Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

OCEAN 'PANORAMIC' VIEWS! AUTHENTIC OHIA-LOG BUNGALOW

Cindy Stewart

Advertiser since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Cindy Stewart

Advertiser since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 24, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

OCEAN 'PANORAMIC' VIEWS! AUTHENTIC OHIA-LOG BUNGALOW

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Kailua Kona Estate Rental Photos and Description

Ohia-log Bungalow, 1 Bath, full Kitchen, 1 King Bed (Sleeps 2)

HEAVENLY SPLENDOR COFFEE ESTATE

Vintage Hawaiian style accommodations with all the comforts of modern day living. Your place to lounge and enjoy soft hula breezes in paradise!

Experience the spirit of 'Aloha' in this romantically influenced Ohia-log bungalow, located on a 2.5 acre private Kona Coast Coffee Estate, fully equipped kitchen, full bath and a King size bed... All to enhance your experience on the Big Island of Hawaii.

Spectacular panoramic ocean views as far as your eyes will take you!

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Cindy Stewart (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 24, 2015

About Cindy Stewart

Meet your hosts, Cindy & Rusty Stewart. Rusty's family originally purchased this unique island property over 41 years ago. You will experience the 'aloha spirit' and enjoy their gracious hospitality.

Cindy Stewart purchased this estate in 1968

Why Cindy Stewart chose Kailua Kona

Rusty's mother and father, Betty & Dick, found and chose this property in 1968. Betty always called it her 'Heavenly Splendor'.

Betty & Dick spent many years in the Hawaiian Islands making the Big Island their favorite one; construction of the first house was completed in 1974. Betty spent many memorable times here with family and friends.

If you are desiring a unique experience while visiting and vacationing on the Big Island of Hawaii, this is your vacation destination.

What makes this estate unique

Private and very quite, yet conveniently centrally located to all attractions, shopping and dining. FANTASTIC sunsets and coastal views as far as your eyes will allow you to see!

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.2
based on 12 traveler reviews

Write a Review
OCEAN 'Panoramic' Views! Authentic Ohia-log Bungalow
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 12 reviews
2

Lovely views; memorable insects; lack of aloha

  • 2 of 5

The property shares a wall with the owners' pool foundation and has a corrugated fiberglass roof. It appears to be the owner's man cave. We enjoyed the eclectic nature of the furnishings and evening played a game of pool. The towels, linens, dishes all were a tropical design. The counter tops in the kitchen/bar area were a lovely dark granite. The owners provided us with a bottle of Bare Foot champagne and a pound of coffee grown by the owner. We were in Kona to work long days as volunteers setting up, manning and taking down the transition area for Ironman World Championship. We were happy to have a spot that was about 20 minutes from the venue, that included panoramic ocean views. On our first night after working on set up, we dined on our lanai from 7 to 9 p.m. with four business owners from around the world, who were exhibiting at Ironman Kona. It was a quiet affair. Unfortunately after we had helped them back up safely in the driveway and depart, the owners leaned over the railing above us and from the dark reprimanded us for having dinner guests. This exchange included telling us that we should have rented their other house, if we wanted to entertain. We apologized. We would never have violated a known rule. We also apologized in a text message the next day, along with complimenting the owner on his coffee and asking for a tour. From then on we walked on egg shells. We had one additional face to face contact with the owner when he told us where to go for a coffee plantation tour, rather than have him give us a tour of his three acres. We avoided any further contact. Here are some additional details: the coffee pot had an old filter in it with moldy coffee that we had difficulty cleaning out; we experienced a centipede that my husband stepped on; we confronted a cockroach when he opened our bed to go to sleep. The last memorable moment was when we asked for a box of Kleenex since ours was empty. The owner apologized, but told us "no" that they do not provide replacement toiletries. Had we known this, we would have bought Kleenex when we shopped in town. Instead we just were happy that we still had toilet paper to use. Unfortunately the gorgeous setting could not counter the lack of aloha we experienced. Aloha is not material things, it is kind human interactions, especially with guests.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Gosh, didn't see that coming...we are always saddened by negative responses, as we love our home here in Hawaii and decided to share it with others. Rusty and I make every effort to ensure privacy and cleanliness first. We explain in detail the property and accommodations so that our guests know what to expect. We are not a hotel, but a private home located on 2.5 acres. We expect guests understand they will have to do shopping for food, etc. and if they run out of toiletries and such, they should replace them as needed. We always supply toiletries, etc. at the arrival of new guests. Parking and occupancy is always explained and expected to be honored by our guests. You folks explained to us that you had been turned away by other property owners, but we agreed to rent to you, even at such short notice. We are sorry you didn't understand our explanation of our property and that you decided to invite other guests up. We do hope you will enjoy another property the next time you visit Hawaii.
Millarville,Alberta,Canada
2

Vacation in the 'Rec' Room

  • 2 of 5

Seemed obvious the ' bungalow' was/is used as the family recreational room when not hosting paying guests. There is pool table next to the bed & dart board on the wall. The owner also uses area as a hairdressing salon c/w barbers chair and hair wash sink in the bathroom ( no faucets). There is no dining table or anywhere to sit & relax unless you lay on the bed. View is spectacular and cannot faulted. However, the owner should really decide whether this is a true vacation home or simply a space that is rented out when the family is not using it as a rec room.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your input. We never want to disappoint anyone nor give the impression of anything other than what our property offers and therefore try very hard to describe the bungalow as a "bungalow" and not a "house", not only in its title, but when We talk to each vacationer to let them know this is not a condo, but part of our 2.5 acre coffee estate. We do also have a 4 bedroom 3 bathroom fully loaded home on the property for rent, but at a higher cost of 350.00 per night. We have opened up our property to share with those that desire a private place to stay, unlike a hotel room that would offer much less and also cost much more than the bungalow at 125.00 per night. Most guests enjoy the experience of the uniqueness of using the shampoo bowl/sink in the bathroom, playing pool and darts (Hula Lounge & Bungalow)...there is seating all along the back of the room as well as bar stools with backs, a desk with a chair & rocking chair...for dining there is a bar with chairs and an outside table for two. We will try to be more descriptive, as not to disappoint anyone. Our desire is to provide an affordable and wonderful experience while visiting the Big Island.
4

Charming Bungalow for Two

  • 4 of 5

This is a one of a kind place to stay. Charming and off the beaten path from the resorts, yet accessible to them -- restaurants, stores, beaches and activities are nearby yet feel a world away. Truly a memorable place. Incredible sweeping view, clean, whimsical and peaceful, with jungle wildlife (exotic birds, coqui frogs, mongoose, mice, geckos and giant bumblebees!) right outside the screened doors and windows.

A couple of highlights from our short stay... a hike down to Captain Cook's Monument to snorkel with spinner dolphins, pretty fish & coral, and a delicious dinner on our final night at Huggo's complete with a beautiful sunset (Thanks Cindy for your recommendation!).

Thanks again for everything Cindy & Rusty

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Perfect for quiet relaxation

  • 5 of 5

Our flight came in really late so we didn't get to Heavenly Splendor until about 10:40pm and Cindy stayed up to greet us and show us where things are! We really appreciated that. Then there was a bottle of champagne in the fridge - awesome welcome!

This spacious studio apartment addition to the Stewarts' property is very quiet yet close to downtown Kona. It has a great view of the shoreline below and is equipped with all the things you'd have if you were living at home. It is up on the side of a hill in the middle of a coffee estate with a view of the spectacular sunset each evening from the lanai which runs the length of the bungalow. We were also wondering where to attend church while we were there but didn’t have to worry since there was a church right at the corner of the street where the apartment was.

We had heavy rain a couple of nights and were worried that it would blow in since there isn't any glass on the windows or doors - just mesh. But no rain blew in - this little bungalow was designed perfectly for the weather.

Just one word of caution: for those of you who freak out over the occasional critter here and there - this isn't the place for you - but my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay as well as Cindy's hospitality and advice as to where to eat and what to take with us on our daily excursions.

Thanks so much Cindy!

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
3

Great sunsets from porch!

  • 3 of 5

Cindy graciously met us on arrival and had champagne waiting for us. This is a very unique place to stay with a flavor of old Hawaii in the décor and log and lava features. It has a beautiful view, soft breezes and a serene setting that can be enjoyed from the porch. The coffee from the farm is delicious. It lacks a washer/dryer but that is only slightly inconvenient. In the small, but well equipped kitchen, there is not room for a dishwasher, but the dishes did need a run through a dishwasher. The grill is small and requires briquettes. Beware that this is a unit in the country that is unsealed (screens but no windows) and therefore you will share your living space with critters and bugs. We did enjoy our stay in this eclectic bungalow. Owner lives on premises and answered questions readily.

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your input. We do inform guests in our description that there is not a washer/dryer nor a dishwasher...we will try harder to reiterate this and our wish is to provide a wonderful and memorable experience for those that stumble upon this beautiful and unique piece of paradise on the Big Island of Hawaii.
5

Uniqueness and Hawaiian hospitality

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I recently stayed at Cindy and Rusty's property on the Kona Coast for our honeymoon and loved it! The bungalow is charming and unique. We were welcomed with a chilled bottle of champagne as well as hand picked kona coffee beans for breakfast. The lanai is perfect. We wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Kona International Airport at Keahole
Nearest Beach
4.5 Miles
Kahaluu Beach Park
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $120 Per night

Kailua Kona Estate Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$120
$840
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $49
Cleaning Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Kailua Kona Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Tub & Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • King Bed
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Pool Table
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Other Vacation Properties

$692 - $1,480 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$966 - $1,736 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 2
$970 - $1,477 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 2

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote