffins and orange juice for our breakfasts. The boys loved the house and the tub and even explored the creek that the house backs up to (even tho it was dry at the time we visited.) It was an easy walk/drive to the marina (in the neighborhood) where the boys tried out their fishing gear. Short drives to Dinosaur Valley, Fossil Rim, Glen Rose (and the really cool Rock Park they have), and downtown Granbury - where we ate and went to the public beach. Very fun vacation and wonderful place to stay! Thank you Cindy and Roy!
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded Two Story House in a Gated, Lakeside Commmunity
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384474vb
-+ 8179196290
Granbury Texas Lakes
Round Rock, TX
3

Nice House that needs some additions

  • 3 of 5
We had a nice stay in this cottage, but found out that there are homes that are actually on the like that are more reasonably priced. The cottage, was clean and nicely decorated. The kitchen is poorly stocked. There was one small. For a house that will sleep 6 to 8 a larger one would be helpful. There was no blender and very few utensils. A nice amenity was the breakfast foods that Cindy stocked in the kitchen.
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: We are glad you and your friends had a nice stay and found the Cottage clean and nicely decorated. As to the cost of the stay, I suppose there are always better deals to be had. While it is not our attempt to be the low cost leader in the industry ( we’ll leave that to Motel 6) I believe when all things are taken into consideration (rates, fees, etc.) we are among the lower priced options available in the area. Our goal is to provide a great place to stay at a fair price. Our rates and fees are listed for everyone to check out before booking the Cottage. We have done our best to show what we have to offer through the various pictures and lists of amenities and other perks. These can be seen on this listing as well as our personal website, www.contrarycreekcottage.com. The quiet solitude is very relaxing and refreshing, and it is our desire that everyone enjoys their time(s) here as much as we do. Also, we promise not to twist your arm and force you to choose us. We’re confident you will make that choice on you own.

As to the kitchen; it is fully "equipped" but not fully "stocked". You do need to provide your own food, seasonings, spices, etc. But all general cooking items (pots, pans, pizza pan, casserole dish, mixing bowls, measuring cups and spoons, coffee maker, mixer…) are provided. And if there is a special item you think you might need, let us know ahead of your stay and we will do our best to accommodate you.

There was not a blender (please check the list of kitchen appliances provided). No one had ever requested one or mentioned a desire to have one before this review. Again, please let us know ahead of your stay if something you desire is not listed and we will try and provide it for you.

Regarding the statement of only having a few utensils. I suppose that would be subjective. I’m sorry you didn’t feel there were enough. We have place settings of utensils for 12 as well as dishes, bowls, glasses and mugs, the normal serving and cooking utensils, and a good number of sharp knives. However, for our larger groups, after a couple of meals you will have to use the dishwasher. Dishwashing detergent is provided for your convenience.

We appreciate input from our guests, as to how we can improve our service and make your stay more enjoyable. Some suggestions are helpful and constructive, others are more subjective and less practical, but we always take them under advisement. Thank you for your support.

Map

Map

Photos

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rates & Availability

From $150 Per night

Granbury Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

processing fee $10
cleaning fee $65
hot tub (if requested) $30
Tax Rate 6.0%

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Amenities

Granbury Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Other Vacation Properties

$950 - $1,000 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$1,500 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$1,400 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 10

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote