Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Water-front Bahamian Island Home (Also see The Boat House - Property 3684530)

Sharon Wright

Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Sharon Wright

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 22, 2015
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Water-front Bahamian Island Home (Also see The Boat House - Property 3684530)

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

Great Exuma Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms each with en-suite bthrm, accommodates 4 in luxury, 6 using sofa bed

NEWS:

1 Air Travel from UK: By United, at GBP 549. On Friday to Tuesdays going west and Thursday to Monday going east Newcastle to Newark and then by Air Canada to Pearson for $C? and from Pearson direct to George Town Exuma at $C230ish

2 OTHER ECONOMIC FLIGHTS FROM the UK: Try Virgin Atlantic out of Manchester to Orlando (MCO). Then Bahamas Air to Nassau (NAS) but you have to over night in Nassau. Suggest Orange Hill Hotel. Then Bahamas Air or Sky Bahamas to George Town (GGT) or American Airlines MCO/MIA/GGT. About $1000 round trip for travel only.

Another lower price option: Air Canada on Sundays and sometimes Thursdays, US$230ish ( If you book January or June it can be as low as US$150 round trip)Toronto Pearson YYZ to George Town GGT direct for round trip. Note: you have to request the Tango fare. LHR/YYZ C$380 round trip with British Airways and Sky Bahamas NAS to GGT B$185 . $800 ish total.

Check with www.yyzdeals.com for up to date cheap flights.

airberlin.com is offering direct round trip flights to Miami from Germany for less than $800.

From Miami take the AA Eagle to George Town (MIA-GGT).

Norwegian.com is offering flights London to New York GBP 149 from 3 July 2014. - maybe that is only one way price??

3 Private Beach: We have access to a private deserted island with a sand beach, within a cute bay on the South side, only a mile from the cottage. See the aerial picture included with our photos. Brilliant snorkeling on the south side. Ask Sharon for details, no landing charges. The only regular inhabitant is the Osprey who have young every year. You can ferry yourself to the island by paddling the kayaks across or walk at low tide or take a ride in the 17'0' Boston, details later. A Haitian sail boat was washed up on the northern beach. This has been cleaned up and will be preserved for posterity.

4 Holiday Rent Payment on line : Most of our European guests use this method of payment in GBP Sterling, to book with a credit card. Click on the 'book it now' button. Don't forget to add 2.4% to your payment to cover Banking Charges. Acknowledgement is automatic by the system.

5 For payment in US$: our visitors from the WESTERN HEMISPHERE like to use the Pay Pal method of payment. Enter paypal.com in your browser, log on, go to payment to 'family or friends' in favour of wrightasharon@hotmail.com then follow the on line instructions and please be sure to pay all bank charges (2.4%) yourself. When you have made payment by Pay Pal it is important to email us to this effect. When we acknowledge, you are "booked".

6 Wired instructions: we can supply them on request but all charges are to be by sender.

7 Shoreline lots for sale: We have vacant shoreline lots with sand beach for sale. Ask Sharon for details. Ask John for details of design and build holiday homes/homes as residential or to let.

The Boutique Cottage: has two Bedrooms each with en-suite bathrooms, (the definition of en suite is accessible from the bedroom) sleeps four in luxury. More space for two children elsewhere at an additional cost of $10/head/night. All habitable rooms have a view of the sea. The bed configuration can be two Single beds or one King Size. Please let us know your requirement ahead of your arrival.

There will be no gritty sand in the house as we have a smooth rock bathing area with access ladder and freshwater shower as you exit the sea.

We now have two Kayaks, a Sunfish sailing dinghy and a Bicycle for your use, all included in the rent. We try to keep them serviceable. Further there is a 17'0' Boston Whaler and a choice of two cars. All subject to their availability.

Quiet location away from the noise of Town, airport, race tracks and the like.

Telephone and internet: is installed and is operated by the Bahamas Telecommunications Company via the Wymax satellite, this installation was made in 2012. However, it is provided at the behest of the server. We are on an island in the Atlantic Ocean and although we have the facility, paid all the fees etc. sometimes it may be temporarily, beyond our control, inoperative. Under these circumstances we request your cooperation. This service is expensive but included with the rental.

Bone fishing: the accommodation is opposite 3 x 8 miles of, the best in the world, Bone-fishing flats...so we are told. It's a Bone-fisherman's delight. All facilities for DIY fishing but bring your own gear.

The Beach House rental if you pay in US$: is $200/night, $1250/week and $4750/month in each case plus $100 change over fee and $250 security.

The Boat House: The only one on the island, a separate stand alone small and somewhat rustic waterfront unit, located on the same site, 10ft. from the waters edge, usually used by sailors for an overnight after a session of cruising. It can also be good for Fishermen, couples or single visitors, refer to pictures 15 - 22. It may be that this unit, on some peak occasions, has occupants at the same time as your booking at the Beach House. In order to guarantee that this unit is vacant whilst you are visiting it may be that an increased rental (equal to something less than the Boat House rental) will be required, please ask Sharon before you book, for more detail.

Boat House rental: is $120/night $750/week or $2750/month in each case plus $100 for changeover fee plus $250 for security. Please add 2.4% to the total for Bank Charges. For more detail see www.homeaway.com ID 3684530

Bone Fishermen: DIY Bone-fishing is practiced here, professional Guides are available, we will be pleased to introduce you to reliable people. Bone-fishing is a sport/pass-time enjoyed right on our doorstep. The 'Flats' are 40'0' from the door. Fishermen who have stayed with us claim that at our location Bone-fishing here is the best of its kind in the world. They get up early, Kayak out to the shallow banks no more than 50 yards (meters) from our dock. As with most fishermen they put them back into the water after a catch and photograph but it has been known for one or two to be brought home for lunch. Very tasty too I'm told. For a Bone Fishing Guide we recommend Martin Clarke 1242 477 6251.

Rod Hamilton: The renowned DIY Bone Fishing Specialist and author of DIY Bone Fishing obtainable at Amazon.com is a several times return visitor at our accommodation and claims that at our flats there is best Bone fishing he has yet come across.

Snorkeling: A new discovery, 'Kitty's Location'. On the south west shoreline of Sharon's Island there is the most wonderful snorkeling. Visitors tell us, better than Thunderball Cave.

Kayaks and Sunfish. We have Kayaks and a sunfish sailing dinghy and try to keep them serviceable. There are others of each nearby that could be made available for your use. They can be used to better explore the water ways and land routes of the island. A scooter can be rented in town at $60/day.

Sailing Sunfish: Sailing on the clear blue warm waters of the Bahamas is exhilarating and yet relaxing for those coming from the hustle and bustle of the city. It is good to be competitive with neighbours and their Sunfish. We now have six Sunfish owners on our strip and are in the process of forming a sailing club. Watch this space for more detail. We even offer to learners free instruction to sail.

Boston Whaler: The 17'0' Boston Whaler, has been improved, it is old and is for use on the south side of the island by our visitors only subject to availability. Please ask Sharon on arrival for details. The cost to use is $150/day for any number of 24 hour days but two days minimum, $200 deposit. However we can do a discount for more consecutive days. Take it on a trailer, use the Toyota and launch it where you will.

Transportation: We have the use of a car which we loan to visitors who stay with us on a you bend it you mend it basis. We have two, they are old but with TLC they serve their purpose and the cost to use the Nissan March is $60/day the Toyota Surf suv with roof rack and tow bar is $70/day for a minimum of three consecutive days. Both are subject to availability.

PLEASE DO NOTE, Precautions: Visitors must be mindful that anywhere in the tropics, there will be nasty insects around. On Exuma the most prolific are the mosquito and the 'no-see-ums'. Both of these can give you, nice fresh meat to this area, a nasty bite, that is all BUT there is no need for this to happen if you take precautions.

First, they usually come out an hour before and after sunrise and sunset. Then, they cannot withstand a breeze and all the windows and external doors have fly screens. During the day, especially with children in the family, in and out all the time these insects will get inside the house. You will be well advised to have a room fly spray available the interior of the house before you retire. Not much is needed just a quick squirt in each high corner of the room should be sufficient. Let us know if you are inconvenienced more than this.

Try picking a few sprigs of Sage from the garden, put them in a glass of water beside your bed. This will help to keep them away. You will be surprised.

When you arrive at the Immigration counter at the airport: Say to the Officer, you are staying with 'Sharon Wright', most of them know me, at 007 Sea Breeze Drive Bahama Sound 11 West, telephone # 336 3006

Tipping: MSN travel 101, your guide to tipping in 50 countries. Unfortunately The Bahamas is not included. We will try to assist below.

Most Restaurants and Hotels will include 15% on their bills for a tip.

Tour Guides and Taxis expect a gratuity to be given according to the service received.

Home Owners do not ask for or include any tipping but it is always nice to receive.

The Maids clear food from the fridge as their tip

As you depart the Customs Hall, you will be greeted by the Taxi Drivers, if you ask them for Sharon, they will know where we are waiting.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Sharon Wright (Property Manager)
Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 22, 2015

About Sharon Wright

We are a Bahamian/British management organisation and trade under the heading of The Wright Partnership, the principals originate, one from here in the Bahamas and the other from England. He was a 'left over' from a Government contract more than 26 years ago. We both live on Gt. Exuma not more than a 1/4 mile from the cottage and either of us are readily available to service your needs at short notice.

Sharon Wright purchased this cottage in 2007

Why Sharon Wright chose Great Exuma

The cottage, '007 Beach House' was built in 2007 on lot # C12007, to a design we evolved where the main theme was to be 'Bahamian' in concept and provide sea views from all habitable rooms. It was built to a Budget and the final cost was within a few $'s of the Budget figure. It is designed and built to withstand hurricane force winds and has been tested by Hurricanes Irene 2011 and Isaac 2012 and a few Tropical Storms since.

If you like to holiday here regularly, we will be please to design and construct your second home to a budget to suit you and yes look after it for you while you are away. Ask John about this service when you arrive.

Great Exuma is the most naturally protected island in The Bahamas. Surrounded by smaller islands, the waters are the most colourful and ideal for sailing/cruising/fishing/swimming/diving/snorkelling.

There is a protective sea wall on the water front and around the landscaped garden. It is upon this wall that one side of the cottage is founded.

On the North side of the Island we have lots for sale. Please ask for details. When you arrive and depart at the airport, you will pass the lots on the way to George Town.

What makes this cottage unique

There are fascinating reasons why this site was selected. The original site was at a very low level and the Spring High Water mark came well up into the site. By trimming the, sea facing rock front, it was possible to create a sheltered swimming area and the spoil was used to fill behind the sea defense wall. It is upon this rock fill, that the landscaping has been established.

Initially a rock garden was formed., Later, between the rocks Sedge grass was planted, stone paths were laid down, Natural beach plants and succulents came along including Mangrove.

Now you will find established plants and trees producing tropical fruit and vegetables within 40'0' (12m) of the Ocean. Trees and bushes include: Tamarind, Pomegranate, Sugar Apple, Guava, Paw Paw or Papaya, Coco Nut, both black and white Coco Plumbs, Sea Grapes and Darling Plumbs Tangerine and Limes.

Vegetables and herbs include: Bird peppers, Basil, Mint, Rosemary, Pea Nuts, Asparagus, Granny Fingers or Okra, Pride of Barbados is a thorny pretty flowering tree yet the seeds are a good substitute for garden peas.

Flowers include: Aloe Vera, Spider Lillies, Day Lillies, Amaryllis Agapanthus, Periwinkle, Frangapanni, White and Red Hibiscus, 7 day Apple.

Because of this interesting mix we have flying and crawling visitors: A Humming bird visits daily for food (nested in a 7 day apple tree last year), Banana quit (nested on a Guava branch this year), the King Fisher picks up frogs, Osprey will take a fish from the sea whilst in flight, Heron stalk around in the shallows, any amount of fly catchers, yes we have lizards too.

No doubt there is more flora and fauna, not mentioned here.

Above everything else, it is the view in the morning either from the Bedrooms or the Living/Dining Area/Kitchen.........absolutely majestic!

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.3
based on 17 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Water-front Bahamian Island Home (Also see The Boat House - Property 3684530)
average rating of 4.2941175 based on 17 reviews
Where do you live?
1

Beautiful Home&View, Horrible business dealing!

  • 1 of 5

I contacted John on Jan25th and sent the payment in full. We rented the boat house for one night, and booked the main house for the remaining four nights.

Ten days before our trip, I was contacted and told they double booked the boat house(odd since John uses Sharon's email too), and asked would I be willing to stay at a relative's beach house for one night. I made it clear that if it was a house near the water, it would be fine.

John picked us up at the airport on time, and we started driving. THIS is when he informs us that the relative's house is also not available for us either and he'll put us in a hotel for our first night. He pulls up to Marshall's which shares its small parking lot with a busy(and only) gas station on the island. My wife and I were not happy. It was a run down place, did not offer anything but a bed and refrigerator. The parking lot is filled with people shouting, car horns sounding, and loiterers. We brought down an entire checked bag of food to cook bc of our dietary restrictions!

After much talking, and my wife crying, he booked us a room at Peace&Plenty Hotel...a bit nicer, again, no kitchen. John said that since he messed up, he would cover the first night for us. Once assuring me, and then assuring my wife and I in the hotel room. Our night there was okay, other than young girls in the other room screaming being drunkards until 3am.

The next day we got his car rental. I spoke with him again while exchanging seats and mentioned I will use our credit (1nt boat house+cleaning fee) to rent the vehicle. He assured me that "yes, you have credit with us, we'll sort it out at the end"

We had a marvelous stay.

Before our trip back to the airport, I told my wife to record our convo, so I can ask him about our security deposit. When I did, he was a bit stunned and said "well, I thought the car rental and sec deposit cancelled" we argued the entire ride. He said it'll take 3 weeks but I wasn't leaving without it. At the airport he called Sharon and finally pulled out an envelope which conveniently had the full security deposit amount in it and handed it over. My wife was a crying mess. Otherwise, TERRIFIC TRIP! BEAUTIFUL ISLAND! Gorgeous house :)

Sorry for yelling John, we may have been rude to you but we prefer honesty, especially after being yanked around due to your double booking fault and lies. Look forward to you being professional and insulting again, Cheerio!

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It seems the more you do for some people the less you are appreciated. Why is it that only the disgruntled visitors want to put a review?
5

A very pleasant stay!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I along with another couple thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this unique property. Although we only had a few days to take it all in, we were able to swim, snorkel, kayak, fish, visit Sharon's Island, and relax for a few days in a very comfortable setting right on the water with our own private dock. The view, the privacy, the generous hospitality and the friendly personal service we received from John made it a vacation to remember. It is perfect for two couples and a great spot for fishermen who want access to some prime Bonefishing flats. The adjacent boat house is also available if you need room for more guests.

  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Chris, come again any time. Jd
2

Superb vacation, but not due to the property owner

  • 2 of 5

This was our second visit to Exuma, our first (and last) stay in this villa. It is correct to say this property is ideally situated next to an enormous bone fish flat for the purpose of DIY Bonefishing.

We rented this property for a 3 week period and we experienced a number of problems.

-The laundry/washing machine was broken but the property owners had done nothing about it, a nice neighbour who helped get it working one week into our vacation.

-The air conditioning in one of the two bedrooms was broken, we informed the owners who nicely informed us "you don't need Air Conditioning in December". Temp was 28 deg C in the room.

- Very few items of kitchenware in the property, 4 plates, 2 wine glasses, 3 water glasses, we were 3 adults and 2 children in the property.

These were just the "small" problems.

The biggest problem for us was the Kayaks were not as advertised and agreed on booking.k

before we reserved this property we asked the price for renting 3 kayaks as this would be the key element for both our fishing and family day trips. The property owners assured us they had 3 kayaks and they were included in the price, this was the main decision why we decided to go ahead with the booking and we have all the emails to prove this. On arrival, the owners just told us "there are only 2"' the third disappeared"

The first day we used the Kayaks, we realized one of them had a hole in the hull and was taking in water. It was decided we could not use this Kayak again for any trips as it was too dangerous

We again called the property owners who really did not want to try and listen or understand our problem. We had no option but to rent a Kayak for a few days to have family trips on the water. We did this as long as our budget allowed but we could not afford to have a rental kayak for the 3 weeks. We had to replay our vacation activities and particularly our fishing plans which meant crossing out some options of exploring other fishing areas which was a big disappointment.

Finally on the last day of our vacation, the owners located a replacement kayak.

On the day we were leaving, the owner picked us up to take us to the airport.

Despite us requesting to do a property check together, he said this would be done later and he had no money with him to return our safety deposit, he would do a Pay Pal transfer, we accepted this as assurance all was ok, and there was no issue...

(1/2)

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have a split system a/c unit in each bedroom intended for use during humid summer months, for an hour before retiring. They are operated by remote control, these are kept in the bedroom drawers with the batteries removed when the property is not in use. This is clear from the website. The likelihood of 28C being recorded at night in December is highly improbable. Nowhere do we advertise an air conditioned house. The house has 13 huge windows and 2 pairs of double doors, with a cupola on the roof for cross ventilation, all of which have insect screens. We have two washing machines, yes one of them was broken, we must have it removed. This visitor booked the house for two persons and arrived at the property with three adults and two children. They were aware at the time of booking that we only have facilities for four people but can stretch to six under certain circumstances if arrangements are made. The dining table is set up for visitors to see upon arrival, place settings for 4 people, complete with china, cutlery, napkins and glassware. No advice was given of deficiencies at the time of their arrival. At the time of the booking there were 3 kayaks, however, one went missing immediately prior to their arrival. This does happen from time to time and it is deeply regretted that it had to happened at a most inconvenient time. We do say on the website that the kayaks are there for visitor's free use subject to availability. The kayak that was leaking was due to a previous visitor dragging it over rocks and had spoiled the back end. This was repaired but not straight away. As regards checking the property at "check out time" it is our practice to ask the visitor if there are any items we need to address before the next visitor's arrival. NB This in the high season can be the same day as the outgoing visitor. They only mentioned the kayaks. Maids have a check list and let us know if there are deficiencies. Upon doing our check, we found two broken drinking glasses in the garbage. Further two of the windows were jammed shut and needed to be repaired by the manufacturer at a cost of $800. In summation whilst we commiserate with the visitor regarding the lack of available kayak we feel sure that had he checked the terms of rental he would have realized the situation and rented from others. He was claiming $150 compensation. We had cordial correspondence after they departed but they could not bring themselves to admit to their damages which is dishonest.
Hustisford, Wisconsin
5

Exuma gem!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this beautiful property over the holiday season! Everything about it was great! John picked us up at the airport, assisted us with getting groceries and touring Georgetown prior to dropping us off at the home. The home was clean and decorated for the holidays which made things extra special. We kayaked, snorkeled and went bonefishing right out the front door. We were able to rent John's car for a fee and this enabled us to tour the island. john did check in on us to make sure all was well. He would also send us email weather updates if he knew of questionable weather forecasts. You would want a car as then you can explore this wonderful island. Groceries are a tad expensive but we expected that after reading other reviews. There is a neat local meat market that will take grocery orders and deliver to your front door prior to your arrival. We left Exuma feeling extremely relaxed. Nice home, nice island and great people! Thanks John and Sharon!

  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Joy All is well that ends well!
5

very nice stay

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful place. John took really good care of us.

Crystal clear water, kayaks. 5 minutes paddle from cabin you can fish bonefish if you would like a challenge. Nice beaches on the island. Very quiet. Highly recommended. You would need a car, can loan/rent by owner, though car was old. Any problem, and john would be there shortly to help out. Very friendly and with a good sense of humor ;)

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Robert. This review is reference to the Boat House ID 3684530. Hope you both enjoyed your honeymoon.
1

A beautiful house but BEWARE of the owner!

  • 1 of 5

This was our second visit to the same house and it really is a nice house in beautiful locations.

It’s perfect for two couples or like us, two single fishermen that would not want to wake up with hairy legs in the bed. :-)

It has a beautiful small private harbor, which is perfect for launching the kayaks which are included in the rental.

The only downside with the house is when the Boathouse is rented by other guests. Then the place gets a little bit “crowded”.

After two visits to the same house we really love it and sadly we have to recommend you

to consider twice, before booking this house.

It is a beautiful house in prime location, but the owner is not reliable when it comes to your reservation.

We made our reservation on Internet and agreed on the length of our stay (fixed the dates) and the price for this.

On arrival we paid the full amount and everything was good until we, after a few days, got an E-mail from the owner stating that he would like to charge us more as he had "not understood" the length of our stay??? For these, so called extra days, he would like us to pay the full fee.

We refused to pay and referred to our agreement. Luckily I had all our E-mail conversation where we could clearly see that he had agreed on the number of days we stayed.

A few days later he tried once more to squeeze the extra payment from us – with no success!

We decided to try to not let this spoil our holiday and luckily we had no more confrontations with the owner.

There was no contact with the owner until really early in the morning of our departure, when he offered to take us to the airport immediately and then we had to wait 5 hours for our flight. (transport included in the rental)

We took this as a punishment and said thank you but no thanks, and got a ride with some friends instead.

We really liked the house and it's sad that we can't return, but we still love the Exumas and for a holiday with peace and tranquility, you will find this to be a paradise! For sure I will be back next spring!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, we have a cleaver one. After hundreds of visitors and eleven largely unsolicited reviews we have one who has delighted in throwing acid. For the benefit of those prospective visitors who read reviews we comment as follows: This fellow stayed with us for his second visit during January this year and behaved like a spoilt child from day one, because he wanted the whole complex to himself. There were two of them who occupied a double room each. Most visitors manage to live comfortably with their neighbours but this one no matter how much we did for him it was never enough. Apart from his childish behavior he insisted in having an unreasonable discount as a second time visitor. Within our advertisement we make it quite clear that during the peak season there is a likelihood, especially with back to back bookings at a very popular development, that both residences on our site may be in use. We only have two; with plenty of space for six adults. For a reason best known to himself he has taken six months to conjure up this epistle to amuse none but himself. We will rely on our reputation of four years lettings with Home Away and a dozen reviews obtaining five stars each to illustrate what it is really like to stay with us and how pathetic and small minded this spiteful individual has lowered himself.

Map

Bamboo Bistro
"This is located at February Point"
Minns Water Sports
"Rent a boat here for use in the Harbour"
Exuma Market
"The prices are much the same comparing the three grocery stores but Exuma Markets have a bet..."
Sandpiper Boutique
"Located opposite the P&P"
Tropical Accents Gift Shop
"Near the Bridge in town has many souvenirs"
Chat-N-Chil
"You must visit via the water Taxi $12.50 offered by Elvis"
George Town Straw Market
"'Cant miss it right in the middle of town"
Dive Exuma
"There is one Padi Dive Shop in town at The Marina"
Exuma International Airport
"12 miles from town"
Bahamas Fast Ferries
"There are two visits by the ferry from Nassau each week One visit by the Mail Boat per week"
Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Exuma International 20 minutes by car
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Sports Bar
Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
George Town to Nassau
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Sandals
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Queens Highway
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Cheaters
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Ask Sharon to use Sharon's private island
Car: recommended

The Waterfront Cottage '007 Beach House', is located at Lot C12007 Sea Breeze Drive, in the Bahama Sound 11 West Subdivision of Great Exuma, in the Bahamas. It is in a quiet location on the southern waterfront.

Great. Exuma is the largest island in the 365 chain of islands comprising Exuma.

The Bahamas is in the Atlantic Ocean but borders the North Eastern side of the Caribbean Sea. It has a temperate climate with temperatures between 55F (10C) in the winter and rises to the 90's F (32C) in the summer.

Shopping 3 miles. There is at least one of most types of shop in Town.

Entertainment is largely creative, make your own by visiting others in the area, go exploring, but there are certain events: Thursdays - BBQ at Peace and Plenty, Fridays - rake and scrape at Eddy Edgewater, (a type of music) Sundays - pig roast at Chat & Chill. End of March - Cruiser Sail Boat Regatta. Last week in April - National Native Sloop Regatta. This is high season. Ask for rental rates for this period. November - Yuma Arts festival. Christmas and New Year - Junkanoo parades

Other Activities: Historical buildings and artifacts:

Bonefishing flats are located right outside the back door.

Tours can be arranged to:

Thunderball Cave, Swimming Pigs, Sea Aquarium, Swim with the dolphins.

Activities available:

Kite Boarding, Snorkelling, Scuba Diving, Dinghy sailing, Kayaking, Overnight cruise to Deserted Island, Boat hire to explore local islands.

Rent a car: We are not in the rent a car business but we do help out people who stay with us by meeting them and taking them back to the airport free of charge if they use one of our cars. We charge $70/day for a 4x4 Toyota Surf and $60/day for a Hyundai Santa Fe for the loan of one of our vehicles, 'you bend it you mend it'.

Power Boat: We have a 15' Boston Whaler available at from $80/day.

Golf: A Greg Norman designed 18 hole golf course is 20 miles west of our cottage.

Water ski , right outside the front door

Concierge: Once you are checked in you can call us any time for advice or assistance

Photos

Rates & Availability

From £130 Per night

Great Exuma Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Christmas/New Year
Dec 24 2015 - Jan 2 2016
10 night minimum stay
£1,800
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
£130
£825
£3,125
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee £5.00
Change Over £65.00
Refundable damage deposit £200.00
Notes Upon your arrival and in the event that there are any breakages or deficiencies please report the matter to Sharon within 24 hours of checking in.
All prices are subject to change depending upon circumstances. If in doubt please ask.
There will be an additional charge of GBP10/night for each additional visitor above the advertised 4 person accommodation.

These notes take precedence over rates quoted in a currency other than US $

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Great Exuma Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1216 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Firewood
  • Garage
  • Grey Water System
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Split-System Air Conditioning
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Vacuum System
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave ...
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , bidet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , bidet
  • Bathrooms are en-suite and both comprise vanity basin, large shower, WC and separate washing spray.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , 2 Twin or 1 Kingsize
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , 2 Twin or 1 Kingsize
  • Sleeping arrangements in the bedrooms, the configuration can be twins or king size or combination of the two.Thus accommodation for Four Adults. Children have been accommodated previously in the sitting area on a sofa bed or an inflatable mattress at a push. Please state your configuration requirement at tom of Booking. One of the Owner's stipulations for the design was to have ocean views from all habitable rooms. The habitable area is 960 SF including the balcony 1216 SF
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Binoculars
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Sailboat
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis ...
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 5 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Car Optional
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The cottage is a typical 'Bahamian Island Home' just 3 miles from George Town is fully furnished both soft and hard has private access paved driveway and off road parking for visitors In sheltered area facing south with sea views from all habitable rooms The cottage has a combined kitchen/sitting/dining area wrap round balcony laundry covered car port sea and sun bathing facilities shower on beach dock and permanent mooring The whole situated opposite a 3 by 8 mile stretch of sport bonefishing reserve The property includes a Boat House which can sometimes be let out separately, or occupied by a returning sailor or on occasions by a holidaymaker. It is an entirely separate building but shares the same entrance to the lot. Transportation is recommended. We offer the use of one of our vehicles to visitors, if they are available. There is a small charge of $ 60/day or $400/week for a Hyundai Santa Fe. A 4x4 Toyota Surf with tow bar and roof rack $70/day or $450/week.

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote