THE BEST IN IDYLLWILD: LOCATION AND CHARM GALORE!

Dena Van Slyke

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Dena Van Slyke

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

THE BEST IN IDYLLWILD: LOCATION AND CHARM GALORE!

Idyllwild Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Woodsy Cabin Getaway on Strawberry Creek 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Woodsy Cabin Getaway on Strawberry Creek 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Idyllwild's Best Mountain Cabin on the creek, easy walking distance to town (5 minutes by creek trail or 15 minutes by street). Nestled amongst 100 pine and oak trees Brooksong has the woodsy charm you come to Idyllwild for. Custom built with beautiful wood throughout and skylights in tall ceilings, with a large beautiful deck overlooking the creek and another deck off the master bedroom you will feel refreshed and like you really got away from it all.

Fish for trout, walk to the Village or relax in the swinging hammock seats on a lazy summer afternoon or cuddle up inside with a fire blazing in the wood stove on a wintry day.....while the 'chef' of your group creates gastronomic delights on the Wolff Stainless Oven/Range ....It doesn't get any better!!

If you like to cook, this is the best equipped kitchen on the Hill. Every kitchen appliance and gadget you can name is here plus a full selection of cookbooks for every appetite. Plenty of room to create and serve something in style. Come and get it! Just added a top of the line barbecue grill (propane) for your outdoor pleasure.

Ideally designed to Sleep 4 Adults 2 Children (2 queen beds and 2 singles). Upstairs 'kids room' shares a bathroom with the 'master bedroom' both of which are open loft style rooms.

The cabin has a natural cabin feeling because everything is wood. Even the cabinet handles are Manzanita branches. Very tall beam ceilings, long windows and skylights give a wide open feeling. The decks were built by a renowned local deck builder.

Over 100 trees are happily growing here. Between the house and the creek is a meadow of strawberry bushes.

Besides the 'master' bedroom upstairs under the skylight, there is a great loft bedroom room for 2 kids. Their closet is full of games and toys and things to do, like puzzles. There is another room and 3/4 bath downstairs (privacy) with a queen bed for one or two. For the whole family there is a huge library of over 200 movies to watch.

There are lots more photos to send you if you like. Just email me and I'll email the photos to you.

You can walk to town in 5 - 10 minutes. Less than a mile. Take the creekside path for a shortcut if you want. Brooksong is a magical place that you will want to return to year after year. One of the most favorite cabins in Idyllwild.

Brooksong is too pristine for pooch and is kept non-allergic - sorry. Thanks.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Dena Van Slyke (Owner)
Advertiser since 2008
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About Dena Van Slyke

Here i am in my Model A Ford at my San Clemente historic home. I own Beacon Brokerage real estate - specializing in historic properties in San Clemente, Dana Point and San Juan Capistrano. Call me.

Why Dena Van Slyke chose Idyllwild

Guest reviews:

12/17/12 Jon: 'Great get away. Brooksong is a peaceful and fun retreat. My wife our girls and Nana had a wonderful 4 day vacation. Just staying at the cabin is good enough but we had a fun time hiking, exploring the creek, building snow men, following animal tracks in the snow, taking photos of the beautiful nature surrounding, taking in the peaceful woods, playing games inside (provided) sitting by the fire, star gazing, fixing great meals in the fully stocked kitchen, watching movies (provided) going to town and site seeing and shopping and just reading and relaxing in the authentic and comfortable cabin! This was our 2nd time here-next year #3!! Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway'

Kaila K. 7/25/12 wrote: 'Excellent. I can't say enough about how absolutely fantastic this cabin is! This is my second time staying at Brooksong and it seems like each time I stay, the place just gets better. It's got all the amenities you could possibly want, and the access to Strawberry Creek is fantastic. You are totally out in the forest, but can easily follow the Creek up into town (just a short hike) - great location. The owner of the cabin was amazingly wonderful to work with and you can tell from staying there that Brooksong is not just a 'vacation rental place,' but it is the owner's vacation home, and it shows in all the little touches. The outdoor decks are mind blowing and super comfy; the indoor space has plenty of interesting things to occupy one's time, from comfortable beds and bathrooms to a well stocked video library, book library, game library and even a wonderful kid's play area under the stairs, complete with toddler appropriate toys and baby gate for the bottom of the stairs.'

M. Banks: 3/22/13 'We rent cabins and condos quite a bit and for the first time we didn't have to get our 'cabin kit' out. It's easy to tell that the owners stay here and it's not just a forgotten investment.'

What makes this cabin unique

This is pure heaven on earth.

Guestbook comments from the owner

“We had an amazing time @ Brooksong Cabin. This was our first time in Idyllwild and it will for sure NOT be our last. Cabin had everything we needed and what I liked best was that it was very clean. ? Location was perfect for what we were looking for… getting away from the city. We were able to relax and enjoy nature! Thank you for the awesome time and for allowing our family to enjoy this beautiful cabin.”
Mar 2014
  • 1 of 3
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 13 traveler reviews

Write a Review
The Best in Idyllwild: Location and Charm Galore!
average rating of 4.8461537 based on 13 reviews
business
The Best in Idyllwild: Location and Charm Galore!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380075
(949) 361-4663 (California, USA)
Idyllwild Inland Empire California
5

Escaping The Heat

  • 5 of 5
What a great place to get away whether for a few days or a week. Great cabin with everything you would need. We had a great time playing the games and watching movies. The owner and manager were great. There was a window issue when we arrived and it was taken care of right away. The water was low in the creek because they did not get much snow or rain this year so I cant wait to come back and stick my feet in. The town was great with a cool July 4th parade. The town people were really friendly. Don't believe everything you read on Yelp. I was told Halloween was really cool too so we may be back.
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful, glowing review. We loved having you enjoy our retreat from the heat. Not only is the Halloween parade cool, but the Easter Egg Hunt is hilarious with over 3,000 eggs hidden for kids of different age groups watching each other's hunts. Even the over the hill folks (55+) got their own hunting ground. We look forward to having you back soon. Remember returning guests get a 10% discount.
Dena
business
The Best in Idyllwild: Location and Charm Galore!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380075
(949) 361-4663 (California, USA)
Idyllwild Inland Empire California
5

Perfect weekend Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
We are VRBO owners with ski and beach properties and really appreciated this cabin. There were no problems checking in or out. You will need to coordinate with Monica who will check you in and out, and she is just lovely. So sweet to my little boy. :)

Highlights:
1. Location in the woods by the creek yet close to town. Ahh....
2. Toddler Ready with stair gate and toys. He loved the patio swing too. Yay!
3. Big patio under the trees to gaze at birds squirrels.
4. The house was cool despite it heating up. That's the nice part about being covered and surrounded by trees.

Notes: All basic amenities were provided. We brought a pack and play for our toddler. We have recommended this property to family and friends.

Tips: Bring Bug Spray and something warm for at night it really cools down even in June.

Enjoy!
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Au-Co for this wonderful review. I am glad you mentioned that the cabin is nice and cool even on hot days. That is what makes it a great escape from the desert areas. We look forward to having you back again soon. Return guests get 10% off.
Dena
business
The Best in Idyllwild: Location and Charm Galore!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380075
(949) 361-4663 (California, USA)
Idyllwild Inland Empire California
5

Cute cabin, perfect getaway!

  • 5 of 5
I stayed here with my girlfriends for two nights, for Memorial holiday. Love the location - it's right by river, and you are surrounded by trees. Enjoy watching birds and squirrel from back patio, sitting on the hammock. Kitchen was amazing! First time using Wolf stove. They have pretty much everything you need for cooking - just need to bring some ingredients, and you are set. BBQ in the afternoon, then hang out by the fire place at night... so relaxing. We had issue with hot water on day one, but the as soon as we called, the manager came over an fixed right away. Monica was very sweet and helpful. We'll definitely come back!
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your excellent review. I am so glad you had a great time at Brooksong. Please tell your friends about us and you are most welcome back. Return guests receive a 10% discount. I am glad that Monica took care of your needs. She is wonderful and so is her husband Fausto. I am so blessed to have such a professional team.
Dena
business
The Best in Idyllwild: Location and Charm Galore!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380075
(949) 361-4663 (California, USA)
Idyllwild Inland Empire California
Los Angeles
4

Excellent Cabin with some notes

  • 4 of 5
the property itself is beautiful. The cabin too is really nice. Rustic beauty with all the needed amenities. One thing to note is that the layout is open upstairs in the room with the twin beds. My 4 year old sleeps soundly so it wasn't an issue for us, but you can hear everything happening downstairs from that room. Even the TV at normal volume felt loud in that room.

It would have been 5 stars but there was some odd communication from the owner. I think the owner and the people who manage the property locally aren't on the same page. Also I was told specifically that the creek was fishable for my trip, which it isn't. Perhaps at other times of year but definitely not in April. I walked a mile each way up the creek (awesome hike/walk) and nothing more than a trickle of water. Fortunately I drove the 15 minutes to lake Hemet and caught a couple of trout and which I cooked in the awesome kitchen at the cabin.

Overall it was a great trip. Just make sure that if the dishwasher is broken and the local manager tells you to leave all the dishes for her to do, that you wash them anyway and hang dry them in the broken dishwasher. Makes sense right?
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: True, we do prefer considerate and honest people as guests in our home. This was one of those unfortunate rentals that make you wish you hadn't shared your home. They brought more guests than they paid for and denied having three cars in the driveway (as reported by my reliable manager). They filled several trash bags with bottles of booze (at least they put them inside the bags) and caused all of the linens to need washing including bedspreads, pads and blankets. They left all their dirty dishes for the cleaning lady because he said, "there was no dish drain". So I politely suggested that if they didn't find the dish drain under the sink then they could have used the dishwasher rack as a dish drain. That makes sense to me.

I have the greatest management team ever! Monica cleans very well, meets and greets the guests and graciously responds to all their requests. She even refilled the propane tank on the barbeque when they used it all up so they could use it again. Monica's husband, Fausto is great at taking care of what ever needs doing at the property. I gladly paid them extra for all the extra work created by these guests and I got the dishwasher fixed within 48 hours after they checked out.

At this time, the year-round Strawberry Creek is about 12 feet wide at its widest and people fish in it often finding nice trout in the deeper pools. If you want to cast a line, Lake Hemet is just a 10 minute drive.

Read all the other reviews posted - this is the only one that includes sarcasm.
business
The Best in Idyllwild: Location and Charm Galore!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380075
(949) 361-4663 (California, USA)
Idyllwild Inland Empire California
5

Fell In Love With BrookSong!! <3

Fell In Love With BrookSong!! &lt;3
  • 5 of 5
OMG!! This place is my best discovery for 2013. What a cozy, warm, charming and welcoming cabin. Walking distance to town and to the hiking trail. The creek sound while enjoying tea on the patio with those tall gorgeous trees surroundings, are something to go back to!!! Me and my Family had the best NY ever in that lovely place. Kudos to the sweet owner and how easy the process was, and thanks to the manager who was very nice and helpful as well. Definitely a come back!!
Take my word for it and you won't regret it. The Brooksong, is the experience you need if you are looking for comfort, warmth, Coziness, fun, fully equipped kitchen :) and great vibes for wonderful memories.
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Imane:
Thank you so much for that glowing review. I am so happy you had a great time at Brooksong. You are most welcome anytime and returning guests get a discount of 10%.
Happy New Year.
Dena
business
The Best in Idyllwild: Location and Charm Galore!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380075
(949) 361-4663 (California, USA)
Idyllwild Inland Empire California
5

Cozy, wonderful cabin to spend Christmas!

  • 5 of 5
We wished we would've had more time to stay and relax but 2 days provided a wonderful get away in a cozy, charming cabin along the creek. We hiked into town along the creek, sat outside in the sun and just breathed in the pine tree smell. We will be back.
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Car: necessary

Other Activities: shopping, wildlife viewing, rock climbing, boating, health/beauty spa, massage, painting ceramics, IDYLLWILD ARTS CAMPUS SUMMER PROGRAM OF CLASSES IN FILM, ART, WRITING, DANCE, PHOTOGRAPHY, ETC.

Several camps and summer camps and getaways are yearly events. Check out this site for calendar of events:

http://www.idyllwildherald.com/calendar/cal.php

http://eepurl.com/Cdza5

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Idyllwild Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Columbus Day
Oct 10 2014 - Oct 13 2014
2 night minimum stay
$215
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Veterans Day
Nov 7 2014 - Nov 11 2014
2 night minimum stay
$215
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 26 2014 - Nov 30 2014
3 night minimum stay
$215
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas & New Years
Dec 24 2014 - Jan 3 2015
3 night minimum stay
$215
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$180
From
$200
Fri,Sat
$900
$2,700
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Set Up & Cleaning fee $75
Check in & out services $20
Tax Rate 10.0%
Notes $15/night for each additional guest beyond the first two covers additional wear and tear, utilities, supplies etc for larger groups.
If booking over 30 days in advance payments can be arranged.
Minimum stay is 2 nights. Holidays may differ.
Pets are not allowed so there are no allergy issues.
Sleeps 6 no matter what age.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Idyllwild Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront
  • Village
  • Mountain
  • River
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Computer Available ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Internet ...
  • Heating
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking
  • Living Room
  • Hair Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone ...
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen ...
  • Stove ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Pantry Items
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Oven
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Downstairs bath has a shower (no tub) and is next door to the downstairs bedroom. The upstairs bathroom has a shower over the tub and it is inside the Master bedroom. Guests staying in the loft will need to enter the Master bedroom to share the bathroom. Great for families.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • One downstairs has queen bed and nearby bathroom. Upstairs has two loft bedrooms each with one open wall. The master has a queen bed and adjoining full bathroom. The other room has two single beds and shares the bath with the master bedroom.
Entertainment:
  • Games ...
  • Books ...
  • Toys ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Balcony ...
  • Wood Deck
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • museums
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • sledding
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • massage therapist
  • groceries
  • fitness center
  • laundromat
  • ATM/bank
  • medical services
  • Babysitter
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • mountaineering
  • freshwater fishing
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • fishing
  • cycling
  • mountain biking
  • cross country skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • kayaking
  • rock climbing
Notes:
Idyllwild is great for hiking and art and music. Check out these links to see what is going on in town. http://www.idyllwildherald.com/calendar/cal.php http://eepurl.com/Cdza5
Email Owner Contact Me