Dirty, dirty, dirty and in need of maintenance, and difficult to get to.
Submitted: December 6, 2012
Stayed: October 2012
Despite the fact that we paid for a full week, we left three days early. As another reviewer
the cabin is in need of a very thorough cleaning, and also maintenance.
First the positive. The cabin has a nice outward appearance, is secluded, and surrounded by towering pine trees. It is very beautiful outside the cabin.
First, getting to the cabin is difficult and very time-consuming. There are windy dirt roads that have many deep gullies on them. You must slow to about 5 mph, and it literally takes about 30 min to get to town.
Once inside, we encountered a dirty cabin. There were cobwebs and corners of the kitchen., multiple dead bugs in the overhead lights in the kitchen, food wrappers and other
debris in the cushions in the couch, a couple weeks worth of ash in the. The worst item
was the dining table cloth, which had a brown/gray dirt pattern all the way around entire
dining room table. It looked as though it had never been washed. Most disgusting,
is that it was right at the height of the faces and mouths of our three and four-year-old
kids that were at the cabin, were putting their hands and faces on the dirt soiled edge of the
tablecloth. We wanted to wash it, however, the owners put a sign over the washer and dryer
expressly prohibiting renters from using them.
There is only one bathroom on the main floor, and it has a toilet that seem like is only about 10 inches high. Because it was so low, some of the senior people in our party had a lot of difficulty getting up after using the toilet, so they had to walk up the stairs to use the other bathroom.
When I informed the owner (by e-mail) that we had vacated early because it was dirty, he immediately called me. I did not ask for a refund at all, but the owner was apologetic and indicated he would refund three days of the rent. To this day, (two months later), the owner has not refunded that money, nor has he responded to an e-mail. Honestly, I do not really care about the three days rent, I only mention it to inform potential renters that the owner did not follow through on a commitment he made.
there are several other reviewers who have given five star reviews. In fact, I relied upon them in selecting his cabin among the many options available. But i can only share our experience. I can tell you that I caught a lot of flak from the adults in my immediate and extended family for the selection of this cabin. While other people may have enjoyed this cabin, I would not return even if it were free.
Owner's Response: We had 63 reservations at this property in 2012 and 27 of them were returning guests. Its difficult to avoid this sort of thing because its leverage for a refund or the guests should be staying at the Phoenician and not a cabin in the woods. This guest left the cabin a mess and was lucky that I didnt keep his deposit. I was prepared to refund 3 nights rent even though he emailed me the day he was suppose to check out and said they left 3 days earlier. I immediately called him and left Phoenix for the cabin wanting to arrive prior to the cleaners. I arrived to find the place a mess, spills, crackers and cookies all through the house and even fireplace ashes dumped on the ground outside the front door. This is a cabin and there may be bugs in the forest. We spray the cabin regularly and have very few bugs considering the cabin is in the pinetrees. The tablecloth was stained to appear dirty but was clean. I immediately removed and disposed of the table cloth. The table has a glass top and doesnt need the table cloth. He certainly could have removed it himself. Our cleaners live in Prescott and would have addressed his concerns immediately had he called me. He chose to stay 4 days at the discounted weekly rate and then email me after the fact to try to gain a refund. There are 2.25 miles of dirt road to the cabin and its 7 miles from downtown Prescott. It takes most people less than 20 minutes to commute to the Prescott Town Square. Please call me to discuss any concerns.
Helpful votes: 3/4
Did you find this review helpful?