Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Lake Leelanau Summer Rental with 60 Secluded Acres, Lakefront

Kate

Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Manager

Kate

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 26, 2015
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Lake Leelanau Summer Rental with 60 Secluded Acres, Lakefront

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Overview

Lake Leelanau House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Birch Haven is a private family home on 60 forested acres (with 40 more acres in hay) with trails, fields, and a spectacular wooded lakefront. Located in Leelanau County, Birch Haven is just eight miles from Traverse City on the south end of beautiful Lake Leelanau.

Start your day with a hike through hardwood forests and open fields without leaving the property! Breakfast on the deck in absolute privacy among beech, birch, tamarack and cedar trees. Bike 1/2 mile to the paved Leelanau Trail and ride the old railroad grade 8 miles south to Traverse City or 13 miles north to the lakeside village of Suttons Bay. Better yet, take your road bike and hit some of the best biking roads in the country. After your ride, cool off with a swim, and then relax in the sun on the deck at the end of our new 80 foot dock. Finish your day watching the sunset over the western hills of Lake Leelanau, enjoying a campfire by the wooded lakeshore. If the kids are adventurous, let them sleep out on cots in the two camping huts by the lake (bring your own sleeping bags!).

Traverse City is a short bike or car ride away. Recently named one of the ten best places to retire in the US in 2012 by US News and World Report, Traverse City is home to the National Cherry Festival and the Traverse City Film Festival. Traverse City boasts one of the nicest downtowns in the midwest! Excellent shopping, fine dining, and a spectacular white sand beachfront on Grand Traverse Bay await you. Local produce is available at two weekly farmers markets. The best of the region's wine, craft beers and artisanal cheeses and breads can be found in many of the shops, restaurants, tasting rooms and bars. The Interlochen Center for the Arts is only 24 miles away. With wonderful student performances and a summer concert series featuring some of the greatest artists on the classical, country, rock, jazz and folk scenes, an evening at Interlochen is magical.

Leelanau County's reputation for natural beauty is well deserved. 26 miles to the west is the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore, recently voted the most beautiful place in American by the viewers of ABC's Good Morning America! Go wine tasting at one of the many fine wineries in the county (there are at least 10 within 10 miles of Birch Haven). Fish for walleye in Lake Leelanau or hit the big water of Lake Michigan on a charter boat out of Leland. Of course you can bring your own boat and put in at the nearby launch at the end of Bingham Road or rent at one of the many marinas in the area. Or just enjoy our rowboat and canoe.

Birch Haven has a basement rec room with a game table and ping pong tables. There's cable, a flat screen TV, WiFi, an outdoor deck with charcoal grill (bring your own charcoal and lighter fluid) a dining table and chairs and comfy lounge furniture. There is a huge field on the property for family games like capture-the -flag, flashlight tag and kite flying!

The house features a master bedroom with queen bed and attached full bath, and three upstairs bedrooms with a queen bed, a full bed, and two twin beds respectively. Sleeps 8. A caretaker and family live nearby to assist you should you need it or have questions. You will pass their residence as you come in the 1/4 mile long driveway. Introduce yourself if you choose.

Keywords: Lake Leelanau, Leelanau County, Traverse City, cabin rentals, lake rentals, cottage rental, cabin, cottage, lake cabin, waterfront, forest, forested, Sleeping Bear Dunes,

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Kate (Property Manager)
Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 26, 2015

About Kate

This house was built by my dad. He put so much of himself into it: the stone work, the hardwood floors, the game boards built into the floor, the paneling he milled from trees on the property, the funky outdoor sculptures. This is a house meant to be used by a family that appreciates craftsmanship.

Kate purchased this house in 1985

Why Kate chose Lake Leelanau

My dad chose this place and built it. I am just lucky.

What makes this house unique

I love this spot because of the privacy. I walk my dog and swim without one person seeing me. It is a wonderful, secluded spot.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.5
based on 6 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Lake Leelanau Summer Rental with 60 Secluded Acres, Lakefront
average rating of 4.5 based on 6 reviews
Rochester Hills, Michigan
5

Great, unique place

  • 5 of 5

Stayed for a week with two dogs, two kids, and grandparents, and the time totally flew by. There is so much to do. We went all throughout the Leelenau Peninsula. All towns and Traverse City were an easy drive away (we did make the mistake of timing our drive up through Traverse City right as the air show was ending, major traffic jam, but beyond that the Cherry Fest crowds are nowhere to be seen). Everything is close, if you want it to be.

I must disagree with a previous reviewer on a few points. While you do not exit the door and walk into the lake, a one minute walk to the water through the woods hardly seems like a long distance and while the fields are down the road, that's only if you're looking at them through your car window. You can walk to them as well. That's the draw! There's that much space on the property!

I've been going up north my entire life and this home is what it should be all about. Maybe every single modern convenience is not readily available and maybe the kitchen faucet looks old and maybe there's a bit of sand in a random corner, but geez, what about the vast acerage, the beautiful water, the quiet?

Anyway, we had an awesome time and looked extensively before choosing here. For the value, NOTHING else compares. My three year old still talks about Lake Leelenau all of the time. One problem (I thought, at least, and a natural problem): the beach is a little rocky. The kids, though, loved it. We visited some other beaches on Lake Michigan while here, and this one was their favorite. Wear water shoes and it's fine.

So we all loved it. Mom and Dad liked going into Traverse City. Grandma liked shopping. Grandpa liked riding his bike on the Leelenau Trail. The kids liked it all.

But the dogs. The dogs were in heaven. No leashes all week. Plenty of woods to explore. They're probably still talking about it as well!

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Rochester Hills, Michigan
5

Great, unique place

  • 5 of 5

Stayed for a week with two dogs, two kids, and grandparents, and the time totally flew by. There is so much to do. We went all throughout the Leelenau Peninsula. All towns and Traverse City were an easy drive away (we did make the mistake of timing our drive up through Traverse City right as the air show was ending, major traffic jam, but beyond that the Cherry Fest crowds are nowhere to be seen). Everything is close, if you want it to be.

I must disagree with a previous reviewer on a few points. While you do not exit the door and walk into the lake, a one minute walk to the water through the woods hardly seems like a long distance and while the fields are down the road, that's only if you're looking at them through your car window. You can walk to them as well. That's the draw! There's that much space on the property!

I've been going up north my entire life and this home is what it should be all about. Maybe every single modern convenience is not readily available and maybe the kitchen faucet looks old and maybe there's a bit of sand in a random corner, but geez, what about the vast acerage, the beautiful water, the quiet?

Anyway, we had an awesome time and looked extensively before choosing here. For the value, NOTHING else compares. My three year old still talks about Lake Leelenau all of the time. One problem (I thought, at least, and a natural problem): the beach is a little rocky. The kids, though, loved it. We visited some other beaches on Lake Michigan while here, and this one was their favorite. Wear water shoes and it's fine.

So we all loved it. Mom and Dad liked going into Traverse City. Grandma liked shopping. Grandpa liked riding his bike on the Leelenau Trail. The kids liked it all.

But the dogs. The dogs were in heaven. No leashes all week. Plenty of woods to explore. They're probably still talking about it as well!

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Walton, Ky.
2

Redhead

  • 2 of 5

At one time this place was probably beautiful, but it is not kept up at all. The kitchen has rust in the only two pots we found and the oven did not work sometimes. The dishwasher was not able to dry dishes. The washer smelled of mold and the dryer was so full of lint we were surprised it had not caught fire. The sweeper had not been run and even that was dirty. The owners need to update this place, especially the kitchen. We had to wash our towels when we got there and thank goodness we took Downy to make them smell fresh. The lake is not so near the house as it looks and the field is down the street. We even had to call for our garbage to be emptied because caretakers did not take it to the road. Some of the lights in the basement didn't even work. Hope owner puts some time & money to making this better.

  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I appreciate your response and am sorry you weren't happy with your stay. Because of your input about the drier, I had the vent cleaned by Stanley Steamer and it is working much better now. I was not aware of any problem with the oven and had that checked as well. The cleaning folks usually bring their own vacuum but I will provide a new one for renters to use. The basement lights do all work but my Dad put the switches in odd places so you may not have found them. There are two garbage pails and I have found it unusual for them both to be filled by renters in one week. I encourage environmentally sound consumption and provide recycling bins for plastics and returnable sodapop and beer containers. As to the distance to the beach and fields, both are, indeed, not next to the house as is stated in my listing and as is evident on the map provided. This property is nearly 100 acres of forest, fields, trails and water and for those willing to explore it, it offers an experience unique in Leelanau County.
United States
5

Beautiful Private Setting in Good Location

  • 5 of 5

Comfortable accommodations near Traverse City on Lake Leelanau. We took daily hikes on this scenic property with well maintained trails. Waterfront is a short walk from the home where you are rewarded with a breathtaking view of Lake Leelanau and gorgeous sunsets....nice dock, rowboat and canoe provided to enhance your lake experience, as will as firepit for toasting marshmallows and enjoying conversation in camp setting. If you love nature, forests, meadows, water and wildflowers you'll love this property.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, as I walk the trails, I think of it as a nice state park without any other campers.
Alto, Michigan
5

Fabulous Place!

  • 5 of 5

What a fabulous place! This home was perfect for our family vacation. It was very charming and spacious. Everything we needed was there. The property was very private and beautiful. We all enjoyed lots of swimming in the lake, beautiful sunsets, and campfires at night. Having the lower level with the game table and ping pong was wonderful when the kids needed a break from the adults :) The location of Birch Haven was great too. We visited Traverse City, Sutton's Bay, Leland, and the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore all without having to travel too far. Birch Haven is a real treasure. I hope we will have the opportunity to stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone seeking a great vacation home.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

This place is so beautiful!

  • 5 of 5

The inside of the house is amazing. The wooden floors are incredible. I've never seen anything like it. I couldn't believe how open yet cozy the place felt. It is tucked away in the woods and certainly private, but it didn't feel like a Hansel and Gretel style deep dark place. The big windows let in a ton of light and the high ceilings really open up the living spaces.

I liked all the amenities. The kitchen was easy to cook in and the house had enough nooks and crannies that it never felt crowded, even when everyone was hanging inside. It was hard to get everyone inside though because there was so much natural beauty outside. The walk down to the beach was short and we stayed up late by the firepit, watching the sun set over the water. There were tons of places to walk the dog -- good thing we had her -- there were so many winding trails, I think she was the one most confident how to get back!

The house, inside and out looked cleaned and well-maintained. I can't imagine how nice it will look in the summer when all the leaves are green and the water is warm enough to swim in.

All in all it was a magical place and I really enjoyed my time there.

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Map

Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes, Traverse City Film Festival, Leelanau County wine tours, Old Mission Peninsula wine tours, Interlochen Center for the Arts. Close to the villages of Leland, Suttons Bay, Lake Leelanau and Northport, Traverse City only 8 miles away. Leelanau Bike Trail (TART) 1/2 mile away, great road biking.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lake Leelanau House Rental Rates

Notes

  • 1800-2900/wk
  • USD
  • Middle of MAy to Jun 1.....$1,800/wk 1 week min
  • Jun 1, to Jun 29 ....$2,500/wek 1 week min.
  • Jun 30 to Sep 1....$2,900/week 1 week min.
  • Sept ....$2,400/week 1 week min
  • $500 damage deposit due on booking, held as damage deposit 14 days after checkout
  • Full rental fee due 4 weeks prior to arrival
  • Checks and money orders only
  • $100 fee for each dog
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Lake Leelanau House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
80 ft dock, 12 ft x 10 ft deck on water, canoe, rowboat, 2 lakeside camping huts with 2 cots each , picnic table, fire ring

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$1,505 - $3,000 per week
5 - 7 night min stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$2,500 - $3,800 per week
2 - 7 night min stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$3,200 - $4,200 per week
2 - 7 night min stay
  • 4 BR,
  • Sleeps 12

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote