ASPEN CONDO, 2 BEDROOM, SKI-IN SKI-OUT, MID CENTURY MODERN ON ASPEN MOUNTAIN

Ziska Childs

Speaks english, french
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

ASPEN CONDO, 2 BEDROOM, SKI-IN SKI-OUT, MID CENTURY MODERN ON ASPEN MOUNTAIN

Aspen Condo Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms, 1.5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

This is a TWO (2) Bedroom condo- a master bedroom with a queen bed and a loft bedroom with a queen bed which also converts to 2 twin beds. The maximum occupancy is Four (4) people.

Location location location!

You're footsteps away from the heart of downtown Aspen but you're right at the edge of Aspen Mountain in the tree tops. This spectacular top floor condo features 23' high Cathedral ceilings with a view of Aspen Mountain. You have a private balcony where you can enjoy a morning cup of coffee while watching the hummingbirds in the summer or the chickadees in the winter. A one block walk takes you to lift 1A or a quick ski down the forest trail gets you right to the Gondola. But the true value for this Condo is the *style*. The furnishings are Noguchi, Castiglioni, Saarinen (Knoll) and Venge finish furnishings. The luxury doesn't stop there, the queen size bed in the Master bedroom is a Stearns and Foster and the bedding is Egyptian cotton with a 300+ thread count.

You'll feel you've stepped back into Aspen's golden age of skiing with the best of the late 1950s early 1960s. I'm only sorry I can't offer you 1960's lift prices :-)

There are 3 flat screen TVs (one in the living area, one in the master bedroom and one in the loft). The true entertainment is right outside the window where you can watch the wildlife and the skiers.

Half a block away is the St. Regis with a Fitness Center- although you may prefer to take your exercise skiing or hiking right outside your door. You can walk down to Ruby Park and catch the bus to the our other 3 ski mountains, the Music Tent, Maroon Bells, or the Glenwood Hot Springs and Spa.

Did I mention value? This is a deluxe TWO (2) Bedroom condo- a master bedroom with a queen bed and a loft bedroom with a queen size bed (or 2 twins), spectacular views of Aspen Mountain, a full kitchen, private balcony, jacuzzi, heated pool and one block away from the lift 1A.

Please compare but please don't ask me for a discount.This is already 50-75% less than comparable properties. Nope, no last minute discounts either if it's not rented *I'm* going skiing .....

If you need a bigger unit please visit my other listing and consider combining the two units.

Disclaimers: This is a third floor unit and there is no elevator, it is a no pets non smoking rental, there is no childproofing in this unit, there is a maximum 4 person occupancy.

There is one parking permit provided for off street parking.

Daily maid service is provided upon request at an additional charge.

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Guestbook comments from the owner
We have enjoyed Aspen and your condo very much. The place itself is great, the location wonderful and so convenient.



Thank you for your hospitality.
Jul 2009
  • 1 of 1

Ziska Childs

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2009
Speaks english, french
Enter your email address to view the phone number

I'm a freelance Scenic Artist and Scene Designer working for the Entertainment industry.

Ziska Childs purchased this condo in 1968

I *love* Aspen and have from the first moment we visited in 1962. Aspen is a unique combination of International sophistication, Western individualism and spectacular natural beauty. This property has a whimsical daring of 1960's architecture while echoing the verticality of Aspen Mountain with cathedral ceilings and window walls.

The location is perfect for proximity to downtown and lift 1A while giving a sense of still being 'in the woods' away from it all.

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.2
based on 6 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Aspen Condo, 2 bedroom, Ski-in Ski-Out, Mid Century Modern on Aspen Mountain
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 6 reviews
business
Aspen Condo, 2 bedroom, Ski-in Ski-Out, Mid Century Modern on Aspen Mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384158
+1 970 948-0650
Aspen Northwest Colorado
5

perfect holiday!

  • 5 of 5
We stood one week in the apartment for a skiing holiday. It´s the perfect location in aspen. Only a few steps away from the gondola, restaurants and the shops. Also the bus stop for the other ski areas is very easy to reach. We had a rental car, but you don´t need it.
The apartment itself is also very nice. On one hand the apartment equipped with modern furniture but one the other hand the apartment is very cozy.
The kitchen is well equipped, we did not miss a thing.
The communication with Ziska was very good, we always got a prompt answer, if we had a question.
So if you want to stay in Aspen for a holiday, its we perfect place. We would definitely book the apartment again!!
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Aspen Condo, 2 bedroom, Ski-in Ski-Out, Mid Century Modern on Aspen Mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384158
+1 970 948-0650
Aspen Northwest Colorado
5

Loved the place!

  • 5 of 5
The condo is very well located, within walking distance of restaurants, mountains, shops, etc. the large and dramatic window make the condo bright and opens the view to the mountains. condo is well equipped with brand new kitchen appliances, coffeemaker and coffee, washer-dryer, flat screen TVs, lush towels and attractive furnishings. Owner is very attentive to guests' needs and free off-street parking. We couldn't have been happier with this Fifth Avenue condo, and we didn't get a chance to explore the hot tub.
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Aspen Condo, 2 bedroom, Ski-in Ski-Out, Mid Century Modern on Aspen Mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384158
+1 970 948-0650
Aspen Northwest Colorado
5

Ideal location, amenities and comforts

  • 5 of 5
We had a very enjoyable stay in the condo. Location is central to everything downtown. Condo has perfect layout with soaring windows and all the comforts of home, including gleaming new appliances and three flat screen TVs. Owner is very attentive to guest comforts and would recommend to friends without hesitation.
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Aspen Condo, 2 bedroom, Ski-in Ski-Out, Mid Century Modern on Aspen Mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384158
+1 970 948-0650
Aspen Northwest Colorado
4

Excellent Condo and Great Location

  • 4 of 5
Very nice condo with modern furniture and look, yet a taste of "Aspen" with the old wooden cabinets. We really enjoyed our stay, as we felt comfortable with luxuries in the condo (very clean, nice linens, pool, hot tub), yet was not overly done. Would definitely stay here again. Only reason I gave four stars instead of 5 is due to a little bit of layout of condo (sliding doors on master bedroom instead of "true" door, only shower required walking through master bed, loft was very "open" as far as sound). Otherwise, would have given 5 stars (would have liked to have given 4.5 stars here!).

Ziska was very easy to work with and very professional. Loked at a couple of places and this was not always the case. Trusted working with her and was more than happy when she came to meet us at the condo even though we arrived late (she even offered to help carry some of our stuff in).

Location is excellent and only about two blocks from Wagner Field and downtown. Location really topped it off for us, as you could walk to and from in only a matter of minutes. (Very close to skiing as well, though we came in summer/fall)

Loft bedroom is a bit "open", as can hear everything in rest of apt, but it worked great for our situation of two couples. Only one shower (have to walk through master bed) works, though it would have been nice to have second shower outside of walking through bedroom.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay, liked and would recommend this condo to others, especially for great location.
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Aspen Condo, 2 bedroom, Ski-in Ski-Out, Mid Century Modern on Aspen Mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384158
+1 970 948-0650
Aspen Northwest Colorado
St Barth, Caribbean
5

The perfect place in Aspen

  • 5 of 5
Our stay in Aspen was great. The apartment is an ideal base for skiing and going downtown. We were only steps away from everything we needed: gondola, restaurants and shopping.
We enjoyed the presentation of the apartment with simple but elegant furniture with a contemporay mountain atmosphere, and we loved the beautiful south position facing the mountains. We such enjoyed our stay that we already booked the apartment for 1 month in February/ March 2013.
We are a French couple living in St Barth in the Caribbean and Aspen is our perfect choice for our winter vacations. And the skiing conditions are superb....
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
business
Aspen Condo, 2 bedroom, Ski-in Ski-Out, Mid Century Modern on Aspen Mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384158
+1 970 948-0650
Aspen Northwest Colorado
1

Aspen Apartment

  • 1 of 5
Good Location. Close to downtown and Aspen Ski resort.
Apartment was Dirty. All over covered with Animal/Human Hair. Apartment smelled from animals. Furniture was dirty and worn out.
We had to leave the apartment due to unacaptabel conditions and animal allergy.
Owner was very helpful finding a new apartment. Full prepaid rent of the apartment was refunded.
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I realize that nothing I write will nullify a bad review; however I ask any prospective Guest to please consider one aspect on which we both agree- if you have a complaint I will do everything possible to rectify the situation and make your stay in Aspen a pleasant one.

I regret that these gentlemen did not find the apartment acceptable and refunded their money in full- gave them a free night- charged no cleaning fees (every sheet and towel had to be re-laundered) and worked for 3 hours to find them alternate housing when the town was almost booked to capacity (Gay Ski Week). I was under no obligation to do any of the above.

They write that the place was not clean. I have receipts from the professional carpet shampooing service which had cleaned both the carpet and the furniture just prior to their visit. I personally spent from 7am to 4pm cleaning on the day they arrived- including washing all the towels and the sheets (yes, I do the duvet covers as well fro every new rental).

The first email complaint which I received from these gentlemen included a threat of legal action from their (non-US) attorney. (AT&T dropped their messages to my cel) I would have offered to try and rectify any situation which they found unacceptable but after they assumed that they had to pursue legal action I did not wish to have them as guests in my home for one moment longer than necessary. I do not wish to host anyone who does not love my apartment as much as I do.

I had to retrieve my keys from their next innkeeper. According to that innkeeper they complained about their next rental as well. I only have the innkeepers word for that, but I believe them.
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
ASE, Aspen Airport
Nearest Train
40 Miles
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Nearest Motorway
0.03 Miles
Hwy 82
Nearest Barpub
Victoria's, Belly Up, Little Nell, St Regis
Nearest Ski
Aspen Mountain (Ajax) lift 1A
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Aspen Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
Ajax Tavern, St Regis Hotel,CP burgers
Car: not necessary

The Condo is located on Aspen mountain just up the hill from downtown Aspen. It is zoned 'downtown core' Aspen.

Aspen is a World famous ski resort located in the North American Rocky Mountain region. We have 4 fabulous ski mountains with everything from beginner to expert terrain. The Rockies are known for 'champagne powder' skiing, bright blue skies, and magnificent scenery. The X-Games and the World Cup ski races are regularly held here. There are numerous winter events including Winterskol, Aspen Fashion Week, the Academy Screenings and Gay Ski Week.

In the summer we host the Aspen Music School, The Aspen Ideas Conference, Pro-Challenge Cycling Race, Hiking, Biking, Kayaking, Rafting, Fly Fishing and the Aspen Food and Wine Classic. The Aspen Shortsfest is one of the top 50 Film Festivals. The last event of the summer is the Volleyball Classic.

Year round there is World Class shopping including Prada, Ralph Lauren and Dior. Two of our local chefs were nominated for James Beard Awards in 2011.

Other Activities: skiing, snowboarding, shopping, kayaking, paragliding, mountain biking, wildlife viewing, hot air ballooning, snowmobiling, miniature golf, hiking, boating

Golf: Right outside of Aspen is the Aspen Golf and Tennis Club is ranked #21 Best U.S. Municipal Golf Course by Golfweek Magazine for 2009-10. It plays a full 18 holes 7,156-yard championship course is complete with a PGA award-winning pro shop, lessons, driving range, chipping and putting greens, cart rental and full-service locker facilities. PGA staff.

We had a minature golf course in town last summer which was a great success for the kiddies. It located where the outdoor skating is held in the winter- right down the street from the Condo.

Down Valley we have an embarrassment of golf courses. River Valley Ranch, Ranch at Roaring Fork, Aspen Glen Club and the The Roaring Fork Club.

Try Snow Golf or Frisbee Golf in our local Parks.

Ski: 'The Power of 4'

Aspen Mountain is the premier ski mountain in Aspen and we're located right where the mountain meets the town. We hosted the first North American World Cup in 1951 and haven't looked back since. Black Diamonds are found here as well as some lovely cruising intermediate trails. Eat at Bonnies for the complete 'local' ski experience.

For acres and acres of cruising (3132 acres) try Snowmass. It is snowboarding heaven.

A Beginner or just want to practice bumps? Try Buttermilk and the new speedy Tiehack lift. I like West Buttermilk for wildlife viewing from the lift.

Saving the best for last? Maybe- Highlands the 'locals' mountain with the extraordinary Highlands Bowl (long walk for 3,000'+ of vertical- experts only) this is one big Mountain. The finest dining of the 4 mountains can be found here at 'Cloud Nine' - reservations recommended.

Check in with 4 square for restaurant deals on all the mountians.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Aspen Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
May 30 2014 - Sep 2 2014
3 night minimum stay
$260
$1,680
 
 
Fall off season
Sep 3 2014 - Nov 23 2014
7 night minimum stay
$1,540
 
 
Christmas/New Years
Dec 15 2014 - Jan 2 2015
7 night minimum stay
$4,200
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$360
$2,310
$9,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $89
Tax Rate 11.3%
Notes A deposit is paid when the reservation is made. It is fully refundable up to 90 days prior to your arrival, should your plans change. Within 90 days of your arrival, it is only refundable with a replacement booking for the same or better rate.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Aspen Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq. ft.
  • 3 stories
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Mountain
  • Town
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Adventure
General:
  • Iron & Board
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Laundry Soap
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Safe
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Internet ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Heating ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Toaster
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Stove ...
  • Oven ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Full 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Half 1 - toilet , WC, toilet and sink
  • The master bath has two sinks and a small dressing room.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , Convertible sofa, one queen size bed or two twins
Entertainment:
  • Television ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • VCR
  • Radio
  • DVD Player
  • Books ...
  • Books for Kids
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Communal Pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Heated Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • live theater
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • caves
  • restaurants
  • museums
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • coin laundry
  • churches
  • pond
  • library
  • synagogues
  • playground
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • bird watching
  • wildlife viewing
  • walking
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • eco tourism
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • horseshoes
Local Services & Businesses:
  • medical services
  • massage therapist
  • hospital
  • fitness center
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • skiing
  • cycling
  • ski privileges optional
  • water tubing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • golf privileges optional
  • spelunking
  • tennis
  • snowmobiling
  • rock climbing
  • hunting big game
  • roller blading
  • fly fishing
  • mountain biking
  • snowboarding
  • fishing
  • cross country skiing
  • parasailing
  • paragliding
  • golf
  • rafting
  • ice skating
  • hunting
  • hiking
  • hunting small game
  • freshwater fishing
  • mountaineering
  • mountain climbing
  • hot air ballooning
  • whitewater rafting
  • equestrian events
Notes:
Every effort is made to only use 'Green' cleaning products. There are 'smart' power strips on all electronic appliances and the lighting is CFL or LED. Thermos and stainless steel water bottles are provided as well as tiffins for your carry out meal or picnic. We are members of the Solar Clean Energy Collective. Maid service, private catering and massage are available on request for an additional fee. Daily rates are available at the St. Regis Fitness Center and Spa (down the block). Deliveries available on request for a separate fee.
Email Owner Contact Me