Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Villa Viola - Elegant Large Furnished Apt Near French Qtr

James Henry

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Contact the Owner

James Henry

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 22, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Villa Viola - Elegant Large Furnished Apt Near French Qtr

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

Faubourg Marigny Apartment Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms 2bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 4)

Make your lodging as unique as New Orleans itself. The Villa Viola is located in the Faubourg Marigny, just blocks from New Orleans' famous French Quarter. Formerly the residence of entertainer Viola Veidt, this large two bedroom apartment is filled with art, antiques and memorabilia from her fascinating life. The daughter of international movie star Conrad Veidt. Miss Veidt knew many of the famous personalities of the twentieth century including Tennessee Williams, Miss Veidt lived at Mr Willaim,s Duncan St compond in Key West . She was also a friend of Jimmy Buffets and is mentioned in his Barometer Soup Liner notes, While maintaining the original warmth and eclectic style of the apartment, we have added modern amenities such as central heat and air, flat screen television and DVD player, wireless Internet connection and full laundry facilities. You will be within easy walking distance of the French Quarter, the riverfront streetcar and the Frenchmen Street entertainment district.The other half of the duplex with an identical floorplan is available as well

PLEASE NOTE all children must be OVER 12 YEARS OLD due to the art and antiques in the apartment

And please NO SMOKING

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • alternative lifestyle
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
James Henry (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 22, 2015

About James Henry

Moved here from Key West Florida think both places are amazing!

James Henry purchased this apartment in 2002

Why James Henry chose Faubourg Marigny

Love Mid Century buildings

Guestbook comments from the owner

Good morning James,







My apologies for being so tardy following up with you. Re-entry to my

regular life has been challenging after such a delightful time in my

favorite city. From the very first time I visited NOLA in 1992 I feel like

I am home when I am in the city. In fact, that unusual level of comfort has

made me question whether I lived there in a previous life.







Thank you so much for allowing us to stay at Villa Viola. Although I have

visited New Orleans more than 20 times over the years this was the first

time I had stayed anywhere but a hotel and I loved it. From our delightful

chance encounter with Joe we knew we were in the right place. As a lover of

the arts I was enchanted looking around the apartment and thinking about

Viola and her friend, Tennessee Williams. I wish I could have stayed

longer and soaked in more of the atmosphere. I also liked the location as

it guaranteed that I got some exercise which was much needed after our

excessive eating and drinking!





We only went out to the fairgrounds one day and decided that the crowds

were too crazy so we left and hung out in the French Quarter. Speaking of

which, we are thinking to try the French Quarter Festival next year.

Although I suspect the crowds will still be crazy, it will be easier

transportation wise and we can escape . . . perhaps to Villa Viola!





Take care, be well and thank you again. Please send my best to Joe.





My best,



Kimberly
Apr 2015
  • 1 of 2

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.4
based on 32 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Villa Viola - Elegant Large Furnished Apt Near French Qtr
average rating of 4.4375 based on 34 reviews
Baldwinsville, NY USA
5

Susan and Jerry (Central New York)

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from New Orleans, where we spent a week in this wonderful, conveniently located apartment. The landlord's prompt responses to our first inquiry and follow-up e-mails as well as positive reviews from previous renters made it easy to select Villa Viola as our home away from home in New Orleans. The description and pictures on the website are accurate. There is plenty of room to relax in the comfortable space. Central air conditioning, ceiling fans in the bedrooms, complimentary wi-fi, and washer/dryer were the extras that made this rental an especially good value. The landlord's suggestions for things to do and places to eat were excellent. He was helpful without being intrusive. We rented a car in order to explore areas away from the city; parking was available in front of the apartment or across the street. We walked around the neighborhood, to and from the French Quarter, and to other parts of the city. We ate at Schiro's, Elizabeth's, and Adolfo's - all excellent and within walking distance of the apartment. We also bought fresh seafood and prepared it in the kitchen. Renting an apartment instead of staying in a hotel room elevates the travel experience and makes us feel as though we are part of the community. We would highly recommend Villa Viola to family and friends seeking an authentic New Orleans experience. We'll stay there again if we have the opportunity to return to NOLA. Thank you, James, for a wonderful week in your charming apartment.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank-you so much! The apartment is really in a great location I have lived nearby for over a decade and love the area.You all were fanatstic I think the apartment looked better after you left! Please consider us again for your New Orleans vacation.
1

Dirty Ripoff

  • 1 of 5

This was my 4th stay in NO and my only disappointing one. We arrived opening the door to a dirty house that smelled bad. It reeked of mildew. We noticed the commercial ceiling tiles were water stained and warped and that the flooring was lifting up from the seams. The floor had layers of dust to the bedrooms. The 1st bedroom had a worn out squeaky mattress unsuitable for anyone. The second bedroom was dirty. We woke up to make coffee only to find moldy grounds in the filter basket of the Mr. Coffee maker.Because of these conditions we left early to find another room.

  • Submitted: May 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Interesting that I never received a phone call about any problems I live two blocks away and would have been happy to resolve any issues. Most of our ratings are five stars I had no idea we had an unhappy guest. The floors are three months old I certainly would be calling the contractor if I noticed any unusual developments. If there was any dust its coming up from the new installation . Coffee make,r we don't use Mr Coffee we use the K cup system if they found another coffee maker it was well hidden we replaced the old system over two years ago. As for the beds they are identical in both rooms and both are Serta. Leaks sorry new roof if there was a spot its decades old, Mildew we had five days of a tropical system one so bad it blew a train off the bridge. Communication is the key to any problem. We are almost solidly booked most of the year and are always happy to accommodate anyone's needs. After reading your review I offered you a refund you failed to respond. Sorry you had a bad experience. You stayed during Jazz Fest so we had a large waiting list leaving and getting a full refund would not have been a problem, Some travelers due much better in a standard hotel. Miss Veidt lived there for many years and was very happy as are the majority of our guests. .
4

Villa Viola

  • 4 of 5

Other than a couple of stays on expense accounts in the big downtown hotels this was my first real visit to LOLA. The location Is near perfect for access to the French Quarter, trolleys, bus stops and other LOLA amenities. Public transportation is good and should be used because cars are a liability and very expensive baggage as in boat anchors. There is a reason that bicycles are so common in LOLA Central.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
5

Exactly as Represented!

  • 5 of 5

Villa Voila was very welcoming and James was a perfect host. When we arrived the unit was lit in a welcoming ambiance, tidy and easy to settle in for our stay. The accessibility of parking right in front of the villa was super convenient.

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Saint Joseph, MO
4

Just as Pictured

  • 4 of 5

We traveled to NOLA on a slight budget, Villa Viola allowed us to enjoy and take in all the attractions and stay within that budget. The home was clean and the neighbors we meet were friendly. The area is packed with neighborhood cafes and stores. Frenchman street was just out of reach for the older couple who joined us, but a short taxi ride to and from put us right in the middle of the action.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Jonesboro, AR
5

Had an awesome stay

  • 5 of 5

Good location--only a few blocks from the action of Frenchman's St and French Quarter. Only improvement could be king beds with new mattresses. Love the historical value of the property. Would deffinately stay here again!!!

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway

Map

Nearest Airport
14 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
MiMi,s
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Feelings Cafe
Car: not necessary

Six blocks to French Quarter.In the heart of the Marignys unique commercial corridor,Just steps from coffee shops,resturants,including cafes and fine dining,and of course our wonderful music clubs.Walk to the French Market and the fun,funky shops in the French Quarter.

Other Activities: Heath/Beauty Spa, Shopping

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $145 Per night

Faubourg Marigny Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$145
$850
$3,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $30.00
Notes From 100.00
$145/night for 1-2 guests, plus $15/night each additional;
$195/and up per night special events for 1-2 guests, plus $15/nt each addl;
Three night minimum. Four night special events
Deposit required within; 24 hours of making reservation.Summer Rates June July August (except special events) $110/night 1-2 guests$10/night each addional guest. Deposits must be recieved within 24 hour

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Faubourg Marigny Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Ducted Heating
  • Gym
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Both Bedrooms have Queen size beds
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • alternative lifestyle
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Air Conditioning: Air Conditioning is CentralWasher: Washer is in unit. Dryer: Dryer is in unit. Linens Provided: All Linens Lifestyle. Children over twelve are welcome.

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote