Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

5 BEDROOM COTTAGE ON 8 ACRES. BIG SCREENED IN PORCH.

Owner

Advertiser since: 2011
Speaks: english
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Owner
Advertiser since: 2011
Speaks: english
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

5 BEDROOM COTTAGE ON 8 ACRES. BIG SCREENED IN PORCH.

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Overview

Highlands Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 5 Bedrooms + Den, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 11-12)

Wonderful, cozy, updated cabin just outside of Highlands on 8 private acres. The kitchen has a Wolfe Range and you can enjoy meals on our large, newly added screened porch. The homes has three levels with a bathroom on each level. The house is great for guests who are vacationing together or extended family. There is also a barn with a ping pong table in it and plenty of land for outdoor fun. The National Forest is a short walk away.

Keywords: cottage cabin retreat

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
Owner
Advertiser since: 2011
Speaks: english

About The Owner

Our family lives in Birmingham.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2007

Why The Owner chose Highlands

We bought this house because we love Highlands. We love being there with our children.

What makes this cottage unique

It is great to have a place that is just 4 miles from town but very private.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.6
based on 12 traveler reviews

Write a Review
5 Bedroom Cottage on 8 Acres. Big Screened in Porch.
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 12 reviews
business
5 Bedroom Cottage on 8 Acres. Big Screened in Porch.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380668vb
Highlands North Carolina Mountains
Concord NC
5

Memorable weekend

  • 5 of 5
My large extended family gathered here on a beautiful fall weekend to celebrate my dad’s 80th birthday. A place to cook and eat was top on our list, and this house provided everything we needed, and more so! It was a new experience for me (and a joy!) cooking on the Wolfe range, and there was even a wine refrigerator which we used for everything from wine to juice boxes. The screened porch was the center of all our fun – the birthday party, card games, reading by the fire, laptops, eating, and even camping out for 3 of the guys in our group. There were many things I personally loved about this house: lots of good books (wish I could have stayed all week just to read), lots of nature study guides, light from open windows (no curtains, but for those who desire a little more privacy, there were curtain rods so it would be easy to throw an extra sheet over them for a make shift curtain), and nice linens (down comforters and plush, thick towels).
The owner was so delightful and helpful, communication was excellent, and the caretaker was available as well. All in all, it was a weekend that was memorable for everyone, and I can’t wait to go back!
Thought I should mention that several of us had trouble navigating with our GPS (ended up on a dead-end at Glen Falls). Also, we had spotty phone coverage with AT&T (good at the cabin) and none whatsoever with Verizon, so if you are using your phone for navigation, you might have trouble. Those of us with old-fashioned printed out directions did just fine.
When talking to the owner earlier in the week, she addressed the problem with the bees and said that an exterminator had come out to take care of them. There were still a few survivors buzzing around (only at night as they were attracted to the light), but we had several brave men ready to fight them off. She also mentioned some house-keeping issues, but she has since hired a new service.
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Laura -
Thank you so much for your kind review of our home! We are so glad that your family was able to be together on your dad's 80th birthday!! We absolutely would love to have you back in the near future! Thank you for mentioning the spotty phone coverage - I forget that because I have Sprint and have never had a problem - but, I do know that AT&T, Verizon and a few other carriers do not have full coverage. Always a good idea to print the directions! Again, thank you for your visit and please come again soon! Glad you enjoyed!
business
5 Bedroom Cottage on 8 Acres. Big Screened in Porch.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380668vb
Highlands North Carolina Mountains
4

Beautiful Cabin

  • 4 of 5
We just returned from a weekend in this cabin. It was wonderful, we spent both nights on the beutiful porch with the fire place. It is secluded, which we loved. We have no complaints; however, we are sports fans, and would have loved to have had a TV on the main floor, and the porch. We were trying to cook dinner, and had to keep running downstairs to see the games. All in all I would recommend this cabin.
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: Sandy -
Thanks so much for your review of our cabin! We are so glad you had an enjoyable stay! Appreciate your comments about the TV on the main level - we have talked about that!! Please come again soon!
business
5 Bedroom Cottage on 8 Acres. Big Screened in Porch.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380668vb
Highlands North Carolina Mountains
Chattanooga, tn
2

Disappointment

  • 2 of 5
The house was in a nice location. It was private and I guess on 8 acres although most of it was wooded and hilly so it didn't really matter. We had been there about an hour when we encountered bees/ wasps on the porch. One of our party got stung so we went inside. We called the caretaker the next morning and he responded. When we inquired about the cleanliness of the house (or lack thereof) he told us that he wasn't sure that it had been cleaned. It certainly had not been vacuumed and we don't think that all the beds had been changed. The kitchen was in disarray also. We spent most of our time in downtown highlands and at restaurants so it wasn't a big problem-more of a disappointment. I have been to Highlands many times over the years and have stayed in multiple properties. I would not recommend this one to friends or family.
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are terribly sorry that you had this experience in our home - as we are dedicated to hahaving a clean and fresh environment for our guest. We have addressed all the issues that you stated. I am sure you would be happty with our progress!!

Thanks
business
5 Bedroom Cottage on 8 Acres. Big Screened in Porch.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380668vb
Highlands North Carolina Mountains
Brooks KY
5

Amazing and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
Our group consisted of 11 people. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality and quantity of the furnishings. Of course, the huge screened in back porch with a wood burning fireplace, a large futon, an overhead fan and a REAL screen door was the main gathering place, but there was also a covered front porch with 4 rockers that was used quite a bit and the den had comfy love seats perfect for reading, which by the way, there was an abundance of books, games & movies also provided. Plenty of large thick bath towels and a laundry that was quietly removed from the main course of house traffic. Hot shower water and good pressure. The kitchen was FULLY furnished, to the extent that you do not need to remember to bring the odd gadget that you may use at home, because there is probably one there! The beverage cooler was a very nice plus! All spices, cooking utensils, cookbooks, tableware, etc. furnished. 3 large tables with plenty of dining seating plus a "not your ordinary" picnic table and benches on the back deck if needed, easily moveable. There was a small porch off the kitchen with a charcoal grill. I did find it odd that none of the bedrooms had curtains on the windows, but the cabin is definitely secluded so unless one of your group is out there moving around, probably not a problem. Plenty of closet and storage space. There was a firepit with large flat stones perfect for seating, a charming tree swing and a swingset in the woods slightly away from the house - a parent or older child would need to accompany small children to use it. Plus - the waterfalls in the area were amazing!
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Jessica - thank you so much for the "amazing" review!! I am so glad you and your family enjoyed and were able to relax at our cabin! I appreciate that you detailed all the kitchen furnishings - I love to cook so we tried to supply it as we would at home. Sorry about the curtains in the bedrooms - or lack thereof - I don't believe it them!! I want to see the beauty of the surroundings! Again - thank you so much for visiting with us - we hope you will come again!
business
5 Bedroom Cottage on 8 Acres. Big Screened in Porch.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380668vb
Highlands North Carolina Mountains
Mount Washington, KY
5

Whole family had a great time.

  • 5 of 5
My son was graduating Navy Nuclear Power School after which he'd have ten days leave before needing to report back to base and our younger children were preparing to start their back to school ritual so we decided to do an extended trip where the younger ones could get away for a bit before heading to school and our oldest could unwind some after the grueling school he'd just finished. This cabin fit the bill perfectly, our kids (4), in age from 20 to 10 and everybody enjoyed their stay. The younger ones went out to play at the waterfalls and my son spent most of his time lounging on the screened in porch. It was cool enough during our stay (end of July/beginning of August!), to have a fire going every night. Daily trips into town to shop but did not try any of the local restaurants due to the completeness of the kitchen. My son wasn't able to be home last year at Thanksgiving so my wife prepared a full Thanksgiving dinner there which we ate on the screened in porch overlooking the woods with a fire going behind us. Awesome. We will definitely check on this cabin again next time we plan an extended stay in this area. Thank you for a wonderful time!
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Guests like you make it truly a joy to own and rent property in the mountains - we love interacting with our guests! I am so glad you enjoyed the cabin - your son having the privacy to relax and your younger children enjoying the waterfalls!! We greatly appreciate your recommendation of our cabin!! Thank you so much!!
business
5 Bedroom Cottage on 8 Acres. Big Screened in Porch.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380668vb
Highlands North Carolina Mountains
Cincinnati, ohio
4

Great Hiking and Dining weekend!

  • 4 of 5
We stayed here last weekend for my husband's 50th birthday. The house is very nice, clean, updated, and there was plenty of room for 5 couples. I wouldn't say it is particularly homey but we spent most of our time on the porch which was truly amazing! You can definitely have a fire any time of year, just make sure to bring your own wood, We all wish it had been a little closer to town, but we had a great relaxing time and did a ton of hiking and going into town for dinner. Great weekend!
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please visit us again soon!

Map

Map

Photos

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rates & Availability

From $275 Per night

Highlands Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
2015 Rates
Jan 1 2015 - Dec 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
$300
$2,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$275
$1,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $49

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Amenities

Highlands Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
  • Queen size Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (5)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
Notes:
Wonderful screened in porch.

Other Vacation Properties

  • 5 BR,
  • 5 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$1,050 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 9
$600 per night
2 night minimum stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 5 BA,
  • 2 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote