Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Debbie's Beautiful Beachfront Home, 4 Bed, 4 1/2 Bath + Pool + Jacuzzi

Mary Hawthorne, In Country Co-Manager

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Mary Hawthorne, In Country Co-Manager

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Debbie's Beautiful Beachfront Home, 4 Bed, 4 1/2 Bath + Pool + Jacuzzi

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Overview

Ambergris Caye House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8). Many more reviews under Manager Info

Looking directly over the ocean to the world's second largest coral barrier reef and benefiting from the ocean breezes, our home in paradise, is just ½ mile from the reef opposite the Pescador cut (a route through the reef) and two miles from the local town of San Pedro, so it is quiet, private and secluded but also provides very quick and easy access, by boat, golfcart and bicycle, to the 'bright lights' of town with lots of restaurants, bars, coffee shops and shopping.

The house sits on a large private site, with private access, a private dock and the use of our own private infinity pool and unheated jacuzzi as well as wonderful views from our balcony (with hammocks) and patio out to the reef just 1/2 mile away.

There are 4 double bedrooms, 4 1/2 baths, a large kitchen and living room as well as a den with library and TV (cable and internet/wifi is available). All the bedrooms and the den are air-conditioned.

Our caretakers, Martin and Lupe, live on site and are there to help you in any way they can. They both speak good English. Lupe does all the regular cleaning.

We are really pleased to report that a few months ago (Aug 2014) the town council started to pave the road to town and we expect this to be completed by end 2014 (subject to the weather conditions). This will allow both a quick and comfortable trip to town by golfcart or bike. We are delighted!!

PLEASE NOTE THERE ARE MANY, MANY MORE VISITORS' REVIEWS, EXTRACTED ACCURATELY FROM OUR VISITORS BOOK, UNDER OWNER INFO ON THIS SITE. THANK YOU AND HAVE A WONDERFUL TIME! DEBBIE

Keywords: Private ocean front house on secluded large plot with private entrance, private pool and Jacuzzi.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Mary Hawthorne, In Country Co-Manager (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

About Mary Hawthorne, In Country Co-Manager

We are Debbie and Nick and are English so we are a long way from our base for much of our lives. Having spent many years in offices, we love to relax by taking as much time as possible outdoors, either here in Belize, in the mountains of Europe or seeing other parts of the world. We have recently retired and are now looking forward to spending several months a year at our home here in Belize. Up-date! We are spending 4 months in Belize each year - we cant wait to get back to the warm weather and sand between our toes! Thank you all for your 'hits' and for the many bookings while we are away in Europe - goodness VRBO is great! We are sorry that our home will not be available from 1st May to 1st September as we will be there then but it will be available from 1st September each year right through to mid - end April! Best wishes to you all and thanks for your interest!

Mary Hawthorne, In Country Co-Manager purchased this house in 2004

Why Mary Hawthorne, In Country Co-Manager chose Ambergris Caye

We, perhaps like you in the future, came on holiday to Ambergris Caye, from our base in England, and fell in love with the beautiful location, the island and its people (who’s first language is English).

A few months later we returned and viewed a number of pieces of beachfront land. We chose this one because it is beautiful, close enough to town for easy access but far enough to be away from the noise and traffic. We then, over the next 2 years, built our own home on this piece of paradise at the same time as learning to scuba dive, to fish and to improve the flexibility of our 'aging' bodies by taking yoga lessons locally.

Why the name? Debbie is my wife (see image above!) and she always wanted a home on a beach - so Debbie's Beach House was born! Please come and stay and form your own opinion for yourselves!

What makes this house unique

Well where do we start?!

Some days we feel like being active so we regularly go out snorkelling, scuba diving, fishing (pick-up from our private dock) and attending yoga lessons nearby.

Other days we want to be social so we

head into town by island ferry (from the next door dock), by golf cart or on our bicycles to go to one or several of our favourite restaurants, bars, live music shows or even shopping.

Very often we just feel like doing absolutely nothing very much, so we swim in our pool, sit in our Jacuzzi looking out over the ever changing view of the sea and the reef or sit reading in one of our hammocks on the balcony with a home made rum punch in hand (recipe is in our visitors book!).

The gradual effect of these combinations of activities or in-activity! on this island means, for us, that the rush and stress of our lives in a large city seem to just ‘slip away’ and we relax! Please come and try it!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Everything was great with the House! We will be back for sure!



Some helpful tips:



White Sands Resort next door can make all your arrangements; private water taxis, snorkelling trips, diving, rent kayaks, happy hour 1-5!



Four of us went though a couple of rough days after eating fish tacos at the Palapa Bar. Aji and Capricorn restaurants [easy walking distance]were good. Hidden Treasure, way down south but they can pick you up from town, was our favourite.



The bikes are good exercise and a short ride to the store. Only small complaint is the curtains in the Master Bedroom are thin material and let the light in when the sun rises! [ we have dealt with this - all bedrooms now have dark curtains - Debbie]
Mar 2014
  • 1 of 30

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.3
based on 7 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Debbie's Beautiful Beachfront Home, 4 Bed, 4 1/2 Bath + Pool + Jacuzzi
average rating of 4.285714 based on 37 reviews
Mankato, MN
4

Great house just too far north

  • 4 of 5

We stayed last week for a work retreat, and the house was great!! Lots of privacy, excellent caretakers, great common space, and they provide everything you need. However, we were led to believe it was "just north" of San Pedro, when in reality it is a few miles into town. Also, the pool was leaking (listened to a jackhammer one entire afternoon) and the hot tub only worked if Martin rigged it. But the worst part is the bugs. Our entire crew was eaten alive, and we wore bug spray every single day. This isn't necessarily the owners fault (although maybe fog would help?), but wanted to make people aware.

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Amy Thank you for taking the trouble to comment on your stay at our home. We are sorry about the pool disruption. The pool has been installed for some 5 years and,having worked perfectly all that time, it has suddenly sprung a leak from one of the jets. I'm afraid that is not a fault that we could just leave given we were losing water all the time. We much appreciated your forbearance during the disruption and the leak is now fixed. As for the bugs, this too is unfortunate timing and does very much depend on the weather in a Tropical region with the amount of rain and breeze being critical factors. When we were there last year for 3 months, for instance, we had hardly a bite and rarely needed bug spray. We recognise that this doesn't help you when the bugs obviously have been bad during your stay. Re the distance from town, I think we specify in the VRBO details that the house is 2 miles north of town on an island that is 20 miles long but we are keen to re-iterate that here so that all our guests who book our home know this in advance. Many thanks again! Kind Regards! Debbie
Vancouver, Canada
5

Excellent Stay

  • 5 of 5

Upon our arrival by boat to the dock, we were instantly impressed. This home gives everyone their privacy. We were a family with grown children, there is lots of room to spread out. The furniture was comfortable, the wifi worked good, there were lots of towels, and beach towels. The caretakers, Martin & Lupe are true gems. They were there to help whenever needed, but gave us our privacy. The house and yard is very well maintained. The pool and hot tub were spotless. The kitchen is well stocked for a bigger group. For us the golf carts were the best way to get around, the road is being fixed up, and was in pretty good shape when we were there, and they were lots of fun. For a family with young kids, you should know that 2 of the bedrooms are downstairs outside the main house on the other side of the breezeway. These rooms can be rented out independently. Our only concern was the tile outside, it was extremely slippery when it was wet, a constant worry that someone might slip. We would definitely recommend this home. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the trouble to post your review! We are delighted you had a great stay at our Belize home where we too love to relax. We love your part of the world too and will be spending time in B.C. Canada this coming August/September. Kind Regards! Debbie.
5

Best Family Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

As we pulled up to the dock upon arrival, our 10 year old daughter hugged me and said, "THANK YOU, MOMMY!! THANK YOU!!" That set the tone for our entire trip. My husband, 2 daughters (ages 10 and 7) and I had a great trip. We've stayed in quite a few VRBO houses (and co-own one as well!)--so we've seen the good and the not-so- good in our travels. We found this house to be absolutely beautiful. It is extremely well- maintained, the view is gorgeous and Martin and his wife are truly lovely people.

There are so many different activities for families to do in Belize--and the house is located where you can easily do anything you'd like: arrange for a boat to take you snorkeling, jet ski, walk to the yoga retreat, swim in the beautiful pool, ride bikes down the beach or catch a water taxi into San Pedro.

Some people wrote in their reviews about the inability to swim or go to the beach outside the house. That was really helpful to know and set your expectation accordingly. You are not going to walk out to the ocean and swim in front of the house--that's just not what this vacation is about. We didn't find any part of Belize to be about being on the beach and swimming. There are so many, many more fascinating ways to spend your time. And, the beauty of this house is the pool allows you to do a whole host of exhausting--yet really cool and unbelievable things during the day--and then have a relaxing swim in the evening.

One thing we didn't do--but I'd like for one of the guests to try and report on for the rest of us!!--is have a cook come and prepare food at the house. There are a few good restaurants (the yoga retreat and Aji's) within walking distance--but it would be really helpful to hire someone to cook and not have to worry about it for a couple of meals.

Thank you Debbie and Nick for letting our family experience the wonderful home you built. It was one of our best family vacations!

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jill We are chuffed to bits that you and your family had a wonderful time in our Belize home and that you loved it for exactly the reasons we love it too! Very glad you made it down to the yoga resort, Akbol - we love going there for the yoga out on the palapa over the gently rolling waves and for the yummy food at the bar afterwards! We are back in June ourselves and are really looking forward to it! Please come again with your friends!
4

Wonderfully Relaxing!

  • 4 of 5

We arrived at Debbies Beach house with the excitement of a bunch of kids on Christmas morning. Martin met us at the dock and helped us with the luggage. The house and grounds are exactly as advertised and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hot in the hot tub was not working but we did not mind. The private pool, lounge chairs and view made up for anything we could have found to complain about. We really dreaded cooking for ourselves seeing as how we are used to staying at all inclusives. The cooking was not really the issue it was the planning of what to cook that was. I recommend planning ahead and having everyone chip in a certain amount of cash towards groceries up front otherwise keeping track of who spent what gets to be a hassle. Martin and Lupe the keepers of the house and ground were extremely helpful when we called upon them but otherwise kept a very low profile. We rated this as one of our best trips mainly because of the beauty of the island and the privacy of our own little home for the week. Like any other place you can nit pick this house and the island to pieces but don't sweat the small stuff and your stay will be a whole lot more pleasant. We ate at AJI the first night just south of the house and would recommend this place. I would not recommend Capt. Morgans and I would have a drink at the Palapa Bar but I would not choose to eat there again the food was just not good but the Bananago was fantastic. Our favorite place to eat when we ate out was Warguma. The shrimp burritos were huge and very tasty and the Ceviche came in a salad bowl which our resident Ceviche lover failed to consume entirely it was that big. He said it was some of the best he's ever had. On a final note I would like to thank Martin and Lupe for their hospitality and attention to detail they are truly good people and I would want them on my staff if I had one.

  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted that you had a wonderful time at our Belize home! It is a nuisance that the water heater for the hot tub was not working, especially as the heater was new only about 18 months ago - the trouble is that getting replacement parts for machinery always takes an age due to the shipping from the US. We are so lucky to have Martin and Lupe working for us - they are a delightful couple and, fortunately, they really enjoy living in the caretaker house we build on the plot. We rather agree with your restaurant/bar reviews. We would recommend breakfast and casual lunch at the yoga resort, Akbol, about 1 mile south of us and it is a pleasant walk or bike ride along the beach. In town you must have dinner at Wild Mangoes, one of our very favorite places to eat and/or the Blue Water Grill. Many thanks for posting and very best wishes! Debbie
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
3

A great house in the wrong location

  • 3 of 5

We rented Debbies Beach House for three weeks over Christmas 2013/2014. The house is indeed commodious but there are several problems which have more to do with location than anything else. What no one tells you is that you cannot enter the sea from the shore. Because of the reef, the shore line is full of weeds and grasses. There is a pool and a hot tub, but if you are going for the ocean experience it does not exist. You can rent boats next door and go snorkelling but that is the only way you are getting into the sea.It was the first island I have ever been on that has this problem and perhaps we should have asked. But it never occurred to us. the second is the road. Do not rent a golf cart. Pretend it is Venice and go by water taxi. You can also travel by bicycle almost the entire way to San Pedro Town. The road, what with pot holes and small lakes is nearly impassible. I almost want to charge for the physiotherapy bills against the house rental. Martin and Lupa who looked after the house were great. Lupa managed to drop my iPad and it will have to be replaced. But they are wonderful people nonetheless. We did fly to the mainland to see Mayan ruins and that was fantastic. I would not recommend this house for those who like to walk into the ocean or for those with children who love to swim in the waves. If you are people who like only to sun tan, it is great. Also for divers it is very good. For those who like a civilized lunch try Victoria House to the south or Portofino to the north. You can go by water taxi for free.

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Frances Many thanks for posting! As you say the weed and grass is the price the island pays for being less than 1/2 a mile from the world's 2nd largest Barrier Reef and therefore sits, effectively, in a lagoon. Although it didn't work for you the weed and grass supports a huge amount of, particularly juvenile, marine life which helps to sustain the reef itself. Re the track, we understand there has been an exceptionally wet spell of weather in the run up to Christmas and, in these circumstances, the track suffers badly from the traffic. Once it is drier then it becomes much easier to drive to town, which is what we do on our golfcart most of the time when we are there. Interestingly the Town Council is gradually trying to improve many of the sandy roads on the island, which all suffer in sustained wet weather, and we expect them to make further efforts to improve the track north. We are sorry these factors affected your enjoyment of staying in our Belize home. Kind Regards! Debbie
5

Beautiful home on a beautiful island

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Debbie's beach house to celebrate my parents 50th wedding anniversary and had a wonderful relaxing week. The weather could have been warmer but we still had a lot of fun in the pool. The caretakers were nice and helpful. Although the description says there is a washer and dryer, Lupe keeps the door locked to the room so we ended up having to "tip" her for doing our wash which worked ok since we were on vacation. The house itself is lovely and in a great location. We rented golf carts to get around town. We had great food and drinks close to the house at Aji's, Capricorn, and Ak'bol. My favorite place in town was Papusa's and we had a fun time at Palapa's too. We found the locals to be pleasant, but one of the street vendors gave Mexican money as change when we were not paying close attention so be careful. There was a lot of garbage along the beach, not at Debbie's, but along the path. There was also a lot of sewage smells through out the caye which were not pleasant. Overall, this was a wonderful family vacation and I would defiantly recommend staying at this beautiful home.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Marci Thank you very much for taking the trouble to post and we are delighted that you had a good and fun week in our Belize home! We are looking forward to getting back there ourselves a little later in the year. Best wishes! Debbie

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
San Pedro airstrip
Nearest Barpub
50 Metres
Nearest Ferry
75 Metres
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
Nearest Beach
10 Metres
Car: not necessary

Daily yoga retreat 8 minutes bike ride away - we go 2-3 days a week!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ambergris Caye House Rental Rates

Notes

  • From US$3535.00/wk - US$4140.00/wk
  • US Dollars
  • Rates:
  • May 1 - Nov. 14 US$ 3535.00 per week (7 nights) or $505.00 per night
  • Nov. 15 - Apr. 30 US$ 4140.00 per week (7 nights)or $590.00 per night
  • Holiday December 20-January 4 $5000.00 per week (7 nights) or $715.00 per night
  • Please add 9% hotel tax. Four night minimum stay required.
  • Seven night minimum stay preferred for Holiday time period
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Ambergris Caye House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , Guest toilet or access from pool
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Twin or King Bed (can be combined) (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$3,750 - $7,500 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$3,990 - $6,000 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • Sleeps 10

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote